Team GB Poll Please have your say Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Famous Tartan Army Magazin 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
Hi guys, regarding the team GB debate, we, Famous Tartan Army Magazine, are running a poll on our website, can you please take a few seconds to have your say regarding your thoughts on Scotland players taking part in Team Gb at the Olympics. Much appreciated. www.famoustartanarmy.com
PS we voted NO !!

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Oh the dilemma! I hate team gb but I don't want to be associated with glengarry wearing badge collectors..
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is offline   Bobby Skidmarks 

• Third Division Regular
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
If you're so famous why are you advertising on other forums?

View Postwow-wee, on 16 May 2012 - 21:25, said:

Was at medda park tonight and thought i would try their homemade soup and what i got was packet powdered soup being served like homemade.Shame on you medda !Do any other clubs kid their fans with packet soup let us know so when i visit the ground i know not to get any.

User is online   Savage Henry 

• J'ai une ame solitaire.
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Hang Out The Stars In Indiana

View PostBobby Skidmarks, on 29 November 2011 - 22:46, said:

If you're so famous why are you advertising on other forums?

And how come nobody's ever heard of them?

User is offline   TartanArmani 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Other
To busy to view. But hope some Scottish players represent team GB.
No more Gary Caldwell in the Scotland team.

User is offline   TheScarf 

• Sowing the seeds of love.
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:PSN : whoorsir
If I could be arsed, I'd vote yes. As a proud Britainman.
And what?

User is offline   Father Dougal McGuire 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Dundee
I still don't understand this debate. What do people from Wales, Scotland and Ireland have against their players being part of team GB?
if i had the wings of an eagle
if i had the arse of a crow
i would fly over tannadice tomorrow
and shite on the b*****ds below, below

User is offline   nessies long lost ghost 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Gamertag:The Rourkenator
I really couldn't give a f**k.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France
That went well.
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostTartanArmani, on 30 November 2011 - 08:53, said:

To busy to view. But hope some Scottish players represent team GB.

This.

EDITED to add - Just visited the Tartan Army Message Board for the first time in about two years and found they are for stringing Jamie Mackie up for having the temerity to say he'd love to play for Team GB. Jesus wept there's some right insular pish on there. Think I might leave it another couple of years before venturing in again.

This post has been edited by Skyline Drifter: 01 December 2011 - 10:19

Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   Rovers_Lad 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
He shouldn`t be playing for Scotland IMO . ;)

User is offline   Frankie S 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
I'm not that interested in the Olympics, the success or failure of the GB football team will be as important to me as the progress of the GB hockey team: If I'm not working and there's nothing better on the tv I might tune in to a game or two, but I doubt it. Whether Scottish players play for the GB team is equally inconsequential; the scaremongering about the so-called "threat to our international status" has been ridiculous. To be honest I hope someone like Jamie Mackie (not that he'd get selected) does play, just to witness the moronic contingent of the Tartan Army self-combust in a paroxysm of parochial indignation.

This post has been edited by Frankie S: 01 December 2011 - 11:47

User is offline   Clayhole Blue 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Stranraer

View PostFamous Tartan Army Magazin, on 29 November 2011 - 22:41, said:

Hi guys, regarding the team GB debate, we, Famous Tartan Army Magazine, are running a poll on our website, can you please take a few seconds to have your say regarding your thoughts on Scotland players taking part in Team Gb at the Olympics. Much appreciated. www.famoustartanarmy.com
PS we voted NO !!

It would be a lot easier if you just looked at the other thread that's on the go!

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 30 November 2011 - 21:52, said:

This.

EDITED to add - Just visited the Tartan Army Message Board for the first time in about two years and found they are for stringing Jamie Mackie up for having the temerity to say he'd love to play for Team GB. Jesus wept there's some right insular pish on there. Think I might leave it another couple of years before venturing in again.

The "Jamie Mackie Get To f**k" thread is one of the most bizarre things I've ever read. But that pales in comparison to the "press release" from the No To Team GB mob which accuses him of "pleading for the end of Home Nations international football"/

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • Euro 2012:Denmark

If MAckie wants to play for team gb then he has every right. What he doesn't have after that is the right to play for my country, Scotland.

Posted Image

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
Some felly called Shotts56 saying he has ended his Scotland career but the SFA wont say so publicly, aye okay.

Woooooooof

User is offline   Cyderlichtie 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Arbroath

View Postnessies long lost ghost, on 30 November 2011 - 13:43, said:

I really couldn't give a f**k.

what he said...

User is offline   non_sequitur 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Burntisland Shipyard

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 30 November 2011 - 21:52, said:

Think I might leave it another couple of years before venturing in again.

Thank christ for that, so much shite contained in so few words.

"Insular" would suggest the SFA and Scotland fans are being inward looking and isolated in their opinion, however Scottish, Welsh, N.Irish and English fans are against this, or did you miss the reception Bale and Ramsay got at the last Wales game? The SFA, IFA and FAW are against this as they are aware of the dangers. Insular?

A couple of the Scotland fans who are part of the No Team GB campaign live in London and have done for years. Insular? The Football Supporters Federation in England are totally against this farce. Insular?

Maybe you need to be a bit better informed before spouting this nonsense :lol:

As for Jamie Mackie, lets not hang the lad for now, the SFA need to educate him a wee bit of the situation.

