HEARTS v SPURS

User is offline   Cube 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:Tommy tait

View PostM0rtonfc, on 05 August 2011 - 12:15, said:

Amazing draw for Hearts, with no chance of going through Spurs would have been the best draw for money and 2 great nights out at the fitba.

Wish it was us :(

Really? I quite fancy hearts to go through, Spurs are a decent team but Hearts should be good enough to take a lead down to WHL.
always sticking to the rules of this fine website.

User is offline   placidcasual345 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:se7enty2wo
Brilliant draw for Hearts. After all the shite with Thompson and Romanov's carry on, the supporters deserve this. Normally you'd rather be home in the second leg, but I think it will be in Hearts' favour that the first leg is at home. Tynecastle will be quality on the night and hopefully they can get some kind of result to take back down there.

'Mon the Jambos :)
Posted Image

World Cup Prediction League Winner

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:France
Good luck hearts.

FSW
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

User is offline   Tam1314 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Livingston
I have actually been at a hearts v spurs game, my ex-wife was a jambo and she dragged me along to a preseason friendly. I remember Lineker getting booed off the park when he got subbed and Gascoigne took some amount of slander as well, until he started messing around, shoving the ball up his jersey, and kidding on he was shagging the ref
C.O.L.T.S
Love Life, Live Livi

User is offline   A_Rover_In_The_Burgh 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
Will this be played at Murrayfield?

User is offline   Cube 

View PostA_Rover_In_The_Burgh, on 05 August 2011 - 12:26, said:

Will this be played at Murrayfield?

I would hope not, but suspect it might.

User is online   GorgieRoad 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
Pretty sure the tie has to be played at Tynecastle as it was declared as our stadium before we started the Qualifiers.

The atmosphere will be unbelievable. :D

19/05/1 2
"Hearts are Rampant!"

User is offline   YER SISTERS YER MAW 

• The Great One
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
This sounds a bit tasty! Although I don't expect Heasts to progress, I hope they make a good account of themselves and give Spurs a very competitive game!

Best of luck Jambos!
Hamilton Academical FC-Heaping misery and pain on the rest of the Scottish 1st Division, Season-2011/12 :D
Posted Image

User is offline   M0rtonfc 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Gamertag:PS3: harpoon83

View PostCube, on 05 August 2011 - 12:21, said:

Really? I quite fancy hearts to go through, Spurs are a decent team but Hearts should be good enough to take a lead down to WHL.

Even with a 2nd string Spurs side I just can't see it but I would be delighted if Hearts done it!.

MON E HEARTS!.

User is offline   A_Rover_In_The_Burgh 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
I would go to this if it was to be staged at Murrayfield but won't bother if it's at Tynie, let a true maroon sample that atmosphere. Im not a PT fan just think it would be a crackin match.

This post has been edited by A_Rover_In_The_Burgh: 05 August 2011 - 12:34

User is offline   Mr.Blue 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Potentially a great tie. Would love to see hearts do them and think they could at Tynecastle. WHL will be a toughie but if Hearts manage to get a good result up here then who knows>
A' we hear is, Radio Jocky (clap-clap),
Radio Teckle (clap-clap),
Radio Jocky (clap-clap).
Radio what's new? Radioooooo! Some-c**t-still-loves-youuuuuuu! That's what eh'm talkin' aboot!

User is offline   stumigoo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
Already spoken to a Spurs fan who said "not really bothered, Europa League is a distraction from the league anyway", the arrogance of some fans is incredible, plus its not like it is Arsenal or Man U, its Tottenham for goodness sake. This is a team that only a few seasons ago were nowhere near any European Competition and were mid-table lovers, now after a couple of good seasons they are all of a sudden too big for trophies like this and their League Cup. The English mentality is sickening, as they genuinely believe that their 'big teams' shouldn't bother with certain trophies, just to concentrate on the Champions Top Four (sometimes Five in the big leagues) Cup.
Posted Image

User is offline   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03
Great tie, potential to be a cracking game of football.

IMO this is the best tie Hearts could have got. Better Hearts play a good team, excite the fans and earn some cash than go out on away goals against some obscure pish (not disrespecting Hearts at all, just that we always seem to underestimate a lot of the so called unknown teams).

Looking forward to this and Tynecastle will provide a fantastic atmosphere.

