Friday Night Football - Hawick

User is offline   BordersFan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Having recently been down to watch Coldstream play Hawick at Albert Park on a Friday night, it was a massive success and with a decent attendance and under the floodlights it was a much much better atmosphere than would have been produced on the Saturday.

I have since spoke to a few of the members of Hawick Royal Albert who have confirmed that they are asking all teams to play the Friday night, not because it will be an advantage to them but because they feel it will generate a much better atmosphere and most importantly it will allow players from both clubs to actually play in front of a decent crown under the floodlights.

I personally feel this is a great idea and my point is why would no club want to do that?? Surely it makes sense and then allows the team players the rest of the weekend off to spend with family etc or to go and watch another game.

Im sure most clubs will take Hawick up on there offer for the good of East of Scotland football and to generate a bit more of interest.

Be interesting to see if Ormiston accept the offer from Hawick to play this Friday evening. Which has the prospect of a cracking game with both teams needing the points.

BordersFan

User is online   Doink 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Falkirk
Coronation Street is on :)

User is offline   Grim O'Grady 

• First Division Sub
  • Location:3.25 minutes from Ainslie Park (not on my bike, it's the shed lock, it's rusty so it's about 6 minutes on me bike now)
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Spain
S'pose it depends how far away it is for all concerned to get there, but if it's localized then I can't see why not, it's worth trying it out.

Grim
"I'd rather support that Eastlands shite than Spartans" HeedtheBaa

User is offline   JellyBelly 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Great idea for the clubs with floodlight facilities.
Stirling v spartans on a friday night would pull a crowd in.
Spartans v ww would swell the ainslie park coffers

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View PostBordersFan, on 14 November 2011 - 05:38, said:

I personally feel this is a great idea and my point is why would no club want to do that??

There are obviously some reasons why clubs mightn't like the idea... if some of their players can't make it; if there's sizeable distance involved, meaning they'd struggle to get down in time after work; if they had a game on the Wednesday (affects university sides in particular). But I'd imagine most will if they can.

User is offline   mancinirules 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Hawick Royal Albert

View PostBordersFan, on 14 November 2011 - 05:38, said:

Be interesting to see if Ormiston accept the offer from Hawick to play this Friday evening. Which has the prospect of a cracking game with both teams needing the points.

BordersFan

Thanks for post, I agree wholeheartedly. Ormiston are getting back to us, obviously it is up to them and the ref as they have to do the travelling.

Gala confirmed they will play on Friday December 2nd and Heriot-Watt have agreed to play on the Friday when they are down here next year. Thanks to both teams and also to Coldstream and Duns who played on Fridays earlier in the season. As you say, it gives everyone the weekend "off" and also the atmosphere is better. Also allows the local Ams players to watch a game too. Will have to get ourselves a light for the ticket booth, though!
@HawickRA HRA Official Facebook Official Club Website The luckier I get, the more I practice

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Let's hope Ormiston accept, as stated be good for football in general and for the players to play in front if a decent crowd!!

User is offline   chicharito 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
I agree with some points here but in my opinion they arnt intrested in the football side of things here think thyre just trying to get a quick buck by gettin ppl down to watch. yes in hindsight u may say theres nothing th matter with that but a certainly wudnt like to play on a friday night. might get a lot more ppl down but i cudnt care less if i played infront of 100 ppl or 1 man and his dog its the result thats more inportant and a just think the albert arnt doin this for football reasons they ar just doin this simply to get cash. wud b ok if the money was goin to the manager to get some players in but that doesnt seem to b the case. not intrested in the football side down at the albert. Also heard rumours that the albert are now training in galashiels so the edinburgh boys dont need to come as far which if this is true its shocking! hawick royal albert should train in hawick end of! And u wonder why hawick boys get pissed of down there. a certainly wudnt b dipping into my pocket for petrol twice a week to go over to gala to train just to make things easier for the burgh boys. obly my opinion so dont take any offence. a just dont think by playing ob a fri night the results ar gonna improve its a way to make cash.

User is offline   mancinirules 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostBordersFan, on 15 November 2011 - 00:41, said:

Let's hope Ormiston accept, as stated be good for football in general and for the players to play in front if a decent crowd!!

They can't make it on Friday, but no worries, we'll try and make it a good atmosphere on Saturday anyway. Hope to see you there again!

