scottish junior cup tayside winner ? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   GEEG 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Does any one think that a tayside team has a chance in the scottish junior cup this season

User is offline   PrivateLumley 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

GEEG, on 19 January 2012 - 14:51, said:

Does any one think that a tayside team has a chance in the scottish junior cup this season

No

User is offline   MEADOWXI 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
Would not be surprised to see those still it advancing on Saturday;

Home advantage for Dundee Violet against Ashfield who have been inconsistent may play well for them

Lochee utd at Pollok - With Pollok who knows. By their standards an appalling season. But losing at Glenafton on Saturday in the West leaves this as their only big trpohy chance. A loss on Sat and they have only a league campaign to avoid relegation from. If Pollok play as badly as they have on days this season they will lose.

So can 2 Tayside teams make the last 16 - YES.
After that it is back to luck of the draw - but I would be surprised to see either in the final with the other teams still in it.

User is offline   Perthboy 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

MEADOWXI, on 19 January 2012 - 15:10, said:

Would not be surprised to see those still it advancing on Saturday;

Home advantage for Dundee Violet against Ashfield who have been inconsistent may play well for them

Lochee utd at Pollok - With Pollok who knows. By their standards an appalling season. But losing at Glenafton on Saturday in the West leaves this as their only big trpohy chance. A loss on Sat and they have only a league campaign to avoid relegation from. If Pollok play as badly as they have on days this season they will lose.

So can 2 Tayside teams make the last 16 - YES.
After that it is back to luck of the draw - but I would be surprised to see either in the final with the other teams still in it.

There is a 3rd "Tayside" team still in the Cup!! Kinnoull who are away to Lanark United. Although playing in a "Fife" league they are very much on the right side of the banks of the Tay(the wrong side being Fife)!!
The Odds of them progressing are 10/3 which is marginally better than Violet's odds of 19/5!

Perthboy, on 19 January 2012 - 15:34, said:

There is a 3rd "Tayside" team still in the Cup!! Kinnoull who are away to Lanark United. Although playing in a "Fife" league they are very much on the right side of the banks of the Tay(the wrong side being Fife)!!
The Odds of them progressing are 10/3 which is marginally better than Violet's odds of 19/5!

Apologises - Was unsure of Kinnoull as Tayside or not.
But will hedge my bets and say Tayside will have 2 out of 3 survivors on Saturday night now.
P.S. - Good Luck at Lanark.
Feel free to pop over to Carluke and hopefully see a team that should make the final progress - C'mon the DOW.

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
cant see it this year or in the next couple of years
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   Perthboy 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Getting 1 thru to the next round will be a success!! Fingers crossed though.
And I think "Mon the port" is being generous with his guess!!

User is offline   Clearviewoftheball 

• Third Division Signing Target

Perthboy, on 19 January 2012 - 15:34, said:

Good luck to Kinnoul at Lanark, isn't their pitch on the Fife side of the Tay though as is Tayports ? Not denying they probably still regard themselves as Tayside team mind you but in the East central now wi the Fifers as you point out.

GEEG, on 19 January 2012 - 14:51, said:

Despite what I believe to be a general raising of standards overall since the inception of super leagues and premier leagues I cannot see a tayside team nor for that matter a fife team coming close this year or next even, I wouldn't go beyond that because I think there can be massive changes in a club over a couple of years.

User is offline   Deanburn Dave 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Bo'ness United

Clearviewoftheball, on 19 January 2012 - 18:19, said:

Good luck to Kinnoul at Lanark, isn't their pitch on the Fife side of the Tay though as is Tayports ? Not denying they probably still regard themselves as Tayside team mind you but in the East central now wi the Fifers as you point out.

You are right to state that they are on the wrong side of the River Tay in Perth but Fife ends at Newburgh on the South side of the Firth of Tay. Perth is neither Fife or Tayside but lies in Perth and Kinross (Perthshire in old money !!!).

User is offline   pie_man 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Should be a good game at the violet this week.they are going well so hopefully get past this one.does anyone know how ashfield are getting on this season.and all so think lochee will struggling this week.

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3

Clearviewoftheball, on 19 January 2012 - 18:22, said:

Despite what I believe to be a general raising of standards overall since the inception of super leagues and premier leagues I cannot see a tayside team nor for that matter a fife team coming close this year or next even, I wouldn't go beyond that because I think there can be massive changes in a club over a couple of years.

Was very impressed with Hill O'Beath last season , they must have a decent chance in next seasion or two , no?

just realised HOB is not in tayside , sorry Posted Image

This post has been edited by RobRoyGuy: 19 January 2012 - 23:11

Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

User is offline   blairgowriedee 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Blairgowrie

Deanburn Dave, on 19 January 2012 - 19:08, said:

You are right to state that they are on the wrong side of the River Tay in Perth but Fife ends at Newburgh on the South side of the Firth of Tay. Perth is neither Fife or Tayside but lies in Perth and Kinross (Perthshire in old money !!!).

Sorry for being pedantic, but Perth is in Tayside, my history isnt the greatest but im sure this happened in 1975 when regionolisation occured. I stand to be corrected.
Anyway back to the question in hand , no chance not unless someone bankrolls a club .Ten years maybe!!!

User is offline   GEEG 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
CHEERS ALL FOR YOUR COMMENTS ME PERSONALLY I DONT THINK WE WILL SEE A TAYSIDE TEAM LIFT THE SCOTTISH CUP FOR A LONG LONG TIME I,VE BEEN TOLD THAT DUNDEE VIOLET ARE THE ONLY DUNDEE TEAM TO WIN THE CUP TRUE ?

