alloa v annan looking forward tae it Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   pidmoondo 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Annan Athletic
on a jolley tae alloa on the 14th with a couple of mates, only been in the granary and the thistle,
is there any other pubs worth a vist..
ye canny make a silk purse oot a sow's lug

User is online   Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
I think there's 7 pubs in Alloa Town Centre- all within 5 mins walking distance- should be able to get round them all pre match if you're in town early enough.

Start in Primrose Street- you've got the Station, Primrose Bar then the Locker Room. Round the corner to the left you've got The Star, then further down the road the Thistle. You can either take a right to head toward Crams (an adventure) or round the corner for the Old Brewery.
THE BEARD TO BE FEARED..........

View PostFather Barrys Sign (Top Half), on 21 December 2011 - 12:18, said:

I think there's 7 pubs in Alloa Town Centre- all within 5 mins walking distance- should be able to get round them all pre match if you're in town early enough.

Start in Primrose Street- you've got the Station, Primrose Bar then the Locker Room. Round the corner to the left you've got The Star, then further down the road the Thistle. You can either take a right to head toward Crams (an adventure) or round the corner for the Old Brewery.

cheers it sounds like a plan..should be getting there at 11am :rolleyes:

User is online   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys
Primrose is a good wee pub.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

looks like half of annan are gan.. :lol: :lol:

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009

View Postpidmoondo, on 05 January 2012 - 06:01, said:

looks like half of annan are gan.. :lol: :lol:

Will be good to see the 2 of you there then. :D
Posted Image

View Postnumber one wasp, on 05 January 2012 - 13:45, said:

Will be good to see the 2 of you there then. :D

aye ;)

User is offline   Lowlander 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postpidmoondo, on 20 December 2011 - 21:15, said:

on a jolley tae alloa on the 14th with a couple of mates, only been in the granary and the thistle,
is there any other pubs worth a vist..

Rumour has it Annan are sending a division north complete with Semtex.

I recommend The Jedi Bar.;)

User is offline   freddyboy 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Hope the STAR has had a lick o paint inside since our last visit :ph34r:

User is offline   Holmes 1970 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
A big game for Annan this weekend,we need to at least take something from this game to keep us in the hunt at the top.Good news that we've signed young Ben Mckennan from Carlisle as this will provide competition for Sloany and give him the kick up the arse that he's been needing this season I'd still like to see us sign a striker to see us to the end of the season at least. We've a good record against Paul Hartleys men and cheered on by the mental posse we can leapfrog Alloa and with them up against Stranraer next week we'd be right in mixer !!

Send for the "" SEMTEX ""

This post has been edited by Holmes 1970: 13 January 2012 - 11:20

User is offline   TamTheBhoy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
Whats team news on this one? Any big missings for any side?

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostTamTheBhoy, on 13 January 2012 - 11:16, said:

Whats team news on this one? Any big missings for any side?

We have a problem in centre defence with Ben Gordon suspended and Fraser Forrest, who would have come in to cover, having being forced to retire this week due to a persistent back problem. Gives somebody else a chance to come in and impress I suppose. Ross McCord is still injured too.

Would be great to keep our recent good run going by beating one of our rivals. The Annan fans are correct in that they have a good record against Alloa - but that said they still haven't managed a win at the Recs so far. Fingers crossed that's still the case after the game tomorrow.

settle fur a one awe draw..should be a good day fur sem's 40th, loads of swallay.. :D

User is offline   dunkindonut 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Good win for The Wasps, although by all accounts a tough battle... Back at the top again with a game in hand.

• Golden Shoe Winner
Excellent win today and a fantastic strike from May again hopefully his scoring form keeps up for as long as we have him. I know i come back to this alot but the ref was shocking today the Annan goalkeeper should have been sent off for that shocking tackle and number 3 was lucky to stay on the park after a number of off the ball incidents.
Posted Image

User is offline   OldWasp 

• Third Division Reserve
Some dreadful refereeing - but 3 points against one of our major rivals. Just hope no-one from St Johnstone was there - or Stevie May would be hauled back before he is injured by a 3rd Division "tackle"
Until the philosophy which hold one race

Superior and another inferior

Is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned

Everywhere is war, me say war
That until there are no longer first class

And second class citizens of any nation

Until the colour of a man's skin

Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes

Me say war

User is offline   Waspy 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Germany
A hard fought win for the wasps today, with another cracking strike from Stevie May :)

As for the performance of the ref words cant explain
CONTRO IL CALCIO MODERNO

User is offline   mgm 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Thought the annan keeper should have done better with may's free kick.

The ref was one of the worst I've seen. Bet the clown gets fastracked to spl!!

User is offline   printer 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postnumber one wasp, on 14 January 2012 - 17:29, said:

I know i come back to this alot but the ref was shocking today the Annan goalkeeper should have been sent off for that shocking tackle and number 3 was lucky to stay on the park after a number of off the ball incidents.

View PostOldWasp, on 14 January 2012 - 17:58, said:

Some dreadful refereeing - but 3 points against one of our major rivals.

