Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: 5 things you like most about your town/city? - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

5 things you like most about your town/city?

User is offline   Rock Legend SMFC 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Glasgow:

1. The transport links are great. Subway & trains are of a decent standard, plus i live near an airport.

2. There's lots do here. 4 shopping centres in Glasgow & the City Centre isn't bad either. Loads of cinemas, 5-a-side places to.

3. Nightlife is decent. The West End is great except for 4 particular days of the football season.

4. There are a lot of decent birds here.

5. There are a lot of nice areas here. Just usually they're surronded by complete shitholes.

Strathspey Thistle- 11/02/12

no he has done nothing wrong today

In reference to Suarez at Old Trafford.

User is offline   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View PostRock Legend SMFC, on 09 November 2011 - 18:03, said:

Glasgow:

1. The transport links are great. Subway & trains are of a decent standard, plus i live near an airport.

2. There's lots do here. 4 shopping centres in Glasgow & the City Centre isn't bad either. Loads of cinemas, 5-a-side places to.

3. Nightlife is decent. The West End is great except for 4 particular days of the football season.

4. There are a lot of decent birds here.

5. There are a lot of nice areas here. Just usually they're surronded by complete shitholes.

This.

Rangers owe every man, woman and child in Scotland around £20
Posted Image

User is offline   JamboMikey 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Musselburgh:

1. Nice and quiet most of the time.

2. Easy to get into Edinburgh as it's right on the outskirts.

3. Got a university which is about 75% female. Plenty of nice looking birds stoating about.

4.Got an all night Tesco so good for a munch.

5. Good football pitches, 2 golf courses, decent gym etc.
5 - 1

User is offline   Blue-Orchid 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Stranraer
1) Can walk into almost any pub in the town and I'll know someone.

2) Drugs are readily available.

3) The girls are easy.

4) A few decent golf courses with in fifteen minutes of the town.

5) Nice fresh country air.

This post has been edited by Blue-Orchid: 09 November 2011 - 18:35

Woman in the nigger of the world....woman is the slave to the slaves.

User is offline   rw89 

• Hasta luego Damian!
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Steam: RWeir2711
Burntisland

A921
A909
B923
My mates and how close I am to the football
A decent chippy.

Sky Euro 2012 Fantasy Football League name: pieandbovril superleague entry pin code: 8007039My twitter

User is offline   ScottR96 

• Qu'est-ce que français pour Va Va Voom?
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:France
Cumbernauld:

1) I live a 5 minute walk away from Broadwood Stadium.

2)

3)

4)

5)

User is offline   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
  • Euro 2012:England
Haddington

Its where all my mates stay so it's good for socialising in that sense.

We now have outstanding football facilities, amongst the best for anyone town of similar size.

The Railway Hotel.

I know most people here so trouble is minimal and the same birds are always up for it.

It's generally a very nice place and there aren't many better towns so close to the capital.

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• A bouncy...
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:England
I'd probably say the friends I grew up with, and are friends with now, not to mention the friends on my football team. I guess the best thing about home is the people who make it, and it probably outdoes a fair whack of flaws.

I quite enjoy my local pub, which is a ten minute walk, five if I'm thirsty.

It's cheap for me to live in. Even if it still is with the parents.

Although every place has their share of arseholes, I don't think haddington is that bad for them. But then close around areas like tranent, prestonpans make it look a better place than it is.

I guess I'm glad we have the new 3g pitch in place, even if it is on the other side of town for me. Not a brilliant reason, but I'm really struggling to find a better fifth...

This post has been edited by the jambo-rocker: 09 November 2011 - 19:01

Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50

Ad Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

@robbiecoull89

User is offline   AberDon 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
Aberdeen
'The Tunnels'
Plenty of places to play football
Plenty of jobs.

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
  • My Team:Dundee
1 - Dundee Football Club.
2 - Most people are sound.
3 - Plenty pubs.
4 - Plenty female talent.
5 - It's fun to point and laugh at all the junkies. You're guaranteed at least 2 on every street.

Zeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is offline   Vanquinho. 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Gamertag:Xbox: Vanquinho
1. Hibernian FC
2. A seemingly endless line of tidy uni lassies gagging for it
3. The views from, and of, Arthur's Seat
4. Princes Street Gardens
5. Awesome transport network
The Harp
The Castle
The Ship

User is offline   10 CC ICT 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:FTOF
  • Inverness
  • Caledonian
  • Thistle
  • Football
  • Club

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.

User is offline   Marsh 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Gamertag:Wessie No 1
1. Plenty of football pitches and an excellent 5 a side facility

2. Good shopping centre

3. Mates are all within 5 minute drive

4. Train into Glasgow is only half an hour

5. Westwood BB AFC

User is offline   HEY_SIDNEY 

• My Team:Other
  • Gamertag:Twitter @Hey_Sidney
1. Plenty of 5s/7s/11/s pitches available

2. Mates live a 2 minute walk from the house

3. Easily accessible to all public travel - car/train/bus.

4. Knowing most people on a night out.

5. Amount of bookies in town centre
You Make Your Own Luck

User is offline   Glen Sannox 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
Edinburgh

1. Like the all year round busy city cenre, tourists etc

2. Good location, transport links

3. Bells Diner

4. My local

5. For the most part, it's pretty pleasing on the eye

User is offline   Tryfield 

• Happy Happy fuckwit
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:EH?
Doon in England:

1- Local pub is 250 yards away. Some cracking banter with the regulars, and we go to the casino for a poker game now and again. Bar stays open til 6am.:)
2- Train station is 400 yards away.
3- Work is only a 20 minute walk away. (used to be 7-8 minutes on the push bike but somecunt nicked it last week):(
4- Vibrant night life, the place is crawling with students so the pubs/clubs have lots of drink promos.
5- Great location for day trips. So far I've been to Whitby, York, Darlington, Yarm, Newcastle, Chesterfield, London, Stockton-on-Tees, Hartlepool, Redcar, Leeds, Harrogate and a few other places. Some heavy boozing sessions involved there. I'll be attending either Leeds v Barnsley, Doncaster v Watford or Peterbrough v Middlesbrough next weekend, never been to a club game down here. Sunderland v Fulham would be too dear I think.

User is offline   jmothecat 

• My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
Glasgow:

1. There is a nice coffee shop a mere half hour walk away from my flat

2. I like the university

3. There are a couple of bars which seem quite nice (if a little expensive)

4. The Subway system is quite good

5. It is nicer than I expected.

Only been here a couple of months so don't really know it yet. So far so good though.

User is offline   Bert Raccoon 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
Hamilton

1.) Actually having a local team to support, it wasn't too long ago that it felt like Accies would never return to Hamilton. Even ten years on it still feels good going past and seeing our stadium.
2.) There's a good selection of pubs in Hamilton, from old man boozers to decent places for a feed.
3.) There's quite alot of cool historical buildings in Hamilton like The Mausoleum.
4.) hamilton has a great selection of places to eat and takewaways like Equis and The Bombay cottage.
5.) It's not Larkhall.
Beer You Are My Enemy,
Beer You Are my Friend,
My Mind Was Yours To Cloud,
And So My Heart Is Yours To Mend.

User is offline   dan_ict 

• My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Aviemore

1. In the winter, I am a mere 10 bus journey away from the best skiing location in Britain.

2. Fantastic Indian takeaway down the road.

3. Not a lot of neds about.

4. Half an hour away from Inverness so i can attend all home games with no bother.

5. Two bob for a pint in the local Posted Image
"You guys having a killer time" ? Twitter

User is offline   Gogs Grog 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose
Montrose

1) Pubs - Number of pubs for a small town is pretty impressive
2) Golf Course - Top drawer course and cheap as biscuits
3) Low Crime Generally - Nicked bike usually hits the headlines (Glossing over the murders in the recent past)
4) Location/Transport links - Despite most central belt dwellers probably thinking we're the back of beyond, being on the main train line and near Aberdeen makes transport links home and aboard pretty good. Some of the beaches are fantastic and empty of people (see Lunan Bay)
5) Not Brechin - If you ever feel down about the town, a wee trip to Brechin lifts the old spirits
Posted Image

User is offline   Erin Go Bragh 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View PostGlen Sannox, on 10 November 2011 - 10:12, said:

Edinburgh

1. Like the all year round busy city cenre, tourists etc

2. Good location, transport links

3. Bells Diner

4. My local

5. For the most part, it's pretty pleasing on the eye

You can get a tidy as f**k burger in there.

The pancakes are unreal as well, ah the childhood memories.
Irn Bru - The Establishment Drink. ABIB!

User is offline   fraser_smfc 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
Dundee:

1. Clark's 24 hour bakery. How many other cities do you know that have a 24 hour bakery? I live 5 mins walk away, and it is perfect for a stop off after a night out. Best chips and cheese I've ever had. The staff are either incredibly friendly or angry as f**k, but I did manage to sweet-talk the wifey into giving me a bit more cheese the other week. Still got it. (Me that is, not the wifey, just to be clear).

2. The west end. The pubs mainly, the uni, the view of the tay, the aforementioned bakery. Will always love this part of the world, and home to my favourite pub, Braes. My friends live directly above it, friendly staff, reasonably priced drink and always a pint of Deuchar's IPA seductively waiting for me when I get there. Magic.

3. Travel links. The busses in the city are unbelievably efficient and well priced too. Strathtay busses every 10 minutes, and the Travel Dundee ones if I want to go north. Centrally located bus and train stations, with bridges over the Tay, routes to Glasgow and Edinburgh via Perth, and to Aberdeen. Not too far from home either so a horrendous journey is avoided.

4. Navigation. It's very difficult to get lost in Dundee. If you're facing up a hill looking at big multi-storey flats - north. If you're looking at the tay down the hill - south, and east and west either side, with big long roads disecting. Not only that but even the furthest away areas (even Broughty Ferry) are walkable.

5. Dundee and Dundee United. It's great for the city to have 2 teams, even in different leagues just now. I do watch Dundee on an occasional basis, and a lot of students I know do also, but don't go to Tannadice for some reason. Might be to do with Dundee FC being the city club, but I can only speculate. Tannadice is 25 minutes walk away if St Mirren are playing (Dens being 24 :P), and it's nice to see the majority of Dundonians supporting the two local clubs, unlike Paisley where someone automatically is an old firm supporters until questioned otherwise. Only the inbred mutants crawling about Asda Milton support the shame.

All in all a compact city with mostly friendly inhabitants, with pretty much anything you could ever need. Very happy here and long may it continue. :)

This post has been edited by fraser_smfc: 11 November 2011 - 11:13

YAASSS! That's what e'hm talkn' aboot!

User is offline   Glen Sannox 

• Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Portugal

View PostErin Go Bragh, on 10 November 2011 - 22:32, said:

You can get a tidy as f**k burger in there.

The pancakes are unreal as well, ah the childhood memories.

It's still as good, never changed in the 30 or so years i've been frequenting it.

User is offline   Mik 

• First Division Superstar
Coatbridge:

It's close enough to Glasgow and Edinburgh to get to and from gigs with ease, via 6 train stations

The area I live in is relatively quiet and nice, there's never jakies hanging about and seldom is there neds.

The accent isn't horrendous compared to most of the east side of Glasgow. Most words are pronounced correctly...none of this oany (any), nane (none), wa' (wall), corr (car), sterr (stair), herr (hair) shite.

The retail park has a decent amount of shops where I can get most things without having to trail into Glasgow, Tesco is 24h...so is ASDA.

There's a decent amount of things to do; Cinema, Bowling, Football, Various parks, Pubs, Clubs. It's 2 minutes down the road form Strathclyde park for the weans.

If I can have a 6th...it's not Airdrie or Bellshill. :D

User is offline   HEY_SIDNEY 

• My Team:Other
  • Gamertag:Twitter @Hey_Sidney

View PostMik, on 11 November 2011 - 11:58, said:

Coatbridge:

It's close enough to Glasgow and Edinburgh to get to and from gigs with ease, via 6 train stations

The area I live in is relatively quiet and nice, there's never jakies hanging about and seldom is there neds.

The accent isn't horrendous compared to most of the east side of Glasgow. Most words are pronounced correctly...none of this oany (any), nane (none), wa' (wall), corr (car), sterr (stair), herr (hair) shite.

The retail park has a decent amount of shops where I can get most things without having to trail into Glasgow, Tesco is 24h...so is ASDA.

There's a decent amount of things to do; Cinema, Bowling, Football, Various parks, Pubs, Clubs. It's 2 minutes down the road form Strathclyde park for the weans.

If I can have a 6th...it's not Airdrie or Bellshill. :D

u at it??

Coatbridge - theres no junkies?? Pah, on par with Airdrie.

And nearly all of my cbridge pals talk like that.

You MUST be from Drumpellier Lawns.
You Make Your Own Luck

• (3 Pages) +