LARGS FOR THE DROP
Rate Topic:

Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:10
whats your views on largs chances of survival with these "play your mate" managers at the helm!
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:12
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Kilwinning Rangers
- Euro 2012:Spain
Dont score enough goals but always seem capable of producing a few results and i think they will probably do that again and keep their heads above water.
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:14
- My Team:Clydebank
- Gamertag:Kingjad86
For some reason we've not had a chance to play them yet this season in the league, but the matches between Largs and Clydebank may prove vital to see if either can avoid the drop - I've heard decent things about Largs in their style of play, apparently they try to play a nice passing game, but if it doesn't yield results then it matters not how nice the football is at the end of the day.
Clydebank Till I Die
My posts do not reflect the views or opinions of Clydebank FC - I am just a Clydebank FC supporter, despite my 'role' as cameraman. If you get upset with what I post, be upset at ME, and not Clydebank FC.
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:15
- My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Kilwinning Ranger, on 15 January 2012 - 21:12, said:
Dont score enough goals but always seem capable of producing a few results and i think they will probably do that again and keep their heads above water.
Agree with that , anytime i have seen them they have looked a decent side . Some excellent player's in there team IMO and a good spine stephen connick , Walton, Mcclure , guy lindsay up front. They may not score many but i think they will dig out a few results and avoid the automatic places anyway.
This post has been edited by RobRoyGuy: 15 January 2012 - 21:16

I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:23
- My Team:Largs Thistle
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:24
that clown danny gault must go hes a relegation warhog, as for that numpty gus gault playing nearly every week thats simply embarassing" just because ur the managers friend" the boys just not good enough and too old! 1 word for him...... pension
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:25
Kingjad, on 15 January 2012 - 21:14, said:
I've heard decent things about Largs in their style of play, apparently they try to play a nice passing game, but if it doesn't yield results then it matters not how nice the football is at the end of the day.
far cry from last season when we were condemed for our "style" of play - yet it got us the points we needed !!
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:29
- My Team:Scotland
ken67, on 15 January 2012 - 21:10, said:
whats your views on largs chances of survival with these "play your mate" managers at the helm!
Not having a go but I assume you have an issue with Pat and Danny since you have joined today and then posted this......who are you referring to as 'play your mate'?
Anyway, in answer to your question, if we carry on playing the way we did yesterday then I would imagine we will finish in the bottom three although have a feeling it will be a play-off rather than relegation - 2nd half we were played off the park by a team a league lower than us who fully deserved their victory and good luck to them in the next round. We were dire yesterday and interesting that someone mentioned we play some good passing football because there certainly wasn't yesterday - punt up the park and hope for the best.
I do feel we have some good players but too lightweight in the middle of the park - I think we need a solid, hard tackling midfielder who can break up oppositions play and start our own...probably contradicted myself after saying no football played yesterday but got to win the ball to start your own attacks.
Going to be a difficult session but can hopefully see us scrping through via a play-off or even finishing just above the play-off position.
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:32
- My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Points on board count for a lot in this league . Would rather have say 20 points like the roy and ashfield have than 10pts like largs with 4 games in hand.

I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:33
Bungee71, on 15 January 2012 - 21:29, said:
Not having a go but I assume you have an issue with Pat and Danny since you have joined today and then posted this......who are you referring to as 'play your mate'?
Anyway, in answer to your question, if we carry on playing the way we did yesterday then I would imagine we will finish in the bottom three although have a feeling it will be a play-off rather than relegation - 2nd half we were played off the park by a team a league lower than us who fully deserved their victory and good luck to them in the next round. We were dire yesterday and interesting that someone mentioned we play some good passing football because there certainly wasn't yesterday - punt up the park and hope for the best.
I do feel we have some good players but too lightweight in the middle of the park - I think we need a solid, hard tackling midfielder who can break up oppositions play and start our own...probably contradicted myself after saying no football played yesterday but got to win the ball to start your own attacks.
Going to be a difficult session but can hopefully see us scrping through via a play-off or even finishing just above the play-off position.
no issue with them just dont agree with gault playing ahead of any of the other midfielders, plus d gaults recored for relegation is shocking
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:36
- My Team:Scotland
ken67, on 15 January 2012 - 21:33, said:
no issue with them just dont agree with gault playing ahead of any of the other midfielders, plus d gaults recored for relegation is shocking
Don't disagree with you ken, certainly hasn't set the heather on fire since he arrived.....seems to show more passion shouting at his own fans when criticised than he does motivating his players on the park.
In fairness, Gault wasn't playing yesterday and we were no better in midfield.
Posted 15 January 2012 - 21:40
ken67, on 15 January 2012 - 21:24, said:
that clown danny gault must go hes a relegation warhog, as for that numpty gus gault playing nearly every week thats simply embarassing" just because ur the managers friend" the boys just not good enough and too old! 1 word for him...... pension
last game Gus played was away to Cumnock on the 19th november last year - hardly what u call "nearly every week" - he has only played 13 out of 22 competative games
yes i do agree that he isnt up to the premier div. but with the injurys we seem to have this year every player counts when u dont have the cash that some of our opponents have to throw around
Posted 15 January 2012 - 22:03
It has been a strange season,stop start with the weather. A more thorough and dedicated manager than Pat in the league in my view would be hard to find. I believe with the weather and injuries that it is been difficult to find a first choice 11. As for the strikers they need a wee bit of service, if they get this I feel that they have goals in them.
I would rather have points in the bag than games in hand, but we are where we are. We just have to get behind the manager and the team, yes it is going to be hard but I am sure we can do enough to stay up.
ken67, on 15 January 2012 - 21:52, said:
i think theyve got good strikers just no creativity or maybe it is the management whats ur view smaug
Posted 15 January 2012 - 22:14
ken67, on 15 January 2012 - 21:52, said:
i think theyve got good strikers just no creativity or maybe it is the management whats ur view smaug
dont think there is anything wrong with wee Pat remember he is the guy who has given us our best ever finish in the league ever
so in my opinion he should be given the benefit of the doubt & i dont think he is doing a bad job - i dont agree with all his choices but i bet even the Talbot fans dont agree with every starting 11 that Tucker puts out !!
as Theweepieman says injurys have scuppered Pat most of the season , dont think we have had same 11 available 2 weeks in a row - but im reasonably confident that Pat will grind out the results we need after all that is what we r good at
Posted 16 January 2012 - 07:03
- Gamertag:Beef Noodles.
RobRoyGuy, on 15 January 2012 - 21:32, said:
Points on board count for a lot in this league . Would rather have say 20 points like the roy and ashfield have than 10pts like largs with 4 games in hand.
It depends who your opponents are for the 4 games in hand (in your example). If they are double headers against Meadow and Petershill, then not good. However if relegation 6 pointers against Clydebank and Cumnock/Kilbirnie, then the chances of staying clear of the drop increase.
I am hoping Largs stay up. Pollok as well.
In time of difficulties, we must not lose sight of our achievements
Posted 16 January 2012 - 13:26
- Euro 2012:Netherlands
Posted 16 January 2012 - 13:29
- Gamertag:Beef Noodles.
Ross., on 16 January 2012 - 13:26, said:
I'd be delighted if both went down, it would save us!
I know that....but there are some other teams down the bottom with us.....
In time of difficulties, we must not lose sight of our achievements
Posted 16 January 2012 - 14:17
- My Team:Lanark
Largs were not impressive on Saturday against Lanark. We have the poorest scoring record in our division, yet managed to score 3 away and it could have been more.
Posted 16 January 2012 - 14:26
Have to agree with the majority of the posts that although we're struggling atm pat should be given a chance to turn things round..
Having said that we were terrible on saturday and it looks as though the squad needs freshened up.. Not sure if theres money to spend but a few fresh faces might do the trick?
Think we have too much quality to go down but i am sure other teams will be thinking the same.
Having said that we were terrible on saturday and it looks as though the squad needs freshened up.. Not sure if theres money to spend but a few fresh faces might do the trick?
Think we have too much quality to go down but i am sure other teams will be thinking the same.
Posted 16 January 2012 - 14:34
- Euro 2012:Netherlands
Posted 16 January 2012 - 16:03
I see largs are struggling for scoring some goals at the moment. I know this lad jasper played for largs thistle before but i think he could do at job for them at the moment in terms of goalscoring. I know he is playing in lower divisions but he is a terrific worker and good team player and has been scoring a lot of goals for fun at the moment. Just wondering if anyone can agree with me on this topic?
Posted 16 January 2012 - 17:21
- My Team:Port Glasgow
coaching badge, on 16 January 2012 - 16:03, said:
I see largs are struggling for scoring some goals at the moment. I know this lad jasper played for largs thistle before but i think he could do at job for them at the moment in terms of goalscoring. I know he is playing in lower divisions but he is a terrific worker and good team player and has been scoring a lot of goals for fun at the moment. Just wondering if anyone can agree with me on this topic?
i think he could do a job
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC
Posted 16 January 2012 - 17:26
the first time he came to thistle he was just starting junior football an inexperienced. Hes strong quick and hold up play is very good for a small lad and i think this time round he could play for a team in a higher division. His game has changed over the past couple of season and has now established himself as a good junior player
Posted 16 January 2012 - 17:28
i really think largs would benefit from a change of management possibly bring in someone who can bring the best out of them like brian heron hes had some of the boys at the port and got them playing above there capabilities whats your views on this?? i fear the worst if no action is takin ASAP
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 26 2012 11:31
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd