Threave V Saints lets move on from the ref talk

User is offline   logan13 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
Alot of bad talk about refs in other post. Lets move on and talk about the big game this weekend.

Always look forward to Threave,Saints games, Would say its the biggest game in the league and for saints its a whole lot bigger after wednesday night.

I think it will be a close game won by the odd goal, threave have looked fantastic so far but by all reports so have saints apart fromt the result the other night. I think if there will be a winner i think threave will edge it 2-1 but a draw would not be the worse result for both sides.

Hamilton scouts will also be down to watch Donley and Patterson whats your guys veiw on this? personally i think it great that players from the league and threave are being noticed.

User is offline   ossie1968 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
I think it will be close, too close to call, hopefully Saints will edge it. Saints haven't played brilliantly this year, scraped through a few games, Ruddy is scoring and he would love to score on Saturday. Saints are strong in the middle of the park, where I think the game will be won. Mon the Saints

It's good that scouts will be there looking at the boys from Threave, hopefully they will impress without winning the game

User is offline   Dai Laffyn 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

View Postlogan13, on 19 August 2011 - 14:40, said:

Alot of bad talk about refs in other post. Lets move on and talk about the big game this weekend.

Always look forward to Threave,Saints games, Would say its the biggest game in the league and for saints its a whole lot bigger after wednesday night.

I think it will be a close game won by the odd goal, threave have looked fantastic so far but by all reports so have saints apart fromt the result the other night. I think if there will be a winner i think threave will edge it 2-1 but a draw would not be the worse result for both sides.

Hamilton scouts will also be down to watch Donley and Patterson whats your guys veiw on this? personally i think it great that players from the league and threave are being noticed.

Aye, I agree with the sentiments in your opening statement it is about time to move on.

The game itself, the Stewartry El Classico if you will, has the makings of a cracker and given the form of both teams so far probably to close to call. I can see it going either way to be honest, but a win is probably more important for Saints than Threave given the fact they dropped points on Wednesday. I think that Saints will be fired up for the game and may feel they have a point to prove after Wednesday.

Players being watched by clubs at a higher level can be nothing but a good thing, but I'm also a wee bit sceptical about it. However it does reflect better on the league and the clubs themselves that they have become a little bit more professional over the last few years.

User is offline   barbapapa 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Dalbeattie Star
if its on ,weather forecast looks poor Posted Image

User is offline   The Trunk 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Crichton FC
Threave to win at a canter. Not a supporter but there the best by a fair bit !

User is offline   HHH 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postbarbapapa, on 19 August 2011 - 18:16, said:

if its on ,weather forecast looks poor Posted Image

Aye, canna have meadow park bein played on when it's rainin like!
If it's no raining, I reckon 4-1 threave.

User is offline   JUNIORFAN 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postlogan13, on 19 August 2011 - 14:40, said:

They have appointed the best young ref from West of Scotland for tomo's game. He did the junior cup final this year and was outstanding . He moved up to Category one and will be completely neutral . May the best team win and hopefully the weather is not too bad.

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Threave win 2 - 1 , not much between the two teams and a draw would probably have been a fair result , but if you think the moaning about the refs is going to by pass this page ,think again ! . Threave awarded a penalty to win the match when adam johnstone handled in the box . From what i saw i thought the ref did really well , probably a penalty but a soft one , cant complain about the refs position because he was five yards from the incident .

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Saints looked the better side for 20 odd mins in the second half, got the goal, then dropped deeper and deeper, allowing Threave to attack.
Couldn't see the handball for the penalty but Threave should have had one before that, some will say, justice was done.
I think a draw would have been a fair result.
Well done Threave.

The Saints will bounce back.

The officials had a good game.

User is offline   Fancy Pants 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
As a neutral at todays game i have to admit both sides were very poor!

Threave dont look as good as last season i think.

And Saints dont look as attack minded as last season.

As someone mentioned earlier regarding the ref that he is one of the best in the West then im afraid he got the penalty horribly,horribly wrong! The ball clearly came of the defenders shoulder and the worst part is the ref was looking directly at it.

A draw wouldve been a fair result.

User is offline   engineer 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Bit harsh saying two poor teams. I thought they canceled each other out for the majority of the game but Threave showed their class when they went 1 down. Ref had the best view in the ground for the penalty incident so would not question his decision. Well done the officials even when it turned nasty near the end. Usual half witts at the end shouting abuse at the ref. Get off their backs or we will not have a football league

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Thought the introduction of the midlemiss brothers and the removal of rudd probably tipped the balance . the brothers pace and energy started to disrupt the saints back four with grant , the younger of the two causing most of it . Rudd held the ball up well in the threave half which gave his back four a bit of time to reorganise but after he went off the ball was coming straight back at them . Both keepers pulled off excellent saves to keep their sides in it . Pick of the bunch for me from the saints team was probably the lad in beside big adam and on the threave side possibly baty for his second half performance .

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Roddy

User is offline   THESPECTATOR 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postengineer, on 20 August 2011 - 17:33, said:

Bit harsh saying two poor teams. I thought they canceled each other out for the majority of the game but Threave showed their class when they went 1 down. Ref had the best view in the ground for the penalty incident so would not question his decision. Well done the officials even when it turned nasty near the end. Usual half witts at the end shouting abuse at the ref. Get off their backs or we will not have a football league

Glad to see some one else talking a bit of sense about the refs,I take it that the half witts were Saint supporters at there usual nonsense shouting abuse then.Anything to say on the matter then WALKING TALL?????

