Old Firm Mentality

User is offline   djchapsticks 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Guaranteed reasons for going out:

Scottish football is severely lacking in competition for Rangers and Celtic, if we had more of a challenge from other clubs, Scottish football would improve as there'd be more of a competitive edge to proceedings.

Fair enough, I say. But let's do a simple little case study of this season so far:

Rangers draw with Hearts on opening day. Competitive enough match that Hearts could have won. Rangers fans reactions? Pleased with a decent point from a spirited Jambos side? Disappointed but optimistic for the season ahead? No! Team gets booed to f**k and phone ins jammed with how Rangers should be doing teams like Hearts.

Celtic lose to a well-organised St. johnstone last Sunday, are the Celtic fans disappointed but ultimately hopeful that this shows a more competitive streak from non-OF sides this season? No, they boo like f**k and phone in the Daily Record to moan about how St. Johnstone tried too hard.

so how do us diddy sides cut a break, do you want us to be competitive or not. It seems that 'competitive' means try hard except against us in the minds of some OF fans.
Posted Image

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Rangers and Celtic have dragged the total co-efficient down with their performances. It's time those diddy sides were stopped from competing, preferably by kicking them out of the league altogether.
Posted Image

User is offline   MTJ 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Aye so the incredibly cash rich Celtic and Rangers can't go any further than a team containing SFL duds such as Craig Sives and Gary Twigg. :lol:

Its the Governments fault though. Time for change etc etc

User is offline   Monster 

• I'm all business
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
The whole SPL ideal is a commercial endeavour, driven by two clubs to give them an advantage over everyone else in the country. Not one supporter of any club outside of those two should give one single shit about the pair of them getting pumped in Europe. You reap what you sow. f**k them.
It's my solo party, it's my body, and if I choose to abuse it with my lifestyle and my music
What the f**k! I can't lose! It's my life! Why is it I can't keep you far enough away?

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France

View Postdjchapsticks, on 25 August 2011 - 21:02, said:

Scottish football is severely lacking in competition for Rangers and Celtic, if we had more of a challenge from other clubs, Scottish football would improve as there'd be more of a competitive edge to proceedings.

Fair enough, I say. But let's do a simple little case study of this season so far:

Rangers draw with Hearts on opening day. Competitive enough match that Hearts could have won. Rangers fans reactions? Pleased with a decent point from a spirited Jambos side? Disappointed but optimistic for the season ahead? No! Team gets booed to f**k and phone ins jammed with how Rangers should be doing teams like Hearts.

Celtic lose to a well-organised St. johnstone last Sunday, are the Celtic fans disappointed but ultimately hopeful that this shows a more competitive streak from non-OF sides this season? No, they boo like f**k and phone in the Daily Record to moan about how St. Johnstone tried too hard.

so how do us diddy sides cut a break, do you want us to be competitive or not. It seems that 'competitive' means try hard except against us in the minds of some OF fans.

Excellent post.

It's not even half 8 and I've already ran out of greenies :lol:
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

User is offline   KnightswoodBear 

• DROKK!
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:Currencyb0y
I thought we went out because we were shite
Posted Image

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France

View PostKnightswoodBear, on 26 August 2011 - 07:36, said:

I thought we went out because we were shite

You'd be right, you'd be right
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

User is offline   Mozzamozza 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Poland
  • Gamertag:I love technology.
Shambolic.
Moray Cup: May have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children.
Vote Moray Cup, 2016

User is offline   Unleash The Nade 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Driving into work this morning, listening to Talk Sport.
This Rangers supporter called in and started bleating about why he though Rangers and Celtic had been knocked out last night and I quote " As soon as we have a player who has a few good seasons,the cash rich English clubs come along and take them away from us.It's just no right"

I suspect this c**t doesnt like the OF getting a wee taste of their own medicine, which they've been dishing out to all us "diddies" for years.
Hopefully the caller will now appreciate the fact,that in the whole scheme of things,both Rangers and Celtic are also "diddies."
My Other Casserole's A Slow Cooker!

User is offline   clear con man 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
[quote name='djchapsticks' timestamp='1314306151' post='5538466']

i suspect that the pair of them would shite their tinny whites if there was a couple of teams challenging their dominance, healthy competition is the last thing on the old firms mind.

User is offline   Gus2 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
[

View Postdjchapsticks, on 25 August 2011 - 21:02, said:

i suspect that the pair of them would shite their tinny whites if there was a couple of teams challenging their dominance, healthy competition is the last thing on the old firms mind.

The last time that two clubs outwith the Old Firm made a true Challenge Old firm fans start to disappear like snow of a dyke in spring
Criticism is something we can avoid easily by saying nothing, doing nothing and being nothing. - Aristotle

User is offline   Owsley 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical

View PostUnleash The Nade, on 26 August 2011 - 10:27, said:

Driving into work this morning, listening to Talk Sport.
This Rangers supporter called in and started bleating about why he though Rangers and Celtic had been knocked out last night and I quote " As soon as we have a player who has a few good seasons,the cash rich English clubs come along and take them away from us.It's just no right"

I suspect this c**t doesnt like the OF getting a wee taste of their own medicine, which they've been dishing out to all us "diddies" for years.
Hopefully the caller will now appreciate the fact,that in the whole scheme of things,both Rangers and Celtic are also "diddies."

As he's too fucking thick to acknowledge the first point, he'll be too fucking thick to appreciate the second.

User is offline   No8. 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Rangers
The OF do need a more competitve league. They also need other clubs to compete in Europe to bring up the coeffiecent. A more competitive league would hopefully put us all in a better position when we come to sell our product to the TV and Sponsors. If the likes of Aberdeen , Hibs and Hearts were competing at the top end of the league they would bring a fair number of supporters with them and bring in much needed revenue to all the top flight clubs.

Then again they don't want to give up their Champions League/Europa League money...Yes i know. Believe me i know!!....They don't want to give away their TV revenue. They are never going to split the gate money and in all honesty that is a nonsense to even suggest it. As i have said before they could allow all away teams to keep the revenue generated by their fans at Ibrox/parkhead. Small gesture but would encourage travelling supporters back to these grounds.

I don't have the answers but what i do know is for the good of the game in Scotland something has to give. This has not just happened over night but has been coming for years.

If a competitve league meant Rangers lost a few thousand glory hunting arseholes from their support then i am all for it. The utter bollocks i had to listen to last night left me shaking my head in disbelief!!
4 MEN HAD A DREAM. TO START A FOOTBALL TEAM,
THEY HAD NO MONEY,NO KITS NOT EVEN A BALL.
THEY STILL CARRIED ON, THE RANGERS WERE BORN,

AFTER 54 TITLES, WE'RE STILL GOING STRONG.

Page 1 of 1