Also, yes, we have less money than the english prem teams, but the reason we fail in europe is due to severe mismanagement at all levels of both old firm clubs.
Message for the Government of Scotland Please do more to save our game........
Posted 25 August 2011 - 20:56
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Gretna
Our greatest glory consists not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.

Posted 25 August 2011 - 21:03
- My Team:Ayr United
- Euro 2012:Croatia
- Gamertag:Always nae ambition!!
pacman, on 25 August 2011 - 20:54, said:
And get chucked out of all competitions as FIFA and UEFA regulations stop governments for intervening in the football authorities of their countries?
Maybe it's time for countries like us to go back to the beginning. We should forget the Champions League and the UEFA League and maybe team up with the two Irelands and make a Celtic League. I'm sure Belfast and Dublin would challenge the Glasgow clubs.
FFS we must be the only country in the world where our capital's teams cannae muster a challenge.
I didnae ken makin cheese made ye a big cheese!
Posted 25 August 2011 - 21:10
- My Team:Linlithgow Rose
- Euro 2012:Russia
- Gamertag:colonel_sanders1 (PS3)
HibeeJibee, on 25 August 2011 - 20:53, said:
Did Rangers and Celtic lose tonight due to a shortage of grassroots community facilities...? No they did not, they have much superior resources and players to their opposition - and they lost both ties.
Even if they did, we know the price... £500,000,000. The entire central government expenditure of the nation for a week-and-a-half.
In times of austerity, who stumps-up that half a billion?
Even if they did, we know the price... £500,000,000. The entire central government expenditure of the nation for a week-and-a-half.
In times of austerity, who stumps-up that half a billion?
Im curious. Youre always here on these what-is-to-be-done threads, and you're more informed and seem more knowledgable than most. What's your opinion? Is there a way back to (relative) glory for scottish football? Genuine question, its just you're forever saying why summer football, 16 team spl etc won't work, but i dont know what your position is.
'well let me quote the late, great colonel sanders, who said, 'im too drunk to taste this chicken'
Posted 25 August 2011 - 21:16
ThatBoyRonaldo,
on 25 August 2011 - 21:10, said:
Im curious. Youre always here on these what-is-to-be-done threads, and you're more informed and seem more knowledgable than most. What's your opinion? Is there a way back to (relative) glory for scottish football? Genuine question, its just you're forever saying why summer football, 16 team spl etc won't work, but i dont know what your position is.
My position is that the glory days... the 1960s... cannot ever be reclaimed no. The football world has changed. We do need to have Rangers and Celtic winning games like tonight, but they aren't losing these games due to strategic structural deficiencies in the national game.
They have the resources and players to beat this opposition.
The question is why these 2 behemoths are stuttering so badly, despite their resources.
EDIT: I do believe we need to improve tactics/style of play, and I do believe we need to improve facilities (but we haven't the cash)... But neither of these bad results tonight is explained by those factors.
This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 25 August 2011 - 21:18
Posted 25 August 2011 - 21:25
- My Team:Linlithgow Rose
- Euro 2012:Russia
- Gamertag:colonel_sanders1 (PS3)
HibeeJibee, on 25 August 2011 - 21:16, said:
My position is that the glory days... the 1960s... cannot ever be reclaimed no. The football world has changed. We do need to have Rangers and Celtic winning games like tonight, but they aren't losing these games due to strategic structural deficiencies in the national game.
The question is why these 2 behemoths are stuttering so badly, despite their resources.
Well I dont think anyone with half a brain is suggesting that there exists a solution that will have scottish clubs doing as well as they did in the 60s.
All you've done is restate my question to you. What do you think should be done?
edit: sorry just saw your edit.
This post has been edited by ThatBoyRonaldo: 25 August 2011 - 21:26
'well let me quote the late, great colonel sanders, who said, 'im too drunk to taste this chicken'
Posted 25 August 2011 - 21:54
ThatBoyRonaldo,
on 25 August 2011 - 21:25, said:
All you've done is restate my question to you. What do you think should be done?
No bother. I would make changes.
I think we can squeeze a bit more money and a bit more competitiveness out of the system... I'd have a 14-team SPL, European and Promotion-Relegation play-offs, a Scottish Super Cup (income goes to developing facilities), 2-legged League Cup SFs. I'd have a pyramid system and open-up the Scottish Cup - I'd liberalise and encourage the fitting of artificial turf too. I'd change the points system to a rugby-style model, with bonus points. I would reform the U-19/Reserve League set-up as a united model for all clubs. I would improve facilities. I would attempt to change our tactics and certain styles of play.
I have never believed the game cannot be improved.
But I have also always believed that reforms must be based upon logic, and not upon emotion/nostalgia.
Posted 26 August 2011 - 10:06
- My Team:Ayr United
- Euro 2012:Croatia
- Gamertag:Always nae ambition!!
HibeeJibee, on 25 August 2011 - 21:54, said:
No bother. I would make changes.
I think we can squeeze a bit more money and a bit more competitiveness out of the system... I'd have a 14-team SPL, European and Promotion-Relegation play-offs, a Scottish Super Cup (income goes to developing facilities), 2-legged League Cup SFs. I'd have a pyramid system and open-up the Scottish Cup - I'd liberalise and encourage the fitting of artificial turf too. I'd change the points system to a rugby-style model, with bonus points. I would reform the U-19/Reserve League set-up as a united model for all clubs. I would improve facilities. I would attempt to change our tactics and certain styles of play.
But I have also always believed that reforms must be based upon logic, and not upon emotion/nostalgia.
Can't argue with any of that, other than that Queens have to be in the top League of fourteen clubs.
Oh, and also that Chick Young allows Queens back into Europe.
I didnae ken makin cheese made ye a big cheese!
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 25 2012 17:44
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd