The Pie Shop: MR Romanov - The Pie Shop

• (4 Pages) +
  • « First

MR Romanov OUT NOW

Poll: IS it in the best interests of Scottish football

for hearts to get another owner?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

User is offline   Monkey Tennis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostCube, on 18 August 2011 - 21:07, said:

Vlad out now

Leaving aside your subsequent drivel about how Spurs aren't actually very good, could you explain please how the "Vlad out" thing would work?

User is offline   Yid_in_Exiile 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Ayr United
Cube is exactly that. A Cube.

I was there last night and it was simply men against boys - as others have said if you were there you would recognise that nothing Hearts could have done would have changed much. Hard work and commitment only goes so far - you had Hearts lads out there panting and on their knees after 20 mins such was the relentless difference in pace and movement off the ball.

Oh, and as for McGowan being able to match up against Bale. I saw McGowan week in week out when on loan to Ayr and pace was the only thing the boy had - no heart for the fight when the chips were down was what I saw.

I also still see Spurs regularly, maybe only 10 times a season due to following Ayr up here now, but if you think McGowan could keep with Bale or he is a "one trick pony" you have not got a clue. Not a clue.
From White Hart Lane to Somerset Park

"The great fallacy is that the game is first and last about winning. It's nothing of the kind. The game is about glory. It's about doing things in style, with a flourish, about going out and beating the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom.": Danny Blanchflower

User is offline   grumswall 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View PostCube, on 18 August 2011 - 22:09, said:

Can you understand that if this was Walter Smith, Jim Jefferies etc this game would have been no more than a 2 goals victory to either team.

He is a class act but good managers have faced far better players that VDV, a player not good enough to play in the top table in spain.

how can you say that though? look at the players both teams have there is a sheer gulf in class, to think otherwise is idiocy.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostWILLIAMSHATNER, on 18 August 2011 - 22:37, said:

so thats why scott brown was linked with a move to spurs. as well as ki who's been linked with a move to them today. - http://www.skysports...7109015,00.html

bottom line is you said no players from the spl would walk into the spurs team, i just found two how many more do you want?

how did getting linked with spurs work out for hutton? who is a far better player than brown ever will be. Granted different positions.

User is offline   Cube 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:Tommy tait

View Postgrumswall, on 19 August 2011 - 12:58, said:

how can you say that though? look at the players both teams have there is a sheer gulf in class, to think otherwise is idiocy.

Personally I think the gulf between Hearts and Spurs is similar to the gulf between Rangers and Manchester United.

Now lets have a look at how both managers looked at the game:

Parlo Sergio looked at the Spurs line-up and must have decided,- "We are better than spurs, lets ignore their strengths, and try and attack them". OS we have two Wingers that don't really ever narrow, a number 10 and a Target man/striker. The outcome was a very open game, and spurs having acres of space to knock the ball about, and run into spaces.

Walter smith- Thinks that Man United are the better team, and decides to protect the defence and play from that platforn. Full back always shows the player inside where there is added numbers. Wide players are able to defend, and double up with the fullback.

IF hearts has a proper manager in charge the game would have been loads closer. I'm very surprised that you don't agree. Bale and Lennon forced inside, van der vaart with a player sitting on him and limited space to play. If im honest I think its quite simple logic.
always sticking to the rules of this fine website.

• SPL Sub

View PostCube, on 19 August 2011 - 16:26, said:

Personally I think the gulf between Hearts and Spurs is similar to the gulf between Rangers and Manchester United.

Parlo Sergio looked at the Spurs line-up and must have decided,- "We are better than spurs, lets ignore their strengths, and try and attack them". OS we have two Wingers that don't really ever narrow, a number 10 and a Target man/striker. The outcome was a very open game, and spurs having acres of space to knock the ball about, and run into spaces.

Walter smith- Thinks that Man United are the better team, and decides to protect the defence and play from that platforn. Full back always shows the player inside where there is added numbers. Wide players are able to defend, and double up with the fullback.

IF hearts has a proper manager in charge the game would have been loads closer. I'm very surprised that you don't agree. Bale and Lennon forced inside, van der vaart with a player sitting on him and limited space to play. If im honest I think its quite simple logic.

Nobody would suggest that Hearts' manager treated us to a masterclass last night, but you started this thread on how Romanov must go. Your argument appears to centre on Vlad appointing this latest boss.

Now, there are all sorts of reasons why Romanov seems an unsuitable guy to run a club, but given the finances, how can Hearts be rid of him, yet still exist? You want people to vote on Romanov's future, but you've not yet addressed how parting company from him could work at all. Seriously, what's the plan?

This post has been edited by Monkey Tennis: 19 August 2011 - 16:59

User is offline   cheesy 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Even with some major investment, Hearts would have still suffered a thrashing at the hands of Spurs.

Romanov needs to go, that is clear, but you can't blame him for what occured last night. Hearts were always going to leave.

User is offline   Aurora Borealis 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Posted Image

"I believe we're living through the greatest age of discovery our civilisation has known. We've voyaged to the farthest reaches of the Solar System. We've photographed strange new worlds, stood in unfamiliar landscapes, tasted alien air."

— Professor Brian Cox

User is offline   SOL 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
Vlad must stay!
Petrie and Calderwood the two men killing Hibernian football club.

User is offline   Cube 

View PostMonkey Tennis, on 19 August 2011 - 16:58, said:

Nobody would suggest that Hearts' manager treated us to a masterclass last night, but you started this thread on how Romanov must go. Your argument appears to centre on Vlad appointing this latest boss.

Now, there are all sorts of reasons why Romanov seems an unsuitable guy to run a club, but given the finances, how can Hearts be rid of him, yet still exist? You want people to vote on Romanov's future, but you've not yet addressed how parting company from him could work at all. Seriously, what's the plan?

Thanks for the reply.

I'm no lover of Hearts but I was rooting for them last night. In early from work, few beers and them I seen the team line-ups, and it was obvious a gubbing was on the cards.

Now, the manager picks the team, but what was instantly obvious was this wouldn't have happend under Jeffries. I care that one of our teams got pumped by spurs, sometimes 5-0 can flatter a team but the tactics were THAT bad it could have been more.

Personally I find some of the Vlad loving comments clueless and devoid of thought.

User is offline   SEETHING 

• Third Division Superstar

View PostCube, on 19 August 2011 - 20:57, said:

Now, the manager picks the team, but what was instantly obvious was this wouldn't have happend under Jeffries.

Why? Jefferies is a notoriously shite tactician.
Posted Image
"Derby Day in Edinburgh belongs to Hearts, yet again!"

User is offline   Cube 

View PostSEETHING, on 19 August 2011 - 21:45, said:

Why? Jefferies is a notoriously shite tactician.

So you think JJ would have played 2 wingers and 2 forwards against spurs :blink: .

You should have been going mental at what was happening to your team last night. I endured it under George Burley with Scotland, playing football is great but if a team is miles better than you why make is SOO easy for them?

Hand on heart IF JJ was still in charge what would the scorline have been last night>?

User is offline   Dindeleux 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
  • Gamertag:gspunkertoker

View PostCube, on 18 August 2011 - 21:45, said:

Craig Thomson- Really quick over 10 yards, great last ditch player

Sigh :rolleyes:
Major Titles:
Kilmarnock - 5
Ayr United - 0
1 team in Ayrshire

User is offline   SEETHING 

• Third Division Superstar

View PostCube, on 19 August 2011 - 21:57, said:

So you think JJ would have played 2 wingers and 2 forwards against spurs :blink: .

I don't know. He played three forwards at Ibrox, so it's not outwith the realms of possibility.

You should have been going mental at what was happening to your team last night. I endured it under George Burley with Scotland, playing football is great but if a team is miles better than you why make is SOO easy for them?

I don't understand your point. It was SOO easy for Spurs because they are miles better. Such superior movement and ball control is the same regardless of formation.

Hand on heart IF JJ was still in charge what would the scorline have been last night>?

0-6 ;)
Posted Image
"Derby Day in Edinburgh belongs to Hearts, yet again!"

User is offline   Galajambo 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postcheesy, on 19 August 2011 - 17:35, said:

Even with some major investment, Hearts would have still suffered a thrashing at the hands of Spurs.

Romanov needs to go, that is clear, but you can't blame him for what occured last night. Hearts were always going to leave.

Come on then Cheesy, give us Jambos a viable alternative to Romanov, we're all dying to hear it
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostCube, on 19 August 2011 - 16:26, said:

your comparison between the gulf between hearts and spurs and rangers and man utd has no real significance just look at the results between rangers and man utd compared to that of hearts v spurs as an example

if you truly think he looked at the spurs team and thought "we are better than spurs" you are a far bigger idiot than im already begginning to beleive you are.

you cannot and should not compare paulo sergio to walter smith for the simple fact that walter smith had far longer in dealing with the squad he worked with to determine what they would be capable of!

imo if i was hearts manager i would have tried to line up int a 4-1-4-1 formation however im sure iv seen alot more game time of the hearts players than what the current manager has.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

not checked to see if anyone else has asked but what were the two forwards? John Sutton and?. the two wingers is very understandable considering it was a 4-5-1 that was played they were there to provide support to Sutton

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

who knows? go ask JJ. why should they be? the budget difference alone suggests that the scoreline was just?!.

hearts did not deliberatly make it easy the manager and players set out with a game plan to try and gain something from the tie. The absolute fact that no1 can ignore and from what iv seen there has been not 1 single hearts fan deny it is that spurs are simply a better footballing side with better players, better resources and a better manager.

• SPL Sub

View PostCube, on 19 August 2011 - 20:57, said:

Thanks for the reply.

I'm no lover of Hearts but I was rooting for them last night. In early from work, few beers and them I seen the team line-ups, and it was obvious a gubbing was on the cards.

Now, the manager picks the team, but what was instantly obvious was this wouldn't have happend under Jeffries. I care that one of our teams got pumped by spurs, sometimes 5-0 can flatter a team but the tactics were THAT bad it could have been more.

Personally I find some of the Vlad loving comments clueless and devoid of thought.

Well, thanks for your reply, but you've still not answered the question which the entire thread you started, begs.

Stop going on about how the team was set up. You may have a point about it, - it's certainly debatable - but please get back to how, not why, Hearts and Vlad should separate?

I suspect you're avoiding this aspect because, like everyone else on the planet, you don't have an answer. If I'm wrong with my suspicions, enlighten me.
Otherwise, this thread, complete with voting facility, is pretty redundant.

User is offline   Jack The Lad 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Posted Image
Erin Go Bragh "Is bod"

User is offline   WaffenThinMint 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Other

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 18 August 2011 - 21:53, said:

Is it?

Been saying it for a while HibeeJibee that the rest of European clubs are leaving our own behind or catching up.

Dundee United out early to what everyone thought an 'easy draw'. Rangers lost yet again tonight against what everyone thought was an 'easy draw'. There's been much talk about 'English arrogance' in the lead-up to tonight's match at Tynecastle, but maybe it's time we looked in the mirror.

If Hearts fans seemed litte bemused by events, perhaps its because as ones whose fans are overused to kicks in the teeth they've learned a little phlegmatism when it comes to football. Spurs were a class apart - end of argument.

The really worrying part in the first half - where the fans would have been justified in crying "rape!" it was so shockingly bad - was that the club whose players haven't played in three weeks were clearly a hell of a lot fitter than the club that's well into a new season.

True, in the second half Hearts made a go of it - and you couldn't help but feel sorry for Templeton who as ever never gave up - but that it took them so long to get off the blocks in comparison to Spurs in the first place is another wake up call for Scottish football as a whole that they can't continue kidding themselves that what passes for fitness, basic ball skills, tactical astuteness is adequate.

We've been too complacent for too long, and maybe getting thumped by one of the Auld Enemy based in an area that was in chaos last week is the wake up call it needs to make them realise that it's no longer good enough to dine out on past glories and praying the Old Firm have a good enough run to keep our co-efficient up.

Over in Dublin, Shamrock Rovers held Partizen Belgrade tonight, something you'd have put your house on being a slaughter a few years back. If the Irish manage to get as many clubs into the Europa League this year as Scotland does - ie. one! - will people still continue to kid themselves that all is still well with the quality of our club sides in comparison to the rest of Europe?

Just a thought!

Well HibeeJibee it happened.

All the Scottish clubs out. Shamrock Rovers meanwhile dump Partizan Belgrade and qualify for the group stages.

Meanwhile at Hampden, the message from our lords and masters is:

Posted Image

:rolleyes:
Posted Image

• (4 Pages) +
  • « First