Dbt Star V Saints

User is offline   ossie1968 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
Watched the game the night and I have never seen a more inept display of referreeing. To have a Dbt lad reffing was just stupid.

all replys welcome

User is offline   Super Mocio 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Threave Rovers
For hop to be put in that position can't be easy for him! Yes he got a couple of decisions wrong (for both sides)but other than that he handled it well! Let's not go criticising local refs! There's hardly any of them as it is

User is offline   engineer 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
more importantlythan slagging the ref what was the score

User is offline   weeredbook 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
What was the score ? Who impressed you ? What did the ref do wrong ?

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
3 - 1 to Star

User is offline   Walking Tall 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers
3-2 to Dalbeattie. For me, a draw would have been a fair result, but it's a good win for Dalbeattie. I thought Saints had the better of the first half, but Star had a barnstorming 20 minutes afer half time in which they got their goals, and that was the difference, they made the most of their period of the game when they were on top whereas Saints didn't. Milly and Scooby combined really well during that 20 minute spell, and together, they were very impressive.

Big Hop is the best referee in the area for me, no question. You can talk to him, the game is not all about him the way the likes of Colin Stitt used to make it, and he was a decent player himself many moons ago which helps him let the game flow and judge things from a players view as well as a referees. For 30 minutes last night he was as normal and having a good game, but he then made two mistakes in the space of a couple of minutes just before half time which went against Saints and that seemed to throw him a bit. Whether he knew he'd got a couple of decisions wrong I don't know but he certainly didn't live up to the high standards we've come to expect from him. What I will say in his defence is that any mistakes he might have made didn't cost Saints the points. To suggest that is absolutely ludicrous. I'm also not of the opinion that a Dalbeattie man shouldn't handle Dalbeattie games, especially at home. He's not a cheat, he's not biased, he doesn't hate Saints, he just had a 6 out of 10 game which we're all entitled to do from time to time. To me, it's a simple as that. To put it another way, I'd be happy if he's the referee at CD on Saturday.

This post has been edited by Walking Tall: 18 August 2011 - 08:53

Adams, McLellan, Grieve, Bryan, Roy, Smith, McGowan, Herring, Riddell, True, Oakes.

Scottish Qualifying Cup Winners (South) 1972.

User is offline   Dai Laffyn 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostSuper Mocio, on 17 August 2011 - 20:20, said:

For hop to be put in that position can't be easy for him! Yes he got a couple of decisions wrong (for both sides)but other than that he handled it well! Let's not go criticising local refs! There's hardly any of them as it is

As much as it was difficult for Hop last night, I believe that he certainly favoured Dalbeattie and at points, in my view, some of the decisions were laughable. As for handling it well, I don't think so. Over the last few games I have seen Hop, he seems to be more and more willing to engage with the supporters during the game, although he's not the only one, as I have witnessed the same histrionics from Mr Templeton.

There's no doubt that the referees have a difficult job and we have to be thankful that some of these guys take it up as without them there would be no game, however, the associations, at all levels want respect for the match officials. That is something that has to be earned, and in recent weeks, any modicum of respect I had is beginning to wane.

All of the above aside, there is little doubt that both are pretty decent referees and my views are probably somewhat tainted for obvious reasons.

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
I don't want to say he was biased in his decisions, he certainly called alot for Star. I like Hop as a ref and as a person. I have never seen him have such a poor game.
I would be happy for him to Ref the Saints V Threave game on Saturday as I feel this was just a poor game from him (as all ref have from time to time)

This post has been edited by ossie1968: 18 August 2011 - 09:09

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 18 August 2011 - 08:52, said:

3-2 to Dalbeattie. For me, a draw would have been a fair result, but it's a good win for Dalbeattie. I thought Saints had the better of the first half, but Star had a barnstorming 20 minutes afer half time in which they got their goals, and that was the difference, they made the most of their period of the game when they were on top whereas Saints didn't. Milly and Scooby combined really well during that 20 minute spell, and together, they were very impressive.

Sums it up really. The game at Meadow Park on Saturday now takes on a bit more significance given last nights defeat, and it's getting close to a must win game for Saints. The quality is there and there's no reason that they can't leave Castle Douglas with a win. The ideal scenario would be an away win on Saturday, followed by another away win at Islecroft on Wednesday night.

I can't believe that this early in the season we are talking about must win games.

User is offline   THESPECTATOR 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postossie1968, on 17 August 2011 - 20:11, said:

Watched the game the night and I have never seen a more inept display of referreeing. To have a Dbt lad reffing was just stupid.

all replys welcome

2 refs left in the south with colin saunders having to be begged to stay on a little longer.its no wonder with idiots like you coming on here slagging them off they cant get anyone to take it up.at least hops done the course and having a go.how about yourself taking it up.thought not the silence from you is deafening .hop is a big honest guy who like yourself in your own job will have the odd off day.any wrong decisions he got had no effect on the outcome of the game,saints should have been 3.1 up at half time,so maybe you should take a wee look at your clubs inefficiencies rather than slag the ref.i don't see you on here slagging the ref when during a game he gets things wrong in your teams favour.refs are now coming down from the central belt and at £95 for him and his assistants plus travel expenses its a wonder teams like heston,crichton, abbey vale etc are still in business where saints,dalbeattie and threave charge £3 to £4 they have to go round with a bucket where people like you put in a few coppers and then have to find the money for the refs from there own players who have to pay to play.some of the comments being shouted at hop from the saints fans standing at the railings in front of the stand were vile but then you here that kind of stuff where ever saints play

• PipPipPip

View PostTHESPECTATOR, on 18 August 2011 - 14:39, said:

2 refs left in the south with colin saunders having to be begged to stay on a little longer.its no wonder with idiots like you coming on here slagging them off they cant get anyone to take it up.at least hops done the course and having a go.how about yourself taking it up.thought not the silence from you is deafening .hop is a big honest guy who like yourself in your own job will have the odd off day.any wrong decisions he got had no effect on the outcome of the game,saints should have been 3.1 up at half time,so maybe you should take a wee look at your clubs inefficiencies rather than slag the ref.i don't see you on here slagging the ref when during a game he gets things wrong in your teams favour.refs are now coming down from the central belt and at £95 for him and his assistants plus travel expenses its a wonder teams like heston,crichton, abbey vale etc are still in business where saints,dalbeattie and threave charge £3 to £4 they have to go round with a bucket where people like you put in a few coppers and then have to find the money for the refs from there own players who have to pay to play.some of the comments being shouted at hop from the saints fans standing at the railings in front of the stand were vile but then you here that kind of stuff where ever saints play

Hop can take it, he knows he's going to upset somebody nearly every week. I don't know what was said admittedly, but I doubt he'll have been too offended. Theres a saying that goes 'wipe the shit from your own door first' and with some of the shouts from people connected to Dalbeattie last night, I think that applies in this instance. Players get abuse all the time from opposing supporters, so spare me the mock outrage that somebody dared to have a go at the referee. I said earlier that he didn't have the best game of his life, but he wasn't the reason Saints lost, and I stand by that. But, as you rightly point out, the supporters paid for the dubious pleasure of watching the game, so surely the have the right to voice their opinion? Saints' supporters made up the bulk of the crowd last night as they usually do at Dalbeattie, so they're loud mouthed and offensive, but they're worth a tidy wee lift when your team plays Saints aren't they? Could you explain the bit about the club ineffieciences? I don't follow?
Adams, McLellan, Grieve, Bryan, Roy, Smith, McGowan, Herring, Riddell, True, Oakes.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 18 August 2011 - 15:56, said:

