Athletico Madrid vs Celtic

User is online   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany
lifted from facebook earlier

" I'd rather fuckin peel onions than watch that shite. I FUCKIN HATE YOU SAMARAS, WHY ARE YOU EVEN ON THE PITCH, YER FUCKIN SHITE, YE CANNY PLAY FITBAW, YE HAVE NO MOTIVATION AND YE CANNY BE ARSED, f**k OFF YA FUCKIN GYPO b*****d. "

hahahah
If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   BradHorse 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:bradhorse
Did anyone else watch this on first row sports? The geordie commentator was a fucking headcase, just pulling out all sorts of analogys about absolutely nothing. "The rain clouds came, and then the thunder struck with Diego's strike!" - I'm paraphrasing there but it was loads of shit like that, good laugh at least.

Thought Celtic did pretty well in the second half. To be honest the midfield of Celtic is actually pretty good and it showed (from an inspiring team talk by Lennon, my mind wondered...?) when they grew in confidence a bit. In particular I thought Ki was excellent, same fanny commentator mentioned he was only 22. Can definitely see him getting picked up by a Premiership team, or perhaps even Athletico or another Spanish team watching.

Glad to see Celtic do okay from a Scottish point of view, and glad to see them get beat from an honest point of view. Even more glad they found themselves in a game tonight and they were pushing all the way, only 60 hours until they've got to be at Ibrox.
Kumquats

User is offline   Jimmy Caskie 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank

View PostKlootzak, on 15 September 2011 - 21:49, said:

Genuine question - what is the worst away record for teams playing in Europe in recent times?

Celtic

Played 31 Won 1 lost 25 drawn 5

must win a prize?

Genuine Question.

1 win in 25 European games,who holds that current stat.
must win a prize :lol:
www.clydebankprogrammesonline.co.uk

User is offline   paddymcp 

• My Team:Celtic
Didn't think Atletico were a great side before the game and still feel that way. The game was played at a pedestrian pace and were there for the taking but sadly we didn't quite have enough to get something.

Quick points about the game.

Hooper isn't effective in the lone role. Decent player but isn't a targetman or have raw pace to stretch the defence.

Samaras is infuriating and inconsistent but he's the only striker we have who can be effective up top when he's in the mood.

I'd suggest we're not quite strong enough to open up in Europe and go 2 up top.
4-4-1-1 or 5 in midfield and try and scrap for points as we're clearly not at the level of years gone by.

Loovens played really well tonight IMO. Wouldn't have known he's been out for the last 5 weeks.

Mark Wilson gets exposed too often and is a weak-link down the right.

Our team are comfortable in possession but in general lack pace and penetration and a cutting edge.

Mulgrew played well tonight but still gets exposed for his lack of pace and lapses in concentration at times so any talk of him being a future captain or our best player should stop talking our their arse.

Udinese are a more fluid team than Atletico IMO. We have our work cut out in the next game.

User is online   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

View Postbetting competition, on 15 September 2011 - 21:05, said:

Shows you how bad Scottish football is. They drop quite a few players and still beat them 2-0 with easy and hardly Celtic trouble them.

Does it?

Falcao, who scored the first goal for Atletico, cost £35m this summer.

Gary Hooper, who Celtic fielded up front, cost £2.4m.

These are two clubs which are a world apart in terms of spending power.

View Postcraigkillie, on 16 September 2011 - 00:25, said:

Does it?

Falcao, who scored the first goal for Atletico, cost £35m this summer.

Gary Hooper, who Celtic fielded up front, cost £2.4m.

These are two clubs which are a world apart in terms of spending power.

I thought Falcao was rather pish tonight.

The mis-management of the Old Firm and declining standard of the SPL and Scottish football in general is the real reason why we're failing. And will continue too unless something radical happens (?)

Maribor's yearly wage bill is 1.3million. While , Alan McGregor - a decent keeper granted - but someone who still struggles with crossballs - picks up more than this in a year. Says its all really.

Rangers and Celtic still have streams of income, extensive revenues and high wage-bills in comparison with top teams in Europe.

Mis-management and giving average players who play well against the likes of Inverness 25k a week is a major factor in our failings.

This post has been edited by paddymcp: 16 September 2011 - 00:36

User is offline   Tommy1967 

• Third Division Signing Target
Was quite surprised at that to be honest. After them getting a goal after 3 minutes you'd have thought we would have crumbled and got pumped again but it wasn't to be, like Bradhorse I was impressed by Kayal/Ki/Ledley in the middle at times taking control of the game. Upfront, Hooper isn't the same without a strike partner and after his great chance early on we didn't really cut them open all that much. Thought Forster was excellent - can't blame him for either goal and he made a wondersave, hopefully he will continue to prove those who questioned Lenny bringing him back wrong at the weekend. Mulgrew as usual was fantastic and the defence did okay. Loovens never really looks great and Mark Wilson was skinned a bit at their second but to be honest he's unlikely to face anyone as good as Diego this season.

