Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: The Gavin Berry Awards for Shitty Football Journalism - The Pie Shop

• (23 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »

The Gavin Berry Awards for Shitty Football Journalism Thank you Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postcraigkillie, on 27 January 2012 - 03:19, said:

Posted Image

Congratulations, you are correct. The pictured player was none other than current Oxford United star Peter Leven.

Here is the lollipop you were promised.

..more winnings for me this weekend from kilmarnock haha
If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   Katboy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View Postcraigkillie, on 30 January 2012 - 13:32, said:

I hope Ayr are looking forward to the League Cup final.

Ayr United 1-0 Kilmarnock (Scotsman)

That is just shockingly bad journalism. A so called quality paper should know better.
'Cunto there owes Jocky a tenner. If yi' see him aboot eh want yi' ti' phone iz immediately. Meh number's in the Yella Pages under "In Cherge" and also "Get Them Telt".

User is offline   beanroll 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Celtic
Hi Guys, my names Jonny Boyle and im trying to become a football writer. Obviously going from the topic of this thread it is for identifying poor journalism but hopefully you all like some interesting journalism focusing on everyone debating and giving opinions, much like the purpose of a forum.

Yesterday I wrote a story looking at Falkirk's kids and would love if anyone could take a read. I've also got some other stuff on my blog that may be of interest. - www.jonnyboylefootball.wordpress.com

I'm looking to focus on Scottish football - particularly the SFL - as well as up and coming Scottish youngsters. Hopefully with the co-operatrion of fans and teams I can help give the SFL the coverage it deserves.

I write for TheAwayEnd as well as Core magazine, and am the founder of www.talkingbaws.co.uk (still to go live). I am also looking at several other publications for my material to be showcased.

I would appreciate greatly if anyone interested could give my stuff a read and I'd be more than happy to talk football with anyone. You can get me on twitter - @beanroll or through the blog.

Thanks,

Jonny.

User is offline   Thistle_do_nicely 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View Postcraigkillie, on 30 January 2012 - 13:32, said:

I hope Ayr are looking forward to the League Cup final.

Ayr United 1-0 Kilmarnock (Scotsman)

Still hasn't been corrected as I type this. That is absolutely appalling.
Democracy: Where any two idiots outvote a genius.

Feminism is the belief that both sexes may become equal by focusing solely on one of them.

User is online   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other

View PostThistle_do_nicely, on 30 January 2012 - 19:29, said:

Still hasn't been corrected as I type this. That is absolutely appalling.

Ayr should do a Sion and turn up at the final demanding to play.

User is online   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Can you imagine the backlash if they'd done that with an Old Firm or Edinburgh derby?

User is offline   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostSergeant Wilson, on 30 January 2012 - 20:18, said:

Ayr should do a Sion and turn up at the final demanding to sit on their bus

If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   BigRubberFist 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Euro 2012:Spain
P. 56 of today's Record - Paul Tosh scoring for Queens in the 2008 cup semi.

Nice one Mr Sub Ed!
He came, he saw, he went away again

User is offline   Sherrif John Bunnell 

• SPL Sub
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Spain
http://www.heraldsco...earsal.16671526

Can't complain about the tone of this article, but it does ignore Elgin punting us out the Challenge Cup as well as a geography fail

Only Celtic and Hamilton Academical have bested County this season – both in the opening two months of the term – meaning this draw with St Mirren was a 16th consecutive game without defeat for the Black Isle club.

“I ain’t giving you no tree fiddy you goddamn Loch Ness monster! Get your own goddamn money!”

User is offline   true_rover 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:XBL: markf268
Slightly off from 1st Division clubs (and newspapers), Sky Sports News this morning had David Temple as opening the scoring for Hearts on it's news ticker. It almost wouldn't be as bad if the game hadn't actually been live on Sky yesterday!

User is online   Zen Archer 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
The Sunday Mail cites the Rovers having a chap called MacDonald being sent off, WTF.

I was in the Novar before the game and saw some Irish dude with a cold talking to the editor of the FFP, I'm blaming him.
"Budgies repaired, Wednesdays"

User is offline   true_rover 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Gamertag:XBL: markf268
Headline in the Scotland on Sunday was saying that Jamie Walker scored on his Rovers debut, despite the fact that he's been playing for us since November...

User is offline   Dr Koop 

• SPL Sub

View Postbeanroll, on 30 January 2012 - 18:26, said:

Hi Guys, my names Jonny Boyle and im trying to become a football writer.

Jonny, why in god's name would you want to become a football writer? That's a bit like "Hi guys, my name's Jonny and I want to learn to count to ten then stop".

That's the two dozen idiots catered for - what about the other 1950 of us?

User is offline   mugen_power 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
http://www.bbc.co.uk...otball/16993800

Ayr United remained two points above Scottish First Division bottom club Queen of the South after fighting back to claim a draw.

• Golden Shoe Winner
Charlie Nick gibbering absolute pish on SKY Sports about the Rangers shambles.

User is offline   Count Mongo del Fantastico 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
  • Euro 2012:Denmark

View PostSergeant Wilson, on 13 February 2012 - 16:28, said:

Charlie Nick gibbering absolute pish on SKY Sports about the Rangers shambles.

You didn't need to go beyond that point to be honest.
-Who lives in a pineapple under the sea?
-Simon Mensing

User is offline   Caledonian 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Billy Dodds predicted that the Ayr United v Falkirk cup tie would go to extra time. Maybe it will but it can't happen tomorrow night.

User is offline   Kitty_Boy 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:algem360 (XBL)
A shocker from a very badly written match report in the Scotsman:

Progress to the quarter-finals looked unlikely for Ayr, however, when they fell behind after just six minutes. Teenager Craig Sibbald’s cut-back to Willie Gibson was swept across the field and from 18-yards, Farid El Alagui rose to head the Bairns in front.

http://www.scotsman....match_1_2119193
AYR UNITED MATCH UPDATES, NEWS AND ANALYSIS

@albinoanaconda twitter + blog

User is offline   Disco Duck 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostKitty_Boy, on 16 February 2012 - 09:32, said:

A shocker from a very badly written match report in the Scotsman:

Progress to the quarter-finals looked unlikely for Ayr, however, when they fell behind after just six minutes. Teenager Craig Sibbald’s cut-back to Willie Gibson was swept across the field and from 18-yards, Farid El Alagui rose to head the Bairns in front.

http://www.scotsman....match_1_2119193

Aye, ridiculous when they clearly show Alston as scorer in the score with the headline.
We hope that you choke

User is offline   Dr Koop 

• SPL Sub

View PostCaledonian, on 14 February 2012 - 20:32, said:

Billy Dodds predicted that the Ayr United v Falkirk cup tie would go to extra time. Maybe it will but it can't happen tomorrow night.

Don't listen to Billy Dodds. My niece has a five-year-old son who talks more sense and has a bigger vocabulary than Dodds, although his head isn't made of teak.
That's the two dozen idiots catered for - what about the other 1950 of us?

• Golden Shoe Winner
Is it the same guy that works for all the papers that slams the transfer window shut, locks people in talks, swoops for players and snubs talks etc?

User is online   magee84 

• International Captain
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Yep. He of the 'ibrox/parkhead source informed us..."
Said source being some jaiky in the louden tavern/bairds bar.....
DARCY 12 march 2003
LUCAS 23 January 2004
RAMSAY 1 june 2005

Daddy loves you all......... and The Celtic as well obviously

User is online   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
The match reports are even shite when the big teams in the SPL* are involved.

Killie's goal at Ibrox today.

The BBC's take on the goal:

"Shiels eased past a few Rangers defenders and clinically placed the ball to goalkeeper Allan McGregor's right to give Killie thoughts of ending the day in the top half of the table."

Which Rangers defenders did he "ease past"?

*Killie, obviously.

User is online   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
  • Euro 2012:England
BBC have Montrose v Peterhead down as a second division match.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostCowden til i die, on 19 February 2012 - 12:07, said:

BBC have Montrose v Peterhead down as a second division match.

The Sunday Mail (un-named reporter) Has Peterhead "moved away from the drop zone" by winning. Someone better tell the 'shire relegation has been introduced to the 3rd Division.

• (23 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »