• Dry.
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostAurora Borealis, on 18 August 2011 - 23:30, said:

Aye?

http://news.bbc.co.u...ll/14568630.stm

Hearts may not have done Scotland proud on the park tonight, but our support certainly did.

He needed something to praise there was f**k all on the pitch he could have complemented.
:)
Like I said you jambos fully deserved it.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is offline   FauldhouseJambo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Don't think we can be described as an embarrassment tbh. Although we were pretty poor on the night Spurs were breathtaking at times, the football they played was amazing. Watching every one of their players pinging crossfield balls with ease and looking so assured in every area of the park was pretty impressive to watch. That was probably the strongest line up they could have put out, and even Livermore would stroll into the old firm's midfield. This is a team who got to the Champions league quarter final and have only added a sub goalie from that, so getting pumped off a team who are pretty close to competing for the best league in the world doesn't sound as bad as it may have looked.

User is offline   Buddie Holly 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostAurora Borealis, on 18 August 2011 - 23:30, said:

Aye?

http://news.bbc.co.u...ll/14568630.stm

Hearts may not have done Scotland proud on the park tonight, but our support certainly did.

is harrys middle name "patronising"?

it'll probably turn out that it was all that pesky st mirrens fault again :lol:
GMFC?
WEE DIDDY TEAM

User is offline   Galajambo 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostCube, on 18 August 2011 - 23:30, said:

:blink:

Problem?
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

User is online   phanni tikklar 

• Third Division Sub
Ach well. What's the biggest home defeat in our european history!!!!

I can't make my mind up If spurs were v good. Or we made them look v good I suppose a mixture of both

How rangers and Celtic would get on I'm not sure. But every other SPL team would get gubbed.

Spurs. League earnings last year 68m.

Champions league earnings 39m.

Total 107 million.

Hearts league earnings 1m

European earnings 0m

Total 1m.

User is offline   Aurora Borealis 

• Third Division Sub
And by the way the embarrassing thing is actually all the throbbers saying "f**k the co-efficient, I hope they all get pumped" and now most are coming out with this utter shite?

Cringe-worthy.
"I believe we're living through the greatest age of discovery our civilisation has known. We've voyaged to the farthest reaches of the Solar System. We've photographed strange new worlds, stood in unfamiliar landscapes, tasted alien air."

— Professor Brian Cox

User is offline   LinkinFighter 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:LinkinFighter

View PostAurora Borealis, on 19 August 2011 - 00:35, said:

And by the way the embarrassing thing is actually all the throbbers saying "f**k the co-efficient, I hope they all get pumped" and now most are coming out with this utter shite?

Cringe-worthy.

You missed this Posted Imagefrom your post.

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk
Anyone who thinks any Scottish club can compete with any of the top EPL teams is a nugget, what happened to our mighty champions when they played Urethra?

As the name suggests the diddies pished all over them, Spurs were running riot in last seasons CL against some far better teams than anything we have.

Fair play to the Jambos fans for acknowledging the class of Spurs and their players tonight.

User is online   chico 

• Dry.
Hearts - Shaming Scottish Football.
St Mirren FC

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• A bouncy...
  • Euro 2012:England

View PostCube, on 18 August 2011 - 20:11, said:

Hearts without a doubt tonight. This Spurs team aint great its just hearts have been beyond shocking.

You clearly never watched the game then. We pish, this spurs weren't even firing on all cylinders and they were still far and away the best side I've seen against us in a competitive match.

View Postcraigkillie, on 18 August 2011 - 20:35, said:

I would say that 9 of those players would be considered first teamers. Stick Huddlestone and Modric/Sandro in the middle of the park, and you've got their strongest line-up.

I would probably have gallas in there for kaboul, but you're pretty much spot on. Livermore and Kranjcar in the middle were something else. I don't even want to imagine what would have happened if they had a full strength line up out against us.
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50

Ad Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

@robbiecoull89

User is offline   honeyboy edwards 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
I've been saying for a while now....every SPL club would struggle to be even mid table in the Chamionship.

Gone are the days of any English club fearing a visit to Scotland.
NEVER BUY FROM ARNOLD CLARK

• Third Division Sub

View Postchico, on 19 August 2011 - 06:29, said:

Hearts never shamed Scottish football

The SPL has shamed Scottish football. If the penny was ever going to drop with Doncaster &Co, then last night was the night. If they dont wake up this morning and realize that things are not working and change is needed, then we are doomed.

User is offline   CALDERON 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
We all fully expected Hearts to get beat over the two legs, but I was really looking forward to a good match last night.

Hearts were a disgrace. Fucking terrible.
Long ball (often colloquially referred to as 'hoofball') is the term used in association football to describe an attempt, often speculative, to distribute the ball a long distance down the field via a cross, without the intention to pass it to the feet of the receiving player.

It is a technique that can be especially effective for a team with either fast or tall strikers. The long ball technique is also a through pass from distance in an effort to get the ball by the defensive line and create a foot race between striker and defender.[1] While often derided as either boring or primitive,[2] it can prove effective where players or weather conditions suit this style; in particular, it is an effective counter-attacking style of play in which some defenders can be caught off-guard.
- Wikipedia

Ronnie Coyle - #4

User is online   chico 

• Dry.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 19 August 2011 - 06:52, said:

Hearts never shamed Scottish football

The SPL has shamed Scottish football. If the penny was ever going to drop with Doncaster &Co, then last night was the night. If they dont wake up this morning and realize that things are not working and change is needed, then we are doomed.

A 14/16/18 team league wouldn't have made a difference.

Hearts were wrong in terms of lineup, tactics and how they approached the game.

Hearts are an embarrassment.
St Mirren FC

• International Captain

View Postchico, on 19 August 2011 - 06:29, said:

And you think St Mirren could do any better? Posted Image

First half I agree that we stood off them far too much and let them play, we were almost like rabbits caught in headlights, it was pish poor from us, and hopefully it will have wakened Sergio up as far as standing off teams and letting them play, because we're nowhere near good enough to allow teams to do that, so we definitely could have played more of a part in that.

On the other side of the coin however, Spurs didn't even get out of second gear last night, and if they needed to raise their game, then they had plenty in reserve, the could have easily taken 5 off us even if we played a lot better than we did mate, and actually being at the game and watching their movement and pace off the ball was a joy to see, like I said in another post, they are without any shadow of a doubt the best side I've ever seen at Tynecastle and would have thrashed anyone last night, it took Real Madrid to stop them last season in the QF's of the CL, I'm not sure why anyone was expecting a diddy club to turn them over last night to be honest, and most Jambos I know had money on Spurs to fund a trip to London next week :D
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

User is offline   baillieinleeds 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Gamertag:Apollyon Sun
I've been getting loads of texts from Leeds supporting mates, totally ripping the piss. I'm not a Hearts fan, but i do feel that as a nation, we have serious problems.
We are all Eric Drysdale.

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• A bouncy...
  • Euro 2012:England
Hearts were an embarrassment to themselves and nobody else.

The SPL does a perfectly good job of embarrassing scottish football by their own accord.
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50

Ad Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

@robbiecoull89

• Third Division Sub

View Postchico, on 19 August 2011 - 07:39, said:

A 14/16/18 team league wouldn't have made a difference.

Hearts were wrong in terms of lineup, tactics and how they approached the game.

Hearts are an embarrassment.

Any SPL team would have got a new hole ripped by Spurs last night.

The gap is huge between the two leagues, gone are the days of Dundee Utd giving Man Utd a game, Rangers skelping Leeds.

Spurs were in second gear and this could easily be a double figure aggregate score.

It wouldn't matter what tactics, line up, manager that Hearts put out, the result would have been the same.

• International Captain

View Postthe jambo-rocker, on 19 August 2011 - 08:08, said:

Hearts were an embarrassment to themselves and nobody else.

The SPL does a perfectly good job of embarrassing scottish football by their own accord.

We're such an embarrassment to Scottish football that we're still the only side to get through a round of any kind in this years competitions, that says a lot for the rest :lol:

User is offline   jagfox 

• International Regular
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine

View Postbaillieinleeds, on 19 August 2011 - 08:01, said:

I've been getting loads of texts from Leeds supporting mates, totally ripping the piss. I'm not a Hearts fan, but i do feel that as a nation, we have serious problems.

My mate is a Leeds fan, I usually shut him up by texting him their latest score or telling him to look at the championship league table.

This post has been edited by jagfox: 19 August 2011 - 08:44

User is offline   baillieinleeds 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Gamertag:Apollyon Sun

View Postjagfox, on 19 August 2011 - 08:43, said:

My mate is a Leeds fan, I usually shut him up by texting him their latest score or telling him to look at the championship league table.

I know, Leeds are fucking honking. I laugh like f**k when i see the thousands that descend upon Elland road full of expectation, only to come away pissed off with another defeat. Piss poor players, piss poor manager, need i go on :lol:
We are all Eric Drysdale.

User is offline   Monkey Tennis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
I thought Hearts would lose last night and end up losing the tie by quite a big margin over the two legs. '

0-5 at home came as a bit of a mild surprise, but really not the huge shock, some reactions here suggest.

Even the stuff about England having ten times our population, misses the point. In the club game, Spurs can plunder the best of the world market, while even the better Scottish players won't now be at a club like Hearts.
Despite lazy "Battle of Britain" stuff still getting trotted out, this was never likely to be as close as some have been.
Celtic against Stoke might have been less of a mismatch, but here we were talking about a non-OF side against as strong an EPL side as you can get at this stage of the Europa thingy.

Results like last night's just persuade me that we should really stop agonising over how our clubs do in Europe. European club competitions used to be good, but they and the biggest domestic leagues have been carved up in such a way as to ensure that European tournaments are parties to which we've not been invited.

I know my brand of isolationism can be attacked as short sighted, but comparing our clubs to English ones is now entirely redundant.
Their teams are much better than ours because their players are much better than ours because their clubs can afford to pay them much more - it really is absolutely that simple. I'd like our domestic game to be more interesting and I want good Scottish players to be produced for the sake of the national team.
What happened last night however, was just that a very rich club gubbed a much poorer one. I don't see what other conclusions can be drawn.

This post has been edited by Monkey Tennis: 19 August 2011 - 10:06

User is offline   jester 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd

View Postphanni tikklar, on 19 August 2011 - 00:00, said:

Ach well. What's the biggest home defeat in our european history!!!!

I suppose you still have your biggest ever away defeat to look forward to as well ;)
The BBC will lie to you. Where they cannot lie they will misreport. What they cannot misreport they will ignore.
Posted Image

• International Captain

View PostMonkey Tennis, on 19 August 2011 - 09:13, said:

I thought Hearts would lose last night and end up losing the tie by quite a big margin over the two legs. '

0-5 at home came as a bit of a mild surprise, but really not the huge shock, some reactions here suggest.

Even the stuff about England having ten times our population, misses the point. In the club game, Spurs can plunder the best of the world market, while even the better Scottish players won't now be at a club like Hearts.
Despite lazy "Battle of Britain" stuff still getting trotted out, this was never likely to be as close as some have been.
Celtic against Stoke might have been less of a mismatch, but here we were talking about a non-OF side against as strong an EPL side as you can get at this stage of the Europa thingy.

Results like last night's just persuade me that we should really stop agonising over how our clubs do in Europe. European club competitions used to be good, but they and the biggest domestic leagues have been carved up in such a way as to ensure that European tournaments are parties to which we've not been invited.

I know my brand of isolationism can be attacked as short sighted, but comparing our clubs to English ones is now entirely redundant.
Their clubs are much better than ours because their players are much better than our because their clubs can afford to pay them much more - it really is absolutely that simple. I'd like our domestic game to be more interesting and I want good Scottish players to be produced for the sake of the national team.
What happened last night however, was just that a very rich club gubbed a much poorer one. I don't see what other conclusions can be drawn.

This is a very good post, and completely nails it for me.

The seeding for Europe these days means that the smaller clubs are rarely going to get into the Europa League group stages, Hearts and Aberdeen have both been there before, but I reckon it will be a very long time before anyone outside the Old Firm gets there again due to being unseeded, even the Old Firm who were both seeded are really struggling in their ties, that's how hopeless we are as a nation right now. Football in general is knackered, the rich keep on getting richer, and the poor just keep on getting poorer, it's actually becoming very boring now.

User is offline   betting competition 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View PostAurora Borealis, on 18 August 2011 - 22:05, said:

Yeah because any other Scottish club would of done far better lmfao. :lol:

Mongoloids. :lol:

Aberdeen drawn with Bayern a side that has spent more than Spurs. Hearts was a shambles last night - no doubt about that. Fair enough the gulf is pretty big but you should have been better organised and tough to beat but sadly you wasn't.

• (5 Pages) +