the Quadrangular Tournament ... is it happening this season? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Is there going to be an edition of the biannual Quadrangular Tournament this season... and if so, does anyone have details of who is hosting and when the matches are? Have any 'warm-up' matches been arranged for the Scottish Junior FA team in preparation?

• Golden Shoe Winner
Bump, the thread having dropped-off onto the 2nd page already. Anyone?

User is offline   wingnut 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Bonnyrigg Rose
Don't know why you got rubber eared H.J,i don't know nowt about it but i thought someone with a bit knowledge about it would have got back to you,sorry.

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3

View PostHibeeJibee, on 24 January 2012 - 17:49, said:

Is there going to be an edition of the biannual Quadrangular Tournament this season... and if so, does anyone have details of who is hosting and when the matches are? Have any 'warm-up' matches been arranged for the Scottish Junior FA team in preparation?

http://www.thescotti...m-his-boss.html

interview with kelty hearts alan fleming was from december 2011

'Now, though, he has his sights set on playing his way into Budgie's squad for the defence of the Umbro Quadrangular Tournament in Ireland later this season.'

Previous two tournaments were in isle of man 2008 , northern ireland 2010 , before that scotland hosted.
Scotland are looking to win the torunament for the 4th time in a row. The tournament around late april early may, and by looks of it Keith Burgess is the manager again .

This post has been edited by RobRoyGuy: 25 January 2012 - 01:15

Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

User is offline   connolly81 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Thorniewood United
  • Gamertag:jc1gk
always thought this squad was always an old pals act. i'll challenge the squad selected to a friendly with a team i could pick from the rest of the juniors Posted Image
Posted Image
'THE FLYING FRIDGE'

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View Postconnolly81, on 25 January 2012 - 01:52, said:

always thought this squad was always an old pals act. i'll challenge the squad selected to a friendly with a team i could pick from the rest of the juniors Posted Image

Dunno, there are very few of us who see enough games in each of the respective top flights to be able to say categorically that it's not a fair reflection of the Junior game.

However, I do know from speaking to one past manager that the squad is picked with the opposition very much in mind. The Irish in particular are usually big and physical and that can dictate the shape and make-up of the Scottish select.

At the end of the day ANY Select is an 'old pals act' - as soon as someone falls out with the coach they're out the door - see Scotland under Levein and Burley for very recent examples.

• Third Division Regular

View Postcmontheloknow, on 25 January 2012 - 07:31, said:

Dunno, there are very few of us who see enough games in each of the respective top flights to be able to say categorically that it's not a fair reflection of the Junior game.

However, I do know from speaking to one past manager that the squad is picked with the opposition very much in mind. The Irish in particular are usually big and physical and that can dictate the shape and make-up of the Scottish select.

At the end of the day ANY Select is an 'old pals act' - as soon as someone falls out with the coach they're out the door - see Scotland under Levein and Burley for very recent examples.

So if your slight and wee with bags of ability forget it,if your big and strong and can kick the ball the length of the park your in and true it usually is a pals act for this kind of thing.

User is offline   MVP 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postconnolly81, on 25 January 2012 - 01:52, said:

I'm the same JC but over the years you tend to mellow out and not pay to much attention to it, simple solution just select Talbot to play in the tournament they boys have earned it with there efforts thus far.

• Golden Shoe Winner
So going by RRG's post, this year's tournament will be in Eire, and probably sometime after Easter? Cheers. I believe the Isle of Man's "national team" represents them in the tournament; what bodies represent Northern Ireland and Eire?

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 13:01, said:

So going by RRG's post, this year's tournament will be in Eire, and probably sometime after Easter? Cheers. I believe the Isle of Man's "national team" represents them in the tournament; what bodies represent Northern Ireland and Eire?

In Republic of Ireland it's their Junior XI. They, like us, have a Junior FA as well as Senior non-league.

In Northern Ireland, the side is made up of players from what was Intermediate football, the teams in their Championship divisions.

This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 25 January 2012 - 23:47

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postwingnut, on 25 January 2012 - 09:02, said:

So if your slight and wee with bags of ability forget it,if your big and strong and can kick the ball the length of the park your in and true it usually is a pals act for this kind of thing.

First bit true, second bit - how many 'pals' do East-based managers have in the West?

User is offline   camelonguy 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
I wonder if Budgie will have any new, uncapped guys in his squad this year. Possibly worth looking at Blair Batchelor (Camelon) and Paul Tansey (Mussey).... Anyone else's thoughts?

User is offline   takeaboo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postcamelonguy, on 26 January 2012 - 10:53, said:

I wonder if Budgie will have any new, uncapped guys in his squad this year. Possibly worth looking at Blair Batchelor (Camelon) and Paul Tansey (Mussey).... Anyone else's thoughts?

MacKinnon, Gormley, Fulton.... 1 or 2 of Peasy/Ashfield players

User is online   Auld Heid 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
Is it still viable to have a Scotland Juniors team?

The last 2 Managers have not been up to the job:-

Jim O'Donnell, rarely left the west coast due to commitments to the Evening Times so the majority of players never got a chance, unless they played in a game being covered by the Times.

Keith Burgess started off well then went back into team management and as such this restricts his ability to watch players and assess.

We used to run an U23 and Inter Regional Competitions which had value as gave an opportunity to more players to shine. But sadly these games were blighted by Call Offs and players not turning up.

