Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Mitchell: Ruling Paves Way For Old Firm Euro League. - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Mitchell: Ruling Paves Way For Old Firm Euro League.

User is offline   govanderryboy 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Rangers
Former SPL chief Roger Mitchell claims the european court of justice ruling in favour of a Portsmouth pub landlady could be the first step towards Rangers and Celtic participating in a Euro Super League.

http://www.eveningti...eague-1.1127621

This post has been edited by govanderryboy: 05 October 2011 - 18:17

User is offline   uni 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:EuanAFC4life
If this league is so "super" why would they invite two diddies like the Old Firm to play in it?
Aberdeen FC - Scotland's Team since 1903

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk

View Postgovanderryboy, on 05 October 2011 - 18:16, said:

Former SPL chief Roger Mitchell claims the european court of justice ruling in favour of a Portsmouth pub landlady could be the first step towards Rangers and Celtic participating in a Euro Super League.

http://www.eveningti...eague-1.1127621

I absolutely fcuking hope so.

User is offline   jupe1407 

• Existence .... well what does it matter?
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Dundee
I am unable to formulate a serious reply to this piece of total desparation, so i'll settle for:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Random Profanisaurus Entries
#322 BROWN STAR WARS
A turd of such epic proportions it has to be released in three installments. The first can stand on its own as a complete adventure. The second links to the first, but has a dark, inconclusive feel generating an air of foreboding and leaving itself wide open for an unknown ending. The final chapter has drama, excitement and moments where you think all is lost. A grand battle is waged where good overcomes evil and peace is restored in your gut.

User is offline   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!
He looks like an ill Tam cowan in that photo.
P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

User is offline   stuart. 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Roger Mitchell :D

what a weener

I forgot about him the little twerp.
Harveys The Furniture Store sponsors Coronation Street - Bringing your home to life.

Fraser_QPFC is the man

User is offline   ClydeSI 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Clyde
SPL TV........

Lets all listen to Roger....
Baldness is under everybodys hair

User is offline   jamamafegan4 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
They can just f**k off and leave us to it, the league would be better without them, the shitebags that they are.

We are Eintracht from Germany. We hate the Old Firm and we hate LIVI.

AlCapone @ Nov 28 2009, on 22:11, said:

Coming from Inbred St Kilda and supporting Perth's legoland team will always make you the JOKE figure Hamish. Support your local team ya moron

User is offline   Michael W 

• Superkeeper
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
:lol: What?

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Coming up next: Rangers versus Basel! Can't wait.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:East Fife
Please let this happen. We can rid ourselves of a whole level of jumped-up quasi-diddy European clubs when this abomination goes tits up.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   MattBairn 

• Come crawling faster...Obey your Master
  • My Team:Falkirk
If they do go (which they wont, but lets be hypothetical here) can we have some clause that states they're never allowed back in when their league goes tits up?
Posted Image

User is offline   Colin M 

• Bass Cadet
  • My Team:St.Mirren
How do total morons keep ending up running our game?
"Well I've had enough of morons and half-wits, dolts, dunces, dullards and dumbbells, and you chowderhead yokel, you blithering hayseed, you've had enough of me?"

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys
Ok, let's humour Roger and say that a 16-team Euromillions League is the outcome. First up - this is to make money, therefore no diddy teams allowed and they will be pandering to the biggest TV audience centres because this is a TV-inspired venture.

Italy, England, Germany and Spain (cos they're the teams that people will pay to watch) - 3 teams each; Russia (cos there's millions of the buggers!) 2 teams; one team from France, Portugal, Serbia (cos there's millions of them too), Turkey (ditto) and the Netherlands. That's 16. Why would they even fleetingly consider either of the OF? If they want to bang it up to 18, then they'll give the extra places to one of the big countries. It would be as self-serving as our own lovable SPL and it would almost be more difficult to be relegated than it would be to get in!!

Why is the Champions League stack-full of teams who aren't champions? Because they are the teams that people watch on TV. Hence the champions of wee countries don't get a look in. There isn't any chance that one team from Scotland would get a look in, let alone two. Roger is talking p@ash and our press slabber over it without thinking it through.

Edited to add: As is pointed out below, I can't count!

This post has been edited by Hampden Diehard: 07 October 2011 - 07:01

QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is offline   WeeHectorPar 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View PostHampden Diehard, on 06 October 2011 - 16:05, said:

Ok, let's humour Roger and say that a 16-team Euromillions League is the outcome. First up - this is to make money, therefore no diddy teams allowed and they will be pandering to the biggest TV audience centres because this is a TV-inspired venture.

Italy, England, Germany and Spain (cos they're the teams that people will pay to watch) - 3 teams each; Russia (cos there's millions of the buggers!) 2 teams; one team from France, Portugal, Serbia (cos there's millions of them too), Turkey (ditto) and the Netherlands. That's 16. Why would they even fleetingly consider either of the OF? If they want to bang it up to 18, then they'll give the extra places to one of the big countries. It would be as self-serving as our own lovable SPL and it would almost be more difficult to be relegated than it would be to get in!!

Why is the Champions League stack-full of teams who aren't champions? Because they are the teams that people watch on TV. Hence the champions of wee countries don't get a look in. There isn't any chance that one team from Scotland would get a look in, let alone two. Roger is talking p@ash and our press slabber over it without thinking it through.

