View PostBlairwood, on 14 January 2012 - 21:51, said:

Refsgood or bad

No worse than they were 15 years ago ;)

User is offline   Blairwood 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
The ref at oakley v star game the day was a joke people r paying good money to c a game and the ref wastes it for both teams to many young refs trying to make a name for there self

User is offline   Mr Prez 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dunipace Juniors
  • Gamertag:BFTITW

Refsgood or bad

GOOD OR BAD AT WHAT?
BFTITW

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Doing what they are payed for they just seem to b getting worse a few posts last season about them and they seam to be maken the same mistakes and still getting games i no we would not have a game without them but i think they ara fast tracking them to fast

User is online   Jim Leighton 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View PostBlairwood, on 14 January 2012 - 22:18, said:

The ref at oakley v star game the day was a joke people r paying good money to c a game and the ref wastes it for both teams to many young refs trying to make a name for there self

Paul Jewell in disguise.
I am not the real Jim Leighton.

User is online   peasy23 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Petershill
My biggest complaint is their inconsistency, rather than them being bad. Mistakes by players influence results far more than mistakes by the officials.

User is offline   Snowy Malone 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Gamertag:GITALIFEYASADGIT
I think on the whole this season they have been ok.The majority that we have had this season have been young,throw in the fact that they have no linesmen,two greetin faced teams,its bloogy hard job.Cant think of a game this season involving the Pace that has been won or lost due to a refs decision.Its far too easy for teams to blame refs for their own failings.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Ultimately it returns to the old rhetorical questions thing... is SFA turning away people who want to be refs? Are refs trying to be poorer quality than they can be? If the answers are 'No' little can be done - particularly at non-league level, which isn't elite refereeing.

User is offline   lazyjack 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
Arseholes the lot o them, Except the female ones :D
MEDDA TILL WE DIE

User is offline   Mr Prez 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Gamertag:BFTITW

View Postlazyjack, on 14 January 2012 - 23:47, said:

Arseholes the lot o them, Except the female ones :D

YES THEY HAVE THEM 2 WULLIE ;)
BFTITW

User is offline   lazyjack 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow

View PostMr Prez, on 15 January 2012 - 00:51, said:

YES THEY HAVE THEM 2 WULLIE ;)

I know :lol: Wonder how they did? :D
MEDDA TILL WE DIE

User is offline   bigtatties 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Petershill
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

Refsgood or bad

Medda v Peasy....... Ref and linos were fine. Good or bad.......if we didnt have officials...we wouldnt have a game.....At our level, we gotta take the good wi the bad......and hope for the best......
O' wad some pow'r the Giftie gie us,
Tae see oorsel's as ithers see us,
It wad frae mony a blunder free us,
An' foolish notion........

User is offline   Supras 

• Hot girls are just like you - except we're hot
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Italy
Young refs FTW.

View PostH_B, on 18 February 2011 - 12:07, said:

Yes. Unless Sky go bankrupt, there is no way Italian football will ever challenge the Premiership again.

AC Milan 4 - 0 Arsenal : 16th February 2012.
Napoli 3 - 1 Chelsea : 21st February 2012

User is offline   clash city rocker 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside
When you look at the mistakes from highly paid refs in the English Premier League -- Junior refs are not all that bad

User is offline   NittenSpur 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Newtongrange Star

View PostJim Leighton, on 14 January 2012 - 22:55, said:

Paul Jewell in disguise.

I know what you're saying Jim. I was taking notes on the match at Oakley for my local paper, and the game hadn't even started when 2 home supporters told me "the first thing you should write doon is that there shouldnae be f*****g women refereeing oor game"

Of course she didn't get everything right over the 90 minutes, but she certainly wasn't helped by the useless (male) linesman on the far side who spent more time trying to crack jokes than he did actually doing his job. And personally I thought she coped admirably with the continual intimidation from a clearly frustrated home side obviously more used to getting there own way.

User is offline   blairgowriedee 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Blairgowrie

View PostBlairwood, on 14 January 2012 - 22:34, said:

Doing what they are payed for they just seem to b getting worse a few posts last season about them and they seam to be maken the same mistakes and still getting games i no we would not have a game without them but i think they ara fast tracking them to fast

Education good or bad 8) a few spelling mistakes there but i dont see any refs coming on here to give you grief.

Anyway your question raises a few points for me, you have said if there were no refs there wouldnt be a game, correct, also a lot of young refs are really trying to make a name for themselves, correct. This season i have taken a step back in the sense i dont barrck the refs but try and talk to them to explain there decisions. You wouldnt believe how better things are this season. Albeit this is from a touchline view, now spectators there another thing :lol:

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
I just think when you get a older ref they have a bit more common sense for the game players when they finish r to old to be a ref i was just wondering what other leagues thought and at our game there was lines men so it should have been easer for the ref i no its hard when you only get a 1offical but latley it does not matter if there is lines men or not its the same old as they were bad for both teams and wasted what could hav been a good game

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View PostBlairwood, on 15 January 2012 - 10:04, said:

I just think when you get a older ref they have a bit more common sense for the game players when they finish r to old to be a ref i was just wondering what other leagues thought and at our game there was lines men so it should have been easer for the ref i no its hard when you only get a 1offical but latley it does not matter if there is lines men or not its the same old as they were bad for both teams and wasted what could hav been a good game

Problem is bud, as soon as a ref shows 'common sense' then they're going to find their career is short. The Laws of the Game are pretty black and white in parts and so often any confusion is caused by supporters (or players for that matter) not grasping what the Law actually says.

A topical example of the above would be the furore over Kompany, something MotD touched on last night. If you go for the ball with more force than is needed to win it (i.e. by putting your whole body weight into a tackle with one or both feet) then you run the risk of being sent off. Missing the man, winning the ball etc are not relevant. I head at the time Alan Green and Robbie Savage squabbling about it on the radio, the former demanding the Laws be re-written as if it was a red then "the Law's an ass" and the latter stating "this could be a red card" but "it's never a red card" and "I can see why he gave it" but "it's never a red card".

In Junior games, chances are the person taking charge is on the way up. Very few Junior games are done by the guys/girls who have already been sidelined into a career of reffing in the non-league scene. That means they're surely under pressure to interpret the Laws without applying common sense as any supervisor will mark them down for being soft.

User is offline   Deanburn Dave 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Bo'ness United

View Postclash city rocker, on 15 January 2012 - 02:02, said:

When you look at the mistakes from highly paid refs in the English Premier League -- Junior refs are not all that bad

Agree 100% with the mistakes point at the highest level but I would go further and say that their lack of consistency re interpretation on tackling is probably the most confusing thing for Scottish referees, players and fans at all levels.

User is offline   Hillonearth 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Maryhill
I would have said Willie Collum was one of the worst when he was working at Junior level - officious wee robot. Look where he is now though. Generally, refs do a thankless job to the best of their ability, especially at District level where they're working without linesmen.

User is offline   The REAL Rookie Cookie 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Penicuik Athletic

View PostNittenSpur, on 15 January 2012 - 02:16, said:

And personally I thought she coped admirably with the continual intimidation from a clearly frustrated home side obviously more used to getting there own way.

I think I posted something very similar after our game at Blairwood about the continual intimidation from the home side - don't think anyone even mentioned the ref after our game at Nitten last week!!

I think its not a case of good or bad refs it's the complete and utter lack of consistency and you see it week in week out, but then highly likely the ref is only trying to follow the instructions from above which as we see on MOTD etc every week can't even be applied consistently in what is claimed to be the best league in the world with full time refs.

So probably about time we accepted our lot, hope that over the season the 'decisions' even out and look inwards at the level of intimidation and the challenging of every decision, from the most obvious of throw ins to every offside from the dugout and on the park and all help to make refs jobs just a wee bit easier. Is it not about time that a ref actually booked a player for ungentlemany conduct for challenging the most obvious of decisions. I am sure we would all moan but it may just stop what at times is tantamount to cheating by trying to gain an unfair advantage by intimidating the ref!

User is offline   MUSSEYBOY 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View PostNittenSpur, on 15 January 2012 - 02:16, said:

I know what you're saying Jim. I was taking notes on the match at Oakley for my local paper, and the game hadn't even started when 2 home supporters told me "the first thing you should write doon is that there shouldnae be f*****g women refereeing oor game"

Of course she didn't get everything right over the 90 minutes, but she certainly wasn't helped by the useless (male) linesman on the far side who spent more time trying to crack jokes than he did actually doing his job. And personally I thought she coped admirably with the continual intimidation from a clearly frustrated home side obviously more used to getting there own way.

My 1st post for about 2 months - just to laugh at the pish from our pals up the road.

Oakley fans are no worse than any other junior outfit having seen them on 3 or 4 occations this and last season

Clearly if its a team against you its intimidation - if its you lot its supporting your team!

Clearly your Star tinted glasses are on again - No team in the land can beat you lot for intimidation of match officials.

You would contest the coin toss... if you were out the bar on time!

User is offline   The REAL Rookie Cookie 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Penicuik Athletic

View PostMUSSEYBOY, on 15 January 2012 - 11:41, said:

My 1st post for about 2 months - just to laugh at the pish from our pals up the road.

Oakley fans are no worse than any other junior outfit having seen them on 3 or 4 occations this and last season

Clearly if its a team against you its intimidation - if its you lot its supporting your team!

Clearly your Star tinted glasses are on again - No team in the land can beat you lot for intimidation of match officials.

You would contest the coin toss... if you were out the bar on time!

Mussey Boy what a pish first post in two months - read Nitten Spurs post properly and he clearly states as highlighted by you - 'a clearly frustrated home side' - not supporters but 'team' - the post is not about supporters so yopu have just scored another og.

Stick to the radio mate !!

• (3 Pages) +