All in all, I'm pretty satisfied, never nice to see us get beat but we can take a lot of positives from that game considering the spending differences between both sides. Just hope we've not picked up any injuries for the real game on Sunday.

User is offline   Jinky67 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postyoda, on 15 September 2011 - 22:19, said:

They gave Arsenal a good game - I know that's no real measure of quality but they looked fairly sharp when attacking - and they have some good players in their side. On paper I think that Udinese have better players in certain positions than Atletico do. Although I am happy to admit that I pay little attention to Spanish football outside of Real Madrid and Barcelona.

That the same Arsenal that got fucked 8-2?

Arsenal aren't of the same standard of recent years. Athletico are the bookies favourites to win the group not Udinese.

User is online   jupe1407 

• Existence .... well what does it matter?
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Dundee

View PostJinky67, on 16 September 2011 - 07:02, said:

Arsenal aren't of the same standard of recent years. Athletico are the bookies favourites to win the group not Udinese.

Udinese are however, IMO a better side. If you take the money spent on Falcao out of the equation, Atletico aren't a particularly strong side, which showed last night. Apart from his early goal he was pretty pish, and Atletico themselves, as a unit, gave a good impression that they coudn't be arsed, and seemed quite content to pap the ball around the back 4 and midfield for most of the game.

AS i posted earlier, I think Di Natale is a much better striker than anything Atletico have, and much more of a presence up front. Celtic will struggle to contain him. They're also a harder working team than Atletico.

While 0-2 is a muich better result than was generally anticipated, in the cold light of day it's still a toothless defeat to a team that didsn't play to anything like their capabilities. Celtic, and in particular Samaras will need to considerably up their game next time.
Random Profanisaurus Entries
#322 BROWN STAR WARS
A turd of such epic proportions it has to be released in three installments. The first can stand on its own as a complete adventure. The second links to the first, but has a dark, inconclusive feel generating an air of foreboding and leaving itself wide open for an unknown ending. The final chapter has drama, excitement and moments where you think all is lost. A grand battle is waged where good overcomes evil and peace is restored in your gut.

User is offline   Jinky67 

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View Postjupe1407, on 16 September 2011 - 07:08, said:

Udinese are however, IMO a better side. If you take the money spent on Falcao out of the equation, Atletico aren't a particularly strong side, which showed last night. Apart from his early goal he was pretty pish, and Atletico themselves, as a unit, gave a good impression that they coudn't be arsed, and seemed quite content to pap the ball around the back 4 and midfield for most of the game.

AS i posted earlier, I think Di Natale is a much better striker than anything Atletico have, and much more of a presence up front. Celtic will struggle to contain him. They're also a harder working team than Atletico.

While 0-2 is a muich better result than was generally anticipated, in the cold light of day it's still a toothless defeat to a team that didsn't play to anything like their capabilities. Celtic, and in particular Samaras will need to considerably up their game next time.

That's your opinion and that's fine, we will not doubt see when they come to CP.

Let's be fair, Athletico no matter what team they put out should good enough to beat us at home and they were. They have some real quality like the boy Diego.

That being said though I thought for the most part we competed well. We didn't just roll over when the first goal went in. Why we persevere with zonal marking is beyond me. We kept possession reasonably well and if Hooper had taken that chance then who knows.

But we lost a game we were expected to lose but we certainly didn't embarass ourselves or take an almighty doing for 90 minutes.

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Given that there's really nothing to lose in Europe this year,and the genuine liklihood of six defeats, I'm fairly happy with that performance. Ki-Kayal-Ledley acquited themselves well in the middle, and their "shoot on sight" policy was probably a good idea,given that Ki, in particular, is capabe of scoring from distance. It's a good tactic for Europe.

Hooper toiled again up top, I'm not sure whether to stick or twist for the next game as he's getting better in the lone role - he had a decent shift in the second half for example. Perhaps in the next game I'd drop Forrest for Brown and let Samaras play behind Hooper rather than as a winger,as having someone close to him seems to give Hooper that little extra confidence and zing to his play.

Mulgrew had a good game at left back, despite my fears he'd be a bombscare there. Although did notice he seemed to be winning headers in the first half taht the centre abcks should be dealing with.

Overall, a dissapointing result obviously, but pleasing that Celtic didn't brief it right after conceding. They were calm and patient and kept good posession, which is refreshing for Celtic in Europe. We're not going to get out of this group, but there is scope for progress to be made in terms of performance.
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

User is offline   banterman86 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostJinky67, on 16 September 2011 - 07:02, said:

To be fair they got thumped by the form team in Europe. I reckon it'll be tight between Atletico and Udinese
I [agree/disagree] with your assessment because you [praised/insulted] a [team/person] that I [support/loathe]. Furthermore, I [admire/ridicule] your writing based on the previous statement, and not on the merit of what was actually written.

[Insert final attempt to be witty here]

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC

View Postjupe1407, on 16 September 2011 - 07:08, said:

AS i posted earlier, I think Di Natale is a much better striker than anything Atletico have, and much more of a presence up front.

