Floodlights Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   KirkyRobRoy 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
Now those of you that follow the great "Summer football" debates on here probably know that i am very much in favour of the status quo, I think this winter particularly has shown there is no great over-whelming need to change the game as we know it

But the one thing concerning me about this season, probably above all others, is just how PLAYABLE it has been midweek evenings, and how many wasted fixture dates we have by not using these

Look at the amount of friendlies clubs are cramming into the midweek time, that could be getting used to clear up the small backlog of games we have from the start of December.

Of course not all grounds have them, but those who do, should surely be allowed the benefit of playing under them to ease fixture congestion

Anyone know what the major objection by the SJFA to the use of floodlights is? And if there are any plans to look again at this issue in future?

User is online   glensmad 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rutherglen Glencairn
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
I understand that the use of floodlights is permitted as long as both clubs are agreeable to it.

Glencairn have played at least two league matches that I can think of under our floodlights in the past few years, one v East Kilbride Thistle and one v Clydebank.

View Postglensmad, on 25 January 2012 - 14:45, said:

I understand that the use of floodlights is permitted as long as both clubs are agreeable to it.

Glencairn have played at least two league matches that I can think of under our floodlights in the past few years, one v East Kilbride Thistle and one v Clydebank.

Apologies, wasnt aware that if both clubs were agreeable then games could be played

Whats the general views of other clubs when asked to play under them?

Just you have played 11 games this season, and other clubs are sitting on 15 and 16? (not in your division granted)

This post has been edited by KirkyRobRoy: 25 January 2012 - 15:03

User is offline   The Old Northerner 

• Now bets on his own team. Fool!
  • My Team:Haddington Athletic

View PostKirkyRobRoy, on 25 January 2012 - 14:40, said:

Anyone know what the major objection by the SJFA to the use of floodlights is?

I don't think they have a major objection. Other non-floodlit clubs might but it's the default to blame the SJFA on here :D

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
I think it's been established in previous season's discussions that there's no actual rule forbidding the use of floodlight. However it seems to be fairly "established practice" that it won't happen unless the away club wants to play under the floodlights... which in most cases, it appears they don't.

Despite last season's backlogs, only 1 match in the entire SJFA (at Hermes) was played under lights between Christmas and the commencement of naturally lit midweeks in early April.

It seems slightly more accepted in NR, where Hermes/Banks O'Dee/etc. play lit midweeks from time-to-time.

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
Away clubs don't agree on the spurious grounds that the home team has an advantage because they train under them. The real reason they won't agree is because they'd much rather everyone had fixture congestion/player exhaustion rather than allow those with relevant facilities to work with a decent schedule. When you get to the round of midweek games after easter and in late summer, you find away teams biting your hand off for a 7:15pm start which allows their guys to get home from work and have a decent amount of time for travel/warm up. As long as there is no firm leadership on the subject, nothing will change.

I blame the SJFA ... :P

User is online   lithgierose 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
the part where HTG says other teams object because the teams that have them train under them is a load of pish ( not his statement btw)where do these teams train midweek ? dont think the rose train at prestonfield all winter either.so where is the advantage that other teams talk about.
do these teams train in the dark or something.

User is offline   Buddie Holly 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:St.Mirren
what clubs have "proper" floodlights?
GMFC?
WEE DIDDY TEAM

• Golden Shoe Winner
I'm sure someone can add others (especially at some of the clubs who've moved into 3G complexes or have dog/speedway/athletics tracks surrounding), but the following definetely do:

North Region
Banks O'Dee
Hermes
Hillhead
Lewis

East Region
Linlithgow
Bathgate
Sauchie
Dunbar
Spartans
Newtongrange
Dundee North End
Broxburn
Falkirk (at Grangemouth)?

West Region
Petershill
Greenock (Battery/Ravenscraig)
Whitletts (at Dam Park)
Rutherglen
Maryhill
Port Glasgow (Battery/assume new park will be lit too)
Bellshill?
Wishaw?
Carluke?

Anyone clarify these or add more?

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 25 January 2012 - 17:32

User is online   peasy23 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Petershill
In the West, Petershill, Glencairn, Maryhill, Carluke, Wishaw and I would assume Greenock and Port Glasgow all have them.

User is online   peasy23 

Bellshill are in with Vale of Clyde now HJ.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 17:25, said:

I'm sure someone can add others (especially at some of the clubs who've moved into 3G complexes), but the following definetely do:

North Region
Banks O'Dee
Hermes
Hillhead
Lewis

East Region
Linlithgow
Bathgate
Sauchie
Dunbar
Spartans
Newtongrange
Dundee North End
Broxburn

West Region
Petershill
Greenock
Whifletts (at Dam Park)
Rutherglen
Maryhill
Bellshill?
Wishaw?
Carluke?
Port Glasgow?

Anyone clarify or add more?

Port Glasgow certainly do

Can add Rossvale (as they share with Peasy)

Dont Ashfield have them? (for the speedway)

This post has been edited by KirkyRobRoy: 25 January 2012 - 17:31

User is offline   Perthboy 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Hill of Beath, Kinnoull, Montrose Roselea and Coupar Angus play friendlies under their own lights I'm pretty sure.

User is online   peasy23 

View PostKirkyRobRoy, on 25 January 2012 - 17:30, said:

Port Glasgow certainly do

Can add Rossvale (as they share with Peasy)

Dont Ashfield have them? (for the speedway)

The lights at Ashfield shine on the track, not the pitch.

• Golden Shoe Winner
Smashing, so that's Rossvale (√), Wishaw (√), Carluke (√) but not Bellshill (X), and possibles at Hill of Beath and some of the Angus/Perthshire sides depending if they're good enough for competitive games. Perhaps others could clarify those.

I also believe Auchinleck and EK Thistle (as part of their redevelopment with Clyde) intend to fit lights.

A few more possibles for people to clarify... Neilston? Ballingry? Shotts?

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 25 January 2012 - 17:43

User is offline   scottie1873 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ballingry Rovers

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 17:25, said:

I'm sure someone can add others (especially at some of the clubs who've moved into 3G complexes or have dog/speedway/athletics tracks surrounding), but the following definetely do:

North Region
Banks O'Dee
Hermes
Hillhead
Lewis

East Region
Linlithgow
Bathgate
Sauchie
Dunbar
Spartans
Newtongrange
Dundee North End
Broxburn

West Region
Petershill
Greenock (Battery/Ravenscraig)
Whitletts (at Dam Park)
Rutherglen
Maryhill
Port Glasgow (Battery/assume new park will be lit too)
Bellshill?
Wishaw?
Carluke?

Anyone clarify these or add more?

You can add Ballingry Rovers to the list of east region teams....

User is offline   garrellburn 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilsyth Rangers
[/quote]

Wouldn't think the lights at these grounds are anywhere near good enough to play a competitive match. We have lights at Duncansfield, fine for a training session, but not up to match standard. I imagine there are a few more in the same category, eg Ardrossan?

User is offline   svejk 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Forth wanderers
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Does the Beltane in Wishaw have lights ? Never noticed them a fortnight ago and now wondering if I've lost the plot ...

User is offline   combineharvester 

• Third Division Signing Target
neilston also hv them wether or not they wurk is diff story lol

User is offline   prorege 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 17:41, said:

Smashing, so that's Rossvale (√), Wishaw (√), Carluke (√) but not Bellshill (X), and possibles at Hill of Beath and some of the Angus/Perthshire sides depending if they're good enough for competitive games. Perhaps others could clarify those.

I also believe Auchinleck and EK Thistle (as part of their redevelopment with Clyde) intend to fit lights.

Hill of Beath use their lights for competitive games - a League Cup Semi Final against Kinnoull the other year, for example. Ballingry have also used theirs in competitve games.

Montrose Roselea and Kinnoull both have systems that would be ok for competitive games.

I remember being at the 'Floodlight Opening' game at Dunipace (v St Mirren), circa 1977. Suspect they would only be fit for training now, if at all.

St Mirren used to play some reserve games at Neilston Juniors under their lights, up to the early / mid 1990s.

Other grounds with the remains of old floodlighting systems include Armadale and Benburb.

Two grounds that had lights but which are now long-gone were Gilburn Park (original home of the Joeys) and Greenhead Park (Alva Albion Rangers).

This post has been edited by prorege: 25 January 2012 - 21:14

User is offline   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other

View Postpeasy23, on 25 January 2012 - 17:27, said:

Bellshill are in with Vale of Clyde now HJ.

I was going to say, they might have lights but they ain't got a park at the moment.

User is offline   green and white 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Gamertag:Alonso i 14 i
I think they should have summer football in all aspecs of Scottish Football apart from the SPL due to Europe (unless they can find a way to work around it) because it would certainly be more enjoyible for the fans and it would get more TV rights from sky because there's no other football on in the summer. All youth and non league football should already be playing summer football in my opinion. I think under 15s and below are starting it this season and I think the non league game should follow suit as there are far more pro to cons.

View Postgreen and white, on 25 January 2012 - 22:09, said:

I think they should have summer football in all aspecs of Scottish Football apart from the SPL due to Europe (unless they can find a way to work around it) because it would certainly be more enjoyible for the fans and it would get more TV rights from sky because there's no other football on in the summer. All youth and non league football should already be playing summer football in my opinion. I think under 15s and below are starting it this season and I think the non league game should follow suit as there are far more pro to cons.

Fuuuck Posted Image

To address the most glaring issue with your masterplan....

Just SPL to keep to the current season? how would that work then?! Posted Image

Are we doing away with promotion/relegation and transfers?

• Golden Shoe Winner
We've an established thread on summer football (though, since it's only snowed for a few weeks this winter so far, it's dropped down the forum). IMO that's a better location for Green-and-White's point and subsequent discussion.

http://www.pieandbov...l/page__st__250

To get back onto the topic of floodlights... bar Auchinleck/EK Thistle, who else are planning hellish illuminations?

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 22:36, said:

We've an established thread on summer football (though, since it's only snowed for a few weeks this winter so far, it's dropped down the forum). IMO that's a better location for Green-and-White's point and subsequent discussion.

http://www.pieandbov...l/page__st__250

To get back onto the topic of floodlights... bar Auchinleck/EK Thistle, who else are planning hellish illuminations?

Would agree Summer football discussion should be kept to that thread

Page 8 if you need it Green and White...

Page 8....obviously not as pressing an issue as some would have you believe!! Posted Image

• (2 Pages) +