Brechin City vs Arbroath Let's try again. 14/02/12 Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   lichtgilphead 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Arbroath

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 25 February 2012 - 08:47, said:

Slightly out wth your facts there, but a good attempt !! ;)

Arbroath were in the top flight (of a 20 team league BTW) for 4 years from 1935-36 to 39-40 then shut down for the war till 1945 . After the war they were deemed to be a wee club and dumped back in Div2..........Rangers prob had something to do with that !!! ;)

Interestingly , City's best spell was in the eighties and in 1984 , finished 5th in Div one .Actually we were top after New Year and the top clubs started to talk about reconstruction as they were feart of the "wee City ". :P As the Premier had 10 teams, theoretically that would have put us 15th in the old set up . As Arbroath's highest position was 11th in the top flight, that doesn't put us too far behind in the grand scheme of things !!! 8)

Not wrong with my facts at all, my friend.

You appear to have conveniently "forgotten" quite a few seasons that Arbroath were in an 18 club top division.

Apart from the 4 years you mention, we were in the top league in 59/60, 68/69, 72/73, 73/74 & 74/75. I'm old enough to personally recall the last 4 of those.

As you correctly state, Brechin's best spell in the 1980's was exclusively in the lower leagues - a "theoretical" 15th is not quite as impressive as actually competing in the top set-up or winning league games at Ibrox etc.

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:East Fife

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 25 February 2012 - 08:47, said:

Slightly out wth your facts there, but a good attempt !! ;)

Arbroath were in the top flight (of a 20 team league BTW) for 4 years from 1935-36 to 39-40 then shut down for the war till 1945 . After the war they were deemed to be a wee club and dumped back in Div2..........Rangers prob had something to do with that !!! ;)

Interestingly , City's best spell was in the eighties and in 1984 , finished 5th in Div one .Actually we were top after New Year and the top clubs started to talk about reconstruction as they were feart of the "wee City ". :P As the Premier had 10 teams, theoretically that would have put us 15th in the old set up . As Arbroath's highest position was 11th in the top flight, that doesn't put us too far behind in the grand scheme of things !!! 8)

Yous are both diddies. Pipe down.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   thehog 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City

View Postlichtgilphead, on 25 February 2012 - 11:54, said:

Not wrong with my facts at all, my friend.

You appear to have conveniently "forgotten" quite a few seasons that Arbroath were in an 18 club top division.

Apart from the 4 years you mention, we were in the top league in 59/60, 68/69, 72/73, 73/74 & 74/75. I'm old enough to personally recall the last 4 of those.

As you correctly state, Brechin's best spell in the 1980's was exclusively in the lower leagues - a "theoretical" 15th is not quite as impressive as actually competing in the top set-up or winning league games at Ibrox etc.

aye, ok, but did you actually win anything................................. ....................NO :lol:

User is offline   lichtgilphead 

• First Division Signing Target

View Postthehog, on 26 February 2012 - 00:02, said:

aye, ok, but did you actually win anything................................. ....................NO :lol:

Yes - we won promotion to the highest level of Scottish football - something that Brechin have never done in their exclusively lower league history.

We've done it in 4 different decades (30's, 50's, 60's and 70's) and, as the original hedge pointed out, we have finished as high as 11th in Scotland.

Personally, I find that slightly more impressive than, for example, your 3rd Division championship in 2002. That year, you finished 33rd in Scotland, whilst we finished 19th, 2 leagues above you.

User is offline   farflung lichtie 

• Third Division Superstar

View PostGordon EF, on 25 February 2012 - 18:51, said:

Yous are both diddies. Pipe down.

Proud to be diddy, mediocre and temporarily solvent. But will it last?
Supporting Arbroath = the best of all possible worlds. Gayfield Park = stairway to heaven. The team and fans = the worst in the league, apart from all the others. Everything is rosy in our garden

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:East Fife

View Postfarflung lichtie, on 27 February 2012 - 15:10, said:

Proud to be diddy, mediocre and temporarily solvent. But will it last?

Yes, yes and no. :P
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City

View Postfarflung lichtie, on 27 February 2012 - 15:10, said:

Proud to be diddy, mediocre and temporarily high on solvent. But will it last?

Sorted !! ;)

• (7 Pages) +
  • « First