WC2014 - Fixtures Meeting... Brussels, Wed 23rd Nov 2011 Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
The fixture meeting for our World Cup 2014 qualifiers is in 10 days time (23rd Nov). It's a hypothetical exercise, as in any negotiation you can only get a certain % of what you want... but, if you could set the schedule, what would it be?

Be reasonably realistic i.e. not 5 Home then 5 Away; all Homes on weekends; starting 2x v Macedonia; etc.

Mine would be:

Sat 8 Sep...... Macedonia (H)
Tue 11 Sep...... Serbia (A)

Sat 13 Oct...... Wales (H)
Tue 16 Oct...... Croatia (A)

Fri/Sat 22/3 Mar...... idle
Tue 26 Mar...... Belgium (H)

Sat 8 Jun...... Wales (A)
Tue 11 Jun...... idle

Sat 7 Sep...... Serbia (H)
Tue 10 Sep...... Belgium (A)

Fri 11 Oct...... Macedonia (A)
Tue 15 Oct...... Croatia (H)

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 12 November 2011 - 20:26

User is offline   Fuctifano 

• Dead Pool Champion 2010
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Gamertag:PS3: Eckzihma
No fixtures in June.

3 Balkan nations so we're probably going to end up playing in a hot place when we don't want to.

Also heard that the group is very likely to go to the computer as Serbia & Croatia aren't going to negotiate.

This post has been edited by Fuctifano: 12 November 2011 - 21:21

Even men with steel hearts love to see a dog on the pitch.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostFuctifano, on 12 November 2011 - 21:21, said:

No fixtures in June.

That'd be ideal, but probably unlikely - keeping it to 1 would represent success. If, as you say, the negotiation actually succeeds.

I'd heard we and the Welsh may settle to play Wales v Scotland in June as our 'compromise'... and so that it could count in the FA 150th Anniversary tournament (one-off Home Nations) and Celtic Cup - depending how that dispute's settled - to reduce post-season games.

User is offline   gordon the gopher 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
Sat 8 Sep...... Belgium (H)
Tue 11 Sep...... Macedonia (A)

Sat 13 Oct...... Croatia (H)

Fri/Sat 22/3 Mar...... Idle
Tue 26 Mar...... Serbia (A)

Sat 8 Jun...... Wales (H)
Tue 11 Jun...... Belgium (A)

Tue 10 Sep...... Idle

Fri 11 Oct...... Wales (A)
Tue 15 Oct...... Macedonia (H)
Nifty Fifty 2012 Blog - 11/50 complete

Posted Image

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostHibeeJibee, on 12 November 2011 - 20:15, said:

The fixture meeting for our World Cup 2014 qualifiers is in 10 days time (23rd Nov). It's a hypothetical exercise, as in any negotiation you can only get a certain % of what you want... but, if you could set the schedule, what would it be?

Be reasonably realistic i.e. not 5 Home then 5 Away; all Homes on weekends; starting 2x v Macedonia; etc.

Mine would be:

Sat 13 Oct...... Wales (H)

Fri/Sat 22/3 Mar...... idle
Tue 26 Mar...... Belgium (H)

Sat 8 Jun...... Wales (A)
Tue 11 Jun...... idle

Tue 10 Sep...... Belgium (A)

Fri 11 Oct...... Macedonia (A)

Why as a fan would you ideally play at home on a Tuesday?
Woooooooof

User is offline   Thumper 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostHibeeJibee, on 12 November 2011 - 20:15, said:

[/b]Tue 15 Oct...... Croatia (H)

No. Absolutely not. Fed up with this shit whereby we inevitably need to beat the top team in the group on the final matchday to progress. If for nothing else, it gives Levein an entire campaign to work out his story, and likely keeps him in a job when Scotland actually put in a decent performance for once (although still failing). The final game should be against one of the weaker sides. Obviously not on pots mind, as that would be Wales and they will fucking massacre us.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostFC_1919, on 13 November 2011 - 02:40, said:

Why as a fan would you ideally play at home on a Tuesday?

I wouldn't, but there'd never ever be a scenario where a negotiation resulted in all home games being on Saturdays.

I've 3 of the 5 on Saturdays.

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
I want to play Wales away near the end, given the notoriously fair-weathered nature of their support. If we play them early on while they still have a chance then there will be 50k odd at the Millennium. If we play them near the end and they are already out, then the Scotland fans might even be in the majority.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postcraigkillie, on 13 November 2011 - 13:57, said:

I want to play Wales away near the end, given the notoriously fair-weathered nature of their support. If we play them early on while they still have a chance then there will be 50k odd at the Millennium. If we play them near the end and they are already out, then the Scotland fans might even be in the majority.

Aye, fair point, albeit we mightn't have choice if it needs to be incorporated into other commitments planned for June 2013. Regarding Thumper's point, I'd rather have points onboard to then potentially fight for a draw/win over Croatia at a packed Hampden, comes down to preference I suppose.

User is offline   Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:twotonethacker

View PostHibeeJibee, on 13 November 2011 - 13:18, said:

I wouldn't, but there'd never ever be a scenario where a negotiation resulted in all home games being on Saturdays.

Apart fae the Euro 2008

Fudge, on 04 October 2010 - 23:13, said:

Kev Thacker was like a whippet on speed and the rest of us put in a right good shift as well.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostHibeeJibee, on 13 November 2011 - 13:18, said:

View PostSir Kevin Of Kilsyth, on 13 November 2011 - 15:32, said:

Apart fae the Euro 2008

You didn't ready my post.

User is online   Sooky 

• Under 18 Poster of the Year
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:mikec47 (xbox live)

View PostSir Kevin Of Kilsyth, on 13 November 2011 - 15:32, said:

Apart fae the Euro 2008

That was a random draw not a negotiation due to Ukraine not being able to agree with the rest,.

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • Euro 2012:Germany
I would go for this:

Sat 13 Oct...... Belgium(H)

Fri/Sat 22/3 Mar...... Macedonia (A)
Tue 26 Mar...... Idle

Sat 8 Jun...... Wales (H)
Tue 11 Jun...... Belgium (A)

Tue 10 Sep...... Idle

Fri 11 Oct...... Wales (A)
Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

User is offline   nessies long lost ghost 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Gamertag:The Rourkenator
I hope we don't make the mistake of playing Macedonia away in the Summer again. I would rather we layed Wales away from home in the latter fixtures in the group.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postnessies long lost ghost, on 13 November 2011 - 19:20, said:

I hope we don't make the mistake of playing Macedonia away in the Summer again. I would rather we layed Wales away from home in the latter fixtures in the group.

It'd likely be in the evening now, Friday or Tuesday, which would mean less heat - but yep, avoiding September aways down there would be useful.

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • Euro 2012:Germany
I don't suppose it will be too long after the fixtures are decided before the renewal of the SSC membership and ticket packages loom large on the horizon. January or February maybe?
Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox
just a wee bump to remind people its today,but i doubt it will get sorted
yippeeee the season has nearly started

Reports that nothing is sorted looks like it will be a computer draw

• Golden Shoe Winner
Does anyone know the exact protocol for the Friday fixtures, btw? If it goes to a computer draw and we get allocated Friday homes, does our opposition have to switch to Saturday - or would we have to make a plea to FIFA?

View PostHibeeJibee, on 23 November 2011 - 11:57, said:

Does anyone know the exact protocol for the Friday fixtures, btw? If it goes to a computer draw and we get allocated Friday homes, does our opposition have to switch to Saturday - or would we have to make a plea to FIFA?

Fifa will let you play friday night or the saturday its up to the countries to agree which day they play it

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postdoulikefish, on 23 November 2011 - 12:11, said:

Fifa will let you play friday night or the saturday its up to the countries to agree which day they play it

Aye, but is Friday the 'default' date: if so, what happens if say we get Team A at home on the Friday; need to play it Saturday; but they don't want 1 day's less rest before playing Team B on the Tuesday?

User is offline   realmadrid 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
When does the Thursday- Sunday, Friday - Monday and Saturday - Tuesday thing kick in.

I don't like the idea of Friday night football in any way but thanks to the big clubs we are stuck with it. I guess I am going to be at less games in the future.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 23 November 2011 - 12:18, said:

Aye, but is Friday the 'default' date: if so, what happens if say we get Team A at home on the Friday; need to play it Saturday; but they don't want 1 day's less rest before playing Team B on the Tuesday?

The friday isnt the default date,its to be played the friday or saturday,but because tuesday is the default date most would prefer the friday night for the extra rest,but other factors are taken into account ie the polis

http://twitter.com/#...raymondverheije

thats the link to the belgian fa rep if anybodys interested

User is offline   Virtual Insanity 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
What happens if the two teams simply can't agree? Also, do we 'need' to play games on a Saturday or is it simply a preference because of the large number of fans travelling from outside Glasgow?

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »