Stenhousemuir v Forfar Athletic 14/01/12 Rate Topic: -----

User is online   stewie from paris 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostCresto11, on 15 January 2012 - 17:52, said:

We finally get a win yet there is still no pleasing some of our fans, unbelievable.

Foxy was excellent when he came on (playing in his correct position) , if he could play like that every week it would be great but he just hasnt showed any consistency at all this season. I would start him next week in place of Greg Ross who just hasnt been doing enough in recent weeks. Also heard there will be two new signings this week. Will be interesting to see what positions these will be in

Foxy has always performed for us playing in the middle, his assist tally when playing there is through the roof, playing him out wide or not at all is ludicrous. Same goes for Kevin Byers.
Maybe Dick should take a look at himself for a change - it's his bizarre team selections that have got us in the state we're in.

User is offline   ravogd 

• Third Division Signing Target

We finally get a win yet there is still no pleasing some of our fans, unbelievable.

Foxy was excellent when he came on (playing in his correct position) , if he could play like that every week it would be great but he just hasnt showed any consistency at all this season. I would start him next week in place of Greg Ross who just hasnt been doing enough in recent weeks. Also heard there will be two new signings this week. Will be interesting to see what positions these will be in

The point being made is that our own manager wasn't happy with the performance of some players either so having a go at "some" fans for airing the same views seems a bit odd. If you're trying to claim that "some" of our fans are not pleased with the win you couldn't be more wrong, but it's not as black and white as win and everything's great or lose and everything is shite. Teams can play well and lose and play shite and win. I'm not going to stop pointing out things both negative and positive from performances just because we win a game. If you are being totally honest then you must know it could have just as easily been 3-2 Stenny yesterday as 3-2 us but I am delighted it was the latter.

Like I said before. Delighted with the win and lets try to push on, but better tactics and selections will make winning a hell of a lot easier.

User is offline   beaver1 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
We are now closer to the bottom of the league than the top and are badly missing Eric Paton, and on Saturday, Andy Rodgers.

However too many of our players are misfiring. The two full backs in particular. McKinlay who looked like a world beater a month ago needs a kick up the backside and Lyle is badly off the pace and has been for a while.

Would be stretching it to say Forfar deserved to win - we hit the bar and had a goal disallowed - but we only played any decent football for 20 mins at the start of the 2nd half.

This has the makings of a disaster waiting to happen unless Paton can save us for the 2nd season on the trot.

User is offline   nofixedability 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Spain

Foxy was excellent when he came on (playing in his correct position) , if he could play like that every week it would be great but he just hasnt showed any consistency at all this season.

I know I'm supposed to be ignoring your posts but don't you think there is a correlation between him not being consistent and not being picked consistently and in the same position?

It's been the story of our season that every week the team changes. In fact the only constant has been Templeman and is it a surprise that he has been our best player?
"We didn't lose the game; we just ran out of time."
- Vince Lombardi

Pie & Bovril Last Man Standing Winner 2009.

User is offline   Cresto11 

• Third Division Signing Target

View Postnofixedability, on 16 January 2012 - 10:22, said:

I know I'm supposed to be ignoring your posts but don't you think there is a correlation between him not being consistent and not being picked consistently and in the same position?

It's been the story of our season that every week the team changes. In fact the only constant has been Templeman and is it a surprise that he has been our best player?

Possibly, he was rubbish when he came on against Brechin in the middle and was non existent against Aberdeen. I would start him next week with Mowat and he has to step up to the plate and perform instead of playing well for 10 minutes in a game.

Your right, Templeman has been excellent all season, i dread to think what our points total wouldve been without him.

User is online   stewie from paris 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostCresto11, on 16 January 2012 - 10:37, said:

Possibly, he was rubbish when he came on against Brechin in the middle and was non existent against Aberdeen. I would start him next week with Mowat and he has to step up to the plate and perform instead of playing well for 10 minutes in a game.

What is it about this your not understanding? Foxy was picked in centre midfield for four games back at the start of the season. We won three and were unlucky to lose 4-3 at East Fife, our football in those games was outstanding and he was our best player in all of those games, since then he's either been out wide, up front or left out altogether. Byers must play alongside him, Mowat's just not good enough.

This post has been edited by stewie from paris: 16 January 2012 - 16:28

User is offline   Bogs_Dollox 

• Third Division Sub
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
how did hilson and low do ? both played out wide i presume?
booooh The sun has got his hat on, bip-bip-bip-booray!, The sun has got his hat on and he's bumming out today! baaaaaaaah #Briday

User is offline   adventpc 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
:) here r the hilites from ochilview v forfar....:(

WARRIORS TV
Warriors TV

User is offline   ++Ammo - Airdrie++ 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
  • Gamertag:ammoairdrie
Heard irons has chucked it.

User is offline   James2345.0 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Gamertag:HighlandFrube (Xbox)

View Post++Ammo - Airdrie++, on 16 January 2012 - 21:27, said:

Heard irons has chucked it.

What gives you this idea?

Just something I heard last night.

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
zzzzzzzz.

Patter.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   Aberdeen Cowden 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostNeilly, on 17 January 2012 - 12:16, said:

zzzzzzzz.

Patter.

Aye, amazing the things some folk "hear" and post on here.

Naw seriously (unlike me I know) I genuinely heard last night that irons has chucked it.

User is offline   nofixedability 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View Postadventpc, on 16 January 2012 - 20:14, said:

:) here r the hilites from ochilview v forfar....:(

WARRIORS TV

Good highlights, thanks. Looked like Forfar took their goals well and Hilson and Dow created chances with their paces down the flanks.
"We didn't lose the game; we just ran out of time."
- Vince Lombardi

Pie & Bovril Last Man Standing Winner 2009.

• Third Division Sub
when i click the link for the highlights i seem to get directed to the ross county game and cant find the correct highlights?
booooh The sun has got his hat on, bip-bip-bip-booray!, The sun has got his hat on and he's bumming out today! baaaaaaaah #Briday

• Third Division Sub

View PostBogs_Dollox, on 17 January 2012 - 17:12, said:

when i click the link for the highlights i seem to get directed to the ross county game and cant find the correct highlights?

ignore this. got it now :)

great team spirit to fight back and win the game :)

User is offline   theSilverFox 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Postnofixedability, on 16 January 2012 - 10:22, said:

Being consistent or not seems to have little bearing on team selection, a certain defender who's related to the manager is an obvious example.....

User is offline   55022 

• First Division Superstar

View PosttheSilverFox, on 18 January 2012 - 20:56, said:

Being consistent or not seems to have little bearing on team selection, a certain defender who's related to the manager is an obvious example.....

Said certain defender has been told by his father not to come back going by what i was told on saturday night.

User is offline   Deano1874 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Always good to see ex-Morton players like Templeman score. And even more pleasing to see Davie Irons get beat.
We're Greenock Morton, we're better than you.

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Thanks for that widden heid.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   Alloa_Shire 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:East Stirlingshire

View PostCowden til i die, on 15 January 2012 - 02:12, said:

Facts:
Marc McKenzie is better than Stevie Murray.

Hahahaha......brilliant :lol: :lol: That's really cheered me up after a pretty bad day!
Things can only get better!

• (2 Pages) +