The Modern Junior Manager Internet facilities Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   takeaboo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Just thought i would put this up discussion.

Do you think the modern junior manager uses the facilities (P&B, websites, match reports, video footage) available to obtain updates on the opposition & players?

Personally, i think it would be lazy & ignorant not to look into the information that is available. However, i am aware they may need to trawl through pointless posts & bias match reports.

Opinions please?

User is offline   shielsy007 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View Posttakeaboo, on 25 January 2012 - 08:54, said:

Do you think the modern junior manager uses the facilities (P&B, websites, match reports, video footage) available to obtain updates on the opposition & players?

Personally, i think it would be lazy & ignorant not to look into the information that is available. However, i am aware they may need to trawl through pointless posts & bias match reports.

Opinions please?

:thumsup2
If your not making money, your not making sense.........................

User is offline   legaffer 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilwinning Rangers

View Posttakeaboo, on 25 January 2012 - 08:54, said:

Opinions please?

I for one use P&B to obtain info on teams,from video footage and reports. I also still send people to games and buy the 3 or 4 local papers in Ayrshire.
After all it's my job to know as much as possible about every team the Buffs come against.

This post has been edited by legaffer: 25 January 2012 - 09:13

User is offline   KirkyRobRoy 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
Of course they do, its been the same way for a number of years, look at Everton, they even have an agreement with the Football/Championship Manager computer game to help with their scouting!

I know SFL managers that come on here, and in the absence of "major" media coverage of the junior game i think junior managers would be daft not to use the one resource they have

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postlegaffer, on 25 January 2012 - 09:06, said:

I for one use P&B to obtain info on teams,from video footage and reports. I also still send people to games and buy the 3 or 4 local papers in Ayrshire.
After all it's my job to know as much as possible able every team the Buffs come against.

Thanks guys

Congratulations with Saturday's result Le Gaffer. Do you think/know if your rival managers do the same?

• PipPipPip

View Posttakeaboo, on 25 January 2012 - 09:11, said:

Thanks guys

Congratulations with Saturday's result Le Gaffer. Do you think/know if your rival managers do the same?

Thanks very much takeaboo,I think a lot of managers will come on,maybe not to write anything,but to have a look at whats going on at other clubs.I think it would be silly not to,at the end of the day you can take out of what you read or see what you want.

This post has been edited by legaffer: 25 January 2012 - 09:18

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postlegaffer, on 25 January 2012 - 09:16, said:

Thanks very much takeaboo,I think a lot of managers will come on,maybe not to write anything,but to have a look at whats going on at other clubs.I think it would be silly not to,at the end of the day you can take out of what you read or see what you want.

I agree, take out what you read or see what you want.

So what would your opinion be if some managers dont'.....? Cockiness? Over confident? or just accept the fact its not their 'style'?

• PipPipPip

View Posttakeaboo, on 25 January 2012 - 09:24, said:

I agree, take out what you read or see what you want.

So what would your opinion be if some managers dont'.....? Cockiness? Over confident? or just accept the fact its not their 'style'?

Everyone is different,i just want to know as much as possible,it's helped me in the past,and i'm sure it will again.
I also think its good for punters to hear a gaffer or coaches thoughts .

User is offline   fourfouroh 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Rangers
Got to agree legaffer. We take in friendlies whether directly or indirectly. Match reports and team line ups from web pages and watch all relevant video footage we can. To be honest you need to use ecerything available to understand and gain any advantage on who you may be up against. After all its part of the job we do. Another aspect which is under played in the old boys network of players and managers who you communicate with to get a brief on players and ooposition.

User is offline   Napoleon 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
I know our manager at Troon jimmy Kirkwood reviews on a regular basis and posts as Troon FC. Agree with legaffer that it is a good way to measure supporters views and while should Not influence managers it is a good way to gain an insight

This post has been edited by Napoleon: 25 January 2012 - 10:31

• PipPipPip

View Postfourfouroh, on 25 January 2012 - 09:52, said:

Got to agree legaffer. We take in friendlies whether directly or indirectly. Match reports and team line ups from web pages and watch all relevant video footage we can. To be honest you need to use ecerything available to understand and gain any advantage on who you may be up against. After all its part of the job we do. Another aspect which is under played in the old boys network of players and managers who you communicate with to get a brief on players and ooposition.

That's true as i keep in touch with managers in the east,and speak to them regards scottish ties with east teams.
Would also be good if last 16 draw for scottish was done a bit sharper,to get a good look a team we play,with the weather the way it is just now,may not get a chance to see them before the tie,this again leads to how important P&B is for video footage of rescent games.

User is offline   passbackdave 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Clydebank

View Postlegaffer, on 25 January 2012 - 09:42, said:

I also think its good for punters to hear a gaffer or coaches thoughts .

totally agree id love 2 hear budgie ,stuart allison or frank lynch's views on the games, players etc.... someone always does a bit in the local paper and budgie also does his bit in the home programme but id love 2 hear the views on p&b. fair play 2 u for coming on legaffer

• PipPipPip

View Postpassbackdave, on 25 January 2012 - 11:15, said:

totally agree id love 2 hear budgie ,stuart allison or frank lynch's views on the games, players etc.... someone always does a bit in the local paper and budgie also does his bit in the home programme but id love 2 hear the views on p&b. fair play 2 u for coming on legaffer

I do my bit for the local papers and kick-talk radio to,but P&B is good to chat with punters ,even with topics outwith kilwinning.
The junior game is based on the community,so there should be no "them" and "us".

This post has been edited by legaffer: 25 January 2012 - 11:24

User is offline   vinnie-7 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Aberdeen
As a player say we get drawn against someone from another region in the Scottish then i'll look out for stuff for the manager which actually happened to good effect on here as we saw video footage of Rosyth and we went on to knock them out. Unfortunately though there is hardly if any info about North teams on here so hard to gather anything.
Come on the Dons!!

User is offline   Larky55 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Larkhall Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Chris at the Medda never makes a desision without contacting bigtatties.
Think he is looking for some of that single malt.

User is offline   Larky55 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Larkhall Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Chris at the Medda never makes a desision without contacting bigtatties.
Think he is looking for some of that single malt.

User is offline   connolly81 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Thorniewood United
  • Gamertag:jc1gk

View Postvinnie-7, on 25 January 2012 - 11:23, said:

As a player say we get drawn against someone from another region in the Scottish then i'll look out for stuff for the manager which actually happened to good effect on here as we saw video footage of Rosyth and we went on to knock them out. Unfortunately though there is hardly if any info about North teams on here so hard to gather anything.

from that point of view i use it to see where and who hits set pieces ect i find the video's and the site very useful it also opened the door for me to get into coaching which im loving
Posted Image
'THE FLYING FRIDGE'

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok
I remember a good few years back my team played a midweek cup tie that I don't believe I was even at as I was working late. Anyway we won on pens.

The day after the game I got word that the manager was absolutely raging with me as he'd heard from someone or other that a match report was 'on the internet' and it even detailed which way we put our penalties! I was instructed, third hand, to amend the report or edit out the offending state secrets I was disclosing on our official site as we had another cup tie coming up soon after.

Only problem was, the report in question was on the opposition side's website... :rolleyes:

User is offline   Nero E. Oro 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
Do managers really take anecdotal evidence from Internet strangers that seriously?

The benefit of the video footage is obvious but ah canny quite see what use 99% of what's written on here would be to a manager.

edit: mind you I can see where a site like the Juniors might come in handy with it's match reports which are pretty well written.

This post has been edited by Nero E. Oro: 25 January 2012 - 19:24

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostNero E. Oro, on 25 January 2012 - 19:12, said:

Do managers really take anecdotal evidence from Internet strangers that seriously?

The benefit of the video footage is obvious but ah canny quite see what use 99% of what's written on here would be to a manager.

edit: mind you I can see where a site like the Juniors might come in handy with it's match reports which are pretty well written.

What if 5 strangers rave about a strikers pace, skill and finishing....surely that would give manager's enough information to think about atleast?

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postcmontheloknow, on 25 January 2012 - 18:49, said:

I remember a good few years back my team played a midweek cup tie that I don't believe I was even at as I was working late. Anyway we won on pens.

The day after the game I got word that the manager was absolutely raging with me as he'd heard from someone or other that a match report was 'on the internet' and it even detailed which way we put our penalties! I was instructed, third hand, to amend the report or edit out the offending state secrets I was disclosing on our official site as we had another cup tie coming up soon after.

Only problem was, the report in question was on the opposition side's website... :rolleyes:

So you did ammend the report then? We now know that any goal that Taz, Diack or anyone else for that matter has actually scored in the opposite corner from what you state !! :P **MENTAL NOTE **

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Posttakeaboo, on 26 January 2012 - 08:45, said:

What if 5 strangers rave about a strikers pace, skill and finishing....surely that would give manager's enough information to think about atleast?

Aye, maybe, but there's so much hyperbole filled pish written on forums at times that sometimes other factors are ignored and you're left with a deceptively simplistic account of the game.

This fast striker- for all his pace- may not be able to score in a barrel of fannies, or pass, or do anything else. He might be up against some semi-retired veteran.

You'd wonder at the wisdom of setting up your stall on the basis of untried sources.

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
i would imagine a lot of managers use stuff like this for info, why not if its there
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostMon The Port, on 26 January 2012 - 17:47, said:

i would imagine a lot of managers use stuff like this for info, why not if its there

Because it's accuracy is not verified and might be wildly misleading.

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View Posttakeaboo, on 26 January 2012 - 08:48, said:

So you did ammend the report then? We now know that any goal that Taz, Diack or anyone else for that matter has actually scored in the opposite corner from what you state !! :P **MENTAL NOTE **

There was no report to amend as:

A. I hadn't written one
and
B. the report that did exist was written by an opposition fan for their own website.

If I remember the chain of events correctly, our Assistant was contacted by the manager of our next opponent (a keen forum user, at least in those days), saying something along the lines of "I know where your pens go as I saw it on the net!" and I got the blame when he passed that info on to our then manager as he assumed 'the net' was me.

I haven't written a report for years, the current guys do a grand job though.

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 26 January 2012 - 18:08

• (2 Pages) +