Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Celtic Park attendances - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

Celtic Park attendances Under Tony Mowbray

User is online   ScottR96 

• Qu'est-ce que français pour Va Va Voom?
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:France
Seem to remember attendances at Celtic Park struggling to break the 30,000 mark under Tony Mowbray, but would be interested to know the lowest League Crowd they got with him in the dugout.

And if any Celtic fans have anything to say, please put the Seville Calculator back in the drawer before you answer the question.

Cheers.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
BBC match report for his last home game... Celtic 3-0 St Johnstone on Sat 20th March... claims a round 30,000 but obviously a round figure is not very accurate to use. Going by match reports, his only other sub-40k crowd was 36,827 for Celtic 2-0 Hamilton on Boxing Day.

User is online   ScottR96 

• Qu'est-ce que français pour Va Va Voom?
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:France
Incidentally, I was at the Hamilton game on Boxing Day and I am shocked with this figure. Thought the crowds were much worse than that.

User is offline   Fitba Stats Bobby 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Hibernian

ScottR96, on 16 January 2012 - 21:49, said:

Incidentally, I was at the Hamilton game on Boxing Day and I am shocked with this figure. Thought the crowds were much worse than that.

May 2010 saw a reported crowd of 24k under Neil Lennon v Motherwell:

http://www.fitbastat...php?gameid=5322

User is online   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
No point in looking at Celtic's official attendance figures given that a lot of them are basically made up.

User is offline   Ross. 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

craigkillie, on 17 January 2012 - 11:52, said:

No point in looking at Celtic's official attendance figures given that a lot of them are basically made up.

Pretty much.

I believe they justify it by counting all season ticket holders as in attendance, regardless of whether they do turn up or not.

User is offline   AsimButtHitsASix 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

HibeeJibee, on 16 January 2012 - 21:40, said:

Going by match reports, his only other sub-40k crowd was 36,827 for Celtic 2-0 Hamilton on Boxing Day.

Accies do have a terrible away support tho' :P

User is offline   ajwffc 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden

Ross., on 17 January 2012 - 16:15, said:

Pretty much.

I believe they justify it by counting all season ticket holders as in attendance, regardless of whether they do turn up or not.

Don't just about every club do this.
If the blind lead the blind, then both shall fall into the ditch

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South

ajwffc, on 17 January 2012 - 19:31, said:

Don't just about every club do this.

NOt in my experience they don't. We certainly don't.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   ICTChris 

• Don't worry boss, I've got you covered. Quick and clean
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
I was at Celtic Park for our two all draw last season - the official crowd was 46,000 but I'd be amazed if it was much over 30,000. Large swathes of empty seats.

Strange as when we first got into the SPL Celtic had full houses every week and you'd only really see spaces for cup games.
The party goes on behind elevator doors
While the elevator plummets from the 69th floor

@chrislindsay33

User is online   Ranaldo Bairn 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Gamertag:What is this..X..Box..you speak of?
I seem to remember one midweek game where Paul Mitchell or whoever announced the crowd as 30k or 33k, and even Murdo Macleod scoffed and went "pfft, aye right".

Page 1 of 1