Login:

The Pie Shop: Scottish Independence - The Pie Shop

• (216 Pages) +
  • Last »

Scottish Independence What would you vote? Rate Topic: ****- 5 Votes

Poll: Scottish Independence

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

How would you vote on Scottish Independence

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk
Appears to be abnormally high level of yes voters on here at the moment.

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.
  • My Team:Arbroath

View PostSwampy, on 09 January 2012 - 19:58, said:

You can click 'View' next to the poll to see who voted for what. Of the people who voted yes, I am aware of the approximate ages of the following:

uni, SaltyTON, Gordon EF, xbl, Swampy, kiwififer, Cardinal Richelieu, Fudge, Granny Danger, renton

Here's that list again with all the children removed from it:

uni, SaltyTON, Gordon EF, xbl, Swampy, kiwififer, Cardinal Richelieu, Fudge, Granny Danger, renton

I only know one person that is a schoolie, and thats Sooky...and he voted "no".

User is offline   SodjesSixteenIncher 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View PostReynard, on 09 January 2012 - 19:49, said:

:unsure:

That was rambling waffle.

How so, it makes perfect sense?

In fact contrasting Yogi is God's contribution to yours in this thread perfectly summarises his initial point.

One articulatly presents his case whilst the other angrily reels off a bunch of cliches.

This post has been edited by SodjesSixteenIncher: 09 January 2012 - 20:04

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostGranny Danger, on 09 January 2012 - 20:03, said:

Do you include yourself when you use the term "normal people"?

Hey. I even include you, ya auld fanny. Posted Image
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View Postayrmad, on 09 January 2012 - 20:04, said:

By "on here" I assume you're referring to the Scottish landmass :P
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

• wholesome and lovely

View PostSodjesSixteenIncher, on 09 January 2012 - 20:04, said:

How so, it makes perfect sense?

In fact contrasting Yogi is God's contribution to yours in this thread perfectly summarises his initial point.

One articulatly presents his case whilst the other angrily reels off a bunch of cliches.

It must be tough for intellects like that to have to put up with rubbish like me. You can only sympathise really, it's like laying pearls before swine right enough.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
CDUists, could any of you please briefly articulate the positive case for the union that's supposed to be out soon? It's been held back more than Duke Nukem Forever. Thanks in advance.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostReynard, on 09 January 2012 - 20:06, said:

It must be tough for intellects like that to have to put up with rubbish like me. You can only sympathise really, it's like laying pearls before swine right enough.

Bunched-fist displays of self-pity are no way to win an argument, son

User is offline   NewBornBairn 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostSwampy, on 09 January 2012 - 19:58, said:

You can click 'View' next to the poll to see who voted for what. Of the people who voted yes, I am aware of the approximate ages of the following:

Here's that list again with all the children removed from it:

Ok - I stand corrected.

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.

View PostReynard, on 09 January 2012 - 19:57, said:

What I find more odd about this whole nonsense isn't the emotional pish attached to the nationality thing. Thats kind of understandable. Its the fucking naivety of folk thinking that by taking power from one bunch of c**t politicians and handing it over to another set of c**t politicians that this will somehow make their lives better. It won't. Politicians will still be fucking c***s out for themselves. Aye, even oor ain yins. The people who will be benefitting from this will be the politicians not normal people,

But on a purely practical level (which you claim to operate on), it will make a difference. Scotland receives a lot more attention and focused spending under the Scottish Government than it did under direct London control. We have a Scottish government which is signing deals on behalf on Scotland (not the UK, not a region, but Scotland) with other nations, and the government is fighting (and winning at times) to get control over our own resources, and have a more Scotlandcentric perspective. So it clearly IS making a difference, and thats before independence.

Its also interesting that since about 2006, independence has been THE issue, talked about even more by the Unionist Bloc than the SNP. If it would make so little difference, then would it be such a big deal?

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostNewBornBairn, on 09 January 2012 - 20:07, said:

Ok - I stand corrected.

For all I know the rest of them could be kids but somehow I doubt it :P

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSwampy, on 09 January 2012 - 20:05, said:

By "on here" I assume you're referring to the Scottish landmass :P

No, 66% of those willing to vote are yes voters, polls are usually running at about half that, anyone wishing to be Scottish or reside in Scotland is fine by me.

This post has been edited by ayrmad: 09 January 2012 - 20:10

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View Postayrmad, on 09 January 2012 - 20:09, said:

No, 66% of those willing to vote are yes voters, polls are usually running at about half that, anyone wishing to be Scottish or reside in Scotland ae fine by me.

It's all in the lap of the gods as to who's more motivated to come out. Will it be the yes voters who are finally ready to put their money where their mouth is, or will the red-faced CDUists splutter their way down to the local church hall to staunchly defend their birthright? Who knows?