Much better striker, really? I certainly wouldn't say Di Natale (as good as he is) is much better than Falcao. The two have different styles of play, but they're pretty even in terms of ability. I would struggle to pick one over the other.
Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   jamboscotty 

• My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View Postbanterman86, on 16 September 2011 - 08:43, said:

Given that there's really nothing to lose in Europe this year,and the genuine liklihood of six defeats, I'm fairly happy with that performance. Ki-Kayal-Ledley acquited themselves well in the middle, and their "shoot on sight" policy was probably a good idea,given that Ki, in particular, is capabe of scoring from distance. It's a good tactic for Europe.

Hooper toiled again up top, I'm not sure whether to stick or twist for the next game as he's getting better in the lone role - he had a decent shift in the second half for example. Perhaps in the next game I'd drop Forrest for Brown and let Samaras play behind Hooper rather than as a winger,as having someone close to him seems to give Hooper that little extra confidence and zing to his play.

Mulgrew had a good game at left back, despite my fears he'd be a bombscare there. Although did notice he seemed to be winning headers in the first half taht the centre abcks should be dealing with.

Overall, a dissapointing result obviously, but pleasing that Celtic didn't brief it right after conceding. They were calm and patient and kept good posession, which is refreshing for Celtic in Europe. We're not going to get out of this group, but there is scope for progress to be made in terms of performance.

^^^^

Still in denial about Ledley.

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc
Scottish football goes from strength to strength in Europe.

User is offline   WeeHectorPar 

• My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View Postitzdrk, on 15 September 2011 - 23:44, said:

lifted from facebook earlier

" I'd rather fuckin peel onions than watch that shite. I FUCKIN HATE YOU SAMARAS, WHY ARE YOU EVEN ON THE PITCH, YER FUCKIN SHITE, YE CANNY PLAY FITBAW, YE HAVE NO MOTIVATION AND YE CANNY BE ARSED, f**k OFF YA FUCKIN GYPO b*****d. "

hahahah

Was it signed N Lennon by any chance?:lol:

Let's look on the bright side; it did wonders for the coefficient, didn't it?
Rangers FC: A straight club in a corkscrew world

User is offline   Klootzak 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Rangers

View Postgrumswall, on 15 September 2011 - 22:02, said:

to be fair there are people who are on the dole and "work" however get no more in their bank account at the end of it, i know this as there are a couple people at my work at the moment in such circumstances.

i would sincerely love evidence to even remotely suggest it was in fact the loudest EVER at a football match?.

edited to say i was busy typing my reply before i saw the response

genuine question - is the fact celtic are in europe because sion cheated bothering you?

Nope

User is online   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United

View PostWeeHectorPar, on 16 September 2011 - 11:17, said:

Was it signed N Lennon by any chance?:lol:

Let's look on the bright side; it did wonders for the coefficient, didn't it?

hahahaaha naw thankfully for us "diddy fans" lennon is in love with samaras when it comes to big games
and he makes it even more comedy than expected

oh aye im really feeling that boost in the coefficient , this will really help my club in our quest for european glory in the comming years

#teamsion
If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   Busta Nut 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:Busta1886 on xbox, JamesyMcBusta psn
the delusion by some of the celtic fan on here makes me lol

This post has been edited by Busta Nut: 16 September 2011 - 12:28

Posted Image

View PostJinky67, on 16 September 2011 - 07:58, said:

That's your opinion and that's fine, we will not doubt see when they come to CP.

Let's be fair, Athletico no matter what team they put out should good enough to beat us at home and they were. They have some real quality like the boy Diego.

That being said though I thought for the most part we competed well. We didn't just roll over when the first goal went in. Why we persevere with zonal marking is beyond me. We kept possession reasonably well and if Hooper had taken that chance then who knows.

But we lost a game we were expected to lose but we certainly didn't embarass ourselves or take an almighty doing for 90 minutes.

Wasn't impressed with Diego last night to be honest - he's been pish the last few years.

Falcao didn't impress either - especially not for £35million.

I've watched both Atletico and Udinese a few times this year and Udinese look the better side to me. Play at a high tempo, more fludity and pace to their game and counter-attack very well.

If we had a full house at CP with the crowd roaring us on then i'd maybe think we could scrape something but with the kick off at 6pm apparently then i'd expect a flat atmosphere with the stadium half full and them probably winning.

User is offline   Mozzamozza 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Poland
  • Gamertag:I love technology.

View Postdubs, on 16 September 2011 - 11:12, said:

Scottish Irish football goes from strength to strength in Europe.

Moray Cup: May have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children.
Vote Moray Cup, 2016

User is offline   cheesy 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
This was a very good result for Celtic. I'm sure plenty of your fans would have been looking to get something from the game, yet a relatively narrow defeat was probably the best that you could have hoped for.

When you look at the quality in each sides, you'd have to admit that they are a class above you. Scottish sides can only dream of having quality players like Falcao in their side.

• (10 Pages) +
  • « First