Scottish Cup Scottish Cup Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   tamthebam 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Edinburgh City
I thought I'd better start this topic for you....

Well, the MIGHTY CITY have been drawn against HFL opposition again. I don't know much about Brora but we've played Buckie, Wick, Clach (twice) and Keith in recent years and the travelling support have always been pretty good lads and lasses.

For Brora fans: Our Social Club is near the Playhouse and we play at the magnificent edifice that is Meadowbank Stadium (near Hibs hovel).

Looking at some of the travelling some teams have to do I wondered if there's a case for making the 1st Round regionalised, like the old Quali Cups?

Edinburgh City Football Club-
trophy grabbing upstarts since 2011!

User is online   RayBees 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Caledonian FC
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:RayBees1

View Posttamthebam, on 29 August 2011 - 12:24, said:

I thought I'd better start this topic for you....

Well, the MIGHTY CITY have been drawn against HFL opposition again. I don't know much about Brora but we've played Buckie, Wick, Clach (twice) and Keith in recent years and the travelling support have always been pretty good lads and lasses.

For Brora fans: Our Social Club is near the Playhouse and we play at the magnificent edifice that is Meadowbank Stadium (near Hibs hovel).

Looking at some of the travelling some teams have to do I wondered if there's a case for making the 1st Round regionalised, like the old Quali Cups?

Surely half the fun is getting drawn against a far away team you've never played before and making a day of it?

User is offline   meadowx1 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
If your idea of fun is sitting on a bus for 10 hours listening to drunk eejits

User is offline   leftpeg 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Wat nick are wick then? How have they been playing this season.
How is the broch playing this season as well? Highlands games are always worth a trip.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View Posttamthebam, on 29 August 2011 - 12:24, said:

Can't agree Tam, I think it's the whole point of the cup being all-in... Anyway, it'd just mean HFL sides playing each other (plus Golspie + NR Junior winner), and EOSFL + SOSFL playing each other but having 3 top Juniors alongside them. Bit boring/unfair.

User is offline   veritas 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Wick Academy

View Postleftpeg, on 29 August 2011 - 20:56, said:

Wat nick are wick then? How have they been playing this season.
How is the broch playing this season as well? Highlands games are always worth a trip.

After 5 games we have wond 2 drawn 1 and lost 2 and are sitting mid table notably we beat Champions Buckie Thistle 3-1 at home and could have routed them completely.

we are still in a transitional period with new manager Davie Kirkwood but I would expect us to be far to strong for Coldstream

User is offline   vicfaealves 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Forres Mechanics
Hope all the highland League teams do well..............
Vic fae Alves

'mon the Can-Cans

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postvicfaealves, on 30 August 2011 - 20:32, said:

I agree Vic but you wouldnt think that from other especially in the Buckie and Banff areas Posted Image Its good for the league for as many HFL to make it through

User is offline   HMFC-1874 

• PipPipPip
  • My Team:Formartine Utd
We won't be in this year, but I'm backing all of the SHFL sides. Posted Image

User is offline   Tams bird 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Hopefully I will be making the trip up to Fraserburgh..

If i can get time off work...Posted Image
IT'S NOT THE WAY YOU PLAY THE GAME BUT WETHER YOU WIN OT LOSE..

User is offline   Tams bird 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Hopefully I will be making the trip up to Fraserburgh..

If i can get time off work...Posted Image
IT'S NOT THE WAY YOU PLAY THE GAME BUT WETHER YOU WIN OT LOSE..

User is offline   geo 1909 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
looking forward to a trip to lossie,should be a good day with hopefully the right result .EEKA PEEKA PUKKA PO.

This post has been edited by geo 1909: 01 September 2011 - 18:52

User is offline   Jimmy Shaker 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Lossiemouth
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postgeo 1909, on 01 September 2011 - 18:51, said:

looking forward to a trip to lossie,should be a good day with hopefully the right result .EEKA PEEKA PUKKA PO.

Go here. Fitba North - the premier Highland League forum

User is offline   Jacksgranda 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Aberdeen

Me, too.

User is offline   AsimButtHitsASix 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostHMFC-1874, on 31 August 2011 - 08:25, said:

We won't be in this year, but I'm backing all of the SHFL sides. Posted Image
How soon until your lot are proper SFA members and get to enter the cup?

• PipPipPip
It won't be until next seasons tournament and if accepted it will be as associate member.

User is offline   strathspey thistle 

• My Team:Strathspey Thistle

View PostHMFC-1874, on 02 September 2011 - 14:43, said:

It won't be until next seasons tournament and if accepted it will be as associate member.

looking forward to coming down to your guys park in 2 weeks time for my 1st visit since you joined the league
NEED A WEBSITE BUSINESS OR PERSONAL? NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL, GIVE ME A SHOUT.

User is offline   AsimButtHitsASix 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Greenock Morton

View PostHMFC-1874, on 02 September 2011 - 14:43, said:

Is that looking likely? And are the other new HL boys in the same boat?

User is offline   strathspey thistle 

• My Team:Strathspey Thistle

View PostAsimButtHitsASix, on 02 September 2011 - 17:29, said:

Is that looking likely? And are the other new HL boys in the same boat?

its a absolute nightmare trying to get in, you need to spend a fortune and for what gain? a one of cup game v another team similar every year?
NEED A WEBSITE BUSINESS OR PERSONAL? NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL, GIVE ME A SHOUT.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Its absolutely crazy that clubs like Coldstream who play in a public park can enter Scottish Cup because they are already members of SFA but new up and coming clubs like the 3 new HFL clubs with superb facilities are given a mountain to climb check out the pictures of Coldtreams Ground

http://www.nonleague...astscotdiv1.htm

• PipPipPip

View Postveritas, on 02 September 2011 - 20:14, said:

Its absolutely crazy that clubs like Coldstream who play in a public park can enter Scottish Cup because they are already members of SFA but new up and coming clubs like the 3 new HFL clubs with superb facilities are given a mountain to climb check out the pictures of Coldtreams Ground

I agree. I'm all for driving standards up, but it's absurd that the facilities at all 3 of the new clubs in the SHFL fails to meet the required standard especially when quite a few current members are way below that standard.

User is offline   lazyjack 

• My Team:Irvine Meadow

Apart fae you guys off-course :P

MON THE MEDDA :D
MEDDA TILL WE DIE

User is offline   derbydan 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
Coverage of the first round has been very poor,on radio yesterday,and today in the papers!

User is offline   newcastle broon 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Whitehill Welfare

View Postveritas, on 02 September 2011 - 20:14, said:

surprised by this comment veritas,its hardly coldstreams fault :huh:

for what its worth strollers play on a similar pitch.what aboot your glasgow uni, burntisland as well.

all clubs wi scottish cup traditions but yes i will agree that newer clubs should be allowed the chance without the red tape ;)

Page 1 of 1