2011 - How Was It For You How was your year? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   TomTom 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Ive never been one for shouting up the wins and quietly ignoring the losses.

I have to say that this calender year has been the worst in memory for me. Previously Ive been nicking a win fairly regularly (be it pennies or funds for the week) but this year has seen the sort of shoeing that has pushed me to my limit!

Around me everyone else seems to be winning!!!

How was your year?

To clarify....Mine was pish. :D

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
  • My Team:Dundee
Tragic. I think I might be up slightly. But because my bets are in shop I don't know how much I've spent.

Zeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is offline   Ross. 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
I'm up over the year, around £230. Would have been a bit more but the last fortnight have seen Man City lose some of the cash they helped me accumulate in the first place.

User is offline   GingerSaint 

• Fcuk Tebow
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Down £60 in my first year of betting. Quite pleased with it.

User is online   Hibernian1875 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Euro 2012:Russia
I'm down by a wee bit i'd imagine, won a few £20 coupons here and there and my luck has picked up over the past few days but I've definitely lost more than I've won.
"I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee." - Lawrie Reilly

User is offline   Judge 

• My Team:Montrose
With the help of two winners today, I am up by £230 this year. Not bad considering that not had many football bets come in since start of season.

This post has been edited by Judge: 28 December 2011 - 14:48

User is online   DJP 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:France
Winning £1800 on horses highlight.

Worst bet (from 2010/11) betting on Swindon to win League 1 who got relegated. (although have £50 e/w @ 10/1 on Swindon to win league this season)
Di Canio, what a Legend on JPT Final and Swindon "It is the best trophy I can win. Even in 10 years’ time when we win the Champions League I will remember this as the start of my career.”

User is offline   TomTom 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Worst bet for me so far was beginning of season....Crewe to get promoted 6/1....!! I'd suggest that is unlikely!

However, my whole year could be turned upside down with the ambitious bet placed in August!

Portsmouth +22 Points to win the league
Aguero Top Scorer
Hooper Top Scorer
Exeter to get relegated

£5 returns £27,000...:lol:

Sob story of the year was the Leyton Orient comeback at Huddersfield that cost me fortunes on an 8-fold (I think it was) that was all in and Huddersfield 2-0 up at home with 85 on the clock.

That actually hurt my stomach when it happened.

User is offline   Latino Lover 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Pretty poor, discipline has deserted me and stopped keeping records or paying attention to much outside the EPL. That said I've only been working 3 days a week most of the year and still have about the same amount of money in bank after a few holidays including my most expensive ever to Canada/Vegas where I managed to win and had my gambling highlight of the year. Don't even have any ante post on for the first time in god knows how long and tried to stop a few times, managed about 3 weeks so going to start from scartch on January 1st. No major disasters on roulette/casino/arbs gone wrong at least, so finally seem almost ready to leave it all behind.

User is offline   Ross. 

View PostTomTom, on 28 December 2011 - 15:23, said:

Sob story of the year was the Leyton Orient comeback at Huddersfield that cost me fortunes on an 8-fold (I think it was) that was all in and Huddersfield 2-0 up at home with 85 on the clock.

That actually hurt my stomach when it happened.

Logged into my William Hill account last night and noticed that Birminghams 81st minute equaliser was the only game that didn't work out on a 12 team accumulator, the 63p would have brought me in just under £1400. Didn't realisebefore the game or I'd have been online placing bets on the Birmingham win or Draw to at least make something from it.

User is offline   Nightmare 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Up about £300 on football, down about £100 on NFL, marginally down on the other couple of sports I occasionally bet on (darts, tennis, basketball). Alright year, but I was hoping to make a decent amount more than £200-odd this year.

Up around £50 on poker as well, but that's barely eating into the big losses I made on it the year before.
There's no 'H' in Atletico

User is offline   Wug 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
About a grand down. Mostly singles as well. Just terrible.

User is offline   blue4578 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Other
Second best year ever for me as long as I don't manage to squander it all in the next couple of days.

User is online   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7
Bad. Not too bad though, I tend to stick to a fiver a week so I'm not losing too much. Had a couple of wins but I'm getting closer. Had quite a few foiled by a goal or two so it's getting better Posted Image

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is offline   Jambo Stu 

• BIG TEAM 5 wee team 1
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Italy
  • Gamertag:captainspuddles
I'd say it was okay. Definitely up over the year but not as good as I could of been. Some bad bets and bad luck. All fun and games along the way though.
Guapa!
BLUE MOON

User is offline   SuperCaleyGoBallistic 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Poland
Turned 18 in May so have only been gambling since then. I'm just over £250 up since then which is excellent for a beginner I think but if I had more discipline it could easily be double that. By July I think I was nearly £100 down because I really had no idea what I was doing and would just take silly bets, coupled with a fondness of roulette left things looking dire. Since the football season started things have obviously got much better as I wised up about betting, some of the advice on this forum was certainly invaluable.

Highlights: Europa League has been my most profitable venture by far, which is surprising as most people see it as a minefield. A jammy £50 win on the horses was also appreciated :)

Lowlights: Spunking a huge amount in one night at the casino. Also missed out on £350 quid, had put a bet on over 3.5 goals on a JPT game, Chesterfield v some one else which came in easily. 5 minutes left and Chesterfield are 3-2 down and 35/1 to win. The games been so unpredictable that I suddenly had an urge to put a tenner on Chesterfield winning, was hovering over the confirm bet button before I came to my senses. Of course they went on to bag a last minute winner :(

Overall, couldn't really have gone much better. I suppose as a beginner you're always gonna make mistakes so best not to dwell and hopefully this form can continue into 2012. :)
Even Gregory Tade doesn't know what he'll do next.

Twitter: @catchfrases

User is offline   G_Man1985 

• Golden Shoe Winner
up £79 pound so great :)

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox
Been decent,ive never won so much at the cheltenham festival,football this season has been poor though
yippeeee the season has nearly started

User is offline   Ross. 

Now up around £245 after last nights football.

User is online   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7
Just did a tally of all my betting this year(I think) and I'm down about 56 quid. Not bad. Should be better next year as some of my early bets were quite frankly horrendous. There's even an elevenfold in there Posted Image Posted Image

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is offline   Bert Raccoon 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
  • Euro 2012:Spain
I'm up about £16. Happy days.
Beer You Are My Enemy,
Beer You Are my Friend,
My Mind Was Yours To Cloud,
And So My Heart Is Yours To Mend.

User is offline   Dave 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:CoG LHD
Put £30 into my online account over the course of the year, currently sitting at £8 after spunking a tenner on over 65 points on the OF game.

Hardly been into the bookies this year, whenever I do it's been wee £1 or £2 accas. Couple of football coupons and won some money on the Grand National so can't imagine I've lost a lot, if any.

Not too bad.

User is offline   Deeboy 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:XBOX360- DaleyLlama
First half of the year was absolutely horrendous, a fair few wins, none large, probably overall the first 6 months I'd have been down about £300.

Since this season kicked off AND I switched to Skybet only, no walking in off the street. It has been very fruitful. Easily the best mark up I've made in any 6 month period. I'm probably + £100-200 for the year.

This could be to do with my betting pattern changing, it could be to do with my larger bet placing.

Or, more likely it's down to the pitches being playable and it being warm for the foreigners!! :lol:
Legendary Bobby Cox Dark Blues.

Page 1 of 1