Page 1 of 1
- You cannot start a new topic
- You cannot reply to this topic
EOS Footballs Sad loss Maurice Gordon
Posted 24 October 2011 - 11:42
It is with great sadness that Peebles Rovers announce the death of Maurice Gordon
A massive loss not only to the Rovers but East of Scotland football in general
RIP Maurice Our loss is heavens gain
Posted 24 October 2011 - 12:03
colin mac, on 24 October 2011 - 11:42, said:
It is with great sadness that Peebles Rovers announce the death of Maurice Gordon
Sad news about Maurice a true gentleman and a credit to Peebles and the EOS.Nobody will ever forget his player profiles.Just had a good crack with Maurice after the Peebles,Coldstream game,was his death sudden?.
"the more i practice the luckier i get"
Posted 24 October 2011 - 15:36
the jackal, on 24 October 2011 - 12:03, said:
Sad news about Maurice a true gentleman and a credit to Peebles and the EOS.Nobody will ever forget his player profiles.Just had a good crack with Maurice after the Peebles,Coldstream game,was his death sudden?.
Yes J his death was sudden and unexpected and all we can do is wait for the result of post-mortem
Posted 24 October 2011 - 16:57
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Irvine Meadow
- Gamertag:spectrum 128k
Posted 24 October 2011 - 19:41
- My Team:Other
colin mac, on 24 October 2011 - 11:42, said:
Sad news.Maurice was a real nice guy who did a power of work for Peebles football over the years. He was always very positive even when the Rovers were going through some tough times.R.I.P.
Posted 24 October 2011 - 20:46
- My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Was shocked and upset when I heard this, you couldn't meet a nicer man on match day. Real loss to EOS of football and especially peebles.
Maurice"with the pretty shocking cricket top"Gordon, RIP, you'll be missed!!
Posted 24 October 2011 - 20:49
- My Team:Heart of Midlothian
IT'S NOT THE WAY YOU PLAY THE GAME BUT WETHER YOU WIN OT LOSE..
Posted 24 October 2011 - 20:59
- My Team:Hawick Royal Albert
Posted 24 October 2011 - 21:13
- My Team:Edinburgh City
I've known Maurice since way back to the 1980s when he would come to as many Meadowbank Thistle matches as his other commitments would allow, and in 20-plus years I never knew him to say a lousy thing to or about anyone. It was always great to meet him again every time City played Rovers, and have a pint and a cigar with him. Maurice, we'll miss you.
Posted 24 October 2011 - 22:22
- My Team:Vale of Leithen
Maurice was a great guy and good company on a match day, full of anecdotes from his time reporting on local football and cricket.
Bearing in mind how well known he was in East of Scotland circles, perhaps all EoS clubs could consider observing a wee minutes silence before their games this coming weekend?
Opinions expressed by SaintGroanin' do not neccesarily represent the views of anyone else.
Yes, there is a vegetarian option - f**k off.
He may look like an idiot, he may talk like an idiot, but don't be fooled by that - he really is an idiot.
Yes, there is a vegetarian option - f**k off.
He may look like an idiot, he may talk like an idiot, but don't be fooled by that - he really is an idiot.
Posted 24 October 2011 - 22:35
SaintGroanin, on 24 October 2011 - 22:22, said:
Maurice was a great guy and good company on a match day, full of anecdotes from his time reporting on local football and cricket.
I think that is both sensible and sensitive. We have few enough characters like Maurice and I would hope that all clubs could just pause for a moment to acknowledge him on Saturday. However, knowing Maurice, I am sure he would appreciate a round of applause more than silence (which was not his stong point). Whatever, let's celebrate a great East of Scotland guy.
Posted 25 October 2011 - 07:21
- My Team:Spartans
Would it be worth, given Maurice's ties with Peebles, perhaps moving a game so other clubs can attend. Perhaps coming in a cricket top as a tribute to him.
I got into EoS football watching Peebles and he, even when I was young, always had time for a chat.
A huge loss for Peebles and the league.
I got into EoS football watching Peebles and he, even when I was young, always had time for a chat.
A huge loss for Peebles and the league.
Posted 25 October 2011 - 13:55
- My Team:Whitehill Welfare
recognise him from WW games at rosewell (and not just against Peebles) Where he would sit against the railing Where the players come oot.. WILL most def be a sad loss to eos football.
This post has been edited by newcastle broon: 25 October 2011 - 14:07
Posted 25 October 2011 - 20:06
This is really sad news. Had a few blethas wi him when we have played Peebles. Real nice fella. RIP
Posted 26 October 2011 - 21:18
- My Team:Edinburgh City
Like Scrooge1928 I also met Maurice through Meadowbank Thistle and then following City in the East of Scotland League.
Maurice was a great guy and I suppose he was "Mr Peebles Rovers" to many. He was always helpful if you needed to find out about Peebles Rovers for programmes etc and would give you a warm welcome at Whitestone Park.. He also enjoyed his other pursuits of cricket and speedway of course and I'm sure his following of speedway went well back.
RIP Maurice. I hope wherever you are there is a Peebles Rovers forward "leaping like a salmon" to score a hat-trick in a cup final!
Maurice was a great guy and I suppose he was "Mr Peebles Rovers" to many. He was always helpful if you needed to find out about Peebles Rovers for programmes etc and would give you a warm welcome at Whitestone Park.. He also enjoyed his other pursuits of cricket and speedway of course and I'm sure his following of speedway went well back.
RIP Maurice. I hope wherever you are there is a Peebles Rovers forward "leaping like a salmon" to score a hat-trick in a cup final!
Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!
Posted 27 October 2011 - 12:21
- My Team:Selkirk
[code]Adam Spark[code]
Posted 27 October 2011 - 15:54
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Berwick Rangers
- Euro 2012:Croatia
Posted 27 October 2011 - 18:39
Brilliant read, never met the man but he seemed to a great person
This post has been edited by Butch Cassidy: 27 October 2011 - 18:40
Posted 27 October 2011 - 21:03
A sad loss indeed. A true gentleman, one of the kindest supporters in the world. My abiding memory of him will be of Maurice sitting a couple of rows behind us at Meadowbank Stadium during Thistle games, a massive NYC ghettoblaster perched on his tartan-trouser bedecked knees laughing "ha ha ha, c'mon Fissul!". He was part of the furniture at Thistle games and I enjoyed meeting him on trips to Peebles in subsequent years with Edinburgh City and occasionally seeing him when playing for Edinburgh Maccabi CC against Peebles County and talking about the good old days at the Stadium. My thoughts are with his family and friends. Cheers Maurice!
Posted 28 October 2011 - 18:22
- My Team:Penicuik Athletic
Posted on the other thread, but feel appropriate to repost here.
Sad news - Maurice was a character, and wholly committed to the clubs he was involved with. I knew him through Peebles County Cricket Club and had many enjoyable matches in his company. He may get that 'run' he dreamt of now!
A big loss to a wide sporting community.
Sad news - Maurice was a character, and wholly committed to the clubs he was involved with. I knew him through Peebles County Cricket Club and had many enjoyable matches in his company. He may get that 'run' he dreamt of now!
A big loss to a wide sporting community.
This post has been edited by The REAL Rookie Cookie: 28 October 2011 - 18:23
Page 1 of 1
- You cannot start a new topic
- You cannot reply to this topic
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats