Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: The Gavin Berry Awards for Shitty Football Journalism - The Pie Shop

• (23 Pages) +
  • Last »

The Gavin Berry Awards for Shitty Football Journalism Thank you Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   raith_94 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
It would be fantastic if it turned out the Daily Record and Sun were found to have been hacking phones. Get them shut - they only exacerbate the Old Firm problem in this country.

New favourite thread.

I will be back. Often.

User is offline   Hawk89 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postoht, on 10 August 2011 - 10:51, said:

Diddy cup but related to this topic - couldn't even get the opening sentence right.

http://news.bbc.co.u...ll/14459075.stm

That really irked me last night when I read it. Who actually sent that report in? Beginning to wonder if they just make up what happens in the build up to the goals.

I'm just waiting for Billy Reid to be mentioned in the same week as managing Ayr and Hamilton as per usual with Ebbie Malone playing centre half for us.
@MarkoT1989

User is offline   RRFC2711 

• Third Division Regular
Sky score centre called it the Scottish League cup quarter finals, despite being eight games played , we also have Lillie Dyer playing for us, they have no idea of the play off situation in the lower leagues and constantly f**k it up. It becomes frustrating that no research or interest is shown or carried out. why dont they recruit (Media in General) from within. I`m pretty sure that our prolific posters on here say VT (yeah i know and i`m a Rover) would be able to give a factual report on the SFL, the county fan who has the statistics blog (apologies for forgetting name) and a true grasp of SFL 1 teams would be invaluable.

Rant over

Sorry to bore you
The Raith Trust.....You know it makes sense

There once was a man in the old stone age.....and he used to follow the weather..... (Roy Harper "The lords Prayer" dont be scared)

• Third Division Regular
And another thing, the one that really gets me....I realise Ayr fans have a different course..........The player who is a Legend at Starks Eleven years service, player and manager, scored THAT goal....i give you his address in the media.....Gordon Dalziel.......(EX RANGERS).............Fuckin Boooooooooo!!!!!! !!!

There once was a man in the old stone age.....and he used to follow the weather..... (Roy Harper "The lords Prayer" dont be scared)

User is offline   Don of the South 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
Great thread! And I'm sure it will be a very busy one throughout the year.

The lack of just basic research and knowledge in Scottish journalism is worrying sometimes.

Sorry if it's SPL related but there isnt a similar thread in that forum. Sunday Mail (I think) last week committed the very common mistake of "captioning picture of black player wrong" when they referred to a picture of Isaac Osbourne as "Aberdeen's Josh Magennis"

• Third Division Regular

View PostDon of the South, on 10 August 2011 - 13:02, said:

Great thread! And I'm sure it will be a very busy one throughout the year.

The lack of just basic research and knowledge in Scottish journalism is worrying sometimes.

Sorry if it's SPL related but there isnt a similar thread in that forum. Sunday Mail (I think) last week committed the very common mistake of "captioning picture of black player wrong" when they referred to a picture of Isaac Osbourne as "Aberdeen's Josh Magennis"

Never mind black players, in the eighties, Ian Ferguson played for St Mirren and Rangers, Another one played for Hearts and Dundee United, We at the time had our own Ian Ferguson This nearly melted the caption / photo fuckupometer..........

User is offline   madmitch 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View PostHawk89, on 10 August 2011 - 12:42, said:

That really irked me last night when I read it. Who actually sent that report in? Beginning to wonder if they just make up what happens in the build up to the goals.

I'm just waiting for Billy Reid to be mentioned in the same week as managing Ayr and Hamilton as per usual with Ebbie Malone playing centre half for us.

Daily Retard had Baird hitting the post. Pretty sure he screwed it wide from where I was sitting. :thumbsdown

User is offline   palmy_cammy 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Gamertag:CammyQOS

View PostRRFC2711, on 10 August 2011 - 12:47, said:

And another thing, the one that really gets me....I realise Ayr fans have a different course..........The player who is a Legend at Starks Eleven years service, player and manager, scored THAT goal....i give you his address in the media.....Gordon Dalziel.......(EX RANGERS).............Fuckin Boooooooooo!!!!!! !!!

Yeah that one really does my head in, it just adds to the notion that there are only two teams in Scotland. "Ex Ger Stephen Dobbie" is the recent example I can think of. He was at Rangers as a youth but didn't make a single first team appearance for them. He has since reached a League Cup Final with Hibs, Scottish Cup Final with us, and won the Championship Playoff two years running. I'm sure it's his time in the Rangers reserves he looks back on with the fondest memories though!

User is online   Owsley 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
Sky now seem to be switched on re the play off positions and the split, but it's taken them years. It also bugs me how they and other stations say "Albion" instead of "Albion Rovers".

User is offline   Duncan Freemason 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostHawk89, on 10 August 2011 - 12:42, said:

Oh definitely. A while back, a friend of mine at the time couldn't be arsed going to Paisley to cover the St Mirren game, and basically sat in front of my telly and wrote a generic report based solely on what was coming through on teletext. He was only hired for Sunday copy, not Monday, so he didn't have to cover player and manager quotes. He reckoned (certainly back then), that a fair old number of reports from the lower leagues were bluffed together in this way. Of course, if you were providing Monday copy and reports on the same game for multiple rags, then it wasn't a practice that would work for very long before you'd get caught out.