User is offline   makaveli 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ashfield

pie_man, on 19 January 2012 - 21:36, said:

Should be a good game at the violet this week.they are going well so hopefully get past this one.does anyone know how ashfield are getting on this season.and all so think lochee will struggling this week.

It should be a decent game pieman. The club have had a great 1st season in the Super Premier so far, currently sitting 3rd. We've had some great results particulary away to Rob Roy winning 5-2 and at home to Pollok winning 4-0. Brought back down to earth in November after a record trouncing from Talbot......9-1, horrible day, partculary since it was my 1st visit to Beechwood.

Some good results in the Scottish, beating North Super League side Banks O'Dee, East Super League side Bathgate and a replay win over a stuffy Whitletts Victoria.

Performances have been a bit up and down of late but from what i seen last Saturday against Cumnock in the West i'm confident the lads can go to Dundee and make a game of it.

Might be working on Saturday morning although hopefully i can get away in time to catch the game, never-the-less Mon The Field

User is offline   pollokfan1987 

• My Team:Pollok

GEEG, on 20 January 2012 - 08:26, said:

CHEERS ALL FOR YOUR COMMENTS ME PERSONALLY I DONT THINK WE WILL SEE A TAYSIDE TEAM LIFT THE SCOTTISH CUP FOR A LONG LONG TIME I,VE BEEN TOLD THAT DUNDEE VIOLET ARE THE ONLY DUNDEE TEAM TO WIN THE CUP TRUE ?

Yes Dundee Violet are the only team from Dundee to win the junior cup in season 1928-29

User is offline   scottie1873 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ballingry Rovers

GEEG, on 20 January 2012 - 08:26, said:

Carnoustie and Lochee have won the cup im sure....

scottie1873, on 20 January 2012 - 13:35, said:

Carnoustie and Lochee have won the cup im sure....

Don't know about Lochee winning it but know they lost in the final in 1954,

Sunnybank 2 Lochee Harp 1
reason I know is one of the guys I work with has the Sunnybank Goalies winners medal on a chain round his neck,
Sunnybank keeper at the time is his dad.

User is offline   CheeMan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Lochee United

MEADOWXI, on 20 January 2012 - 13:55, said:

Sunnybank 2 Lochee Harp 1
reason I know is one of the guys I work with has the Sunnybank Goalies winners medal on a chain round his neck,
Sunnybank keeper at the time is his dad.

Lochee United and Lochee Harp are two different teams... Lochee United have never won the Scottish Junior Cup, contested the final with Tayport back in 2005 and got pumped!

Lochee, along with every other team in Tayide, have a chance of winning the Scottish each year, just the luck of the draw who you get through the rounds...

Carnoustie have won it recently, I think back in early 2000's...Google it and see...
MON THE CHEE! - www.locheeunited.co.uk

User is offline   the southside brazillians 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Pollok
Well Lochee won't win it this year as the MIGHTY LOK will avenge the 31 year old pain and robbery the last time we played them at Newlandsfield. Hope they don't bring the linesmen with them this time :P

User is offline   scottie1873 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ballingry Rovers

CheeMan, on 20 January 2012 - 15:45, said:

Lochee United and Lochee Harp are two different teams... Lochee United have never won the Scottish Junior Cup, contested the final with Tayport back in 2005 and got pumped!

Lochee, along with every other team in Tayide, have a chance of winning the Scottish each year, just the luck of the draw who you get through the rounds...

Carnoustie have won it recently, I think back in early 2000's...Google it and see...

I thought you had beaten Tayport mate thats why i posted it and i think Carnoustie won it at Firhill against Tayport not sure if it was penalties or what.

Deanburn Dave, on 19 January 2012 - 19:08, said:

LOL ok Dave so not a "Tayside" team after all then despite playing for years in the Tayside league and clearly not a "Fife" side either despite playing now in a league largely made up of Fife teams.

Can't see a Perth and Kinross side winning the cup in the next two years either but good luck and i hope Kinnoul are still in the cup after tomorrow.

User is offline   CheeMan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Lochee United

scottie1873, on 20 January 2012 - 17:45, said:

I thought you had beaten Tayport mate thats why i posted it and i think Carnoustie won it at Firhill against Tayport not sure if it was penalties or what.

Aye Scottie, Carnoustie won on 4-1 on penalties after a drab draw after extra-time, I'm sure it was live on tv...
MON THE CHEE! - www.locheeunited.co.uk

blairgowriedee, on 20 January 2012 - 07:14, said:

Sorry for being pedantic, but Perth is in Tayside, my history isnt the greatest but im sure this happened in 1975 when regionolisation occured. I stand to be corrected.
Anyway back to the question in hand , no chance not unless someone bankrolls a club .Ten years maybe!!!

Maybe i need to catch up on my geography Blair but why Perth and Kinross if Perth is in Tayside.

Jeezuz if Salmond gets in he'll have Lochgelly in Ayrshire or mibbees in Highland aye thats aboot where the park is anyway.

Come to think of it thats no a bad plan lol !

:D Awaits Cowden Jimmy's retort.

Jist Kiddin pal

CheeMan, on 20 January 2012 - 15:45, said:

Was aware that Harp & United were different teams.
Meadow beat Harp 3 or 4 seasons ago.

Was just pasing the comment as the poster before me had stated Lochee only and not differentiated.
Hope no offense caused

• (2 Pages) +