This post has been edited by non_sequitur: 04 December 2011 - 19:09

'mon Shipyard!

View Postnon_sequitur, on 04 December 2011 - 19:08, said:

"Insular" would suggest the SFA and Scotland fans are being inward looking and isolated in their opinion, however Scottish, Welsh, N.Irish and English fans are against this, or did you miss the reception Bale and Ramsay got at the last Wales game? The SFA, IFA and FAW are against this as they are aware of the dangers. Insular?

A couple of the Scotland fans who are part of the No Team GB campaign live in London and have done for years. Insular? The Football Supporters Federation in England are totally against this farce. Insular?

As for Jamie Mackie, lets not hang the lad for now, the SFA need to educate him a wee bit of the situation.

^^^^^ Verge of tears.

Hmm.

Wouldn't imply anything about Scotland fans at all. It would imply, correctly, a lot about the members of the Tartan Army message board.

And for you or anyone connected with the No To GB flash mob to accuse anyone else of being better informed is laughable. You were the ones who claimed Jamie Mackie had called for an end to the Home Nations, which as you were told by more reasoned fans, was tantamount to defamation.

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man

View Postnon_sequitur, on 04 December 2011 - 19:08, said:

Yes, insular. Do you need help finding a dictionery?
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostSavage Henry, on 05 December 2011 - 09:53, said:

And for you or anyone connected with the No To GB flash mob to accuse anyone else of being better informed is laughable. You were the ones who claimed Jamie Mackie had called for an end to the Home Nations, which as you were told by more reasoned fans, was tantamount to defamation.

You should never assume as it makes an.......well, you know the rest.

I dont have anything to do with the No Team GB campaign and thought the statement about Mackie was a tad OTT. The lad should not be hung out to dry unless he continues to want to be involved even after the SFA explain the situation to him which I dont think they have done.

That said, any Scottish International who becomes actively involved with this political stunt should never be selected for Scotland again.
'mon Shipyard!

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 05 December 2011 - 14:15, said:

Yes, insular. Do you need help finding a dictionery?

No, but you might need one to assist with your spelling :lol:
'mon Shipyard!

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Whoosh!

User is offline   Frankie S 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postnon_sequitur, on 05 December 2011 - 19:35, said:

That said, any Scottish International who becomes actively involved with this political stunt should never be selected for Scotland again.

You see this is the point at which you and the rational world diverge. People who think like this tend to think that the SFA and Craig Levein should, or perhaps even do, think like this too, but the truth is that they don't. The only reason they're not coming out and saying they don't is because they're humouring you. They realise you spend your hard-earned cash following the national team and don't want to alienate you by calling you "retarded", "a bit simple" or "clueless country bumpkins", but, thankfully, everyone who isn't trying to get you to renew your TA membership is happy to tell you the truth. The Olympic football tournament is an irrelevance, it seems to have ignited a fire in the bellies of a section of the Tartan Army for some reason but no-one else, perhaps David Beckham aside, cares very much. It will proceed quite inconsequentially with or without Jamie Mackie, and even in the highly unlikely event that it proceeds with him he'll still be eligible for selection for Scotland afterwards. The mendacious Sepp Blatter and an unholy Alliance of the Disenfranchised will not suddenly seize on the Olympics as a pretext for stripping the home nations of their independent status and the world will continue to revolve much as before, except for slightly increased levels of high dudgeon in Dingwall, indignation in Inverness and similar local conditions wherever else the Tartan Army gather to take libations and berate the English.

If the SFA were to cave in to your demands that any player playing for the GB team in the Olympics should be banned from representing Scotland afterwards then they'd look retarded and a bit simple. They'd look like clueless country bumpkins on a slightly bigger stage than a football message board. They'd have people pointing and laughing at them in much the same way that people are pointing and laughing at the TAMB, except without the protective veil of anonymity afforded by the internet.

And, of course, emboldened by their success in getting the SFA to bend to their narrow-minded prejudices, where would the newly-empowered TA pressure group stop? Freed from the low-level grind of harassing English-born Scotland under-19 players on Twitter, would they call for lifetime bans for Scottish international players who voted Conservative at the last election? If engagement with a "political stunt" such as the GB Olympic team is enough to bar someone from representing Scotland then, surely, espousing a political allegiance to an avowedly Unionist party is sufficient grounds, under this newly politicised selection process, to bar a few more? Personally, I think we should take the accent away from the political and just bar everyone who likes Coldplay. They're terrible. On second thoughts, if Chris Martin was banging in 20 goals a season for Man City and had a Scottish granny then I'd happily consider him...

This post has been edited by Frankie S: 06 December 2011 - 01:29

User is offline   roverthemoon 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
I read that last line as 'if Chris Martin was banging a Scottish granny then I'd happily consider him'

f**k, these selection rules get more and more ridiculous was my thought

I'm going to take my kids to Hampden to watch the Olympic football. Can I still keep going to Scotland games? Or do I have to wear some sort of sign on me to show I'm not true tartan army?
Euro 2012 Panini Sticker Needs: 101,115,119,149,183,222,260,264,310,338,340, 347,377,379,383,402,420,442,449,482,531

• (2 Pages) +