User is offline   ptptptfc 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Sky usually report that kris dhoolan or chris erskene is playing for us, also annoys me how the sfl doesn't get a tab thing on sky sports news.
Jackie Mac's Red & Yellow Army!

User is offline   McKee 

• Settle for the draw
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Yep, Morton had James Grady up front last night. According to every fucking outlet in the land.

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostOwsley, on 10 August 2011 - 18:17, said:

It also bugs me how they and other stations say "Albion" instead of "Albion Rovers".

What's wrong with that? :unsure:

How is that any different from saying "Ayr" instead of "Ayr United" and "Hamilton" instead of "Hamilton Academical"?
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   Comrie 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:nobracommander
I remember the days when Football First was on and they wouldn't even bother with County games at Victoria Park at times. Really, the papers only care about whipping up nonsense about the Old Firm for the loon brigade of the both sides to get excited about.

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 11 August 2011 - 09:09, said:

How is that any different from saying "Ayr" instead of "Ayr United" and "Hamilton" instead of "Hamilton Academical"?

The same say it's different from saying "Greenock" instead of "Greenock Morton" or... "Morton."

It's because they're known as 'Rovers', not 'Albion', if you want to use their short name.

I can draw you a Venn diagram or something if this makes too much sense?
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

• SPL Superstar

View PostComrie, on 11 August 2011 - 10:05, said:

Really, the papers only care about whipping up nonsense about the Old Firm for the loon brigade of the both sides to get excited about.

The Sun's Ramsden's Cup preview on Tuesday (I read it while waiting in a Chinese Takeaway and I'd finished all the ladies mags) had a picture of Andy Goram holding the Challenge Cup with the caption, "Goram led the celebrations when Queens won the cup in [whenever it was]".

Anything to draw the eye of the bigots. Probably works.

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostSwampy, on 11 August 2011 - 12:13, said:

The same say it's different from saying "Greenock" instead of "Greenock Morton" or... "Morton."

It's because they're known as 'Rovers', not 'Albion', if you want to use their short name.

I can draw you a Venn diagram or something if this makes too much sense?

Yes please. Draw me a Venn diagram you tiresome cause chaser.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   WendyWho? 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

POPULAR

View PostSwampy, on 11 August 2011 - 12:13, said:

I can draw you a Venn diagram or something...

I can draw you a Venn diagram!

Posted Image

It's nae bathir, pal. You're welcome. ;)
I'm as mad as hell and I'm not going to take this anymore.

User is online   Owsley 

• First Division Regular

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 11 August 2011 - 09:09, said:

Swampy kind of answered it, in his own unique way! They are different because they aren't known as "Raith" or "Ayr", their fans call them Rovers. Bloody stupid name anyway, always thought they should rename themselves Coatbridge Rovers.

User is online   Owsley 

• First Division Regular

View Postoht, on 10 August 2011 - 10:51, said:

Diddy cup but related to this topic - couldn't even get the opening sentence right.

http://news.bbc.co.u...ll/14459075.stm

What was wrong with that sentence?

User is offline   dave.j 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
From today's (Thursday's) Glaswegian.

here

The paper says...

Any deal to secure the one-time Rangers wideman would not involve a wage and he could pull on the club colours for the first time today in a bounce game against Kilmarnock.

in the same column they carry a quote from Ian Maxwell...

We have a bounce game against Killie on Wednesday and he may get a run out... .

you guessed it, the bounce game was yesterday. :rolleyes:

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike

View PostOwsley, on 11 August 2011 - 15:47, said:

What was wrong with that sentence?

The game was played at Cappielow.
Posted Image

• SPL Superstar

View PostOwsley, on 11 August 2011 - 15:45, said:

Swampy kind of answered it, in his own unique way! They are different because they aren't known as "Raith" or "Ayr", their fans call them Rovers. Bloody stupid name anyway, always thought they should rename themselves Coatbridge Rovers.

I call us 'Rovers', most fans of other clubs call us 'Raith'. In the great big world of lazy Scottish fitba journalism/punditry, this is merely a rouge sweetcorn in the jobby.

Nothing to see here.

User is offline   Raith Against The Machine 

• The Omen
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
A new week, and a new flood of journalistic bullshit, no doubt.

I don't have it to hand, but the Sunday Times report on the Dundee v Ayr Utd game takes a stonking early lead. Having already stated that "Moffat gave Ayr the lead", in the next paragraph it goes with "Dundee's Jake Hyde broke the deadlock" shortly followed by "Gareth Wardlaw was denied an equaliser..."

User is online   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
Dear old Hugh Keevins makes a Hannibal Lecter joke in reference to Ian Black. He refers to "lava beans and a nice chianti." I can just imagine old Shug ordering dinner like Del Boy Trotter.

• (23 Pages) +
  • Last »