Football Room 101
Rate Topic:

2 Votes
Posted 12 March 2012 - 10:29
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
- Gamertag:PSN : whoorsir
Just thought of another one. EPSN seem to start every show a full hour before kick off. There's absolutely no need for an hour of bollocks before a run of the mill league game. A cup final yes. Not fucking Aberdeen v Hibs or something. They've usually run out of over-used cliches before they've even gone to the first ad break. And Ray Stubbs sits there like he couldn't give a fuck.
And what?
Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:31
- My Team:Other
- Gamertag:maldo123
The fact you're not allowed to support/follow a team thats not three miles from your house. Football fan snobbery at its finest. Its anyones perogative who they follow. Not yours. Teams fans should be grateful for any extra people buying their clubs shirts etc.
This post has been edited by Cyber_soccer: 12 March 2012 - 11:38
Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:51
- My Team:St.Johnstone
I fucking hate it when people say that "there was contact so he is entitled to go down". No, he's not. If the contact itself isn't enough to make you go down then it is a dive.
Posted 12 March 2012 - 13:23
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Montrose
- Euro 2012:Croatia
- Gamertag:WHIT
1. Traynor/Young/Spence. In the case of the first two, obvious blue bigots masquerading as wee team fans. In the case of the third, an amiable buffoon who knows absolutely nothing about the game, and is forever launching embarrassing non-stories that are immediately discredited. The BBC Sportsound squad needs a right good clear out, and those three should get a free transfer straight to Room 101, from where they should never be let out. Actually, I'd settle for them being banned from every senior and junior ground in Scotland, in perpetuity, and-finally- be left to contemplate their own insignificance.
2. "Goal celebration" music. About as celebratory as a wet Tuesday at an abandoned fairground. If you don't have the fans capable of generating a good atmosphere when you've scored, then you have to wonder what the point of it all is. Plus, this is not America- not quite yet, anyway.
3. Long drawn out screaming of a goalscorer's name on the tannoy. "ANNNN THE FIRST GOAL FIR THE WARRIORS THIS EFTERNIN WIS SCORED BY NUMBAH SIVVEN.....A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-N-N-N-N-N-N-D- D-D-Y-Y-Y-----RRRRRRRRRRRR-O-O-O-O-GGG---E- -R-R-R-R-R-R-S-S-S-S-S". f**k off. You're not Brazilian. You're not a commentator. You're an insignificant little scrote with a thwarted hospital radio career, who spends his week writing Health & safety memos for local government.
4. Fat b*****ds getting all humpty about sub-standard catering.
5. The SPL.
2. "Goal celebration" music. About as celebratory as a wet Tuesday at an abandoned fairground. If you don't have the fans capable of generating a good atmosphere when you've scored, then you have to wonder what the point of it all is. Plus, this is not America- not quite yet, anyway.
3. Long drawn out screaming of a goalscorer's name on the tannoy. "ANNNN THE FIRST GOAL FIR THE WARRIORS THIS EFTERNIN WIS SCORED BY NUMBAH SIVVEN.....A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-N-N-N-N-N-N-D- D-D-Y-Y-Y-----RRRRRRRRRRRR-O-O-O-O-GGG---E- -R-R-R-R-R-R-S-S-S-S-S". f**k off. You're not Brazilian. You're not a commentator. You're an insignificant little scrote with a thwarted hospital radio career, who spends his week writing Health & safety memos for local government.
4. Fat b*****ds getting all humpty about sub-standard catering.
5. The SPL.
This post has been edited by Ivo den Bieman: 12 March 2012 - 13:24
Posted 12 March 2012 - 13:34
- My Team:Greenock Morton
1. Fans who start booing and shouting 'get it up the fucking park!' after your centre backs have strung two passes together rather than hoofing it aimlessly up the park. If there's two minutes to go and you're a goal down it's understandable, but you get people doing this 10 minutes into games at 0-0. They're trying to work the ball into midfield and pass it, have a bit of patience for fucks sake. I remember a game away to Dunfermline in the 07/08 season, we won 1-0 and I think we took the lead fairly early on. At one point, still in the first half, the Dunfermline centre backs (Bamba and someone else) started playing one-twos between each other, gradually working their way further up the pitch. In 10 seconds this had got them from the edge of their own box to 5 yards inside our half, driving us deeper and deeper and allowing more of their players to get forward. However, with every single pass their fans booed more and more despite the fact they were clearly progressing up the field, to the point where it seemed the entire stadium was booing as they got to the edge of the centre circle. In response to the boos they stopped passing it, Bamba deciding to aim a cross to the edge of the box which was utterly harmless and easily dealt with by our defence, but which drew a 'wheey' from Dunfermline fans, as if to say 'you've finally chucked that fucking annoying idea of passing it, let's have more pointless hoofs to the edge of the box please!'
2. Over-protection of goalkeepers. How many times do you see a goalkeeper launch himself into an attacker at a corner and get a free-kick for it? I'm looking at you, McGregor.
3. Referees who don't enforce the obstruction rule. When was the last time you saw a free-kick given for obstruction? Never, that's when. Why the f**k not? Why are defenders allowed to blatantly stand in an attacker's way when they're trying to chase a through ball and challenge the keeper for it or stop it going out for a goal kick? There was one in the Hearts v St.Mirren game on Saturday that was terrible for this, McGowan was blatantly blocking Thompson five yards away from the ball while Webster saw it for a goal kick. If he'd done that in the middle of the park when there was a 50/50 ball it would be a foul every time, it shouldn't be any different when it's running out for a goal kick.
4. Craig Burley - total arse.
5. Pundits who don't do research. New Zealand v Slovakia, World Cup 2010. Pre-match in the BBC studio, Alan Shearer: 'Well both of these teams are an unknown quantity so it's hard to say how this is going to go.' WHAT? You're a pundit, it's your job to know about the teams and inform the viewer. Go and do some research on them, find out who their key players are (beyond 'he played for an English or Scottish team once didn't he?'), watch some of their previous games, talk to people you know from your career who are from those nations or have some knowledge of the teams, anything. Basically, just do your job properly you dick.
2. Over-protection of goalkeepers. How many times do you see a goalkeeper launch himself into an attacker at a corner and get a free-kick for it? I'm looking at you, McGregor.
3. Referees who don't enforce the obstruction rule. When was the last time you saw a free-kick given for obstruction? Never, that's when. Why the f**k not? Why are defenders allowed to blatantly stand in an attacker's way when they're trying to chase a through ball and challenge the keeper for it or stop it going out for a goal kick? There was one in the Hearts v St.Mirren game on Saturday that was terrible for this, McGowan was blatantly blocking Thompson five yards away from the ball while Webster saw it for a goal kick. If he'd done that in the middle of the park when there was a 50/50 ball it would be a foul every time, it shouldn't be any different when it's running out for a goal kick.
4. Craig Burley - total arse.
5. Pundits who don't do research. New Zealand v Slovakia, World Cup 2010. Pre-match in the BBC studio, Alan Shearer: 'Well both of these teams are an unknown quantity so it's hard to say how this is going to go.' WHAT? You're a pundit, it's your job to know about the teams and inform the viewer. Go and do some research on them, find out who their key players are (beyond 'he played for an English or Scottish team once didn't he?'), watch some of their previous games, talk to people you know from your career who are from those nations or have some knowledge of the teams, anything. Basically, just do your job properly you dick.
Posted 12 March 2012 - 13:38
- My Team:Raith Rovers
Why does nobody at the top level get booked for diving any more? I was half-watching the Bolton-QPR match on Saturday and on two separate occasions in the first half David N'Gog hurled himself to the ground in the box after no contact. The second occasion was as clear a dive as you're likely to see, the referee knew full well it was a dive but no foul awarded, no yellow card given. Why not?
The "entitled to go down" bullshit that you see banded about after the likes of Suarez against Arsenal really grates as well. Yes, we've slowed it down, switched angles and zoomed in to see a tiny little bit of shin contact. Enough to send him flying in the air, rolling around and screaming in pain? Absolutely not, it was a fucking dive. Just say so!
The reluctance of pundits and commentators to call a dive, a dive is also infuriating. Case in point being Gareth Bale against Arsenal a few weeks back. Everyone can see it's a dive. Everyone. While Martin Tyler and Gary Neville sit humming and hawing about "clever play" and instead focussed on the pace he used to get into the position in the first place. Gareth Bale is a frequent diver, everybody knows that, so they don't even have the protection of "he's not that kind of player". Has diving become acceptable? Sadly I think so.
The "entitled to go down" bullshit that you see banded about after the likes of Suarez against Arsenal really grates as well. Yes, we've slowed it down, switched angles and zoomed in to see a tiny little bit of shin contact. Enough to send him flying in the air, rolling around and screaming in pain? Absolutely not, it was a fucking dive. Just say so!
The reluctance of pundits and commentators to call a dive, a dive is also infuriating. Case in point being Gareth Bale against Arsenal a few weeks back. Everyone can see it's a dive. Everyone. While Martin Tyler and Gary Neville sit humming and hawing about "clever play" and instead focussed on the pace he used to get into the position in the first place. Gareth Bale is a frequent diver, everybody knows that, so they don't even have the protection of "he's not that kind of player". Has diving become acceptable? Sadly I think so.
Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:38
- My Team:St.Johnstone
- Euro 2012:Germany
Couple from this weekend:-
"he's raised his hands, he's got to got, it's the rules
Utter nonsense, nowhere in the laws does it say 'raising hands' needs to be violent conduct or serious foul play. I'm sure the MOTD commentator made it more bizarre by saying 'rasied his hand above chest height'.
"if it wasn't for your keeper..."
Like a goalie isn't part of the game, how dare they actually save a shot!
"he's raised his hands, he's got to got, it's the rules
Utter nonsense, nowhere in the laws does it say 'raising hands' needs to be violent conduct or serious foul play. I'm sure the MOTD commentator made it more bizarre by saying 'rasied his hand above chest height'.
"if it wasn't for your keeper..."
Like a goalie isn't part of the game, how dare they actually save a shot!
This post has been edited by Steve McQueen: 19 March 2012 - 07:39
Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:36
Players who kick the ball away not being booked.
Posted 19 March 2012 - 11:39
- My Team:Dundee
Posted 19 March 2012 - 14:36
- Euro 2012:France
I don't have 5 different points to add to those already posted but I'll reiterate the point about referees' inconsistency/making up rules.
Away at Thistle this season Bachirou was running with the ball but being kicked and tugged several times over a 30 or so yard sprint. He didn't go down and eventually lost the ball - no foul. Uncharacteristically, Bachirou proceeded to go apeshit at the ref who then stopped play, booked him for dissent and awarded a free kick to Thistle where Bachirou had hairdryered him. Is that the correct decision or a classic case of fan ignorance?
The Div and Ric 'Virgil' Vigil. Never forget the laughter.