User is offline   Granny Danger 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd

View Postxbl, on 09 January 2012 - 20:04, said:

Hopefully an independent Scotland will lead to an improved educational system.

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.
I post this video up a lot, but yet again, this is how I envision the scene at CDU campaign headquarters:

Edited to add, is this the positive case for the Union?

This post has been edited by xbl: 09 January 2012 - 20:14

User is offline   ICTChris 

• Don't worry boss, I've got you covered. Quick and clean
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
They should bring the vote forward to bring a close to the stream of tedious threads/debates/polls on P&B. Why hasn't this been factored into the debate? I'm going to write to my MSP, probably one of the saner letters he'll get.

As for the vote I'm undecided at the moment.

This post has been edited by ICTChris: 09 January 2012 - 20:15

The party goes on behind elevator doors
While the elevator plummets from the 69th floor

@chrislindsay33

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSwampy, on 09 January 2012 - 20:10, said:

It's all in the lap of the gods as to who's more motivated to come out. Will it be the yes voters who are finally ready to put their money where their mouth is, or will the red-faced CDUists splutter their way down to the local church hall to staunchly defend their birthright? Who knows?

As I've stated on other threads, I think it will depend on what sort of campaign the Unionists decide to run with, too negative, people like myself will switch.

User is offline   SodjesSixteenIncher 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View PostReynard, on 09 January 2012 - 20:06, said:

He, nor I, attacked your intellect. You dismissed his point as 'rambling waffle' without engaging one point made.

I didn't attack your intelligence but I can see you are more comfortable with petty insults than engaged conversation, something which has become a bit of a running theme amongst the unionists :rolleyes:

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postxbl, on 09 January 2012 - 20:04, said:

TBF, Tryfield and myself act like schoolkids a lot of the time.:D

• wholesome and lovely

View Postxbl, on 09 January 2012 - 20:08, said:

But on a purely practical level (which you claim to operate on), it will make a difference. Scotland receives a lot more attention and focused spending under the Scottish Government than it did under direct London control. We have a Scottish government which is signing deals on behalf on Scotland (not the UK, not a region, but Scotland) with other nations, and the government is fighting (and winning at times) to get control over our own resources, and have a more Scotlandcentric perspective. So it clearly IS making a difference, and thats before independence.

Its also interesting that since about 2006, independence has been THE issue, talked about even more by the Unionist Bloc than the SNP. If it would make so little difference, then would it be such a big deal?

Yes I can see it might be good and I can see areas where it might be bad too. I'm not committing myself one way or another to it. I will go with the flow politically as it won't make a jot of difference to the things I believe in anyway it can be argued for in whatever political set up we have. I will probably vote on a pure whim frankly.

The economy has been THE issue and it pretty much always will be in politics. Thats not to say the independence thing isnt a big deal and wont become even more of a big deal, it will and it will be a dirty fight I reckon :lol: I won't argue for one thing or the other though as frankly the only thing I really DON'T want is the EU in its current fucked up state eating up sovereignty of whatever entity scotland ends up in politically. I'm not that interested in the debate as it goes anyway as its purely polticians on a power grab. I'll look at the aftermath and take it from there. I find it hard to get involved in all of the debate on this as apart from winding up a few of the tense nat boys it really doesn't interest me much.:(

User is offline   ForzaDundee 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
Yes to full independence please.

I am not nationalist in any way in fact my left-wing leanings make me against nationalism. However, I see Scottish nationalism to be much more inclusive and internationalist than British nationalism which is anti-progressive for the sake of tradition. It's sad that many in the Scottish Labour party have been bought over by British nationalism to the point where they'd rather have a Tory government controlling Scotland than a free, social-democratic country.
Team Hewitt

• wholesome and lovely

View PostSodjesSixteenIncher, on 09 January 2012 - 20:15, said:

He, nor I, attacked your intellect. You dismissed his point as 'rambling waffle' without engaging one point made.

I didn't attack your intelligence but I can see you are more comfortable with petty insults than engaged conversation, something which has become a bit of a running theme amongst the unionists :rolleyes:

That's true. Cunto Posted Image

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View Postayrmad, on 09 January 2012 - 20:14, said:

As I've stated on other threads, I think it will depend on what sort of campaign the Unionists decide to run with, too negative, people like myself will switch.

You don't think it's been too negative yet? What do they have to do to convince you that they're negative? Draw devil horns on Salmond's official portrait?

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostReynard, on 09 January 2012 - 20:18, said:

Yes I can see it might be good and I can see areas where it might be bad too. I'm not committing myself one way or another to it.

:lol: :lol: :lol: Oh, you.

User is offline   ForzaDundee 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Euro 2012:Sweden

View Postayrmad, on 09 January 2012 - 20:04, said:

Undoubtedly due to the demographics of this forum. The young male section of the population probably has the highest percentage in favour of independence.
Team Hewitt

• (216 Pages) +
  • Last »

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 1 anonymous users