Burgh v Talbot slag-off Merged topics Rate Topic: -----

User is online   Mr Prez 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dunipace Juniors
  • Gamertag:BFTITW

View PostIsabel Goudie, on 26 January 2012 - 20:22, said:

I do think this Senior Junior thing does have some millage. During Talbot's two Senior Cup runs I came across a number of Senior fans from various parts of Scotland, some from Dundee and Aberdeen just had no clue about Junior Football, utterly ignorant to the grade and the standard. Our spat with the Binos showed some of their fans to be arrogant and very critical of our grade, and some of the Hearts fans were just unbelievably scathing despite the fact the game should have been a draw. I spoke to one Rangers fan this week who had never heard of Talbot. Can I also point out that there were plenty of fans from Hearts and Stirling who gave credit where it's due. However, the whole thing has left me with a slight siege mentality and when any Junior team plays a Senior I am 100% behind them, even M£DDA. The other thing is that I'm far too miserable to fork out the money to watch Senior football which I consider about as big a rip of as rail travel!

GOOD POST A RANGERS FAN IN FRASERBURGH TOOK UMBRAGE AT MY BADGE DJFC 1888 ON MY LORRY 2DAY
ONE TOOTH AND A WART ON HIS NOSE PISSED MA SELF LAFFn AT HIM WHEN HE SAID SO THERE NOT A REAL TEAM THEN COS THEY STARTED UP THE YEAR AS CELTIC
BFTITW

User is offline   TFW 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostNero E. Oro, on 26 January 2012 - 17:56, said:

See this "realness"? it sounds like a load of pish to me.

What exactly is is Junior Fans have that Senior ones don't that makes them superior.

We don't tend to be armchair fans, and we're certainly not seduced by Murdoch's £millions. I think that's sufficient to be going on with.....

User is online   Stuboy 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow

View PostTFW, on 26 January 2012 - 23:08, said:

We don't tend to be armchair fans, and we're certainly not seduced by Murdoch's £millions. I think that's sufficient to be going on with.....

Not all senior fans are either

Irvine Meadow XI FC "There's always next year"

User is offline   Nero E. Oro 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
we'd have been declining the Sky money if the Hearts game had been live?

nope, didn't think so.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
all this boils down to is a misguided form of inverse snobbery from uber Junior fans, many of whom seem to confuse affluence with greed.

User is offline   TFW 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostStuboy, on 26 January 2012 - 23:20, said:

Not all senior fans are either

Stuboy, not saying they all are, but a sizeable majority of the OF are undoubtedly armchair fans, ditto with teams down south in the English Premiership, and Thailand, Hong Kong, China, etc, etc. The thing about being a Junior fan is you're prepared to watch football in conditions that these armchair "fans" would probably have a coronary if they had to do similar.
Nero, it's certainly not inverted snobbery either. It might come across on here with the keyboard warriors, but the vast majority of Junior fans just attend their games week in, week out with a loyalty that puts others to shame.
My professional club, albeit currently non league, is Grimsby Town. I went to watch them at Barrow on Tuesday night (don't watch them when they clash with Talbot) and having a jar with some Barrow fans in their social club before the game they were talking about what time their coach was going to Braintree on Saturday. The answer was 6.30am as it was over a 300 mile trip. That's dedication. There were nearly 200 Grimsby fans at Barrow on Tuesday, and the majority of them wouldn't get home until around the 3am mark. That's dedication. Superior to armchair fans???

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
don't really see the bearing of 'keyboard warriors' on this, it's just weird to take something like going to the football (which for all intents and purposes is 1. a choice and 2. a leisure pursuit) and trying to make a martyr of oneself for doing it!

ah don't presume to know the circumstances of people who can't attend matches as often as others, but i doubt it means they're inferior fans, and i certianly won't be lording it over them.

It absolutely IS a form of snobbery.

User is offline   TFW 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
"Oh, no it isn't" and retires.....

User is offline   IRVINE DODGER 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow

View Postspoop 1690, on 25 January 2012 - 22:17, said:

oh shucks u could be right ya sooky fucker

make yourself known on sat and i will punch you out your socks ya baw sack ye
go onto the center circle at halftime give a wave and a will see you then for a good halftime punch up :angry: :P :D

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View Postspoop 1690, on 26 January 2012 - 16:43, said:

seriously a get ur point ,am going 2 state fact and statistics about talbot,over the years we have played in numerous cup competitions and have been very succesful,the league has and should be the axes of a great team /but over the past decade talbot has been handicapped by bad weather and posponed games,so basically were playing catch up ,that dosent mean im being depremental to teams who go out of all cup comps early that means they can rack up games in the league,and teams like talbot are playing catch up by playing 3 games aweek late into a long hard season

What does depremental mean? I shall consult my Oxford dictionary in between Pimms and cucumber sandwiches Try and no' get all fighty this week boys, less chance when you're not quite as team handed as yiz were last week mind.

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postspoop 1690, on 26 January 2012 - 16:51, said:

go away you obnoxious creature the big boys are in debate

Agreed, he was being depremental and that just doesn't stand when the big boys are debating. A command of langauge is always a benefit in such situations don't you know?

This weeks subject - big f**k off irony.

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postspoop 1690, on 26 January 2012 - 16:51, said:

go away you obnoxious creature the big boys are in debate

Agreed, he was being depremental and that just doesn't stand when the big boys are debating. A command of langauge is always a benefit in such situations don't you know?

User is offline   talbot69 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostRobM, on 27 January 2012 - 21:03, said:

listen rob away and put a egg in your shoe and beat it as i said before you are full of shite

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostNero E. Oro, on 27 January 2012 - 07:41, said:

all this boils down to is a misguided form of inverse snobbery from uber Junior fans, many of whom seem to confuse affluence with greed.

100% agree, well run clubs shouldn't be held up as an example of all that is wrong with the junior game. I'd reckon that it's desirable they should be community orientated but that doesn't mean they should lack ambition at whatever level they play - sustainable progress is what all should aim for. Sometimes that's making sure a club exists in a town, sometimes it's living the dream.

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Snappy turn of phrase Talbot69, vaudeville still thriving in Auchinleck?

Make a change from the cock(s) fighting I dare say.

User is offline   watty1 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostRobM, on 27 January 2012 - 22:19, said:

Snappy turn of phrase Talbot69, vaudeville still thriving in Auchinleck?

Make a change from the cock(s) fighting I dare say.

Comon RobM,you still pissed off about last saturday, have you tracked down the toothless "animal" who caused the "riot" last week, hope you enjoy your cucumber sarnies in peace tomorrow, all the best for the season, hope we get Mussey next year at home for some rip roaring hospitality.!!!

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postwatty1, on 27 January 2012 - 22:43, said:

Comon RobM,you still pissed off about last saturday, have you tracked down the toothless "animal" who caused the "riot" last week, hope you enjoy your cucumber sarnies in peace tomorrow, all the best for the season, hope we get Mussey next year at home for some rip roaring hospitality.!!!

Nah, well beat, always been able to acknowledge the better team and you were the better team. Be an effort to pick out the toothless one in amongst the Bot support so we'll just have to accept that yer man's home and hosed, nae judge is gonnae accept that kind of description when yiz only brought 10 teeth in a support of 500 or so. Get the asparagus and salmon on, I'll be there.

User is offline   geo 1909 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostIRVINE DODGER, on 27 January 2012 - 20:39, said:

make yourself known on sat and i will punch you out your socks ya baw sack ye
go onto the center circle at halftime give a wave and a will see you then for a good halftime punch up :angry: :P :D
Im for £2 on spoop, i know he will knock feck out of you he is clear favourite to beat you up baaad.:lol: :lol: :lol:

• (14 Pages) +
  • « First