This post has been edited by THESPECTATOR: 20 August 2011 - 19:00

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
any reports on the other games today punters ?

User is offline   info 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postbarbapapa, on 20 August 2011 - 19:03, said:

any reports on the other games today punters ?

Good Game at Blairmount spoiled by (if it is OK to mention it!) some amazing calls from the ref.Newton centre half sent off for what was ,judging by the reaction of the Star players near the tackle was at the most a yellow and trying to have 3 star supporters evicted from Blairmount Park for supporting their team. Amazing!!

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostTHESPECTATOR, on 20 August 2011 - 18:59, said:

Glad to see some one else talking a bit of sense about the refs,I take it that the half witts were Saint supporters at there usual nonsense shouting abuse then.Anything to say on the matter then WALKING TALL?????

Thespectator has arrive with his Anti-Saints comments

User is offline   Dai Laffyn 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

You are beginning to come across as a bitter, narrow minded individual. For what it's worth the officials today were first class and it was refreshing to see. I as a Saints supporter have absolutely no complaints as all decisions made were probably correct, including the sending off.

User is offline   DG6 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

Never mind the Saints Threave game, the big question is How many £1.32's did you collect today, and has the average increased or decreased?

User is offline   Walking Tall 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

I bet you think that was a really clever post, because somebody else (probably you under another alias) calls the Saints supporters halfwits and you feel that gives some justification to the rubbish you've been posting? You could be accused of being many a thing maybe, but not clever. Your use of grammar, punctuatiuon and your inability to spell would indicate that it is you who is the halfwit.

As for the game yesterday, nothing to add other than to congratulate Threave on the three points because I don't want to mention refereeing decisions. I don't want it to appear as though I'm on a one man crusade to put off young, would be referees......................

This post has been edited by Walking Tall: 21 August 2011 - 07:02

Adams, McLellan, Grieve, Bryan, Roy, Smith, McGowan, Herring, Riddell, True, Oakes.

Scottish Qualifying Cup Winners (South) 1972.

User is offline   tellemhowitis 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostDG6, on 20 August 2011 - 20:54, said:

Never mind the Saints Threave game, the big question is How many £1.32's did you collect today, and has the average increased or decreased?

The average of £1.32 would have incresed yesterday as Threave are now charging £4.00 entry for league games !! Good job they dont use a bucket or they would need a bigger one, eh SPECTATOR !!

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
I would like to know why the price was up, is this going to be the price around the grounds or was it to cash in on the best travelling support in the league.
Will the bucket donations also rise to be an average of £1.33 or will £1.32 still be okay.

User is offline   dumfries toon 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Think maybe the increase is to do with the refs and the linesmen, charging more than they did last season. Think they were charging £125 for it yesterday.
Good game yesterday, saints are a big good strong team, they were unlucky, it was a clear pen( you can see the incident on YouTube).
Threave win on Wednesday night and they have a great chance of 4 in a row.

User is offline   THESPECTATOR 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 21 August 2011 - 07:00, said:

I bet you think that was a really clever post, because somebody else (probably you under another alias) calls the Saints supporters halfwits and you feel that gives some justification to the rubbish you've been posting? You could be accused of being many a thing maybe, but not clever. Your use of grammar, punctuatiuon and your inability to spell would indicate that it is you who is the halfwit.

As for the game yesterday, nothing to add other than to congratulate Threave on the three points because I don't want to mention refereeing decisions. I don't want it to appear as though I'm on a one man crusade to put off young, would be referees......................

Your use of grammar, punctuation and your inability to spell would indicate that it is you who is the halfwit.

well that will be me and all the 1000s of other dyslexic people in the country then.Just goes to show how low you will go.

But then again it was you who said in a post in another thread that you pay your money (dubious at some grounds) so it gives you and all the other people that pay the right to shout vile abuse at the ref.So who was engineer talking about was it the Threave fans? I would have thought not.

So do you or don't you condone it?

Do you not think its possible that it might put people off becoming referees?

You can think what you like who I am, someone else brought up Jim Thomson not me,but then again you deffo run around with blinkers on

From what I heard out last night it was a close but not the best of games yesterday at Threave which could have gone eitherway.But was spoiled at the end again with supporters abusing the ref!!!!!!!! !!!!!

And finaly if you look up the dictionary you might find that the spelling of punctuation in your post is wrong but then again who am I to scold you buddy.People in glass houses shouldnt throw stones.

This post has been edited by THESPECTATOR: 21 August 2011 - 14:00

User is offline   logan13 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Yet again i think we are talking about other stuff than the football game its self.

Talking about the game it was not a great standard but derby games rarely are. first half was pretty even with threave trying to play without really making any real problems. saints never looked troubled and look dangerous on the break but at half time 0-0 was a fair result with not much of a spectical so far.

2nd half sprung into life, saints scoring early in the half with Johnston nodding the ball in from close range, this was when saints were having a good spell and look dangerouse for another 5,10 mins after the goal but this is when Threave really stepped there game up after that. Baty, Warren and Dunga were more involved and the midfield battle swung in threave favour. but saint held strong and Sean made some great saves, Donleys goal was deserved and i think either side would of been happy with the point. then the pen inccident which i must say from where i was i could not really see and from watching the clip on youtube am still undecided but felt threave should of had a penalty earlyer whem razor clearly handled the ball but ref never seen it. Once Baty scored it did kick off but i dont want to talk about that. well done to threave not pretty but they have the points and a win on wednesday night could really put them in the driving seat.

• (2 Pages) +