This post has been edited by mancinirules: 15 November 2011 - 13:02

@HawickRA HRA Official Facebook Official Club Website The luckier I get, the more I practice

User is online   newcastle broon 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Whitehill Welfare

View Postchicharito, on 15 November 2011 - 09:45, said:

I agree with some points here but in my opinion they arnt intrested in the football side of things here think thyre just trying to get a quick buck by gettin ppl down to watch. yes in hindsight u may say theres nothing th matter with that but a certainly wudnt like to play on a friday night. might get a lot more ppl down but i cudnt care less if i played infront of 100 ppl or 1 man and his dog its the result thats more inportant and a just think the albert arnt doin this for football reasons they ar just doin this simply to get cash. wud b ok if the money was goin to the manager to get some players in but that doesnt seem to b the case. not intrested in the football side down at the albert. Also heard rumours that the albert are now training in galashiels so the edinburgh boys dont need to come as far which if this is true its shocking! hawick royal albert should train in hawick end of! And u wonder why hawick boys get pissed of down there. a certainly wudnt b dipping into my pocket for petrol twice a week to go over to gala to train just to make things easier for the burgh boys. obly my opinion so dont take any offence. a just dont think by playing ob a fri night the results ar gonna improve its a way to make cash.

it costs a lot of money to run a football club, especially, these days so if the Albert can make any sort of money by playing on a Friday night then credit should go to the committee for using a bit initiative especially wi it being an egg shaped ball stronghold. If it was nt for these lads giving up their own time and effort then there would be no club whatsoever. If i was a player i would welcome any additional spectators to create at least a bit of atmosphere. If anything it prob costs the club MORE money training elsewhere.

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
I understand that it costs a lot of money to run a club but in my opinion the albert arnt thinking about the results thy are just caring about how much cash they cud bring in by playing the game on the friday night. Results are the most important thing and by playing home games on a fri night will the results improve?????. think albert are just covering up by sayin ul get a better atmosphere on friday night which wud give the players a lift just to get some cash. understand every club needs money but results ar far more important. if the extra cash is put bk to give the new manager a chance to get a.better quality of player in then am al for it but a gaurantee the money wont go to the manager. Just think its a bit unfair on the hawick boys that have finally went down and gave the albert a chance then to b told half way through the season that were now training in gala so.its easier for the esinburgh boys. will the hawick boys b gettin paid the petrol money??? If u wana play for hawick and b willing to come on a sat down to play then u shud b willin to come down and train. very poor in my opinion.

User is offline   JellyBelly 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Go away and play with your xbox chicafeckinrito your a sad bitter wee laddie who cant and wont be taken seriously aslong as you post in text lingo!!!
Now GTF!!!

This post has been edited by JellyBelly: 15 November 2011 - 17:22

User is offline   heedthebaa 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Gamertag:whitthefuck!

View PostJellyBelly, on 15 November 2011 - 17:21, said:

Go away and play with your xbox chicafeckinrito your a sad bitter wee laddie who cant and wont be taken seriously aslong as you post in text lingo!!!
Now GTF!!!
telt ! :lol:
Only here for sex and danger

What a dislikeable c**t you are (only on derby day)

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Ha ha ha jellybelly stop embarrsing urself wi ur shit patter. This is a forum so people can have there own views and opinions on stuff. doesnt mean my opinion is right or wrong. what have i got to b bitter about am not even from hawick. I take it from ur wee outburst u may have something to do with h.r.a. TRUTH HURTS eh ;) and sorry about the text lingo it wont happen again ;)

User is offline   shamrockteri 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Dont just think it will be Hawick Royal Albert who will use the facilities at Gala to train on in winter....when the weather turns bad teams will be screaming to use it ...good on HRA for getting the pitch booked early enough to get it when they want it, the longer you wait to book it the less slots available at reasonable times and surely players would rather train outside on a decent surface than stuck in the " Auld Baths" As it being unfare on Hawick players having to travel to Gala to train...HRA trained at Albert Park last Tuesday night and their was 6 players training !!
Guess the manager has to draw a line somewhere and bring bodies in just so he can have a team on the pitch on a saturday, its just the same as always down at Albert ...we all want Hawick lads but if they arent their what can you do?

