Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Message for the Government of Scotland - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

Message for the Government of Scotland Please do more to save our game........

User is offline   Truthhurts 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
  • Gamertag:Always nae ambition!!
Talk, talk and more talk and still the same old thing. The Scottish Government has to act now or we are fooked. :angry:
I didnae ken makin cheese made ye a big cheese!

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Perhaps we could give our clubs £60m to spend on players? That's how much this Spurs team cost to assemble.

User is offline   betting competition 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Aberdeen
Sky has ruined the scottish game more than anything. Our league can't even compete with league 1 teams so how are they going to compete with EPL. Hearts have been dreadful though, at least Aberdeen gave Bayern a game first leg.

• First Division Sub

View Postbetting competition, on 18 August 2011 - 19:24, said:

Sky has ruined the scottish game more than anything. Our league can't even compete with league 1 teams so how are they going to compete with EPL. Hearts have been dreadful though, at least Aberdeen gave Bayern a game first leg.

Well if someone could please go on to the CarlisleMAD board please, they are destroying us on there. :angry:

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View PostTruthhurts, on 18 August 2011 - 19:06, said:

Talk, talk and more talk and still the same old thing. The Scottish Government has to act now or we are fooked. :angry:

What's the government supposed to do, exactly? It already puts a lot of money into the game through Sportscotland, Cashback for Communitis, the SFP, it now sponsors the League Cup to the tune of £1M a year, and both national and local goverment - or government-funded organisations (e.g. unis) - often help co-finance football infrastructure.

It's not the public purse's job to subsidise professional football, especially during times of severe economic stringency.

User is offline   Cube 

• My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:Tommy tait
Terrible thread, It should read message for Vladamir Romanov.

Lets cut to the facts, this isn't a great Spurs team, take out Van der Vaart and there isn't much to get excited about. This has been an exercise in Getting EVERYTHING possible wrong by a the new manager who clearly hasn't a clue what he is doing.

Jim Jeffries would have made this HOME leg a real 50/50.

Honestly why is Jamie Hamill playing against bale? Whats wrong with the lad that won MOTM against Rangers? He is faster than bale and would have nulified him instantly.

Why when EVERYONE knows where Van Der Vaart plays is there no-one in his area?

Why have hearts been told to press the ball everywhere? Crazy!

Why no place for Scott Robinson when pace is clearly needed?

This game could finish 1 or 2-3 if the manager just acts slightly sensible. IF not it could honestly be 0-4 or 0-5.

Higher line and pacey fullback and no space between the lines and this would have been a really close game.

Thank you Vlad.

This post has been edited by Cube: 18 August 2011 - 19:35

always sticking to the rules of this fine website.

User is offline   WILLIAMSHATNER 

• My Team:Queen of the South

View PostTruthhurts, on 18 August 2011 - 19:26, said:

Well if someone could please go on to the CarlisleMAD board please, they are destroying us on there. :angry:

just call them a bunch of tube face c***s who do nothing but masterbate over a bunch of over rated 'superstars'.

P.S tell him if they really want to be tested play one of the old firm and get thumped.

User is offline   LinkinFighter 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:LinkinFighter
Posted Image

User is offline   Chimpendale 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

Is that because Carlisle have such a world beating side?

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

View PostChimpendale, on 18 August 2011 - 19:53, said:

Is that because Carlisle have such a world beating side?

They have world-class superstar Rory Loy in their team. I reckon they would walk the SPL with luminaries like him.

User is offline   The_Belgian 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren
What are the government supposed to do? Buy over Hearts and sign Messi, Xavi and Iniesta? Then buy over every other Scottish team and sign world class players for each of them?
World Cup 2014 Epic Last Man Standing: Pick #1 - Malaysia (2-1), Pick #2 - Vietnam (7-1), Pick #3 - Bahamas (6-0), Pick #4 - Oman (2-0), Pick #5 - Iran (1-0), Pick #6 - South Korea (6-0), Pick #7 - North Korea (1-0), Pick #8 - Haiti (7-0), Pick #9 - Antigua and Barbuda (10-0), Pick 10 - Mozambique (1-0), Pick #11 - Curacao (6-1), Pick #12 - Tonga

View PostMidlothia22, on 17 June 2011 - 00:26, said:

Aberhasbeen, HIVs, Dumdee United, Murderwell, Kilfartnock

• First Division Sub

View PostThe_Belgian, on 18 August 2011 - 20:22, said:

What are the government supposed to do? Buy over Hearts and sign Messi, Xavi and Iniesta? Then buy over every other Scottish team and sign world class players for each of them?

Enforce a proper League set-up that might bring back competition and stop teams playing each other every three or four weeks.

User is offline   EdTheDuck 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Inverurie Locos
The Government :lol:

The clubs themselves are entirely to blame for the shortcomings of our game and the clubs are the only ones who can put it right - but they won't.
They are ably assisted by our media who will wring their hands in anguish, but only if the OF go out and even if the OF go out to the relative small fry of Sion and Maribor, come the first OF hatefest of the season they'll be waxing lyrical about the Greatest Game In The World

You couldn;t fucking make it up :lol:

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTruthhurts, on 18 August 2011 - 20:27, said:

Enforce a proper League set-up that might bring back competition and stop teams playing each other every three or four weeks.

How big are the Slovenian and Swiss leagues?

Oh aye... 10.

