Celtic v Atletico Madrid thread

User is offline   Desert Nomad 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
Kayal should take some tips from this guy:

"Dundee United's fans arguably the best in Scottish football: good-humoured, fun, love their team."

My Twitter

User is offline   wagner 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Decent performance by Celtic but Athletico much slicker,especially in the second half.

User is online   Calinho 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Gamertag:Calinho

View PostPaulo Sergio, on 30 November 2011 - 20:05, said:

Posted Image

Athletico at EVENS tonight as well, what an absolute steal that was, £20 now £40.

Posted Image

Me and you both sister.

User is offline   Mozzamozza 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Poland
  • Gamertag:I love technology.
Ireland must be so embarrassed this evening. at least shamrock rovers scored.
Moray Cup: May have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children.
Vote Moray Cup, 2016

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox

View PostPaulo Sergio, on 30 November 2011 - 20:05, said:

Posted Image

Athletico at EVENS tonight as well, what an absolute steal that was, £20 now £40.

Posted Image

Dafty widely available at 11/10 :D
yippeeee the season has nearly started

User is offline   Jinky67 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Celtic
Good first half, played some decent football. Usual calamatous goal.

Classy side Athletico, certainly no shame to lose to a side like that.

Thought Samaras again worked his arse off

User is offline   The OP 

• Third Division Regular
Not bad really, type of performance that makes me optimistic about maintaining the current run of form in the SPL. I've seen us play a lot worse in the league and win. A draw wouldn't have made any difference to the Europa League position anyway - I'm pretty sure we're not going through, but good to still have something to play for.

Shame Ledley got injured - the players seem to be made of papier mache this season. Although I'm hearing it's just a twist so not too serious.

User is offline   DavieCFC 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Didnt disgrace ourselves tonight, thought we played alright, but we dont have that wee extra bit of quality ye need to create ye a chance out of nothing or when things arnt going your way. Kayal and Sammy both had really good games.

Good to hear the Ledley (Twisted Ankle) & Wanayama (Dead Leg) injuries arnt as bad as first thought.

User is offline   Finbar Saunders 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Although a loss the result would've been so much worse 4-5 weeks ago. Encouraging signs especially in 1st half. Bodes well for the run in to the Old Firm game.
Celtic - flying the flag for The SPL in Europe

User is offline   utdtillidie 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:utdtillidie
Kayal obviously didnt want his hair messed up. What a fud, not exactly a captains contribution ducking out the way of a shot 6 yards out from goal. If Sammy had done it he'd get slaughtered.
Walking down the Somerset Road...To see the Ayrshire aces

User is offline   The OP 

• Third Division Regular

View Postutdtillidie, on 30 November 2011 - 21:53, said:

Kayal obviously didnt want his hair messed up. What a fud, not exactly a captains contribution ducking out the way of a shot 6 yards out from goal. If Sammy had done it he'd get slaughtered.

Yes, luckily for Kayal he is not Samaras and therefore this has not been mentioned at all this evening, by anyone whatsoever.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Don't see it being beyond the realms of possibility for Celtic to challenge for a win over there... they've been steadily improving recently... and Udinese have a huge game away to Lazio, on the weekend following, and having already fielded weakened sides in the tournament so far may well do so again.

Going into the last matchday with it in their own hands, having started-out as 4th seed (effectively) in one of the toughest groups, featuring top sides from France, Italy and Spain, is a decent outcome... particularly considering their poor performances v Sion and domestically earlier in the autumn.

User is offline   Highlandmagyar 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View PostFinbar Saunders, on 30 November 2011 - 21:48, said:

Although a loss the result would've been so much worse 4-5 weeks ago. Encouraging signs especially in 1st half. Bodes well for the run in to the Old Firm game.

Flying the flag??? The Tricolour??? As usual?

User is offline   Tommy1967 

• Third Division Signing Target
Thought we played really well in the first half despite going a goal down. Second half Athletico had the better of it imo because we took off Wanyama, with Kayal he was able to close them down and we had a bit of a grip in the middle, when he went off they got into the flow of it and passed it well, exactly what you expect off a Spanish side who have spent so much money. Despite that though I felt that we were always in it, we made a few chances and played some decent stuff. Regarding individuals, I think it's daft to suggest Kayal shat out of it, I think he's trying to be clever and head it away. Obviously he made a right arse of that. I thought Sammy was good in the first half but I felt in the second half it all got a bit congested with our players in their half and it wasn't suited that much to him.

Still we've not been pumped yet, given the group we are in and the way we had been playing until recently I think that's a bonus. Bit of luck over in Italy and we might still qualify.

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostThe OP, on 30 November 2011 - 21:56, said:

Yes, luckily for Kayal he is not Samaras and therefore this has not been mentioned at all this evening, by anyone whatsoever.

Good point, well made.

Celtic did alright last night, one change i would have made was how Brown came into the team - his arrival switched forrest to the left and samaras up front, i would have lined up our midfield like this instead

----------------Ki-------Kayal----------- --------

Forrest------------Brown----------------- ---Samaras

Forrest isn't as effective on the left, whilst Samaras has enjoyed a decent run of form on the left as well. playing in the middle, just behind a striker, saw a very good pergormance from scott Brown a few years back against dinamo Moscow, if we're playing five in midfield it;s a position he should be considered for. this set up also gives us the option of Brown and forest interchanging when necessary.

Set up nicely for some glorious failure, I hope celtic have a good go in italy.
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France

View PostFinbar Saunders, on 30 November 2011 - 21:48, said:

Nice change of tact, did any celtic fans celebrate St Andrews day?

