Scots wanting to play for Team GB Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
So with the news over the last few days with both Naismith & Forrest declaring they would play for Team GB.

Who else do you think will be throwing their hats in the ring, or who do you think is good enough?

Do we really believe as some have said that any player appearing for Team GB shouldn't be considered playing for Scotland again?

Also, when / if we see a Scot posing in a Team GB strip, will the country go into meltdown?

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
They haven't said they would play - only that they'd consider it. It's good for their career which is why they're doing it. Not sure how well Forrest playing for them would go down with the Celtic fans.

I don't think Team GB is going to have any impact on the Scotland team, but I want it to fail now purely because of the behaviour of the BOA with respect to it. First they had agreed that it would be a completely English team, and then they announced a "historic agreement" with the home nations FAs which proved to be a load of bollocks and was quickly slapped down by the SFA and FAW.

User is offline   Jordo1872 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Dumbarton
  • Euro 2012:Germany

Enrico Annoni, on 09 December 2011 - 13:25, said:

So with the news over the last few days with both Naismith & Forrest declaring they would play for Team GB.

Who else do you think will be throwing their hats in the ring, or who do you think is good enough?

Do we really believe as some have said that any player appearing for Team GB shouldn't be considered playing for Scotland again?

Also, when / if we see a Scot posing in a Team GB strip, will the country go into meltdown?

Whether or not a scab is picked for Scotland again would be a decision for the Scotland manager.

What I would say is that any player who decides his potential short term self gain is more important than that of the national game in cotland will be in for a rough time from the fans, and rightly so.

User is offline   killieiain 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
You just know there's going to be loads of wee neds of a certain football persuasion, shelling out £40 for a rubbish replica GB shirt.

I mean Olympic football? Give us a break.

• Third Division Regular

craigkillie, on 09 December 2011 - 13:30, said:

They haven't said they would play - only that they'd consider it. It's good for their career which is why they're doing it. Not sure how well Forrest playing for them would go down with the Celtic fans.

Is it? Participation in a 2nd rate tournament at the risk of being hounded out ogaining future long-term international caps, and the chance to play in genuine football tournament, for Scotland? Would seriously doubt that.

craigkillie, on 09 December 2011 - 13:30, said:

I don't think Team GB is going to have any impact on the Scotland team, but I want it to fail now purely because of the behaviour of the BOA with respect to it. First they had agreed that it would be a completely English team, and then they announced a "historic agreement" with the home nations FAs which proved to be a load of bollocks and was quickly slapped down by the SFA and FAW.

Let's not take the chance eh.

User is offline   uni 

• International Captain
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Gamertag:EuanAFC4life
Personally I think if they want to play let them, but also tell them by doing so they are waving goodbye to their Scotland career.
Aberdeen FC - Scotland's Team since 1903

User is offline   Ross. 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Will be interesting to see what line is taken should anyone actually represent the GB team. As it stands, with players saying they'd consider it, there isn't much of a story. I just don't see the point in taking the risk though, as I don't think the personal benefits would be that great to the players involved.

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:GCarlos9
I can't see it having any impact on the Internatioanl side. When several countries were petitioning the UK to compete as one unified team, this was mainly due to smaller international tournaments and Scotland and England regularly qualifying meaning two places were used up. In all honesty I have never watched Olympic football and I probably will avoid this one also. I wouldn't care if Naismith or Forrest wanted to play. Many athletes over the years have represented Scotland at the Commonwealth games and the UK at the Olympics. I see no difference to this situation. If you want to play at the Olympics you have to represent the UK (unless you can play for another country).
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.

User is offline   Mozzamozza 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Poland
  • Gamertag:I love technology.
Hasn't Forrest declared his love of Ireland yet?

Surely that's why he plays forra sellcik.
Moray Cup: May have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children.
Vote Moray Cup, 2016

User is offline   youngsy 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

uni, on 09 December 2011 - 13:48, said:

Personally I think if they want to play let them, but also tell them by doing so they are waving goodbye to their Scotland career.

Why should that be. Because young players want to compete in the Olympics their international career is over. Exactly what would they have done to warrant being exempt from playing for Scotland again.

• Third Division Regular

Loki, on 09 December 2011 - 13:50, said:

I can't see it having any impact on the Internatioanl side. When several countries were petitioning the UK to compete as one unified team, this was mainly due to smaller international tournaments and Scotland and England regularly qualifying meaning two places were used up. In all honesty I have never watched Olympic football and I probably will avoid this one also. I wouldn't care if Naismith or Forrest wanted to play. Many athletes over the years have represented Scotland at the Commonwealth games and the UK at the Olympics. I see no difference to this situation. If you want to play at the Olympics you have to represent the UK (unless you can play for another country).

You see no difference between athletics, where the pinnicple of your career i to compete at the olympics, and football?

Jesus. Christ. :rolleyes:

• Third Division Regular

youngsy, on 09 December 2011 - 13:54, said:

Why should that be. Because young players want to compete in the Olympics their international career is over. Exactly what would they have done to warrant being exempt from playing for Scotland again.

If you need that explained to you then you clearly don't understand the facts. Do a bit of research, try and educate yourself on the subject before forming an opinion.

Thanks.

User is offline   Aufc 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd

Jordo1872, on 09 December 2011 - 13:32, said:

Whether or not a scab is picked for Scotland again would be a decision for the Scotland manager.

What I would say is that any player who decides his potential short term self gain is more important than that of the national game in cotland will be in for a rough time from the fans, and rightly so.

uni, on 09 December 2011 - 13:48, said:

Why would you want to deny a player the right to play at the Olympics? Whether or not the football side of things is second rate or not, it is still the olympics. It should have no effect on whether they play for Scotland again. Ridiculous attitude. A lot of people, like yourselves, are having a serious over-reaction to this.

Additionally, that Hamish husband is an absolute fucking bellend. He does not represent the tartan army. He embarrasses himself everytime he opens his mouth.

User is offline   Father Dougal McGuire 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Dundee
This debate is a lot of utter shite. How can anyone have a problem with a Scottish player representing team GB at the Olympics? People who think it would affect our international teams future are completely wrong. Over reaction central!
if i had the wings of an eagle
if i had the arse of a crow
i would fly over tannadice tomorrow
and shite on the b*****ds below, below

User is online   DeadStar 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
If a Scottish player wants to play for team GB, does anyone actually care?

Football fans are melodramatic knobbers sometimes.

User is offline   printer 

• SPL Sub
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic

Jordo1872, on 09 December 2011 - 13:57, said:

If you need that explained to you then you clearly don't understand the facts. Do a bit of research, try and educate yourself on the subject before forming an opinion.

Thanks.

• SPL Regular

Jordo1872, on 09 December 2011 - 13:57, said:

Thanks.

Well aware of everything regarding this but as i asked why should a player playing in the Olympics be banned from playing for Scotland. And before you go down the political route about the home nations losing their identity in a football sense there has been nothing forthcoming that this is likely to happen in the foreseeable future if at all. Thanks.

User is offline   Bluebirds Boyo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

Really? I thought we concluded the FAs, national teams and league pyramids were all to be destroyed and merged in under ten months when Sepp Blatter spots Gareth Bale in a GB kit on his tele. I suppose those crafty, plotting foreigners might allow us to finish the 2012/13 season, so you could not select those picket-line crossers for a few games before the new British Football Association's team begins play...

Edit: Actually, they've already drawn the groups for WC 2014, haven't they? I suppose we'd have to play until then, but as soon as that ends, bam, Team UK!

This post has been edited by Bluebirds Boyo: 09 December 2011 - 14:46

• SPL Regular

Bluebirds Boyo, on 09 December 2011 - 14:43, said:

Really? I thought we concluded the FAs, national teams and league pyramids were all to be destroyed and merged in under ten months when Sepp Blatter spots Gareth Bale in a GB kit on his tele. I suppose those crafty, plotting foreigners might allow us to finish the 2012/13 season, so you could not select those picket-line crossers for a few games before the new British Football Association's team begins play...

Edit: Actually, they've already drawn the groups for WC 2014, haven't they? I suppose we'd have to play until then, but as soon as that ends, bam, Team UK.

Don't say that,mate. This so called tartan army will go into permanent meltdown.

User is online   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
  • My Team:Queen of the South

Aufc, on 09 December 2011 - 14:07, said:

Why would you want to deny a player the right to play at the Olympics? Whether or not the football side of things is second rate or not, it is still the olympics. It should have no effect on whether they play for Scotland again. Ridiculous attitude. A lot of people, like yourselves, are having a serious over-reaction to this.

Additionally, that Hamish husband is an absolute fucking bellend. He does not represent the tartan army. He embarrasses himself everytime he opens his mouth.

This, I see all the feather wearing fannies are up in arms on TAMB. If he was under 23 and not injured he would maybe have a chance of getting picked, move along nothing to see here.

I will rightly support him in the September 2012 qualifiers if he returns from injury in time.
Woooooooof

• Third Division Regular

youngsy, on 09 December 2011 - 14:36, said:

Well aware of everything regarding this but as i asked why should a player playing in the Olympics be banned from playing for Scotland. And before you go down the political route about the home nations losing their identity in a football sense there has been nothing forthcoming that this is likely to happen in the foreseeable future if at all. Thanks.

Ah you ruined it there. I've highlighted in bold the bit where you demonstrate your complete lac of understanding surrounding this issue. There really isn't much point trying to convince you otherwise as you've clearly made your decision based on little knowledge of the true situation. It's been done to death already and anything I try to add will already have been pointed out to those prepared to research the topic before stating there opinion.

Olympic fitba :lol:

User is offline   DEMON 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

agreed, they should be barred fro0m the national team for even suggesting they would play for team GB
go f*ck yourself

User is offline   NathanQP 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Queen's Park
Can't wait to support Team GB at Euro 2016!!!!:P
Its gonna be magical!
Did you call me dumbo?
@NaaateQp

User is offline   NathanQP 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Queen's Park
Some verge of tears moments of TAMB

If this is true, I am glad I cheered when he hit the deck at Pittodrie.

Khunt.

I've got his name on the back of my Scotland top :( sticking it on eBay now :mad:

Thats another to the list that will continually be booed if picked. I hope any of these khuunts are never selected again. Get them tae phuck.It doesnt matter who they are or however many caps they have - no place in a Scotland team.

Did you call me dumbo?
@NaaateQp

User is offline   bkay 

• Third Division Signing Target
It's fcuking pathetic if any Scots that want to play for GB don't get to play for Scotland. Suppose the sheep shagging tartan army trannies would boo the life out of them if they ever did play,

• (14 Pages) +
  • Last »