Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Gaming Quick Questions - The Pie Shop

• (5 Pages) +
  • « First

Gaming Quick Questions It was only a matter of time...

User is online   CLANCY2KTID 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
^^^

Same thing happens with my ps3 pads. Would love to know why.

User is offline   Just a bairn 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View Postayrunitedfw, on 08 January 2012 - 14:24, said:

This could go in either E-chat or gaming but I will put it in here:

My Xbox controller always seems to cut out and asks me to re-connect controller but when I click the battery level there is still the majority of the bars. Ive also tried changing the battaries but it's still doing the same. This happens mostly on Fifa but also other games aswell.

Any sugestions ?

Sounds as if it's a faulty battery holder. I had that with one of my black controllers. I ended up just taping the battery holder down and hoped for the best. Never got rid of the problem completely though.

On a side note, does anybody have dead island? Was thinking about getting it, but it's had some mixed reviews so would be nice to hear a few opinions on here.
Bairns Trust - GTF

User is offline   Turbo_dee 

• International Regular
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Gamertag:TurboDEE1992 (Xbox Live)

View PostJust a bairn, on 14 January 2012 - 18:37, said:

On a side note, does anybody have dead island? Was thinking about getting it, but it's had some mixed reviews so would be nice to hear a few opinions on here.

I've got it, and I think it's brilliant fun! The various areas of the island are open with loads of stuff to do, the player gets eased into the game at the start as the zombies are quite easy to take down and don't really come in numbers until the story moves on to the city.

The most fun to be had is definitely when playing with a friend, I've lost hours playing this game with my mate, so if you know someone that also has the game and still plays it quite regularly I would say definitely go for it. The downside to the game mainly being the glitches that you can encounter, there are apparently game ending glitches, but I've only ever run into small ones, such as zombies being trapped inside walls, etc. I've had the game since near the time it first came out, and most of the glitches I encountered have stopped occurring so I assume it's all been patched.

If you enjoyed games such as Left 4 Dead and Deadrising, and liked the playing style of games such as Fallout then it is definitely worth a buy, especially as it will be relatively cheap, about £15 for a pre-owned copy in some places now!

User is offline   Just a bairn 

• International Call Up

View PostTurbo_dee, on 01 February 2012 - 14:36, said:

I've got it, and I think it's brilliant fun! The various areas of the island are open with loads of stuff to do, the player gets eased into the game at the start as the zombies are quite easy to take down and don't really come in numbers until the story moves on to the city.

The most fun to be had is definitely when playing with a friend, I've lost hours playing this game with my mate, so if you know someone that also has the game and still plays it quite regularly I would say definitely go for it. The downside to the game mainly being the glitches that you can encounter, there are apparently game ending glitches, but I've only ever run into small ones, such as zombies being trapped inside walls, etc. I've had the game since near the time it first came out, and most of the glitches I encountered have stopped occurring so I assume it's all been patched.

If you enjoyed games such as Left 4 Dead and Deadrising, and liked the playing style of games such as Fallout then it is definitely worth a buy, especially as it will be relatively cheap, about £15 for a pre-owned copy in some places now!

Cheers bud ;)

Sounds decent, will try and pick it up soon.
Bairns Trust - GTF

• International Regular

View PostJust a bairn, on 01 February 2012 - 16:56, said:

Cheers bud ;)

Sounds decent, will try and pick it up soon.

I just started playing it again the other night after quite a big break in which I've been switching between Saints Row and Fifa 12, forgot how much of a laugh it is watching your mate get eaten by zombies whilst hiding in a corner! Posted Image

User is online   Shelldon 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Arbroath
  • Euro 2012:Russia
Can anyone recommend any good RTS games like command and conquer?
:)

• International Regular

View PostShelldon, on 09 February 2012 - 17:06, said:

Can anyone recommend any good RTS games like command and conquer?

Will you be using an Xbox to play them on? It's pretty much safe to assume that all RTS games are far better on PC than they are on console, and there is a much wider variety of games to choose from. Let me know what you'll be using to play the games and your favourite genre and I will be able to help a bit more, as opposed to being extremely vague! Posted Image

User is online   Shelldon 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Arbroath
  • Euro 2012:Russia

View PostTurbo_dee, on 10 February 2012 - 21:38, said:

Will you be using an Xbox to play them on? It's pretty much safe to assume that all RTS games are far better on PC than they are on console, and there is a much wider variety of games to choose from. Let me know what you'll be using to play the games and your favourite genre and I will be able to help a bit more, as opposed to being extremely vague! Posted Image

PC got a command and conquer game for the xbox a few years ago and didn't like it. Agree they're so much better on the computer and just games like command and conquer, age of empires etc.
:)

User is offline   DarkBlue62 

• HIYA
  • Gamertag:iPinkMorph

View PostShelldon, on 11 February 2012 - 13:37, said:

PC got a command and conquer game for the xbox a few years ago and didn't like it. Agree they're so much better on the computer and just games like command and conquer, age of empires etc.

I thought the Dawn of War games were fairly decent.
1 Year Gamble Free, F*ck Yeah!

Jessica Nigri, what's not to like about her?

User is offline   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7

View PostDarkBlue62, on 11 February 2012 - 14:03, said:

I thought the Dawn of War games were fairly decent.

Yeah, the first ones were good. Dawn of War. I bought the Winter Assault and Dark Crusade(you need a dvd reader for this though) expansions and they're a load of fun. It's like Age of Empires(the Rome expansion of that is ace too).

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
I don't use my DS anymore, so I was planning on selling it.

How much (roughly) do you think I could get for:

1 Nintendo DS (red) in good condition (personally I think it's almost as good as new), with a working charger and several pen things + the shit brain training game that came with it (can't mind it's name)
Super Mario Bros. game
All three Professor Layton games
Pokemon Black (or White) and Pokemon Pearl

I was thinking £40-£60 was about right. All games are in perfect condition and I think I have all the instruction manuals for them. I'm not sure if I have all the DS manuals though.

How much do you think I could get for it through private sale?

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

• International Regular

View PostShelldon, on 11 February 2012 - 13:37, said:

The good thing is there is a large amount of games you can get for the PC. You should get Civilization 4, that's a wonderful game and easy to pick up. Other games I've really enjoyed, although perhaps slightly dated now, are Tropico 3 and Star Wars: Empire at War. If you're a fan of Star Wars, you can be up the entire night without realising it, and some of the mods you get for it are terrific! There are other games such as Starcraft, which I've never got round to playing that are worth a look at, as well as the Total War series.

User is offline   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7
Can we have sub-forums for Fifa and Football Manager so I don't need to see the many threads created for each game?

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is offline   GingerSaint 

• Fcuk Tebow
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Is there any way to remove injuries in FM11? I have already change the "Occurence Ratio" to 0 on every injury in the editor but it's not working.

I seem to be getting long term injuries every other game and it's totally unrealistic and pissing me off greatly.

This post has been edited by GingerSaint: 26 February 2012 - 17:15

User is online   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain

View PostGingerSaint, on 26 February 2012 - 17:12, said:

Is there any way to remove injuries in FM11? I have already change the "Occurence Ratio" to 0 on every injury in the editor but it's not working.

I seem to be getting long term injuries every other game and it's totally unrealistic and pissing me off greatly.

Aye, because removing injuries will make it much more realistic :lol:

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

• Fcuk Tebow

View PostGaz, on 26 February 2012 - 18:54, said:

Aye, because removing injuries will make it much more realistic :lol:

I don't care because it is ruining my game.

User is offline   SteamingparBoz 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Dunfermline
0 makes it random, change it to 1?

As for games like CnC on the pc, I used to have a game called Highland Warriors I think. Exactly the same concept but based in Scotland and with super characters like Wallace and Bruce. Good wee distraction for a while. Or Hooligans- Storm Over Europe. ;)
Same rules apply.

User is offline   Busta Nut 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:Busta1886 on xbox, JamesyMcBusta psn
Online pass code? How do i use it?? No where to enter it! Xbox
Posted Image

• Fcuk Tebow
I just rented Battlefield 3 from Blockbuster today. I went home and realised that you need a fucking Online Pass. I take it Blockbuster meant for me not to have a code or that? Cnuts.

I have two discs as well. What are these for?

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:PSN Heedly77

View PostGingerSaint, on 29 February 2012 - 17:22, said:

I just rented Battlefield 3 from Blockbuster today. I went home and realised that you need a fucking Online Pass. I take it Blockbuster meant for me not to have a code or that? Cnuts.

I have two discs as well. What are these for?

Try this mate:

http://api.viglink.c..._13305422009691

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Queen of the South
I have a 360 noob question.

I got a 4Gb 360 free with my mobile upgrade and it has no hard drive. Ive ordered a hard drive and saw that I can install games onto it. So, whats to stop me installing games onto the HD and then just trading in the discs again? Or, even better, renting games and chucking them on the HD?
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

• Fcuk Tebow

View PostMr X, on 04 April 2012 - 08:35, said:

I have a 360 noob question.

I got a 4Gb 360 free with my mobile upgrade and it has no hard drive. Ive ordered a hard drive and saw that I can install games onto it. So, whats to stop me installing games onto the HD and then just trading in the discs again? Or, even better, renting games and chucking them on the HD?

You still need the disc to play the games. It just makes less noise.

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostGingerSaint, on 04 April 2012 - 08:58, said:

You still need the disc to play the games. It just makes less noise.

Oh, ok, cheers.

I thought the point was that you didnt need to swap over discs to change games

Never mind :lol:
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

User is offline   sky+remote 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostMr X, on 04 April 2012 - 09:48, said:

Oh, ok, cheers.

I thought the point was that you didnt need to swap over discs to change games

Never mind :lol:

Nope, it's defo worth doing, at least for games you play regularly. It will increase the longevity of your XBOX as the laser won't be required all the time.

User is offline   EdgarusQPFC 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park

View Postsky+remote, on 04 April 2012 - 14:49, said:

Nope, it's defo worth doing, at least for games you play regularly. It will increase the longevity of your XBOX as the laser won't be required all the time.

Agreed, the laser going is what gubbed my last 2 xboxes. My mate has lost 10 cause of it. Installing usually improves preformance slightly aswell.
I'm gonna throw you in my DeLorean and gun it to 88.
Posted Image
I'm not a Geek, I'm a specialist!

• (5 Pages) +
  • « First