By my reckonong

Italy + England + Germany + Spain = 4 x 3 = 12
Russia = 1 x 2 = 2
France + Portugal + Serbia + Turkey + Netherlands = 5 x 1 = 5

12 + 2 + 5 = 19 unless I am very much mistaken.

In addition I don't think France, with teams such as Lyon, Marseille and Paris St Germain would willingly accept just one place.
Rangers FC: A straight club in a corkscrew world

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• A bouncy...
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:England

View PostWeeHectorPar, on 07 October 2011 - 06:11, said:

By my reckonong

Russia = 1 x 2 = 2

In addition I don't think France, with teams such as Lyon, Marseille and Paris St Germain would willingly accept just one place.

I think you'd be inclined to be seeing not one european super league(it just doesn't sound right saying), but two if you going to facilitate all these so called big teams.
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50

Ad Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

@robbiecoull89

• Third Division Sub

By my reckonong

Russia = 1 x 2 = 2

Aye!! Counting is not my strong point. I think that I missed England out of the first group..then added them in without changing the rest of the figures. Anyway, I'm old enough to remember a 19-team Scottish Second Division and it worked out fine!! But my point is still the same; no place for the OF, whatever way you look at it.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.

• Third Division Sub

View Postthe jambo-rocker, on 07 October 2011 - 06:30, said:

I think you'd be inclined to be seeing not one european super league(it just doesn't sound right saying), but two if you going to facilitate all these so called big teams.

Division 1 - European Super League
Division 2 - Not- so-Super League
Division 3 - So-so Super League
Division 4 - Diddy team Super League
Divsion 5 - Living on past glories Super League

The further down the system you go, the less cash there will be. Look at the situation just now; the big teams hoover up the TV cash (Spain being a perfect example). Does anyone really expect them to give up some of that cash to teams further down the food chain? So, it would be Thursday night football and noon on Sunday kick offs for all but (say) the top two divisions as TV endeavours to squeeze everything it could out of the game.

If there is any meritocracy at all (OK, that is unlikely!), and the divisions are compiled according to success rate, that would have the OF vying with Malmo, Maribor, Sion etc etc for a place at the table.

Better off playing the likes of Dundee United, I would reckon.

This post has been edited by Hampden Diehard: 07 October 2011 - 07:14

QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.

User is offline   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
Mitchell was a useless cunt, right out of the top drawer of useless cunts back in the day. I see no reason to think he's improved any.

By my reckonong

Russia = 1 x 2 = 2

Even if you stretch the Top Level to 20 teams, they'll still be easily in the second division.

Taking your model above, i'd assume (i've chucked in PSV to make it 20):

AC Milan
Inter Milan
Juventus
Man U
Man C
Chelsea
Bayern Munich
Dortmund
Schalke
Real Madrid
Barcelona
Valencia
Rubin Kazan
Spartak Moscow
Lyon
FC Porto
Crvena Zvezda
Galatasaray
Ajax Amsterdam
PSV Eindhoven

Now for the second division, you could quite easily have:

Udinese
Roma
Lazio
Liverpool
Arsenal
Spurs
Hamburg
Bayer Leverkusen
Hoffenheim
Villareal
Atletico Madrid
Athletic Bilbao
Lokomotiv Moscow
Anzi Makhachkala
Marseille
Paris SG
Benfica
Partizan Belgrade
Fenerbahce
FC Twente

(I've given France two teams this time)

It's far from inconceivable that the OF might even have to be placed in a Third Tier. Every club in the top two divisions there is more than capable of giving them an absolute twatting. you could perhaps remove the third representative from the big four countries and stick in something like:

Scottish Champions
Swedish Champions
Polish Champions
Belgian Champions

I'd doubt they'd both get in at Tier 2 anyway.

Apologies for the Hibee-Jibee-esque post, but i'm bored.
#322 BROWN STAR WARS
A turd of such epic proportions it has to be released in three installments. The first can stand on its own as a complete adventure. The second links to the first, but has a dark, inconclusive feel generating an air of foreboding and leaving itself wide open for an unknown ending. The final chapter has drama, excitement and moments where you think all is lost. A grand battle is waged where good overcomes evil and peace is restored in your gut.

User is offline   SweeperDee 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Borussian Myth
That picture of him makes him look like a rampant rapist.
It's hip to be square.

User is offline   The OP 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Celtic
Can't work out when Serbia became a top tier European football league/nation.

This post has been edited by The OP: 09 October 2011 - 15:23

View PostThe OP, on 09 October 2011 - 15:22, said:

Can't work out when Serbia became a top tier European football league/nation.

They're 15 places above us in the European Rankings.
#322 BROWN STAR WARS

User is offline   FairWeatherFan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postjupe1407, on 09 October 2011 - 15:59, said:

They're 15 places above us in the European Rankings.

But in terms of club football wouldn't Ukraine make more sense than Serbia.

View PostFairWeatherFan, on 09 October 2011 - 16:58, said:

But in terms of club football wouldn't Ukraine make more sense than Serbia.

I think they're pretty similar really.

The big two in each of the countries aren't far apart in terms of stature and achievements IMO.

Looking at it again though, it would probably make more sense to have 1 Russian and 1 Ukrainian representative rather than 2 Russian.
#322 BROWN STAR WARS

• (2 Pages) +