Games Recommendations

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
I have a new grandson in LA and me and the boss are headed out there in a couple of weeks so madam can help babysit. I'll be sat around for most of the 12 days or so I am there as it is not really a holiday trip, more a help out with the wean episode. What would the panel recommend as a reasonably adult game or games to download to my laptop before I go. Its reasonably powerful and should cope with most modern games. Stuff like angry birds does my head. I remember many moons a go finding Myst a bit of a challenge but at least a bit cerebral. I also used to quite enjoy a game called Silent HUnter but basically, I have played nothing for years.

Or should I just focus on my current database project?

PS: I recall Doom making me feel physically ill after playing it for 10-15minutes

This post has been edited by Tonsilitis: 24 January 2012 - 23:38

I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

User is offline   Denji 

• First Division Sub
Tonsilitis, I could see you getting right into Football Manager 2012! Maybe not want to spend that much money, so even an older version would be decent (which I could give you a loan of).

Deego

User is offline   aidan-bufc 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Bo'ness United
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Twitter = @aidanmcl93 (follow me!).

View PostDenji, on 24 January 2012 - 23:42, said:

Tonsilitis, I could see you getting right into Football Manager 2012! Maybe not want to spend that much money, so even an older version would be decent (which I could give you a loan of).

Deego

Football Manager would be a good investment to be honest. Currently playing the 2010 edition again and still loving it!

View Postjuniornews, on 07 July 2011 - 19:34, said:

Who gives a monkeys who boness sign. They quite simply will not pose any threat to linlithgow this season. We have taken a squad who finished three points adrift and improved it all round. Boness have taken a league winning side and ripped it apart on the back of one mans whims. Top 5 at best for boness this year

BU's unbeaten vs the Rose. 2011/12

User is online   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
Civilization 4, you can get the complete edition on Amazon for under £7. Absolutely brilliant value.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:St.Mirren
FM and/or Skyrim.

Sorted 8)

This post has been edited by Jobby: 25 January 2012 - 00:03

Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03

View PostGaz, on 24 January 2012 - 23:48, said:

Civilization 4, you can get the complete edition on Amazon for under £7. Absolutely brilliant value.

This. One of my favourite games and can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be.

User is online   MattBairn 

• Come crawling faster...Obey your Master

View PostGaz, on 24 January 2012 - 23:48, said:

Just bought it on steam. Full pack for £14. I was going to order through amazon but this is quicker.
I used to love these types of games but moved away from them, I'm hoping your recommendation will help me get back to them.
Posted Image

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
In fact someone gave me FM 2011 Christmas before last but I could not get into it as it appeared to lock up when you made the team selection. I assumed I was doing something wrong but it seems there was a bug in it which needed a patch downloaded so I might give that a go along with one other game maybe Civilization or Skyrim. I see good reviews of a game called Portal 2 also
I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

User is offline   Just a bairn 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View PostTonsilitis, on 25 January 2012 - 11:21, said:

In fact someone gave me FM 2011 Christmas before last but I could not get into it as it appeared to lock up when you made the team selection. I assumed I was doing something wrong but it seems there was a bug in it which needed a patch downloaded so I might give that a go along with one other game maybe Civilization or Skyrim. I see good reviews of a game called Portal 2 also

Portal 1 and 2 are both really good to pass the time.
Bairns Trust - GTF

User is online   MattBairn 

• Come crawling faster...Obey your Master

View PostTonsilitis, on 25 January 2012 - 11:21, said:

Both Portal games are AWESOME! Get them, you wont regret it. :)
Posted Image

User is offline   Todd_is_God 

• SPL Sub
  • My Team:Thorniewood United
  • Gamertag:Dez the Accie
Just get yourself a couple of emulators, sonic 2 and Super Mario Bros. 3 Bob's your uncle!
Posted Image
Рейд должен идти!

User is offline   Mr Hahn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:jazzbandido
I'd echo Civ. So much fun, think I have over 70 hours played on the most recent game.
Posted Image

User is offline   accies4life 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
on my ipod i have angry birds sonic racing and plants vs zombies but for some reason i prefer tetris

is that weird :wacko:

Page 1 of 1