best standard?
Posted 21 December 2011 - 22:15
Posted 21 December 2011 - 22:22
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Scotland
Posted 22 December 2011 - 00:00
- Location:3.25 minutes from Ainslie Park (not on my bike, it's the shed lock, it's rusty so it's about 6 minutes on me bike now)
- My Team:Spartans
- Euro 2012:Spain
Mind I've only seen a handful of Junior teams games.
Grim
Posted 22 December 2011 - 07:18
Make of that what you want.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 08:03
- My Team:Rangers
Posted 22 December 2011 - 08:45
- My Team:Rangers
Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:23
- My Team:Bonnyrigg Rose
Grim O, on 22 December 2011 - 00:00, said:
Mind I've only seen a handful of Junior teams games.
Grim
Bonnyrigg v Linglithgow,2nd half,you certainly enjoyed that,did you not,having watched the juniors this season at Bonnyrigg,i think the standard is better as iv'e not seen many teams get beat by big margins in games and i think the atmosphere is better at 90% of the games.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:10
- My Team:Whitehill Welfare
wingnut, on 22 December 2011 - 09:23, said:
linLithgow v spartans scottish cup,were you a juniors fan then ?
Your just biased now for obvious reasons
going by the scottish results this season the juniors just edge it but i wouldn't say it was any better standards.
Top 4 or 5 eos could compete in the super leagues.
Haven't seen a junior game in ages, Do the juniors still have committee folk running the lines ?
Until this pyramid becomes reality i think threads like this (and there have been many) are a bit pointless.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:49
Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:06
Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:14
- My Team:Bonnyrigg Rose
newcastle broon, on 22 December 2011 - 11:10, said:
Your just biased now for obvious reasons
going by the scottish results this season the juniors just edge it but i wouldn't say it was any better standards.
Top 4 or 5 eos could compete in the super leagues.
Haven't seen a junior game in ages, Do the juniors still have committee folk running the lines ?
Until this pyramid becomes reality i think threads like this (and there have been many) are a bit pointless.
I was like you Nookie,the last junior game i seen was Nitten in the Scottish agst Rob Roy a couple of year ago and i widny say i,m biased,i,m just going on what iv'e seen so far,having watched a good Spartans team for a few year,them and another couple would be up there with the Superleague but certainly widny dominate the way they do in e.o.s,and for the linesmen,no,it's the real mccoy,haha,i think.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:28
wingnut, on 22 December 2011 - 12:14, said:
Spartans, Stirling, Whitehil = Superleague Juniors
Gretna, Vale, Edi City = Premier Juniors
The rest of the premier would be top half of the district leagues. 1st division = top amateur.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 21:26
- Location:3.25 minutes from Ainslie Park (not on my bike, it's the shed lock, it's rusty so it's about 6 minutes on me bike now)
If you care about Scottish football then it's time to bring it in to the 21st Century. Getting the opportunity to play against better opposition is the way forward, I've seen it, just over 10 years ago I was watching football in the 2nd division (formally the old 3rd div) now that team was in the Champions League this season but it could have gone horribly wrong & they could have slid further down the divisions to "non-league" BUT they would still have had the opportunity to get back in to the Premier League.
Support the Pyramid.
Grim
P.s. Ginge, Kingy & Archie lit up the EoS for (at least) the last 3 seasons previous, so not good examples of the Juniors being the way forward, I liked Walker when he played for us, I believe he's also doing it for Bo'ness these days. I'm Seniors through & through. I check up on how our juniors are doing & yes I look out for Bonnyrigg but if Spartans no longer existed then I'd be up watching another Senior team each week.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 23:27
If you look at Scottish Cup results this year: Whitehill lost a VERY close game to the East Junior Champions Bo'ness in a game that could have gone either way. Spartans beat the North Junior Champions Culter (never mind the whole ineligible player nonsense, they won the game), and Vale of Leithen lost to who many people see as the best team in the West Juniors (which is generally seen as the strongest region) Auchinleck.
It seems to me a very similar standard at both levels. The better teams in both grades seem a similar level, the middling teams at both grades seem similar, and the worse teams at both grades would seem a similar standard.
Also, I'm with the pro pyramid group. I don't see it happening any time soon, but I'd love to see it. Grim's example of Man City is a very good example of how it works.
Posted 22 December 2011 - 23:44
Craig the Hunter, on 22 December 2011 - 23:27, said:
If you look at Scottish Cup results this year: Whitehill lost a VERY close game to the East Junior Champions Bo'ness in a game that could have gone either way. Spartans beat the North Junior Champions Culter (never mind the whole ineligible player nonsense, they won the game), and Vale of Leithen lost to who many people see as the best team in the West Juniors (which is generally seen as the strongest region) Auchinleck.
It seems to me a very similar standard at both levels. The better teams in both grades seem a similar level, the middling teams at both grades seem similar, and the worse teams at both grades would seem a similar standard.
Also, I'm with the pro pyramid group. I don't see it happening any time soon, but I'd love to see it. Grim's example of Man City is a very good example of how it works.
CtH did you see the article in the Scotsman today, looks very much like a goer in principle, here's the link.