So as JC said in a previous post do we have the strongest available team or just a team made up from the high profile teams or from the odd game the manager attends outside his own fixtures.

What's the betting that there will be at least 1 Kelty Player in the team - not suggesting that it would not be merited but if your only watching the same team others have less chance to impress. One off game against Kelty and your chances are diminished?

It's just a Gala Day - So why is it on a Friday?

User is offline   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!

View Posttakeaboo, on 26 January 2012 - 11:52, said:

MacKinnon, Gormley, Fulton.... 1 or 2 of Peasy/Ashfield players

Scott Christie, Bo'ness, is the best keeper in the Juniors and Fleming, the Kelty keeper, is certainly good enough to be in the squad as backup. The East Region has the two best keepers in Junior football IMO in the above named two.

This post has been edited by drs: 26 January 2012 - 12:39

P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

User is offline   takeaboo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postdrs, on 26 January 2012 - 12:37, said:

Scott Christie, Bo'ness, is the best keeper in the Juniors and Fleming, the Kelty keeper, is certainly good enough to be in the squad as backup. The East Region has the two best keepers in Junior football IMO in the above named two.

both uncapped?

User is online   Auld Heid 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose

View Postdrs, on 26 January 2012 - 12:37, said:

Not doubting either keepers ability - you are correct they are both fine keepers.

But you have really just proved my point about insular views when you just watch a small amount of games or mainly a single region, your obviously a junior fan from the east. What about Leishman from Talbot - great reputation and well respected is he any better or worse than the 2 mentioned?
It's just a Gala Day - So why is it on a Friday?

• Third Division Regular
We could all put forward our own teams players as we're watching week in week out,don't know how the squad gets picked tbh but it must be a hared task if the guy Burgess canny get to see a lot of games especially in the west.

User is offline   pedro8 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
[quote name='Auld Heid' timestamp='1327581060' post='5918702']
Is it still viable to have a Scotland Juniors team?

The last 2 Managers have not been up to the job:-

Jim O'Donnell, rarely left the west coast due to commitments to the Evening Times so the majority of players never got a chance, unless they played in a game being covered by the Times.

Keith Burgess started off well then went back into team management and as such this restricts his ability to watch players and assess.

We used to run an U23 and Inter Regional Competitions which had value as gave an opportunity to more players to shine. But sadly these games were blighted by Call Offs and players not turning up.

So as JC said in a previous post do we have the strongest available team or just a team made up from the high profile teams or from the odd game the manager attends outside his own fixtures.

What's the betting that there will be at least 1 Kelty Player in the team - not suggesting that it would not be merited but if your only watching the same team others have less chance to impress. One off game against Kelty and your chances are diminished

Very poor post Auld head, Burgess has won the last 2 that have taken place .Dont think any manager wont have players looked by scouts before picking them.Kelty have had players in the last 2 squads anyway .As for wingnuts comment about small players getting in check the last squad on the sjfa site last squad made up of GIANTS like Dingwall,Fleming,Mckeown,Strickland Docherty, Cargill,Macdonald ,Robertson Mclaren,all average height or less.Squad as a whole picked from 13 teams.Lister,Hutcheson,Dollan Dingwall ,Anderson,and Mbu all went senior after their selection.Do you have something against Burgess from his time at the Rose?Cant comment on O'donnell did not watch junior football during his time as Manager.

User is offline   pccabe 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PCCABE
Think part of the problem is that the manager can only watch 1 game a week and watch highlights that are put on forums like this and undoubtedly he is probably going to go and watch the big clubs mostly.

I know from experience our league winning side who only lost 1 game all season still only got 2 players capped and that was Martin McGarvey and Brian McKeown who had already been capped playing for bigger clubs.

Although I must say we must be really well off for forwards as long as Andy Reid and Kenny McLean remain uncapped!

User is online   gogsy 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Other

View Posttakeaboo, on 26 January 2012 - 12:56, said:

both uncapped?

Fleming was capped in 2007

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
Very few folk in the east will watch juniors in the west, same with west watching east, everyone will say the player they saw is the "best in the juniors" because they only see a small percentage and are not aware of most players. Would be good if the manager didn't also manage a club side, this would give him time to take in junior games from both sides every saturday and would give players a fair chance at making the squad. I only watch games in the west so can't comment on players from the east I would like to see given a chance, players that have stood out in the west for me and are deserving of a chance are :

MacKinnon - Clydebank
Bradley - Arthurlie
McGladrigan - Petershill
Gormley - Rob Roy
Hall - Ashfield
Fleming - Meadow

This post has been edited by Mon The Port: 26 January 2012 - 17:39

PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

• Golden Shoe Winner
Given the above posts, part of me is slightly surprised there isn't an East Region v West Region trial match each season? You'd think it'd get a decent crowd, too.

I'd take it North Region caps are rare?

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow

View PostHibeeJibee, on 26 January 2012 - 17:46, said:

Given the above posts, part of me is slightly surprised there isn't an East Region v West Region trial match each season? You'd think it'd get a decent crowd, too.

thats a good idea. has any north region players been capped before?
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3

View PostHibeeJibee, on 26 January 2012 - 17:46, said:

Now that would be a crowd puller ! West win though to much quality
Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

• (3 Pages) +

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users