Writing Thread Show off your work Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   jeffy 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other
This is one off my latest poems, my teecher says its a story of a boys triumph over aversity.

Ive been not well for yeers and years, it makes me feel like greetin
i have a pair of calipers ive got to put my feet in
And when i walk they make a noise, they seem to go "Thump , thump.
I wish i could run fast, just like forrest Gump .

Some people shout some bad things, i think Ive heard the lot
" there goes that fuckin spazzy, but a spazzy I am not !
Theres one boy in perticular, hes a right wee dick
one day when im all better, i'll smash his face in with my stick !

I would have wrote more but i get emotonal when Im writing.
But ive nearly finished my lateset one, wich is very sad but if you like ill put it on here when its finished. Its called "my granny died last chrismas and its a true poem but very very sad. :(

edited for spelling,

pS i wasnt going too bother posting this but I read hegecutters and i thought mine Would be okay

User is offline   Clyde 1877 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Got a little piece on my blog about how youngsters need to be introduced to first team football throughout the SPL and SFL.

http://dannyksports....elop-youth.html

As always feedback is more than welcomed.

:)

Come check my blog; all things Scottish football.

http://dannyksports.blogspot.com/

User is offline   JamboMikey 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
The cat sat, on the mat.
5 - 1

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Thought i'd do a short piece on Nikica Jelavic since he's going to Everton.

http://dannyksports....bye-nikica.html

User is offline   bunglebonce 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:la baa
Bump for this, as I've just come across the thread.

Clyde: if you don't already have one, I suggest you open a Twitter account. It's a handy way for networking and exposing your blog.

I'm particularly interested in coming across other people who write about the SFL. I know of a couple on P&B, and a few Partick Thistle blogs, but I'm sure that I'm missing a number who aren't getting the exposure they deserve.

View PostvikingTON, on 18 January 2012 - 20:11, said:

Yeah as general rules go:

You need to read, and redraft any work. Typos and mistakes happen all the time, more so when typing. They stand out to a reader and interrupt the flow of finished work.

You should also try to avoid using 'dead' words, unnecessary adjectives are a particular waste. Try and make sure every word is serving a purpose, if one is labouring, get rid of it or find a more efficient expression.

As a discursive piece goes, the link between the example and the point isn't particularly clear. Take 'Livingston as an example of a successful passing side'. The example is cited, then partly discredited by circumstances, which undermines the argument. Then the piece asserts it to be a good example anyway without further supporting evidence.

None of these should ever be a reason to stop writing but it should always be a case of practice, review and starting over.

Excellent advice.

User is offline   Nizzy 

• Street tuff
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
The Courier published an op ed by a certain Dundonian today...
MAKE ONE FAMOUS

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postbunglebonce, on 07 February 2012 - 21:14, said:

Clyde: if you don't already have one, I suggest you open a Twitter account. It's a handy way for networking and exposing your blog.

I'm particularly interested in coming across other people who write about the SFL. I know of a couple on P&B, and a few Partick Thistle blogs, but I'm sure that I'm missing a number who aren't getting the exposure they deserve.

Excellent advice.

Yeah mate ive done some networking via Twitter.

User is offline   Savage Henry 

• J'ai une ame solitaire.
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Hang Out The Stars In Indiana
[quote name='bunglebonce' timestamp='1328649243' post='5950206']

Excellent advice.
[/quoteri

Bump for this, just because. I've added a couple of sports pieces, but I don't really enjoy writing about sports purely because there's so many people doing it. Bunglebonce's blog is an example of doing something that stands out, but most stuff is kind of samey. That being said, there must be about 100,000 player "autobiographies" which follow exactly the same format.

User is offline   dundeebarry 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee

View PostNizzy, on 07 February 2012 - 21:57, said:

The Courier published an op ed by a certain Dundonian today...

First paid writing gig. I was chuffed to be asked to contribute. More to follow, hopefully...
KEN AYE.

User is offline   Scary Bear 

• Golden Baws
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:Life begins at 40

View Postdundeebarry, on 12 February 2012 - 11:43, said:

First paid writing gig. I was chuffed to be asked to contribute. More to follow, hopefully...

Is the article available online? Is there a link?

Life is good.