Grim
Posted 22 December 2011 - 23:54
Posted 23 December 2011 - 09:55
Grim O, on 22 December 2011 - 21:26, said:
If you care about Scottish football then it's time to bring it in to the 21st Century. Getting the opportunity to play against better opposition is the way forward, I've seen it, just over 10 years ago I was watching football in the 2nd division (formally the old 3rd div) now that team was in the Champions League this season but it could have gone horribly wrong & they could have slid further down the divisions to "non-league" BUT they would still have had the opportunity to get back in to the Premier League.
Support the Pyramid.
Grim
P.s. Ginge, Kingy & Archie lit up the EoS for (at least) the last 3 seasons previous, so not good examples of the Juniors being the way forward, I liked Walker when he played for us, I believe he's also doing it for Bo'ness these days. I'm Seniors through & through. I check up on how our juniors are doing & yes I look out for Bonnyrigg but if Spartans no longer existed then I'd be up watching another Senior team each week.
good post grim but to compare man city wi a pyramid system is utter pish !!!
I would say look more at your aldershots,maidstone utds and chester citys,all english fitba league clubs to fold under the pyramid system ? to see where such ambitions lie ?
Craig has a valid point in referring to whats involved licensing wise. A Lot of clubs just wont have the financial backing to survive ?
This post has been edited by newcastle broon: 23 December 2011 - 10:01
Posted 23 December 2011 - 11:39
newcastle broon, on 23 December 2011 - 09:55, said:
I would say look more at your aldershots,maidstone utds and chester citys,all english fitba league clubs to fold under the pyramid system ? to see where such ambitions lie ?
Craig has a valid point in referring to whats involved licensing wise. A Lot of clubs just wont have the financial backing to survive ?
Newky,
I just like to throw a (Man) City comment in here & there to annoy any closets, I meant Accrington Stanley (exactly).
What exactly does the licensing involve & why is it a closed shop, I really don't understand?
Grim
Posted 23 December 2011 - 12:56
Grim O, on 23 December 2011 - 11:39, said:
What exactly does the licensing involve & why is it a closed shop, I really don't understand?
It involves all clubs to constantly try to improve the way they are ran off-field and their facilities for matchday.
SPL, SFL and Highland are all currently part of the process. They are all under the Professional SFA Board, created in the summer.
The SFA want to create a pair of lower divisions below SFL 3, currently named Lowland and Highland leagues. A leaked draft paper a few years back called them Division 4 North and South. Both divisions will require clubs to be part of Club Licensing.
It's been rumoured for a while that SFA want the remainder of the SFA Full Membership to join in Club Licensing, as soon as possible. If they don't, then this whole thread becomes a bit redundant. SJFA and SAFA will perhaps be acquiring a number of new members as there will be no place of note in the SFA for clubs not involved in Club Licensing.
This is a silent revolution but it's not going to be bloodless.
This post has been edited by cmontheloknow: 23 December 2011 - 12:59
Posted 23 December 2011 - 18:20
cmontheloknow, on 23 December 2011 - 12:56, said:
SPL, SFL and Highland are all currently part of the process. They are all under the Professional SFA Board, created in the summer.
The SFA want to create a pair of lower divisions below SFL 3, currently named Lowland and Highland leagues. A leaked draft paper a few years back called them Division 4 North and South. Both divisions will require clubs to be part of Club Licensing.
It's been rumoured for a while that SFA want the remainder of the SFA Full Membership to join in Club Licensing, as soon as possible. If they don't, then this whole thread becomes a bit redundant. SJFA and SAFA will perhaps be acquiring a number of new members as there will be no place of note in the SFA for clubs not involved in Club Licensing.
This is a silent revolution but it's not going to be bloodless.
Ta Cmon but I'm still a little baffled by what this licence entails, what is the criteria that needs to be met to be issued with a licence eh?
Also the bit about it not being bloodless does that mean there'll be clubs unable to meet the criteria? You've got to have some standards though eh?
Grim
Posted 23 December 2011 - 18:27
Grim O, on 23 December 2011 - 18:20, said:
Also the bit about it not being bloodless does that mean there'll be clubs unable to meet the criteria? You've got to have some standards though eh?
Grim
I think a good number of clubs will not meet the standard.
The criteria as of September can be seen here:
http://www.scottishf...s.cfm?page=1721
under 'SFA Club Licencing'.
Some things have changed since then, cover is now for 100 not 250.
Going by something said elsewhere, clubs will be denied access to the Scottish Cup without being Club Licenced. The present membership will be thrown out unless the comply.
Posted 23 December 2011 - 18:53
For now, much is speculation.
At one end of the spectrum of possible outcomes, there won't be enough momentum, and nothing much will change.
At the other end of that spectrum, the Scottish Cup will shrink, and there won't be an East of Scotland league by the end of the decade.
EDIT: Regarding the OP's point about which is the better standard, it's a perennial debate, and you could find half-a-dozen different ways of trying to gauge it for starters. Ultimately the 2 don't meet, bar occasional Scottish Cup ties involving Junior champions/Girvan, so it's always subjective.
This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 23 December 2011 - 19:12
Posted 23 December 2011 - 20:06
- My Team:Stirling Albion
The real difference between Juniors and Seniors is basically money...
I'm sure if you asked any Senior player why he moved over to Junior football, the reason would not be football development/progress.
I'm not criticising this position, but it does prevent a true football level comparison.
IMO, Senior football is more progressive in it's approach to playing football.
Delete Post
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 26 2012 06:42
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd

Sign In »
Register Now!