Animal Man

Animal Man
Posted 19 March 2012 - 15:08
- My Team:Celtic
- Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover
GiGi, on 19 March 2012 - 14:36, said:
I don't have 5 different points to add to those already posted but I'll reiterate the point about referees' inconsistency/making up rules.
Would it not have made sense for the ref to have played advantage, and when he realised there was no advantage, to then award the free-kick? Assuming the ref saw the incident clearly, that is.
This take on it is probably wrong, but from what you've posted, that's my train of thought.
You see a mouse trap
I see free cheese and a fucking challenge...
Posted 19 March 2012 - 15:34
- Euro 2012:France
Lordofthewing, on 19 March 2012 - 15:08, said:
Would it not have made sense for the ref to have played advantage, and when he realised there was no advantage, to then award the free-kick? Assuming the ref saw the incident clearly, that is.
This take on it is probably wrong, but from what you've posted, that's my train of thought.
If you mean should he have awarded Morton a free kick when there was no advantage, that was my take on it at the time. The strange part was not even ignoring the foul but giving Thistle a free kick for dissent, essentially. Play had already moved on by then.
The Div and Ric 'Virgil' Vigil. Never forget the laughter.

Animal Man

Animal Man
Posted 19 March 2012 - 15:43
- My Team:Celtic
- Gamertag:XBL & Steam: VeryHungover
GiGi, on 19 March 2012 - 15:34, said:
If you mean should he have awarded Morton a free kick when there was no advantage, that was my take on it at the time. The strange part was not even ignoring the foul but giving Thistle a free kick for dissent, essentially. Play had already moved on by then.
Aye, that's what I was meaning.
Also, as he has obviously ignored/missed the foul and has chosen to book Bachirou, surely he could have let play continue, and called the player over when the ball was dead/out of play?
This post has been edited by Lordofthewing: 19 March 2012 - 15:45
You see a mouse trap
Posted 19 March 2012 - 16:14
- My Team:St.Mirren
- Euro 2012:Italy
Lordofthewing, on 19 March 2012 - 15:43, said:
Aye, that's what I was meaning.
Also, as he has obviously ignored/missed the foul and has chosen to book Bachirou, surely he could have let play continue, and called the player over when the ball was dead/out of play?
Yep, you don't stop the game to caution a player. You'd only do it if you were sending him off as a result.
Let play continue, ball goes out of play, Bachirou over and cautioned for dissent.
No problem.
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 26 2012 20:08
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board