- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Dumbarton
- Gamertag:GoTeamGaz
Posted 21 January 2012 - 18:51
- Euro 2012:Germany
el Gringo, on 21 January 2012 - 17:55, said:
Not very much if you think the challenge on your keeper was "knee-high studs up". It wasn't. He dived in, in an attempt to block the clearance. It was late and deserved a yellow card but to suggest anything more is wrong.
If I was an Airdrie supporter I'd be asking why, when leading 2-1 and with almost half the match still to go, the trialist decided it would be a good idea to stamp on an opposing player. It was stupid, unprovoked and in my opinion ultimately cost Airdrie the game. That said I thought Airdrie adapted well to being down to 10-men and could have won it. Two 50/50 penalty shouts and at least three clear cut chances on the break in the second half. Grindlay pulled off a number of key saves. In particular, one at 2-1 that would have put Airdrie clear. Typically followed a few minutes later with our equaliser. The home keeper didn't look to clever with high balls but given the weather conditions it's maybe understandable.
The goals we conceded were poor. Finnie being caught out of position for the first and then falling to deal with a straight forward through ball for the second.
The referee was poor but not helped by continuous niggling fouls, by both sides. I've now seen Airdrie three times this season and on each occasion they've been willing to dish it out. Today Dumbarton gave it back and I thought Nicoll was again effective in the middle.
The sending off certainly swung the game in Dumbarton's favour and if the home support have any grievance it should be focussed on that rather than the referee.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 18:56
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:03
- Gamertag:PS3: Sonhawk
And the challenge on the keeper wasn't even a challenge, he slid to try and block the ball and the keeper kicked him. Or at least that's my view on it. Never a booking.
Oh aye, and the player that was sent off should receive a hefty ban which I doubt he will. If it was a Dumbarton player which committed that foul I'd still have been as furious as I was today at the Airdrie player.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:18
- My Team:Airdrie Utd
Jordo1872, on 21 January 2012 - 18:51, said:
If I was an Airdrie supporter I'd be asking why, when leading 2-1 and with almost half the match still to go, the trialist decided it would be a good idea to stamp on an opposing player. It was stupid, unprovoked and in my opinion ultimately cost Airdrie the game. That said I thought Airdrie adapted well to being down to 10-men and could have won it. Two 50/50 penalty shouts and at least three clear cut chances on the break in the second half. Grindlay pulled off a number of key saves. In particular, one at 2-1 that would have put Airdrie clear. Typically followed a few minutes later with our equaliser. The home keeper didn't look to clever with high balls but given the weather conditions it's maybe understandable.
The goals we conceded were poor. Finnie being caught out of position for the first and then falling to deal with a straight forward through ball for the second.
The referee was poor but not helped by continuous niggling fouls, by both sides. I've now seen Airdrie three times this season and on each occasion they've been willing to dish it out. Today Dumbarton gave it back and I thought Nicoll was again effective in the middle.
The sending off certainly swung the game in Dumbarton's favour and if the home support have any grievance it should be focussed on that rather than the referee.
Ok, I'll bow to your obviously superior knowledge. "Knee high" may have been a bit of an exaggeration, but he was certainly studs up, and if Connor's foot had been planted it could have been a leg-breaker. My idea of an attempted block is putting your foot in the path of the ball, not into the opposition player's leg. But hey, been and gone.
As for our penalty shouts... the one where Lynch went down was nothing, I think he tripped himself up, he got up straight away and didn't even appeal for it. The handball minutes later was pretty clear, and I can only assume the ref thought it was ball to hand as he can't possibly have missed it.
As I said, I didn't see the red card incident clearly, if he's deliberately stamped on Prunty he's an idiot and that did contribute to us not winning the game. As you say though, your goalkeeper having a great day and our goalkeeper not having a great day was a factor. Never mind, I'm going to get drunk now.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:22
Why would you stamp on someone without any apparent friction between the two beforehand? I think he had only committed one foul in the game.
Oh, ....and taxi for Fairley!
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:30
Jordo1872, on 21 January 2012 - 18:51, said:
well said that man.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:42
- Gamertag:Hendrie89
diamondman, on 21 January 2012 - 19:22, said:
Why would you stamp on someone without any apparent friction between the two beforehand? I think he had only committed one foul in the game.
Oh, ....and taxi for Fairley!
I usually have to say this to opposition fans but ffs take the diamond tinted specs off.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:51
- Group: Platinum Members
Northcroft made some truly baffling calls throughout, pulling advantages back for no real reason, giving freekicks inconsistently. I thought it was a fairly obvious handball (wasn't deliberate I dont think, just through being a bit out of place but the ball definitely struck the arm) by Finnie in our box and there was another that would fall into the "seen them given" category although the player never actually appealed for it. The linesman closest to the stand was absolutely rank rotten as well, never in line with play and I was sure Airdrie's second was offside, although based on some of the decisions we got i'll let it slide
Despite the best attempts of the ref and co a football match almost did break out, even with 10 men Airdrie looked dangerous on the break and Grindlay had to make 2 in particular great saves. We created chances of our own towards the end though and managed to get the 3 points which I'm delighted about, 3 (late) wins on the trot now which puts us level with Stenny on points. The start of the second half to the season already looking better than the first.
This post has been edited by Clarko_son: 21 January 2012 - 20:07
Posted 21 January 2012 - 19:52
- Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?
We're winning the game by "one more than them" in the dying embers of the game. Tells me a couple of things:
We are fighting to the end - something that has been lacking in general.
Patch Walker is proving to be vital, and priceless.
More power to you, Alan Adamson. I like your management style. Something I haven't been completely positive about since the days of big Tam Carson.
Keep it up Sons. This could be our year.....
Edited for piss poor spelling...
This post has been edited by ThirdrockfromtheSon: 21 January 2012 - 19:53
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................
Posted 21 January 2012 - 21:48
Actually , that's how I saw it. My view. My opinion.... You clearly differ. So be it
Posted 21 January 2012 - 22:59
Posted 21 January 2012 - 23:03
- My Team:Stirling Albion
- Gamertag:XBL World Champion
phelpsisking, on 21 January 2012 - 22:59, said:
Childish and completely unnecessary.
Grow up.
The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.
Posted 21 January 2012 - 23:26
diamondman, on 21 January 2012 - 19:22, said:
It was a clear sending off, I hope that guy never gets on a football pitch again.
I have heard that Prunty injured him last season, for the whole season.
Matt Norcroft is certainly one of the worst refs in this league, very inconsistent, today he wasn't good for either side.
Airdrie players were their usual diving, cheating selfs (although the ref didn't fall for it as much today). The suspected penalty was a ball-to-hand.
Lithgow shouldn't have been yellow carded, the Airdrie player pushed him, Lithgow did nothing.
I can't believe Airdrie fans booing Prunty after the head stamping, he didn't just stand on his head, he stamped on it.
Posted 22 January 2012 - 01:17
bigmacDFC, on 21 January 2012 - 23:26, said:
Matt Norcroft is certainly one of the worst refs in this league, very inconsistent, today he wasn't good for either side.
Airdrie players were their usual diving, cheating selfs (although the ref didn't fall for it as much today). The suspected penalty was a ball-to-hand.
Lithgow shouldn't have been yellow carded, the Airdrie player pushed him, Lithgow did nothing.
I can't believe Airdrie fans booing Prunty after the head stamping, he didn't just stand on his head, he stamped on it.
A bit of perspective would be nice.
Posted 22 January 2012 - 01:33
bigmacDFC, on 21 January 2012 - 23:26, said:
would rather have someone in my team who kicks peoples heads in than have a registered sex offender in the team
Posted 22 January 2012 - 02:02
I can't be arsed going through all the decisions the referee got wrong because it would take all night, he wasn't biased, he was just completely incompetent and an arsehole to boot. You could tell after 10 minutes that the game was going to turn nasty by the way he refereed it, continually making a big deal out of minor incidents by rushing in full pelt blowing his whistle 50 times and causing a scene instead of letting the players get on with it like they wanted to do. He's one of those refs that was obviously bullied at school and now loves being in a position of authority. Having said that I think he probably got the handball shouts correct as to me they weren't deliberate. The decision to give Dumbarton a free-kick which lead to their winner was a complete joke though. The near side linesman was hopeless too, Airdrie's second goal was clearly offside.
Outside of Cowdenbeath and maybe Arbroath there is absolutely nothing between the the rest of the teams, they're all pretty rank and whoever finishes in the bottom two is going to wonder how they managed to finish bottom of that pile of rubbish.
This post has been edited by Diamonds are Forever: 22 January 2012 - 02:05
Posted 22 January 2012 - 03:26
- Gamertag:Hendrie89
Fact is it's another red card and yet more silly Indiscipline which is a far to frequent problem this season. Airdrie have far to many issues on and off the field and till that changes the results won't. Airdrie are no where near ready for a promotion push and after the games in hand are over with a relagaion battle will be the more likely outcome.
This post has been edited by diamond_for_life: 22 January 2012 - 03:28
Posted 22 January 2012 - 10:32
The Diamond, on 22 January 2012 - 01:33, said:
Act your age for heavens sake--- or maybe your mental age is the problem
Posted 22 January 2012 - 10:47
- My Team:Other
Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:48
- My Team:Albion Rovers
- Euro 2012:Spain
Posted 22 January 2012 - 11:57
diamond_for_life,
on 22 January 2012 - 03:26, said:
I'm not criticising him, if he hadn't reacted like that the referee wouldn't have noticed it so he did what he had to do to get justice, the fish out of water routine was a bit extreme but I suppose it did the job.
Posted 22 January 2012 - 12:04
Wee Red Book, on 21 January 2012 - 17:56, said:
On another note...should the sons no. 10 have been sent off for his uncontrolled lunge on the keeper? And the handball in the second half, how was that missed?
Pretty unremarkable outfit that are sitting in a nice wee lovely 4th place. Uncontrolled lunge is a bit OTT no? He was nowhere fucking near the keeper.
60s-airdrie, on 21 January 2012 - 18:11, said:
See above, he was nowhere fucking near the keeper and quite frankly, Lovering running in as if he'd malkied the keeper made more of the situation than it was.
The Diamond, on 21 January 2012 - 18:38, said:
Get it up ye.
phelpsisking, on 21 January 2012 - 22:59, said:
Get it right up you.
Diamonds are Forever, on 22 January 2012 - 11:57, said:
Lie on the ground and I'll stamp on your head, we'll see how you fucking react.
I love late winners.
He was born on a line many thousand year long, many more thousand to be
They survived on tradition, not wealth and position
Sounds pretty simple to me....
Posted 22 January 2012 - 12:09
Thanks for the 3 points, lads.
Posted 22 January 2012 - 12:13