Udinese V Celtic

User is offline   DavieCFC 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
To qualify, the task is simple. Win away from home in Europe, easy peasy :lol:

Well im sure most people outside the Celtic support are surprised thats we are at matchday 6 of the EL and Celtic still have a shot at qualifying despite being in the so called "group of death"

Weve nothing to lose here so we might aswell go for it, i have a feeling that if we do somehow manage to get the result we need, we'll need to have scored a coupla goals. I dont see a 0-1 kind of result on the horizon. Just need to try and keep the away day calamities to a minimum, no goals conceded in the first few minutes or daft o.g's would be nice.

Really really hope we can do this, we surely bloody due a win away from home in Europe sometime, lets hope its now :).

Heart says 2-3 Celtic, head says Udinese by a couple.

Mon the Hoops :D

User is offline   Ross. 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
I think a lot depends on Udinese's attitude to the competition. They know a result will see them through, but are top of the league and might not want the distraction. At the same time, they might fancy the extra cash and the opportunity to give their youngsters a couple of games additional European experience. If they put out anything close to their first 11 I think Celtic are out. If they put out a similar 11 to the team that played at Celtic Park, then Celtic have a good chance.

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostRoss., on 12 December 2011 - 12:04, said:

I think a lot depends on Udinese's attitude to the competition. They know a result will see them through, but are top of the league and might not want the distraction. At the same time, they might fancy the extra cash and the opportunity to give their youngsters a couple of games additional European experience. If they put out anything close to their first 11 I think Celtic are out. If they put out a similar 11 to the team that played at Celtic Park, then Celtic have a good chance.

Udinese went top ofSserie A at the weekend. i don;t think they're good enough to win it, but they have bigger fish to fry than the EL, i also read the other day that they have a big run of games coming up before the Italian League winter break taht should presumbaly take up their attention.

Is Joe Ledley fit?

---------------------Forster------------- ---

Matthews-------Big Dan---Glennda-----Mulgrew/Ledley

----------------------Wanyama------------ -------
---Brown--------------Ki----------------- -Kayal

-----------Forrest----------------------- ---------

----------------------------------------- ------Samaras

Keep things solid at forst, using forrest and Samaras' pace on the break, and look to bring Stokes and/or Hooper on as the game goes on.
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

User is offline   Mik 

• First Division Superstar

View Postbanterman86, on 12 December 2011 - 13:36, said:

Udinese went top ofSserie A at the weekend. i don;t think they're good enough to win it, but they have bigger fish to fry than the EL, i also read the other day that they have a big run of games coming up before the Italian League winter break taht should presumbaly take up their attention.

Is Joe Ledley fit?

---------------------Forster------------- ---

MatthewsOUT-------Big Dan---GlenndaOUT-----Mulgrew/(Ledley OUT)

----------------------Wanyama------------ -------
---Brown--------------Ki----------------- -Kayal

-----------Forrest----------------------- ---------

----------------------------------------- ------Samaras

Keep things solid at forst, using forrest and Samaras' pace on the break, and look to bring Stokes and/or Hooper on as the game goes on.

Plagued with injuries yet again...Matthews, Loovens and Ledley are all out. Kaddouri and Rogne are ineligible too :(

I thnk i'd have...

Forster
Cha...Dan....that young boy*.....Mulgrew
....................Wanyama
Forrest .......Kayal ........Samaras
...................Brown
..................Stokes

or...not...hmm i'm not quite sure at all to be honest....

*I really can't remember his name but i'm sure he's eligible

edit: We're gunna get hammered....that back line is just...awful.

This post has been edited by Mik: 13 December 2011 - 13:35

User is offline   invictager 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers
I would like to see Celtic get a result for the sake of the co-efficient but unfortunately common sense dictates they are simply not good enough to beat a team that sits top of Serie A

This post has been edited by invictager: 13 December 2011 - 14:09

• Golden Shoe Winner
Rogne is ineleigble?
For real? :lol:
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

User is offline   Mik 

View Postbanterman86, on 13 December 2011 - 13:39, said:

Rogne is ineleigble?
For real? :lol:

Yuuup haha

GLENN LOOVENS, Joe Ledley, Adam Matthews and Kris Commons have all been ruled out of Thursday’s must-win Europa League game against Udinese.

And, as Neil Lennon tries to patch together a side good enough to get the victory they need to progress, his job is made all the more difficult because Thomas Rogne and Badr El Kadourri are ineligible.

http://www.eveningti...grows-1.1139367

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Id personally probably go:

Forster
Cha-Dan-Wanayama-Mulgrew
Forrest-Kayal-Ki-Brown-Samaras
Bangura

Yep you read that correctly, id give Bangura a run out and a chance in this game since weve nothing to lose here and with Stokes and Hoopers form in the league he's not getting many chances to play, so in a game were we are not playing 2 strikers why not give him a game?

User is offline   Liam. 

• Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:Corporal Looj
I thought players who were 21 or under didn't take up a place in the EL squad, so Rogne would be eligible..?
Any opinions are not necessarily my own but those of the BBC.

User is offline   2LIVE 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
!

View PostDavieCFC, on 13 December 2011 - 21:55, said:

Forster
Cha-Dan-Wanayama-Mulgrew
Bangura

Yep you read that correctly, id give Bangura a run out and a chance in this game since weve nothing to lose here and with Stokes and Hoopers form in the league he's not getting many chances to play, so in a game were we are not playing 2 strikers why not give him a game?

Rather see a full strength celtic team having a real go at a probable weakened udinese team.

Pat McCourt on from the start....stuff bangura.

User is offline   2LIVE 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical

View PostDavieCFC, on 13 December 2011 - 21:55, said:

Forster
Cha-Dan-Wanayama-Mulgrew
Bangura

Rather see a full strength celtic team having a real go at a probable weakened udinese team.

Pat McCourt on from the start....stuff bangura.

User is offline   wingnut 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Bonnyrigg Rose
Would love to see a Celtic win but probably not gonny happen and let's face it won't be a disaster if we don't qualify,for me it would be better we concentrate to win the league as that's the main perogative and any domestic cup win would be a bonus.

User is offline   Estragon 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
7 wins out of 7 at home in Serie A for Udinese. It's an almost impossible task - but I'd love Celtic to do it.

View Postbullywee, on 04 October 2011 - 23:46, said:

a friend of mine's wee brother had a hamster called dennis

User is offline   10 CC ICT 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:FTOF
Udinese sounds a bit like Inverness so I'll be supporting them. :D
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.

User is offline   McNasara 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
UDINESE (3-5-1-1): Handanovic; Benatia, Danilo, Ekstrand; Basta, Isla, Pinzi, Asamoah, Armero; Floro Flores, Fabbrini
CELTIC (4-4-2): Foster; Matthews, Loovens, Majstorovic, Mulgrew; Forrest, Ki, Kayal, Ledley; Stoke, Hooper.

line-up for tonight by italian media...

User is offline   11thHour 

• First Division Sub
Forster
Cha - Dan - Wanyama -Mulgrew
Forrest - Brown - Kayal - Samaras
Hooper - Stokes

Got to go for it, we need to make European nights special again. Sure the main focus should be the league but we should have the EL as the secondary focus for sure. It's quite poor how bad the european nights have gotten at Celtic.

Hoping for an upset but i'm not sure it'll come. I dont think there'll be a lot of goals tonight and im hoping we just pip them.

User is offline   TheGreenMonster 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View PostLiam., on 13 December 2011 - 22:57, said:

I thought players who were 21 or under didn't take up a place in the EL squad, so Rogne would be eligible..?

No you have a initial A squad of I think 20 players then a B squad of under 21s which either have to have came through your academy or have been trained in your association, Rogne was not picked for the A squad and does not qualify for the B so is not eligible.
Posted Image

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostMcNasara, on 15 December 2011 - 09:13, said:

UDINESE (3-5-1-1): Handanovic; Benatia, Danilo, Ekstrand; Basta, Isla, Pinzi, Asamoah, Armero; Floro Flores, Fabbrini
CELTIC (4-4-2): Foster; Matthews, Loovens, Majstorovic, Mulgrew; Forrest, Ki, Kayal, Ledley; Stoke, Hooper.

line-up for tonight by italian media...

:huh:

Loovens, Ledley and Matthews all didnt travel, so that reports alota pish

User is offline   Long live the 69 

• My Team:Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Germany
This makes a change from the "Good luck *opposition*" threads :lol:

I'd love Celtic to do it as well. It would be great for the co-efficient & the extra games would aid Allys 4IAR quest :D

Good luck Celtic

View PostMr. Brightside, on 18 May 2012 - 00:37, said:

Maybe it's because the English think they're really funny but aren't? Meaning "laddish" behaviour, in other words, cuntish behaviour.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Post11thHour, on 15 December 2011 - 09:58, said:

Forster
Cha - Dan - Wanyama -Mulgrew
Forrest - Brown - Kayal - Samaras
Hooper - Stokes

All going well I'd finish the game like that, as the game strecthes and legs tires. I'd start with Ki, Kayal and Brown in midfield at first though, to keep things tight, then go for it.

User is offline   aidan-bufc 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Bo'ness United
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Twitter = @aidanmcl93 (follow me!).
Would love to see Celtic get a result tonight, although its very unlikely no matter what Udinese side gets put out.

View Postjuniornews, on 07 July 2011 - 19:34, said:

Who gives a monkeys who boness sign. They quite simply will not pose any threat to linlithgow this season. We have taken a squad who finished three points adrift and improved it all round. Boness have taken a league winning side and ripped it apart on the back of one mans whims. Top 5 at best for boness this year

BU's unbeaten vs the Rose. 2011/12

User is offline   Jersey Bud 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren
What Channel is it on?,
Awa "n" bile yer heid

User is offline   LinkinFighter 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:LinkinFighter

View PostJersey Bud, on 15 December 2011 - 19:28, said:

What Channel is it on?,

ESPN

User is offline   kiddy 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Falkirk
Will make a good pub quiz question though. Which two teams played each other, in a knock out stage in Europe & both went out on the same night? :lol: :lol: :lol:
3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.

Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.

& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Hooper lucky to stay on there. It wasn't nasty, but it was dangerous.

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »