Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: British Company to Sponsor Neymar £5 Million - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

British Company to Sponsor Neymar £5 Million ( Did I miss his apology for calling Scottish fans racist? ) Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   BigBadSaint 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:St.Mirren

Unilever to sponsor Neymar at 2014 World Cup

Why is an British/Dutch company giving millions to a player who tried to brand our fans as racist and has never made an apology for being wrong ?

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
SCANDALOUS.

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostBigBadSaint, on 28 November 2011 - 21:00, said:

Why is an British/Dutch company giving millions to a player who tried to brand our fans as racist and has never made an apology for being wrong ?

To make hunners of cash in that brazil.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is offline   Thumper 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

Because it raises their profile, and hence their stock price. The only reason, the only reason, a multinational corporation does anything. The location of its home office is the most utterly irrelevant thing unless it impacts the stock price. And even then, Unilever owns more of the known world than most Roman emperors did, so good luck with a protest movement.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

Equally, did Ki Sung Yung ever apologise properly for his similar comments?

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 28 November 2011 - 21:46, said:

Equally, did Ki Sung Yung ever apologise properly for his similar comments?

Who sponsors him?
St Mirren FC

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View Postchico, on 28 November 2011 - 21:47, said:

Who sponsors him?

No idea, just asking.

Given his profile back-home I'd assume he's got endorsers, boot sponsors etc.

Should it only bother 'personality' sponsors? Not club/tournament sponsors, kit sponsors/suppliers, etc.?

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 28 November 2011 - 22:01, said:

No idea, just asking.

Given his profile back-home I'd assume he's got endorsers, boot sponsors etc.

Should it only bother 'personality' sponsors? Not club/tournament sponsors, kit sponsors/suppliers, etc.?

Maybe he could get his apology sponsored?
St Mirren FC

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South
I thought he did apologise?
Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

User is offline   non_sequitur 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Burntisland Shipyard

He did;
http://www.thescotti...-of-racism.html
'mon Shipyard!

User is offline   Unitedlad 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ayr United
Why should Neymar apologise to Scotland fans, he never actually said it was the Tartan Army that were racist and rightly so, as we all know it was a German that threw it.

The Tartan Army jumped to the conclusion that he'd branded them racist without actually looking at his comments, and the SFA made a fool of themselves by demanding an apology.

Can the OP please provide the quote from Neymar branding Scotland fans racist?

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostUnitedlad, on 04 December 2011 - 21:37, said:

Why should Neymar apologise to Scotland fans, he never actually said it was the Tartan Army that were racist and rightly so, as we all know it was a German that threw it.

The Tartan Army jumped to the conclusion that he'd branded them racist without actually looking at his comments, and the SFA made a fool of themselves by demanding an apology.

Can the OP please provide the quote from Neymar branding Scotland fans racist?

"This atmosphere of racism is totally sad," Neymar told a Brazilian TV station. "We leave our country to play here and something like this happens."

"They [Scotland fans] were jeering me a lot, even when I was about to kick the penalty the entire stadium was jeering.

"It's sad. I would rather not even talk about it, to keep the subject from escalating."

It doesn't take a genius to work out who he was referring to when mentioning an atmosphere of racism.

This post has been edited by non_sequitur: 05 December 2011 - 19:43

'mon Shipyard!

User is offline   Savage Henry 

• J'ai une ame solitaire.
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Hang Out The Stars In Indiana

View Postnon_sequitur, on 04 December 2011 - 19:17, said:

I missed this article the first time round. It's all done and dusted. But I do wonder about this complete imbecile.

One supporter, Tim Adams, 39, from Edinburgh, said: "If Neymar doesn't apologise, he will have a legal battle on his hands."

User is offline   Swarley 

• Gone Walkabout
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Gamertag:tartanroo (XBL)

View Postqos_75, on 29 November 2011 - 23:08, said:

I thought he did apologise?

He did and the SFA sent him a box of Chiquitas as a thank you.
Dodos aren't extinct, they've just gone away and forgot to leave a forwarding address

tartankoala.net

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostSavage Henry, on 06 December 2011 - 08:59, said:

I missed this article the first time round. It's all done and dusted. But I do wonder about this complete imbecile.

Yes, Tim fae Edinburgh doesn't appear to be the sharpest tool in the box.
'mon Shipyard!

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y
http://sports.yahoo....?urn=sow- wp7464

:rolleyes:
Posted Image

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys
I'm sure that the guy has faced racism in Brazil too. The whiter your skin, the better you are regarded there. Sad, but true.

Anyway, as far as him apologising, he's a footballer and these guys can do anything and get away with it. If you or I were racist to a work colleague, or incorrectly accused them of racism, we'd be punted from our job. Footballers do it and get a few weeks off, and still get paid. Them's the breaks.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys

View Postnon_sequitur, on 06 December 2011 - 19:42, said:

Yes, Tim fae Edinburgh doesn't appear to be the sharpest tool in the box.

Although he does sound a tool.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

Page 1 of 1