Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Match of the Day Jan 21st - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Match of the Day Jan 21st can you guess what it is yet?

User is offline   mickles 1981 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Stirling Albion

View Postsurely not!, on 21 January 2012 - 13:33, said:

Mickles, let us know how many cards there are at the unis game today then. Bet there's loads.....

2 or 3, I'm told. But then someone took the Ref out at that point, from the grassy knoll that Grim sits on...
Uni Chaps are usually very sporting on the field, what? Which may explain why that frighteningly delightful chap in Black, cuts us Uni wallahs a bit of slack, by jove...:D

I wisnae at the game today, but a great result, after Stirling went 2-0 down to 2 OGs.

Came back to win 3-2, but I'm told the penalty for goal 3 was very harsh on Edinburgh.

User is offline   1314Albion 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
University of Edinburgh 2 v 3 University of Stirling

Grim made this game "Match of the Day" so someone needs to produce a match report. Grim, here is my effort:

Let's start with the referee: Gavin Thomson is not of the appropriate standard to referee East of Scotland games. He gave very obvious wrong decision on several occasions. These were inexcusable. They simply frustrated the players from both sides and his reaction was to book players for what were, effectively, his errors. This is not acceptable. In addition, he was inconsistent. As I have noted, he is not of East of Scotland standard and it is unfair of players at this level to have him officiating at games in which they are involved. Please remove him to a lesser level. He is not of the standard expected by players of East of Scotland standard.

What can I say about Peffermill? It is a big open space with no shelter. The University's first team pitch appears to run SW - NE and the wind was blowing very strongly from the SW right down the pitch. It was a game of two halves (sorry for this expression).

Edinburgh, with the wind at their backs, scored in the first few minutes and again after about 42 minutes. I think both may have been own goals but I am not too sure. In the interim, Stirling played the better football against a strong wind and they had their chances but wasted them. Edinburgh are not the most skilful and greatest footballing side in the league but they frustrated Stirling, showing great character to go in 2-0 up at the break. Both teams attempted to get the ball on the ground and play some football but conditions were very poor.

The second half was all Stirling. To their credit, they got the ball on the ground and tried to break down Edinburgh by playing some quite decent football but they were guilty of giving the ball away quite a lot, particularly from the right. Edinburgh frustrated Stirling for 20 minutes, much to their credit but the break thorough came after about 70 minutes. From this point on Edinburgh had their backs to the wall and they continued to frustrate Stirling. However, two timely substitutions change the game. Stirling brought on a couple of forwards for a midfielder and a defender (since Edinburgh showed no attacking threat against the wind) and this turned the game. Stirling equalised after about 80 minutes and then huffed and puffed to produce the winner. It was gifted to them by the referee. On 88 minutes, yer man Geddes slotted a penalty passed the outstretched hand of a very brave Edinburgh 'keeper. Game over and 3 points heading up the M9 to Stirling. It seemed to be a soft penalty.

Over 90 minutes, Stirling were the better footballing side but Edinburgh battled hard and showed great spirit. Stirling forced lots of good field positions (free kicks and corners) but squandered a lot of them. They can be quite wasteful. However, it was a great win for the Stirling students and a reflection of their quality. Stirling have played 9 league games and I think 7 have been away from home. Theoretically, they remain within 3 points of Spartans and a point ahead of Vale of Leithen.

Conditions were not good for football today but well done to both sets of players for their application - Stirling are a very adroit and skilled side. They deserved to win today but, at the ned of the day, they got out of jail courtesy of a sub-standard referee.

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City

View Post1314Albion, on 21 January 2012 - 20:29, said:

University of Edinburgh 2 v 3 University of Stirling

Grim made this game "Match of the Day" so someone needs to produce a match report. Grim, here is my effort:

Let's start with the referee: Gavin Thomson is not of the appropriate standard to referee East of Scotland games. He gave very obvious wrong decision on several occasions. These were inexcusable. They simply frustrated the players from both sides and his reaction was to book players for what were, effectively, his errors. This is not acceptable. In addition, he was inconsistent. As I have noted, he is not of East of Scotland standard and it is unfair of players at this level to have him officiating at games in which they are involved. Please remove him to a lesser level. He is not of the standard expected by players of East of Scotland standard.

sounds like he is of the standard expected by this seasoned and cynical East of Scotland football watcher anyway! :rolleyes:
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

User is offline   Grim O'Grady 

• First Division Sub
  • Location:3.25 minutes from Ainslie Park (not on my bike, it's the shed lock, it's rusty so it's about 6 minutes on me bike now)
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Couldn't make it to the MotD sorry so you'll just have to make do with 3 Spartans goals, normal service will resume next week!

Grim
"I'd rather support that Eastlands shite than Spartans" HeedtheBaa

• First Division Sub
  • Location:3.25 minutes from Ainslie Park (not on my bike, it's the shed lock, it's rusty so it's about 6 minutes on me bike now)

Grim

User is offline   heedthebaa 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:whitthefuck!
That looks some loft conversion
Only here for sex and danger

What a dislikeable c**t you are (only on derby day)

User is offline   colinmc 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postheedthebaa, on 21 January 2012 - 23:46, said:

Hope they have planning permission !

• First Division Sub

View Postheedthebaa, on 21 January 2012 - 23:46, said:

Oh aye quality, it's no cowboy job that, great views of the Pentlands too.

Grim

User is offline   drivethru 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other
Decided to take Grim's advice and take in my second EoS game of the season between the students. 5 goals, 5 cautions and a howling gale that made the game one-sided in each half. Stirling played better against the wind overall, creating a couple of chances in the first half (including one excellent save by the Edinburgh goalkeeper). Edinburgh's first goal was a comical own goal as the defender stooped to head the ball into his own goal from a cross that was heading out of play. The second came deep into stoppage time when an inswinging free kick caught the wind (and a head) at flew into the net.

Second half, Stirling tried to play their football but couldn't put decent balls into the box. The two goals they did score were well worked and well taken, though Edinburgh's defending for the second was awful, letting the Stirling boys play a acouple of one-two's through the middle of them. Then in the 90th minute, a penalty was awarded. For me there were 2 potential penalties, the whistle went after the ball struck the Edinburgh 11's hand. The player turned to block the attempted cross and his hand, while not completely outstretched, was still away from his body and deflected the ball. As the ref blew for the penalty, which I agree was soft but still technically correct, the Stirling 9 was barged to the ground by a defender, therefore would have been a penalty anyway.

1314Albion - Didn't think the ref had that bad a game. While not the best in the EoS, he was not helped by the assistant who was on the dugout side seeming to stop running while play was going on and giving a couple of horrendous offsides when there was at least 1 if not 2 players playing the Edinburgh striker onside. There should have been a card for the first foul when your (and I;m assuming you're Stirling Uni follower given the user info) number 5 pulled back the Edinburgh striker, but apart from that the cards seemed to be justified.. There can be no argument with either Stirling cautions and the Edinburgh one for simulation, the 2 at the end were frustration at a soft penalty being given against them, despite it being correct.

User is offline   Scotty Gormley 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Civil Service Strollers

View PostGrim O, on 18 January 2012 - 21:06, said:

Scotty your past precedes you, only you can shape the future Scotty, it's deeds & actions that tell. Likewise re the cards game, deeds & actions, if it's nonsense them time will tell, let's come back to this after Saturday's affairs.

Grim

Looks like you were wrong about the card count Grim so you were talking nonsense. Was that Civil doing Spunktans favours at the weekend.

Scotty G 14 in 15

• First Division Sub

View PostScotty Gormley, on 23 January 2012 - 20:17, said:

Looks like you were wrong about the card count Grim so you were talking nonsense. Was that Civil doing Spunktans favours at the weekend.

Scotty G 14 in 15

Fair enough Scotty, I hold me hand up, mind you I've not seen the actual match reports to confirm the card count but if it's true that the tax dodgers got more cards than yous vs WW then you are correct!

Aye cheers to CSS, not like we needed any help, we are quite capable of doing it ourselves!

Grim

User is offline   nach 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

View Posttamthebam, on 21 January 2012 - 22:27, said:

sounds like he is of the standard expected by this seasoned and cynical East of Scotland football watcher anyway! :rolleyes:

Ive said it before and i"le say it again, The referee"s and their assistants are a joke most of the time.

• (2 Pages) +