Hop can take it, he knows he's going to upset somebody nearly every week. I don't know what was said admittedly, but I doubt he'll have been too offended. Theres a saying that goes 'wipe the shit from your own door first' and with some of the shouts from people connected to Dalbeattie last night, I think that applies in this instance. Players get abuse all the time from opposing supporters, so spare me the mock outrage that somebody dared to have a go at the referee. I said earlier that he didn't have the best game of his life, but he wasn't the reason Saints lost, and I stand by that. But, as you rightly point out, the supporters paid for the dubious pleasure of watching the game, so surely the have the right to voice their opinion? Saints' supporters made up the bulk of the crowd last night as they usually do at Dalbeattie, so they're loud mouthed and offensive, but they're worth a tidy wee lift when your team plays Saints aren't they? Could you explain the bit about the club ineffieciences? I don't follow?

i thought that for a man with your brains it would be fairly obvious.your fellow supporter comes on here moaning about big hop who had nothing to do with your team losing. your inefficiencies were that you didn't score more than dalbeattie,oh! lets blame the refand as for the tidy wee lift when you play my team,Eh!!! as i sayed we get nothing but coppers in our bucket when we play you

This post has been edited by THESPECTATOR: 18 August 2011 - 16:35

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
So, Mr THESPECTATOR, I am not allowed an opinion, I paid my money (and not a few coppers in a bucket), I am entitled to say what i think, I thought Hop had a very poor game last night, I never mentioned that it had any effect on the outcome of the game.
Please read and understand posts before spouting tosh

Thank You

User is offline   weeredbook 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
The bit about the buckets is one of the scandals of the league.Not the fact that the clubs have to try and help finances, but they are disadvantaged from the start.
Teams getting handouts and more importantly teams NOT.
The money should be split among all clubs,they all play a part in the league, and should all get the same.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postossie1968, on 18 August 2011 - 17:08, said:

So, Mr THESPECTATOR, I am not allowed an opinion, I paid my money (and not a few coppers in a bucket), I am entitled to say what i think, I thought Hop had a very poor game last night, I never mentioned that it had any effect on the outcome of the game.

Thank You

AHHHH!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!! so you say all replies are welcome in your original post then spit the dummy out when you read something you dont like..OH DIDAMS .sums you up all over. your allowed an opinion and allowed to spout rubbish about an honest ref trying to do a job to the best of his abilities but im not.i look forward to shouting abuse at you when you ref your first game.Some how i think we will be waiting a long time.

• PipPipPip

View PostTHESPECTATOR, on 18 August 2011 - 16:33, said:

i thought that for a man with your brains it would be fairly obvious.your fellow supporter comes on here moaning about big hop who had nothing to do with your team losing. your inefficiencies were that you didn't score more than dalbeattie,oh! lets blame the refand as for the tidy wee lift when you play my team,Eh!!! as i sayed we get nothing but coppers in our bucket when we play you

My apologies, but when you mentioned the CLUBS inefficiences, I thought you were alluding to something a bit more sinister than the TEAMS inefficiences. I agree, and I said as much in my first post. I also, wrongly as it turns out, assumed you were a Dalbeattie man when it mattered so much to you what was or wasn't said last night. If your team, whichever one it may be, had admission prices like Threave, Dalbeattie and Saints, the supporters would be only too happy to pay them I'm sure. They are asked for a donation, which they then give. What are they supposed to do?

Brains? You're too kind, but thank you SPECTATOR, you've made my day!!

User is offline   Guess Who ? 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
This wasnt too bad a thread until THE SPECTATOR turned it into an anti Saints fans thread !!!

Hop had a bad game, it seems as if we all agree with this. Build a bridge and get over it !!!!

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Postossie1968, on 18 August 2011 - 09:09, said:

I don't want to say he was biased in his decisions, he certainly called alot for Star. I like Hop as a ref and as a person. I have never seen him have such a poor game.
I would be happy for him to Ref the Saints V Threave game on Saturday as I feel this was just a poor game from him (as all ref have from time to time)

I can't see this as slagging the ref, just my point of view SPECTATOR

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostGuess Who ?, on 18 August 2011 - 18:11, said:

This wasnt too bad a thread until THE SPECTATOR turned it into an anti Saints fans thread !!!