As for your captain, what would Silly McNeil have made of that, you all must be proud of his commitment.
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postdeky, on 01 December 2011 - 11:40, said:

I did, the pub quiz i attended last night had a round on scottish questions - i got 10/10 ;)

I was a little uncomfortable doing it though, this celebrating of a specific community within Britain struck me as a bit racist.
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

User is offline   NEVERBELIEVER 

• Third Division Reserve
[quote name='deky' timestamp='1322739619' post='5780720']

Change the record you sad little twat . :lol: f**k sake , if you want to be a Rangers fan buy a scarf and season ticket and stop trolling for attention , you spend more time on Celtic threads than Motherwell ones .Your completely obsessed with Celtic and the Irish link more than 95 % of Celtic fans are. :D
Scotland ? ................A 'jaikie filled, ned infested, bigoted hole of a country',

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View Postbanterman86, on 01 December 2011 - 11:51, said:

I did, the pub quiz i attended last night had a round on scottish questions - i got 10/10 ;)

I was a little uncomfortable doing it though, this celebrating of a specific community within Britain struck me as a bit racist.

I meant at the game though, what you do after the match is of no concern to me.

I don't see us as a "community" within britain though, as you well know. ;)

View PostNEVERBELIEVER, on 01 December 2011 - 12:12, said:

Change the record you sad little twat . :lol: f**k sake , if you want to be a Rangers fan buy a scarf and season ticket and stop trolling for attention , you spend more time on Celtic threads than Motherwell ones .Your completely obsessed with Celtic and the Irish link more than 95 % of Celtic fans are. :D

It sounds like you're completely obsessed with me if you know where I spend most of my time.

If you want to be like me, renounce the bigoted sectarian club you support and follow your local team. :D

User is offline   NEVERBELIEVER 

• Third Division Reserve

View Postdeky, on 01 December 2011 - 13:20, said:

I meant at the game though, what you do after the match is of no concern to me.

I don't see us as a "community" within britain though, as you well know. ;)

It sounds like you're completely obsessed with me if you know where I spend most of my time.

If you want to be like me, renounce the bigoted sectarian club you support and follow your local team. :D

Your like the drunk kid at the party who just wont go home arent you ? repeating the same old boring shit over and over while convincing yourself that your "the entertainment " and your banter is a great laugh . All the while you really know that all of your" mates" are away home because they just cant put up with your banal self obsessed drivel any longer and think your more trouble than your worth ,although they arent saying , because they actually feel a wee bit sorry for you . Nevermind kid . keep trolling , someone who matters will listen to you one day ....................BYE. :lol:
Scotland ? ................A 'jaikie filled, ned infested, bigoted hole of a country',

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostNEVERBELIEVER, on 01 December 2011 - 13:43, said:

Your like the drunk kid at the party who just wont go home arent you ? repeating the same old boring shit over and over while convincing yourself that your "the entertainment " and your banter is a great laugh . All the while you really know that all of your" mates" are away home because they just cant put up with your banal self obsessed drivel any longer and think your more trouble than your worth ,although they arent saying , because they actually feel a wee bit sorry for you . Nevermind kid . keep trolling , someone who matters will listen to you one day ....................BYE. :lol:

You seem to listen, considering you keep replying to my old boring shit.

I'll take your advice and keep going until someone who matters responds.

User is offline   Finbar Saunders 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postdeky, on 01 December 2011 - 11:40, said:

As for your captain, what would Silly McNeil have made of that, you all must be proud of his commitment.

Celtic are a Scottish club of Irish origin. The club represented the nation of Scotland in a football tournament last night.
Some of our fans , irish and non-irish celebrate the clubs roots at matches.
Why do you have such an issue with this? you strike me as being a bigot. Please dont reply with your usual pish of 'your a bigot cos you support celtic.
<_<
I have no idea what Billy McNeill opinion of Kayal is.
Personally i would punt the cvnt as soon as if he doesnt start improving his attitude.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostFinbar Saunders, on 01 December 2011 - 16:10, said:

Celtic are a Scottish club of Irish origin. The club represented the nation of Scotland in a football tournament last night.
Some of our fans , irish and non-irish celebrate the clubs roots at matches.
Why do you have such an issue with this? you strike me as being a bigot. Please dont reply with your usual pish of 'your a bigot cos you support celtic.
<_<
I have no idea what Billy McNeill opinion of Kayal is.
Personally i would punt the cvnt as soon as if he doesnt start improving his attitude.

By all means celebrate your roots, but why at the expense of the country you claim your club represents.

How many Saltires or Scotland songs did celtic fans wave or sing on St Andrews night to represent "their" nation?

Why do I strike you as a bigot? Is it because I don't support a football team based on what b*****dised sect of Christianity I'm supposed to believe in?

McNeil always struck me as a celtic captain full of courage, even if he talks a lot of shite. I'm sure he wouldn't be happy seeing a celtic captain duck to conceed a goal.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postdeky, on 02 December 2011 - 10:17, said:

By all means celebrate your roots, but why at the expense of the country you claim your club represents.

You have taken a completely different stance on this in the past, you've said you're uncomfortale with people celebrating their roots or cultural differences.

User is offline   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View Postdoulikefish, on 30 November 2011 - 18:00, said:

You just knew celtic would get involved in a bit of grief,wtf has gary speed got to do with scottish football?

Shocking stuff, thy had a minutes applause at Rugby Park, and most clubs in the country

Care to have a cheap dig at them also?

• (5 Pages) +