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 18 August 2011 - 20:57

User is offline   weeredbook 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
We all know scottish football is on its knees and the biggest problem is the administrators dont care about standards.They are like a horse with blinkers on a fast track with no interest about anything else except themselves.
No fans of ANY other team should be laughing at Hearts expense.Indeed they should be horrified that the people who "run " our game have came up with zero to improve it.
What is the solution ? well I dont know ,but there again neither do the blazers.
Its a sad time for ALL .

This post has been edited by weeredbook: 18 August 2011 - 20:53

User is offline   Waldo Ponce 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

View Postbetting competition, on 18 August 2011 - 19:24, said:

Sky :lol: you are such a retard.

Quick give me the link I must rush over and defend our honour!

View PostThe Phoenix, on Sep 7 2009, 12:02, said:

this isn't Afghanistan, it's the internet.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postweeredbook, on 18 August 2011 - 20:52, said:

We all know scottish football is on its knees and the biggest problem is the administrators dont care about standards.They are like a horse with blinkers on a fast track with no interest about anything else except themselves.
No fans of ANY other team should be laughing at Hearts expense.Indeed they should be horrified that the people who "run " our game have came up with zero to improve it.
What is the solution ? well I dont know ,but there again neither do the blazers.
Its a sad time for ALL .

Rangers losing 2-1 to the Slovakian champions is disappointing but not devastating, they can win the home leg. Celtic drawing at home to the Swiss Cup winners is also disappointing, but again they can progress. Both clubs are uber-rich.

Hearts getting horsed off one of the biggest clubs in uber-rich England isn't surprising... there is no solution, at league-wide level, put simply.

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 18 August 2011 - 20:57

User is offline   stumigoo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
Whoever thinks the Government can't do anything is talking nonsense. The Government decides how much money is given to Councils to promote sport within each area of the country. The Government is in charge of securing investment towards sports facilities, training centres and income to the Scottish economy. It is the Government who decides the National Curriculum and how much time each school week is dedicated to sport in general. I work as a teacher and the help given to us with regard to running football teams, providing equipment and coaching opportunities is absolutely minimal. Of course the clubs need to take responsibility and help people in their area, and to develop local talent, but the Government need to invest serious money across all sports, and insist on high standards in order for sport to develop and improve in Scotland.
Posted Image

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Poststumigoo, on 18 August 2011 - 20:56, said:

Whoever thinks the Government can't do anything is talking nonsense. The Government decides how much money is given to Councils to promote sport within each area of the country. The Government is in charge of securing investment towards sports facilities, training centres and income to the Scottish economy. It is the Government who decides the National Curriculum and how much time each school week is dedicated to sport in general. I work as a teacher and the help given to us with regard to running football teams, providing equipment and coaching opportunities is absolutely minimal. Of course the clubs need to take responsibility and help people in their area, and to develop local talent, but the Government need to invest serious money across all sports, and insist on high standards in order for sport to develop and improve in Scotland.

Which would be lovely

... if they weren't having to slash budgets across the board.

... and if it wouldn't take decades to make an impact.

... and if that was all that stopped our elite professional clubs romping their way through continental opposition.

It's not the government's job to worry about how our richest professional clubs fare in Europe, end-of.

User is offline   xaviermaw 

• Third Division Regular
Scottish football needs Motherwell back in Europe. ;)
Motherwell Football Club: Bigger and better than the diddies. Fact.

User is offline   Dean Court 

• Third Division Signing Target

View Postxaviermaw, on 18 August 2011 - 21:06, said:

Scottish football needs Motherwell back in Europe. ;)

Quite right. :thumsup2

User is offline   stumigoo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd

View PostHibeeJibee, on 18 August 2011 - 21:00, said:

Which would be lovely

... if they weren't having to slash budgets across the board.

... and if it wouldn't take decades to make an impact.

... and if that was all that stopped our elite professional clubs romping their way through continental opposition.

It's not the government's job to worry about how our richest professional clubs fare in Europe, end-of.

Im not talking about Scottish teams in Europe, im talking about our football in general and sport in general in Scotland. And of course I know the Gov't has to make cuts, but is that the same Gov't that approved to jizz hundreds of millions on some trams? And just because something takes time to implement does it mean that it isn't worth doing? Football in Scotland needs an improvement, and some might argue that an improvement in the game would see a return on the money in the long term, an investment for the future.
Posted Image

User is offline   G_Man1985 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Dundee

View Postcraigkillie, on 18 August 2011 - 19:59, said:

They have world-class superstar Rory Loy in their team. I reckon they would walk the SPL with luminaries like him.

They can still get to cup finals to. Carlisle rate him fairly highly also. Carlisle would sit comfortable in the SPL,

User is offline   weeredbook 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostG_Man1985, on 18 August 2011 - 21:11, said:

They can still get to cup finals to. Carlisle rate him fairly highly also. Carlisle would sit comfortable in the SPL,

There is no doubt about that.

User is offline   Jim McLean's Ghost 

• Third Division Reserve

View Poststumigoo, on 18 August 2011 - 21:11, said:

And of course I know the Gov't has to make cuts, but is that the same Gov't that approved to jizz hundreds of millions on some trams?

No that was Edinburgh city council. The SNP minority govt didn't want the trams but the other parties ganged up to give Alex Salmond a black eye.

• (3 Pages) +