Farid El Alagui Division One's top Striker Rate Topic: ***-- 2 Votes

User is offline   jagfox 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
He's off the boil with norn iron as well. Don't think he's scored for them in last couple of seasons.

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC

View Postarchie guevara, on 22 September 2011 - 13:08, said:

Where did the myth that Falkirk had 10 teenagers in their side that beat Rangers come from? Is someone counting Darren Dods as two 18 year olds?

An error from someone at the BBC most likely - surprise, surprise!

9 out of the 16 in the squad were teenagers though, and Bennett who just turned 20 a few weeks back.
Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger
  • Group: Global Moderators

Where did the myth that Falkirk had 10 teenagers in their side that beat Rangers come from? Is someone counting Darren Dods as two 18 year olds?

It was the BBC.

Sibbald was born in the same year Dods started his first top flight game according to The Sun - more shite?

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

I have no idea. I've already mentioned it on the "shit journalism" thread. 4 teenagers started for Falkirk (Duffie, Wallace, Sibbald, Fulton) and one came on (Alston).

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

View PostThundermonkey, on 22 September 2011 - 13:30, said:

It was the BBC.

Sibbald was born in the same year Dods started his first top flight game according to The Sun - more shite?

I think it was mentioned on the Live Text that Sibbald was born in the same year that Dods made his first appearance against Rangers, in 1995. Can't be arsed checking if it's true or not, interesting stat if it is.

This post has been edited by Kris.: 22 September 2011 - 13:39

Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Marshmallo 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Farid is up there with my favourite Falkirk players of all time, I'd put him in a Holy Trinity with Dani Mallo and Russell Latapy.

He is far too good for this level, WTF is he doing at Falkirk? I'm not complaining but it just seems bizarre.
Posted Image

User is offline   gav-ffc 

• Golden Shoe Winner

Off the top of my head -

Duffe
Wallace
Sibbald
J.Fulton
Alston
Graham
Bowman.
R. Miller
D.Fulton

Only 9 but Bennet just turned 20 2 weeks ago.
@FFCGAV

User is offline   aidan-bufc 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Bo'ness United
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Twitter = @aidanmcl93 (follow me!).

View PostMarshmallo, on 22 September 2011 - 13:49, said:

Farid is up there with my favourite Falkirk players of all time, I'd put him in a Holy Trinity with Dani Mallo and Russell Latapy.

He is far too good for this level, WTF is he doing at Falkirk? I'm not complaining but it just seems bizarre.

Russell Latapy is a god!

View Postjuniornews, on 07 July 2011 - 19:34, said:

Who gives a monkeys who boness sign. They quite simply will not pose any threat to linlithgow this season. We have taken a squad who finished three points adrift and improved it all round. Boness have taken a league winning side and ripped it apart on the back of one mans whims. Top 5 at best for boness this year

BU's unbeaten vs the Rose. 2011/12

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Wee Bachirou at Morton brought a mate from France over this summer and as Morton did not want him, recommended him to Falkirk. Please don't tell me this Farid guy is that mate??
I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

User is online   MrDust 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostvikingTON, on 22 September 2011 - 11:14, said:

Well let's be realistic here, they were playing duds like David Healy.

Four changes to the Celtic game, defence stayed the same and bringing in four internationals...... :rolleyes:

If you think we had it easy last night with the changes, then you are more deranged that I thot you were...... :o
National Shite Day.....

"...there's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets..." Half man Half Biscuit from CSI Ambleside

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

View PostTonsilitis, on 22 September 2011 - 14:10, said:

Wee Bachirou at Morton brought a mate from France over this summer and as Morton did not want him, recommended him to Falkirk. Please don't tell me this Farid guy is that mate??

We had another French guy on trial during the summer, it would have either been him or Farid.

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better

View PostMrDust, on 22 September 2011 - 14:11, said:

Four changes to the Celtic game, defence stayed the same and bringing in four internationals...... :rolleyes:

Northern Ireland doesn't count, it's a diddy country.
Posted Image

User is offline   kiddy 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMarshmallo, on 22 September 2011 - 13:49, said:

What was he doing at Bergerac, Wydad & Romorantin for that matter.

Would he have played as well in last years side, who knows? It's more a case of right place, right time & it's all clicking for him.

Bearing in mind the contribution of his team mates that are putting him in the spotlight.
3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.

Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.

& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!

User is offline   cheesy 

• Third Division Regular

It would be annoying if that was true, although you would still be able to see the logic behind Moore's decision not to go for him. Again, that's if you are correct.

User is offline   kiddy 

• Golden Shoe Winner

Think we had a French trialist, played against Whitehill Welfare pre-season, wasn't Farid IIRC & sure someone said he's recently signed wi Motherwell. :unsure:

Think this is the guy.