Hop had a bad game, it seems as if we all agree with this. Build a bridge and get over it !!!!

That does seem to happen now and again. No-one likes us we don't care.

It would now appear as if the club are even disliked in their own town, give what has been written in the local press today. Now, regardless of club, the wanton vandalism at the club is nothing short of disgraceful and, if you ask me, not just the work of children. The fact that the felons had moved a diesel drum to the door, I presume that this is the door at the clubhouse,would make it appear as if there is something more sinister afoot rather than schoolboy pranks, and you can read into that what you will.

• PipPipPip

View PostDai Laffyn, on 18 August 2011 - 19:38, said:

That does seem to happen now and again. No-one likes us we don't care.

It would now appear as if the club are even disliked in their own town, give what has been written in the local press today. Now, regardless of club, the wanton vandalism at the club is nothing short of disgraceful and, if you ask me, not just the work of children. The fact that the felons had moved a diesel drum to the door, I presume that this is the door at the clubhouse,would make it appear as if there is something more sinister afoot rather than schoolboy pranks, and you can read into that what you will.

Aye, I read that article in the paper this morning but I do think it was probably weans or certainly minors who have done it, and if that is the case, I would still like to see the club get to the bottom of it with the help of the dibbles and see those responsible taken to task. Kids or not, if they are old enough to behave like this then they're old enough to take the consequences of their actions. I hope the parents are proud of the job they're doing.........

Saints aren't popular in the town with some at the minute, and it because of the perceived lack of locals in the team. They are not taking into account the facts though really. Baty, Dolly and Sam Warren are the names I keep hearing and how it's a disgrace that Saints don't want them. Rubbish, Saints would no doubt love to have all of them, but due to a lack of opportunity given to them by previous managers when they were making their way in the game, they had to go elsewhere. They're settled and doing really well where they are, so why would they move? They show a loyalty to the team that gave them their chance, and how can you argue with that? It's not the players at fault, but it's not the current manager or chairmans fault either. They are but three, and there have been other names mentioned who have been given the opportunity and pissed it up the wall. They know who they are and they can't say otherwise. They can't argue different because they know they wasted their chance and let themselves and their manager down. So what is the club supposed to do? They've had a wee bit of success in recent years and despite last nights result, they'll do well again this year I'm sure. With guys like Cluckie and Cooksley, winners who apply themselves properly and give their all every week and would batter their granny to win a a 50/50, I think the team is continuing to improve and raise their standards. They're not from Kirkcudbright, but they just want to play football and win games. Some of the clowns with a hard luck story about how they were passed over for Dumfries boys or Wigtownshire boys should take a long hard look at themselves and realise that the club is not to blame, they are. There have been boys who have played for Saints with maybe less god given ability than some of them, but they wanted it more and put in the time and effort and personal sacrifice required. These guys wouldn't make training if it was in their back garden, yet boys come from Dumfries, Wigtown, Whithorn etc twice a week in the pissing rain. I know who I'd rather have in my team. You can't have too many players with the mentality and dedication of a Cluckie, Cooksley, Kiltie or a Johnstone. That's my take on it, and no doubt there will be some who read this and think I'm a twat for saying this, but if they do, that's probably because deep down, they actually agree.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 18 August 2011 - 21:56, said:

Saints aren't popular in the town with some at the minute, and it because of the perceived lack of locals in the team. They are not taking into account the facts though really. Baty, Dolly and Sam Warren are the names I keep hearing and how it's a disgrace that Saints don't want them. Rubbish, Saints would no doubt love to have all of them, but due to a lack of opportunity given to them by previous managers when they were making their way in the game, they had to go elsewhere. They're settled and doing really well where they are, so why would they move? They show a loyalty to the team that gave them their chance, and how can you argue with that? It's not the players at fault, but it's not the current manager or chairmans fault either. They are but three, and there have been other names mentioned who have been given the opportunity and pissed it up the wall. They know who they are and they can't say otherwise. They can't argue different because they know they wasted their chance and let themselves and their manager down. So what is the club supposed to do? They've had a wee bit of success in recent years and despite last nights result, they'll do well again this year I'm sure. With guys like Cluckie and Cooksley, winners who apply themselves properly and give their all every week and would batter their granny to win a a 50/50, I think the team is continuing to improve and raise their standards. They're not from Kirkcudbright, but they just want to play football and win games. Some of the clowns with a hard luck story about how they were passed over for Dumfries boys or Wigtownshire boys should take a long hard look at themselves and realise that the club is not to blame, they are. There have been boys who have played for Saints with maybe less god given ability than some of them, but they wanted it more and put in the time and effort and personal sacrifice required. These guys wouldn't make training if it was in their back garden, yet boys come from Dumfries, Wigtown, Whithorn etc twice a week in the pissing rain. I know who I'd rather have in my team. You can't have too many players with the mentality and dedication of a Cluckie, Cooksley, Kiltie or a Johnstone. That's my take on it, and no doubt there will be some who read this and think I'm a twat for saying this, but if they do, that's probably because deep down, they actually agree.

That would probably echo the views of most, if not all, who pay their three quid week in, week out, home or away. The people who are greetin' about the lack of local players are those who have probably not watched Saints for a number of years and hark back to the "good all days". Personally, I feel that sort of view is very parochial as the game has evolved and I've never been one for the whole "taking part" pish. What's the point of playing, coaching or managing a team if you don't want to win every trophy that you play for? Fuqq that.

The reason that players are not playing for their local team, whether it be Kirkcudbright, Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie etc, is because the coaching staff don't feel they are up to the desired level required, and the players that they have are better, and anyone who thinks other than that is, frankly, a mindless idiot.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostDai Laffyn, on 19 August 2011 - 07:48, said:

That would probably echo the views of most, if not all, who pay their three quid week in, week out, home or away. The people who are greetin' about the lack of local players are those who have probably not watched Saints for a number of years and hark back to the "good all days". Personally, I feel that sort of view is very parochial as the game has evolved and I've never been one for the whole "taking part" pish. What's the point of playing, coaching or managing a team if you don't want to win every trophy that you play for? Fuqq that.

The reason that players are not playing for their local team, whether it be Kirkcudbright, Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie etc, is because the coaching staff don't feel they are up to the desired level required, and the players that they have are better, and anyone who thinks other than that is, frankly, a mindless idiot.

You still get folk saying Queen's should have more Dumfries boys in the team, when in reality who would really improve the team currently?

Colin McMenamin - was with the club last year, left for a good 2 year contract with Ross County.
Grant Hanley - :lol:
Barry Nicholson - :lol:
Woooooooof

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postossie1968, on 18 August 2011 - 17:08, said:

Thank You

SO YOU WERENT HAVING A GO AT HOP!!!

Then why do you start a thread about the ref instead of about the game itself????

You lost the game because your team didn't take there chances and Dalbeattie did and not because hop called a lot for star as you suggested

Just because an entrance fee was paid doesn't give people the right to shout vile abuse at the ref as was suggested in a post on this thread

Because of people like that and people starting stupid threads about refs only puts people who are thinking of taking up refereeing off. Therefor the South league has to get refs from the central belt at a huge cost in traveling expenses.

Collections in the bucket ,Walking Tall states "but they're worth a tidy wee lift when your team plays Saints aren't they? " WELL ACTUALY NO!!! just because teams have to ask for a donation because they play in a public park doesn't mean you cant put in the £3 we have to pay you.Next time have a wee look at the person standing next to you and see the dross in there pocket rattling into the bucket. FACT

I don't recall starting an anti saints fan thread, it just makes me so angry when people start threads about the ref instead of the game pay a few coppers,then think that it gives them the right to shout abuse putting off prospective refs of the future.

