Morton v Ayr 2/1/2012 @ Cappielow Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   LarkyTon 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
So, we face Ayr in our first game of 2012 at Cappielow and with all due respect to Ayr, we're clear favourites for this one. Wasn;t at the game yesterday but it will be a huge confidence booster for the lads and with the shaved headed Xavi & the new Makelele back we should win comfortably.
I'm missing this one personally due to work, but think we will win 3-0 :)

User is offline   GoRdY_b 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Ayr United

View PostLarkyTon, on 27 December 2011 - 14:44, said:

So, we face Ayr in our first game of 2012 at Cappielow and with all due respect to Ayr, we're clear favourites for this one. Wasn;t at the game yesterday but it will be a huge confidence booster for the lads and with the shaved headed Xavi & the new Makelele back we should win comfortably.

Probably correct unless we punt Alex Burke and replace him with something resembling a footballer (for the bench mind).
www.gordyisadj.co.uk

User is online   Highlandmagyar 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
After that result at Dundee I fancy you to PUMP Ayr.4-0

User is offline   Thumper 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
The Ladbrokes investigations team will be on the case if this ends up with less than a four goal winning margin.

User is offline   forzamorton 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Looking forward to this game. Morton will be coming of the back of a great 1-0 away win to Dundee, who had been on good form of late. As for Ayr, their are still struggling to find their feet in this division but with a draw against QOS on Monday,it may be the start of a surge up the table. Who knows? Last time at Cappielow, Morton ran out easy 4-1 winners with Tidser and Bachirou on great form and imo, the outcome will be the same.

3-0 to Morton (Jackson X2 and O'brian)
Greenock Morton and PEC Zwolle. Blue and White Hoops United.

User is offline   utdtillidie 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:utdtillidie
Anything less than a 6-0 win for Morton will be frankly embarrassing for Scottish and European football. Morton should be then disbanded and Cappielow raised to the ground.
Walking down the Somerset Road...To see the Ayrshire aces

User is offline   Greenocktony 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostLarkyTon, on 27 December 2011 - 14:44, said:

Steady -I have seen this movie too many times - every game is a battle in this division and anyone can beat anyone - look at the Honest men fine run in the cup - so a tightly focussed Ton performance with an any win margin well received and a precious 3 points

This post has been edited by Greenocktony: 27 December 2011 - 16:17

User is offline   maximo1874 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostGreenocktony, on 27 December 2011 - 16:16, said:

Steady -I have seen this movie too many times - every game is a battle in this division and anyone can beat anyone - look at the Honest men fine run in the cup - so a tightly focussed Ton performance with an any win margin well received and a precious 3 points

Could not agree more, We where completely written off before the dundee game yet managed to win, the games not won till its won!!
Forget all the banter / slagging for a second ,I will have the greatest respect for all of you that come down tomorrow . Proud of your local club , just like ourselves , and have stayed out of the Old Firms evil clutches . Good on all of you.< JRS LEFT PEG, Well said mate!

User is offline   ayrunitedfw 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Wasay95
On holiday so wont be able to make this game or Livi cup game :(
Keighan Parker- ""Out of all the places I've played, the biggest crowd to noise ratio I've experienced is at Ayr." Ryan Stevenson- "I managed to play for Ayr, the team i supported as a boy" Liam Tomsett-"The fans were amazing, to come all that way up there and give us that backing. I couldn't believe the way they were carrying on- it was crazy"

User is offline   IainMorton 

• SPL Signing Target
  • Gamertag:iains82 (xbox live)
Those first 15 minutes when we played Ayr at Cappielow earlier in the season was some of the best football I have seen us play in over 10 years, especially the 3rd goal - best team goal I've seen us score, so hopefully we can start well again and put the game to bed early doors. Not saying it will be easy though!

This post has been edited by IainMorton: 27 December 2011 - 17:01

Fouad Bachirou - Greenock Morton legend

User is offline   Toby 

• Third Division Signing Target
I wouldn't want to arrogantly predict a Morton victory for this one, having seen the Ayr fans predicting so confidently that defeat would be impossible for them on our visit to Somerset last month only for Morton to put in a herculean effort and cause the upset of the season by beating the mighty Honest Men from our position of having been above them in the league all season.

Hopefully with similar backs-to-the wall performance and Ayr's mind not being on the ball considering they've got such bigger fish to fry than ourselves this season we can maybe sneak a draw, but surely our luck won't stretch to another victory against such a superior club.

Heart says 1-1, head says 0-2 to Ayr.

User is offline   Tryfield 

• Happy Happy fuckwit
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:EH?