View PostWaspy, on 14 January 2012 - 18:24, said:

As for the performance of the ref words cant explain

View Postmgm, on 14 January 2012 - 18:25, said:

The ref was one of the worst I've seen. Bet the clown gets fastracked to spl!!

Bizarre!. The ref had two big decisions to make and he got them both spot on. Ryan McCord deserved his yellow for simulation. The yellow for the Annan goalie when he brought down May was also correct.

I thought we just about deserved the three points. If only for May's brilliant free kick. Nothing much between the teams though.

Very important three points.

User is offline   footie 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postdunkindonut, on 14 January 2012 - 17:12, said:

Good win for The Wasps, although by all accounts a tough battle... Back at the top again with a game in hand.

Great game for the neutral.. thought draw would have been a fair result, Annan keeper should have IMO done better with the shot for the goal. Again IMO not a sending off either, as the centre half was about to clear therefore, not last man, yellow card was correct. Biggest grumble was how McCord got man of the match i will never know, IMO no individual player was outstanding but collectively the back four of Alloa deserved praise. PH should be happy with the win and the way his back four performed despite injuries. HC will i assume be disapointed, however, should be encouraged with the performance. Overall both teams should be applauded for such an entertaining game one of the best games i have seen all season.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postprinter, on 14 January 2012 - 18:36, said:

Bizarre!. The ref had two big decisions to make and he got them both spot on. Ryan McCord deserved his yellow for simulation. The yellow for the Annan goalie when he brought down May was also correct.

I thought we just about deserved the three points. If only for May's brilliant free kick. Nothing much between the teams though.

Very important three points.

He got those ones spot on but there were some rash challenges from the Annan players that didn't even get bookings i remember one where the player went through the back of May to get the ball and didnt get a yellow for it and the number 3 was at it off the ball the whole game.
Posted Image

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postfootie, on 14 January 2012 - 18:36, said:

Great game for the neutral.. thought draw would have been a fair result, Annan keeper should have IMO done better with the shot for the goal. Again IMO not a sending off either, as the centre half was about to clear therefore, not last man, yellow card was correct. Biggest grumble was how McCord got man of the match i will never know, IMO no individual player was outstanding but collectively the back four of Alloa deserved praise. PH should be happy with the win and the way his back four performed despite injuries. HC will i assume be disapointed, however, should be encouraged with the performance. Overall both teams should be applauded for such an entertaining game one of the best games i have seen all season.

The yellow for the keeper was probably right but if it was a centre half who made that type of challengehe would probably be off so was a close call.
Posted Image

User is offline   JUNIORFAN 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postnumber one wasp, on 14 January 2012 - 17:29, said:

Excellent win today and a fantastic strike from May again hopefully his scoring form keeps up for as long as we have him. I know i come back to this alot but the ref was shocking today the Annan goalkeeper should have been sent off for that shocking tackle and number 3 was lucky to stay on the park after a number of off the ball incidents.

Don't know what game you were at but it most certainly was not a shocking tackle . Can only get sent off for serious foul play or denying a goal scoring opportunity. Neither !! , also the player was not even injured . Yellow card at most. One way traffic from Annan in the second half but never had a shot on goal ! Why did Alloa stop playing in the second half ? Hartley 's tactics questionable to say the least !! Lucky to get away with the win

User is offline   bob the tank 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostJUNIORFAN, on 14 January 2012 - 19:53, said:

Don't know what game you were at but it most certainly was not a shocking tackle . Can only get sent off for serious foul play or denying a goal scoring opportunity. Neither !! , also the player was not even injured . Yellow card at most. One way traffic from Annan in the second half but never had a shot on goal ! Why did Alloa stop playing in the second half ? Hartley 's tactics questionable to say the least !! Lucky to get away with the win

Ask Kompany of Man City about your definition of a red card!!!Only thing that saved him was he wasn't last man(just) and the referee was a clown.Annan were a bunch of hammer throwers who got away with leading with elbows,persistant pushing and blatant obstruction for the whole game.Don't come on here talking about tactics cos your whole gameplan was to bully and intimidate.A disgrace. :thumbsdown
willie crilley 49 out of 92

User is offline   Sevennil 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostJUNIORFAN, on 14 January 2012 - 19:53, said:

1.One way traffic from Annan in the second half but never had a shot on goal !

2.Why did Alloa stop playing in the second half ?

3.Hartley 's tactics questionable to say the least !!

4.Lucky to get away with the win

1.Numerous shots on goal by Annan in the 2nd half, most of which sailed harmlessly over the bar.

2.Alloa had the 2,perhaps 3, best chances of the 2nd half, albeit from breaking away from defence very quickly. The keeper made at least 2 brilliant saves in denying Alloa.

3&4.Lucky perhaps but today's type of game has happened at home against both Stranraer and Queen's Park already this season and long may it continue. Other team's failings in front of goal is not the fault of Alloa. This leads me to believe that Hartley's tactics are anything but questionable, more closer to 'spot on' I'd say.

I'll take several 'lucky' 1-0 victories from now until the end of the season if they're on offer though. Posted Image

This post has been edited by Sevennil: 14 January 2012 - 21:09

Let It Rain!!!

• (2 Pages) +