It seems i'm not allowed an opinion just like you

Take off the rose coloured spectacles stand back and listen to some of your fellow supporters they let your club down very badly. Take a we look in the bucket when it passes you and look how many supporters are there and it will not add up to you all paying £1 never mind £3 FACT!!!!!!!! !!

• PipPipPip
The thread is titled Dbt Star v Saints. It isn't about how good or bad Hop was. The comment was that Ossie68 thought Hop had a poor game. It isn't a referee bashing thread. Most of the negative, possibly confrontational stuff is coming from you. You're a man for your FACTS are you not? What do you base them on? When a team plays on a public park, there is absolutely no obligation for any person watching the game to pay at all. The thing is though, they do. If there is a beef with the amount of money the sides who play on public parks can make, maybe put a suggested donation amount on the bucket and I think you'd find the the majority of football people would pay it. As for the bit about the tidy wee lift, I've already said in an earlier post that I thought you were a Dalbeattie fan and that when Saints go to Islecroft, they take a big support with them. I also apologised for the confusion. You though, are sounding about as bitter and twisted as Jim Thomson does when he gets on his soap box about the member clubs and their handouts. Is your problem with supporters in general, or simply Saints supporters?

Of course you are entitled to your opinion, as is Ossie68, Dai Laffyn and everybody else. We all offer an opinion, that's what the forums are all about. But, because somebody doesn't agree with your opinion, it doesn't necessarily mean they are wrong.

This post has been edited by Walking Tall: 19 August 2011 - 13:40

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 19 August 2011 - 13:38, said:

The thread is titled Dbt Star v Saints. It isn't about how good or bad Hop was. The comment was that Ossie68 thought Hop had a poor game. It isn't a referee bashing thread. Most of the negative, possibly confrontational stuff is coming from you. You're a man for your FACTS are you not? What do you base them on? When a team plays on a public park, there is absolutely no obligation for any person watching the game to pay at all. The thing is though, they do. If there is a beef with the amount of money the sides who play on public parks can make, maybe put a suggested donation amount on the bucket and I think you'd find the the majority of football people would pay it. As for the bit about the tidy wee lift, I've already said in an earlier post that I thought you were a Dalbeattie fan and that when Saints go to Islecroft, they take a big support with them. I also apologised for the confusion. You though, are sounding about as bitter and twisted as Jim Thomson does when he gets on his soap box about the member clubs and their handouts. Is your problem with supporters in general, or simply Saints supporters?

Of course you are entitled to your opinion, as is Ossie68, Dai Laffyn and everybody else. We all offer an opinion, that's what the forums are all about. But, because somebody doesn't agree with your opinion, it doesn't necessarily mean they are wrong.

oh come down off your high horse. 'llossie19

Os,klwjj

ossie1968Ossie 1968 started a thread heading Dbt Star v Saints agreed

Also I do like FACTS

But the funny thing is instead of mentioning the game he goes on to slag the ref and doesn't mention the game in anyway.FACT!!

Or are you unable to understand that?

Also are you telling me its ok and you condone people shouting vile comments at the ref ??????????

Don't you see or maybe you don't want to see your driving young interested refs away with your dribble.Maybe you will end up with no league as other teams cant afford the traveling expenses from the central belt

Yes the buckets are for donations as they aren't allowed to charge as you well know but anyone with any decency would pay what there team charges.Didn't think you would have need it in writing just common decency.But you DONT. another big fat FACT.

Whats your problem are we all supposed to agree with you,or maybe the truth hurts. Either way when your standing on your soap box on Saturday please take time out and take your tinted glasses off and just listen to your fellow supporters with there outpourings at the ref and opposition players, then please come back on here and condone it if you can.

• (2 Pages) +