This post has been edited by kiddy: 22 September 2011 - 17:21

3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.

Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.

& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!

User is offline   Gus2 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View PostSEETHING, on 21 September 2011 - 21:45, said:

Bit of a diver imo.

Fcuk me a Hearts complaining about a player diving Pot Kettle and Black spring to mind
Criticism is something we can avoid easily by saying nothing, doing nothing and being nothing. - Aristotle

User is offline   Oscar P 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostDing Dang Doo, on 22 September 2011 - 10:40, said:

He played us first game of the season and was very poor. Murray and Ellis had him under control the whole game. He seemed to go down very easy and then moan like hell at the ref for not giving him a free kick.

Have to say that after the opening game of the season I did not see Falkirk doing anything, especially El Allagui scoring goals and Falkirk beating Rangers. Suppose we will see how much better they are come the end of October.

He was not very poor. Falkirk were very poor. A striker needs service to perform and he got very little that day.
It was the first time I had seen him and was impressed with his attitude and effort.
Munro (Ross Co) and Mcgregor (Dundee) have played him better than anyone this season.

User is offline   ThankCrunchie 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postkiddy, on 22 September 2011 - 17:15, said:

Think we had a French trialist, played against Whitehill Welfare pre-season, wasn't Farid IIRC & sure someone said he's recently signed wi Motherwell. :unsure:

Think this is the guy.

There was also another French trialist who played on the wing vs. Alloa.

Don't think we ever got his name, but the Falkirk Herald called him "PSG trailist". As Bachirou came from PSG, I suspect it was the winger.

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
He sounds like Amick Ciani, but with a better goal scoring record.

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   ShaggerG 

• Third Division Reserve

View Postkiddy, on 22 September 2011 - 15:54, said:

What was he doing at Bergerac, Wydad & Romorantin for that matter.

Would he have played as well in last years side, who knows? It's more a case of right place, right time & it's all clicking for him.

Bearing in mind the contribution of his team mates that are putting him in the spotlight.

Can't disagree with that.

I don't think anyone would argue that Farid is the best footballer at the club but he has a load of attributes. He holds the ball up well, has quite a good touch, leaps like a salmon, has the heart of a lion and an obvious nose for goal.

Other than his goals though I think the big impact he's making is that he gets the fans involved with his antics and it's rubbing off on the team as well. Think of the contrast to last season and the dejected figures of BOB, Twaddle, McLean and even Flynn. Could you imagine Burton gesturing to the fans to turn the noise up or giving us a goal celebration like Farid's (a goal of any kind would have been nice)

I think he's going to have a great season and could end up being the biggest icon since Stainrod!

User is offline   EdinburghLivi 

• Livingston Area Swag - I. Russell
  • Location:For Deesign for Life and East Football's benefit, Edinburgh
  • My Team:Livingston
  • Gamertag:EdinburghLivi

View PostStella, on 21 September 2011 - 22:38, said:

See he's managed to find his way out of Paul fucking Watson's back pocket, then?

What a player.

Back on topic, player mentioned in the thread title isn't very good.

This post has been edited by EdinburghLivi: 23 September 2011 - 10:09

You can quote me on that.

User is offline   Nizzy 

• Street tuff
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Paul Watson's back pocket, eh? He must've popped out of that to win his side a penalty before jumping back in again.

I've seen El Allagui in the flesh on three separate occasions and been impressed every time. He doesn't give defences a moment's peace, he's fantastic in the air and he's clearly an inspirational figure. Fair play to Pressley for getting him in.
MAKE ONE FAMOUS

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postcheesy, on 22 September 2011 - 17:08, said:

It would be annoying if that was true, although you would still be able to see the logic behind Moore's decision not to go for him. Again, that's if you are correct.

Except at the time we had not signed Campbell (or MacDonald for that matter)
I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

User is offline   jimbo 

• Third Division Reserve

View Postlanky_ffc, on 22 September 2011 - 11:20, said:

Still struggling to come to terms with that game. Oh dear.

^ ^ ^
Sweat still dripping from his brow with relief after being saved by the referee.

User is offline   EdinburghLivi 

• Livingston Area Swag - I. Russell
  • Location:For Deesign for Life and East Football's benefit, Edinburgh
  • Gamertag:EdinburghLivi

View PostNizzy, on 23 September 2011 - 10:20, said:

Paul Watson's back pocket, eh? He must've popped out of that to win his side a penalty before jumping back in again.

It's funny because that was the only thing he did all game and in truth, he didn't really do anything in that move and wasn't getting to the ball before he was clattered. He was easily marked out by Barr and Watson, I only remember him winning 1 header the whole game.
You can quote me on that.

• (28 Pages) +
  • Last »