View PostToby, on 27 December 2011 - 17:36, said:

I wouldn't want to arrogantly predict a Morton victory for this one, having seen the Ayr fans predicting so confidently that defeat would be impossible for them on our visit to Somerset last month only for Morton to put in a herculean effort and cause the upset of the season by beating the mighty Honest Men from our position of having been above them in the league all season.

Hopefully with similar backs-to-the wall performance and Ayr's mind not being on the ball considering they've got such bigger fish to fry than ourselves this season we can maybe sneak a draw, but surely our luck won't stretch to another victory against such a superior club.

Heart says 1-1, head says 0-2 to Ayr.

Yup. The players' minds do seem elsewhere nowadays. They don't seem to be knuckling down to the league campaign.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTryfield, on 27 December 2011 - 18:00, said:

Yup. The players' minds do seem elsewhere nowadays. They don't seem to be knuckling down to the league campaign.

Which at the end of the day is our bread and butter (as reid would say). Although I was quite surprised at people who said they would rather beat Killie than stay up.
Keighan Parker- ""Out of all the places I've played, the biggest crowd to noise ratio I've experienced is at Ayr." Ryan Stevenson- "I managed to play for Ayr, the team i supported as a boy" Liam Tomsett-"The fans were amazing, to come all that way up there and give us that backing. I couldn't believe the way they were carrying on- it was crazy"

User is offline   Thumper 

• SPL Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postayrunitedfw, on 27 December 2011 - 18:06, said:

Although I was quite surprised at people who said they would rather beat Killie than stay up.

Ayr have been promoted to the first division twice in three years. They have been in one cup final in 100 years.

User is offline   Tryfield 

• Happy Happy fuckwit
  • Gamertag:EH?

View Postayrunitedfw, on 27 December 2011 - 16:58, said:

On holiday so wont be able to make this game or Livi cup game :(

I know where I'd rather be.

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
Ayr are dreadful, anything less than a convincing win is unacceptable and I imagine that's what Moore will be putting to the players this week. Winning at Dundee was the hard part, granted, but they can't get complacent.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSwampy, on 27 December 2011 - 21:23, said:

Ayr are dreadful, anything less than a convincing win is unacceptable and I imagine that's what Moore will be putting to the players this week. Winning at Dundee was the hard part, granted, but they can't get complacent.

wohoo, one of the gruesome 3.

User is offline   dundeebarry 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee
Morton were excellent at Dens, and I now believe the hype about Tidser and Bashirou. I plan on sticking a wedge on them to win this game. Apologies in advance if this acts as some form of curse.
KEN AYE.

User is online   Magnethead 

• Third Division Regular

View PostSwampy, on 27 December 2011 - 21:23, said:

What would you know ?

You know about ponies, scrap, washing machines and claithes pegs, not how good or bad Ayr can be.

Stick to reading the tea leaves as a way of predicting things, it'd be more accurate in the long run.

Suddenly Morton have changed, on the back of one result, from being pish to being Barcelona once again, don't think so !

Away and gie oor heids peace.
I talk to Planets Baby!

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
Easy fifth straight win against our bitches.

I'm thinking another 4-1 rout. Not sure what the score will be in the second half though.

Attached File  smugqq.png (25.52K)
Number of downloads: 5

Posted Image

User is online   Magnethead 

• Third Division Regular

View Postdundeebarry, on 27 December 2011 - 21:51, said:

Morton were excellent at Dens, and I now believe the hype about Tidser and Bashirou. I plan on sticking a wedge on them to win this game. Apologies in advance if this acts as some form of curse.

Barry, 4 times this season Ayr have pulled results out the bag after being written off as no hopers, keep your money in your pocket - NEVER bet Ayr to win or lose, no matter which way you bet THEY ALWAYS burst coupons ALWAYS.
I talk to Planets Baby!

User is offline   Jam 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
I'm just excited to see the Greenock Mortons in the flesh.

User is offline   IainMorton 

• SPL Signing Target
  • Gamertag:iains82 (xbox live)

View PostMagnethead, on 27 December 2011 - 22:17, said:

Barry, 4 times this season Ayr have pulled results out the bag after being written off as no hopers, keep your money in your pocket - NEVER bet Ayr to win or lose, no matter which way you bet THEY ALWAYS burst coupons ALWAYS.

Just a pity neither of those four times were against us... ^_^

;)
Fouad Bachirou - Greenock Morton legend

User is offline   MTJ 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostMagnethead, on 27 December 2011 - 22:17, said:

Like when we scudded you 4-0 as odds on favourites?

User is offline   Ayrforce1 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:coolbear06
Strange how they salivate about 'thier best performance for years' against a team described as 'dreadfull' :huh:.

This post has been edited by Ayrforce1: 27 December 2011 - 22:30

Aliens don't wear hats - Fact!

• (27 Pages) +
  • Last »