Weekly Football Quiz 2 2012 Edition Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

User is offline   South Lanarkshire Jag 

• Dance of the Year
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
The popular weekly football quiz is back, with a new host.

Format

Each round will consist of 10 questions. Every round will have a different format or theme, which will be explained at the time, but all rounds will be football-related.

The questions will be posted on a Friday afternoon/evening, and answers must be in by midnight on the following Wednesday. Please send me the answers via a PM. The correct answers will be posted on Thursday/Friday, along with individual round scores and the overall leaderboard. Late entries will not be accepted - 5 whole days is plenty of time. There may, of course, be alterations to the schedule if I am unavailable, and you will be notified of these as early as possible

All questions will be posted on this thread.

There will be 20 rounds, similar to the first quiz.

I will endeavour to make at least some of the questions ungoogleable, but of course there will be questions which can be looked up. This is supposed to be a fun quiz of your footballing knowledge, so I would encourage you not to use any search engines or books to find the answers

Spelling is not generally important, and as long as the answer is understandable I will give you credit for it. If I require clarification I will PM you - the onus is on you to respond to this. There may be exceptions to this (eg a spelling round).<

Each answer will be worth one point unless stated otherwise.

Where the answer is a person's name, I am looking for a FULL NAME. Answers which only give a surname will only receive half a point

I will take the utmost care to ensure that my questions and answers are accurate, but inevitably something could slip through the net. If you dispute one of my answers and can provide a credible source, then I would look into it further. However, my decision is final.

">No sign-up is necessary. You do not have to answer every round, but you will have the best possible chance of winning the overall game if you do.

I will be deleting all PM's after the answer's are announced so send each week's in a seperate PM.

If you have any questions about the format or rules then you can PM me or post them on this thread.

This post has been edited by South Lanarkshire Jag: 20 January 2012 - 21:19

• Dance of the Year
Round 1: First's.

1. In 1995 Eric Cantona served a long ban for attacking afan. Who was his first Premiership start after his ban against?

2. Who scored Scotland's first competitive goal of the 21stCentury?

3. Thierry Henry returned to Arsenal recently. Who did hescore his first Arsenal premiership goal against?

4. Who was the first player to use TV footage to appeal aban in the UK?

5. Who scored the first goal in the SPL?

6. Who were the first club to win the MLS Cup?

7. Who were the first British club to enter the EuropeanCup?

8. Who did Wayne Rooney score his first Manchester Unitedgoal against(all competitions)?

9. Who were the first English league club to win all threedivisional play-offs?

10. Who were the first hosts of the UEFA European FootballChampionships?

Answers in by Midnight on Wednesday please.

User is online   GingerSaint 

• Fcuk Tebow
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Only know one for definite and the rest are educated guesses. Not going to get more from mulling it over so sent them in now.

I would be very happy with 3/10.

User is online   Cammy35 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
PM sent. Only really confident of 1 or 2 but have made educated guesses for most and random guesses for the rest. Good quiz. Similar standard to CraigKillies in terms of difficulty.

Will now Google to see how I done.

User is online   GingerSaint 

• Fcuk Tebow
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

Cammy35, on 20 January 2012 - 21:36, said:

Will now Google to see how I done.

PM sent. Only really confident of 1 or 2 but have made educated guesses for most and random guesses for the rest. Good quiz. Similar standard to CraigKillies in terms of difficulty.

Wrong order, fixed. Posted Image

User is offline   Mr. Brightside 

• S.I.G.
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
I think I have 8, hopefully anyway.
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

User is offline   Virtual Insanity 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
I like to think I know a fair bit about football but I feel like a total cretin here. Will have a go though.

User is online   David W 

• The Chosen One
  • My Team:Clyde
As defending champion I'd like to think I know a bit about football but this is tough!
23 years but not forgotten.

User is offline   McKee 

• Settle for the draw
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Had to guess most of them.

User is offline   Virtual Insanity 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Googling reveals a grand total of 2, possibly a third that I can't Google.

User is offline   Bully Wee Villa 

• Third Division Reserve
Yikes.

User is online   smpar 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Dunfermline
Surprised I got 5 right, the name just came to me but I googled it after and it was right. My other guesses were pish though.

View PostGordieBoy80, on 20 January 2012 - 18:20, said:

The Pars is like crack cocaine, you know it's not good but you still want a hit.

@seanmacgregorr

User is offline   Gretna Til They Die 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Gretna
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Five tops. Won't even google them cos it'll just be embarrassing.
Liability.

• Dance of the Year
I may have pitched this round at a little too difficult. But you all like a challenge Posted Image

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Good first round.

Checked the answers now and I think I got 6 right.

User is offline   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Christ. I know maybe 2 or 3? Gonna need to take a lotta guesses!
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

• Dance of the Year

craigkillie, on 22 January 2012 - 15:33, said:

Good first round.

Checked the answers now and I think I got 6 right.

Might have been more if you can read the questions correctly Posted Image

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
:angry:

To be honest, that answer was an educated guess anyway, and I'd probably have said the same even if I'd read it properly.

User is offline   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7
Not confident of any Posted Image I thought I had the Henry one sussed but then read it and realised you weren't asking for his first league goal since he returned Posted Image

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain
I reckon I have four, would be very happy with five.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
Confident of 5. Guessed the other five.

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   morrison 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Germany
That was awful. Good round, I'm just a bit retarded. If I have any right I'll be chuffed, but it's entirely guesswork.

User is offline   C. Muir 

• FEED THE YAK
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Knew five, guessed the rest
We are a team, of fame and fortune.

• Dance of the Year

C. Muir, on 24 January 2012 - 00:07, said:

Knew five, guessed the rest

a little bump. Just over 24 hours to get your answers in

User is online   Cammy35 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
After checking my answers I think I am on for 1/10 here.

• (17 Pages) +
  • Last »