User is offline   Dindeleux 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
  • Gamertag:gspunkertoker

View PostClyde 1877, on 18 January 2012 - 19:48, said:

This piece is about the possible impact that a passing game could have on Scottish football.

Posted Image
Major Titles:
Kilmarnock - 5
Ayr United - 0
1 team in Ayrshire

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostScary Bear, on 12 February 2012 - 11:55, said:

Is the article available online? Is there a link?

I just had a quick scan of the Courier website and couldn't see it (though I did find a letter of complaint in response to it - yaaaas!). I have a pdf copy of the page, so if I can upload it here I will. It'll be tomorrow though - I'm abroad and on my way out.
KEN AYE.

• Golden Shoe Candidate
Another letter of complaint was printed in the Courier today. I'm "An utter disgrace," apparently. Happy days.
KEN AYE.

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic
Lets see it Barry!

I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

• Golden Shoe Candidate
I'm on holiday posting from my phone, banterman. Can't seem to upload files, and it's not on the paper's website. PM me your email address and I'll send you a pdf copy if you like.
KEN AYE.

User is offline   ThatBoyRonaldo 

• My Team:Linlithgow Rose
  • Euro 2012:Russia
  • Gamertag:colonel_sanders1 (PS3)
They called you odious! I think those of us cursed to be non-Dundee residents need to see this article!

edit: i just saw the above post. can i send you my email too?

This post has been edited by ThatBoyRonaldo: 13 February 2012 - 11:48

'well let me quote the late, great colonel sanders, who said, 'im too drunk to taste this chicken'

• Golden Shoe Candidate
The boy got straight to the point, eh? As above, I can attach it to an email if you fancy a read.
KEN AYE.

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Celtic

View Postdundeebarry, on 13 February 2012 - 11:46, said:

I'm on holiday posting from my phone, banterman. Can't seem to upload files, and it's not on the paper's website. PM me your email address and I'll send you a pdf copy if you like.

That's okay - I think i get the jist of what you wrote anyway! :lol:

Hope this turns into a recurring gig for you
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

User is offline   ThatBoyRonaldo 

• My Team:Linlithgow Rose
  • Euro 2012:Russia
  • Gamertag:colonel_sanders1 (PS3)

View Postdundeebarry, on 13 February 2012 - 11:50, said:

The boy got straight to the point, eh? As above, I can attach it to an email if you fancy a read.

Ok Ill do that the now.
'well let me quote the late, great colonel sanders, who said, 'im too drunk to taste this chicken'

User is offline   Andy C 

• Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View Postdundeebarry, on 13 February 2012 - 11:50, said:

Was it regarding the diamond jubilee?..

Stay in bed

Sir, - Your self-styled 'writer' Barry ****** odious contribution to the new, improved Courier regarding the Queen's Diamond Jubilee celebrations was an utter disgrace.

He would do the paper's readers an enormous favour if he spent not only an extra half day in bed — which he claimed he would enjoy — but all day and every day.

Rarely, if ever, have I read such drivel.

G. ******.
***** Street,
Balbeggie.

I might actually buy the Courier if Barry has free reign to piss folk off in it.

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostAndy C, on 13 February 2012 - 12:20, said:

Was it regarding the diamond jubilee?..

That's the one. I think we can safely assume that chap is not a fan of my work.

I sent TBR the pdf version. He's going to try and upload the article on-thread.
KEN AYE.

User is offline   GordieBoy80 

• -177 for one post ? I'm box office !!!
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)

View Postdundeebarry, on 13 February 2012 - 12:30, said:

That's the one. I think we can safely assume that chap is not a fan of my work.

I sent TBR the pdf version. He's going to try and upload the article on-thread.

Send me one as well Barry, let me know when you get any more articles published, I'll get my maw telt to get a Courier.

As for contributions to the thread, here's what I will hope will become a real event as part of my uni course

Attached File  Coursework B.doc (38K)
Number of downloads: 5

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostGordieBoy80, on 13 February 2012 - 12:35, said:

Send me one as well Barry, let me know when you get any more articles published, I'll get my maw telt to get a Courier.

Will do, Gordie. PM me your email.
KEN AYE.

View Postdundeebarry, on 13 February 2012 - 12:46, said:

Will do, Gordie. PM me your email.

PM sent

• (4 Pages) +