User is offline   Davyboy26 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Other
How have the Friday night results been? Has it been to the Alberts advantage? I could see it may increase the local crowd however for the Edinburgh/lothians teams it might not be viable for work reasons. If borders clubs are happy to do it then good luck to them

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postchicharito, on 15 November 2011 - 16:39, said:

I understand that it costs a lot of money to run a club but in my opinion the albert arnt thinking about the results thy are just caring about how much cash they cud bring in by playing the game on the friday night. Results are the most important thing and by playing home games on a fri night will the results improve?????. think albert are just covering up by sayin ul get a better atmosphere on friday night which wud give the players a lift just to get some cash. understand every club needs money but results ar far more important. if the extra cash is put bk to give the new manager a chance to get a.better quality of player in then am al for it but a gaurantee the money wont go to the manager. Just think its a bit unfair on the hawick boys that have finally went down and gave the albert a chance then to b told half way through the season that were now training in gala so.its easier for the esinburgh boys. will the hawick boys b gettin paid the petrol money??? If u wana play for hawick and b willing to come on a sat down to play then u shud b willin to come down and train. very poor in my opinion.

Well where do we start in reply to this post!! Let me see... Hawick as is every club looking at different ways to increase how they bring money into the club so why shouldn't the think about playing all there home games on a Friday if it adds to the atmosphere and also add some much needed revenue then what actually is your point?? Quite clearly you don't have one. Having previously played for many years I know I would rather play in front of a few hundred fans than none, so all be it if Hawick make some money out it still makes it more enjoyable for the players don't you think??

Having spoken to some of the comitee at Hawick they confirm that there is only approx 7 hawick players left for various reason the majority left when the last manager left and decided to go back and play amateurs etc. So not only does it make sense moving the training to gala not just to accommodate any Edinburgh players but it means all through winter Hawick will still have training facilities where many teams will struggle to train and will have to rely on local sports centres. So your post about accommodating any Edinburgh players is far from the mark as will benefit the whole squad, furthermore will save them having to train on the pitch so Albert Park will be kept better.

And from speaking to the commitee it appears the management team that have come in at Hawick have finally installed some hard work and fun in the few weeks they have been there, alot of the players are enjoying it again and fingers crossed for them results will start to improve and we will see a difference in the effort the management and players are putting in.

Best of luck to Hawick in the coming weeks and months.

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:PSN Heedly77

View Postchicharito, on 15 November 2011 - 16:39, said:

No money = No club = No result to worry about.

It's really quite simple clown.

User is online   newcastle broon 

• Third Division Reserve

View Postchicharito, on 15 November 2011 - 17:59, said:

Ha ha ha jellybelly stop embarrsing urself wi ur shit patter. This is a forum so people can have there own views and opinions on stuff. doesnt mean my opinion is right or wrong. what have i got to b bitter about am not even from hawick. I take it from ur wee outburst u may have something to do with h.r.a. TRUTH HURTS eh ;) and sorry about the text lingo it wont happen again ;)

great result for the Albert lads today. Well done to the manager back room staff and the hard working committee. It may have been against the 2nd from bottom in the league but it shows a much improved side (compared to recent results) and im sure it may shut up the critics for a wee while ;)

oh and i think jelly belly got hee haw to do wi the club ;)

This post has been edited by newcastle broon: 19 November 2011 - 17:24

User is offline   Cicero 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Gretna
Congratulations to Hawick on their first win of the season.

The new boss certainly seems to have started to turn things around.

This post has been edited by Cicero: 19 November 2011 - 18:39

User is offline   HawickRoyalAlbertPieMan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
great win today lads, was a great peformance from everyone :)
Lawrie Dunn's Albert Army!

User is offline   The Mantis 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
And a shut out for Paul Tansey on loan in goals?

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Just spoke to the comitee member who said Hawick were superb today and deserved everything they got and could have been more.

They emphasized the hard work that every player put in and confirmed that the manager Laurie and His assistant Graeme were installing a great work ethic in the team and was finally starting to pay off the hard work they are putting in.

Well done lads enjoy

User is offline   HawickRoyalAlbertPieMan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostBordersFan, on 19 November 2011 - 17:56, said:

Just spoke to the comitee member who said Hawick were superb today and deserved everything they got and could have been more.

They emphasized the hard work that every player put in and confirmed that the manager Laurie and His assistant Graeme were installing a great work ethic in the team and was finally starting to pay off the hard work they are putting in.

Well done lads enjoy

Yes, i was on the bench today, we deserved the win today and we got it. We got the ball down and for once we actually played some great attacking football, our defence was solid and we worked well as a team. Training is certainly a massive improvement and although its tough its great as all the players are lasting 90minutes out there and are enjoying training :)
Lawrie Dunn's Albert Army!

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Yes can see that's the case, well done again. about time we start reading about positive things at Hawick

• (4 Pages) +
  • Last »