User is offline   paddymcp 

• My Team:Celtic

View Poststumigoo, on 05 August 2011 - 12:38, said:

Already spoken to a Spurs fan who said "not really bothered, Europa League is a distraction from the league anyway", the arrogance of some fans is incredible, plus its not like it is Arsenal or Man U, its Tottenham for goodness sake. This is a team that only a few seasons ago were nowhere near any European Competition and were mid-table lovers, now after a couple of good seasons they are all of a sudden too big for trophies like this and their League Cup. The English mentality is sickening, as they genuinely believe that their 'big teams' shouldn't bother with certain trophies, just to concentrate on the Champions Top Four (sometimes Five in the big leagues) Cup.

Money talks. The money you get for being in the Top 4 and qualifiying for the CL is 1000000x the amount for competing in the Europa League.

Spurs need and want that money.

User is offline   buddie06smfc 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Poststumigoo, on 05 August 2011 - 11:52, said:

If any jobby decides to do the whole "good luck spurs" shite because of all the petty nonsense that goes on in these boards with regards to Scottish teams in Europe, then they can do one.

That won't happen because Spurs don't need any luck to beat Hearts. Great draw for Hearts because of the cash and a great draw for Spurs in terms of progression.

This post has been edited by buddie06smfc: 05 August 2011 - 12:44

View PostStandFree03, on 05 August 2011 - 12:41, said:

Great tie, potential to be a cracking game of football.

IMO this is the best tie Hearts could have got. Better Hearts play a good team, excite the fans and earn some cash than go out on away goals against some obscure pish (not disrespecting Hearts at all, just that we always seem to underestimate a lot of the so called unknown teams).

Looking forward to this and Tynecastle will provide a fantastic atmosphere.

I disagree.

It would have been preferable to get an easier draw with the chance of qualifiying. Get into the group stages with 3 guaranteed home games at Tynecastle with it bouncing against a similarly standard of opposition.

User is offline   Cube 

View Postpaddymcp, on 05 August 2011 - 12:44, said:

I disagree.

It would have been preferable to get an easier draw with the chance of qualifiying. Get into the group stages with 3 guaranteed home games at Tynecastle with it bouncing against a similarly standard of opposition.

OR better still beat spurs and then reach the group stages.

Hearts have beaten better teams in europe over the last 10 years than spurs. Expect a really close game.

User is offline   stumigoo 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd

View Postpaddymcp, on 05 August 2011 - 12:42, said:

Money talks. The money you get for being in the Top 4 and qualifiying for the CL is 1000000x the amount for competing in the Europa League.

Spurs need and want that money.

Of course the financial reward is higher, but the sad fact is that all of these english teams chasing the money, what good comes of it in terms of real success? How many trophies have clubs like Liverpool, Tottenham, Everto, Villa etc won in the last 5-10 years? Only it has only been in the last few years that these kinds of clubs have been desperately seeking cash, not trophies but cold hard cash, which in a business sense is great but for a fan? Empty trophy cabinets aren't great, but at least they have a solid bank balance (for now) Last 25 years - 2 Champions League trophies from English clubs, and 1 Europa/UEFA Cup, best league in the world don't you know!
Posted Image

View PostCube, on 05 August 2011 - 12:46, said:

OR better still beat spurs and then reach the group stages.

Hearts have beaten better teams in europe over the last 10 years than spurs. Expect a really close game.

Spurs are among the best teams in the draw. They have 2 international players for every position and beat Inter and Milan among other teams last year.

Sorry but this isn't a close game i just hope Hearts aren't embarassed.

User is offline   Hoopy The Hound 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Poststumigoo, on 05 August 2011 - 11:52, said:

If any jobby decides to do the whole "good luck spurs" shite because of all the petty nonsense that goes on in these boards with regards to Scottish teams in Europe, then they can do one. Cmon Hearts, hope you manage to pull off a shock, improve the coefficient, and stick it right up the Engerlish luvvies that swoon all over the English game at any opportunity.

I hope Spurs pump them
I reject your reality and substitute my own

View Poststumigoo, on 05 August 2011 - 12:50, said:

Of course the financial reward is higher, but the sad fact is that all of these english teams chasing the money, what good comes of it in terms of real success? How many trophies have clubs like Liverpool, Tottenham, Everto, Villa etc won in the last 5-10 years? Only it has only been in the last few years that these kinds of clubs have been desperately seeking cash, not trophies but cold hard cash, which in a business sense is great but for a fan? Empty trophy cabinets aren't great, but at least they have a solid bank balance (for now) Last 25 years - 2 Champions League trophies from English clubs, and 1 Europa/UEFA Cup, best league in the world don't you know!

Well to be honest its more Spurs who have a distain for the Europa League - or rather Harry Redknapp.

Liverpool and Everton respect this competition when they're in it.

User is offline   buddie06smfc 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostHoopy The Hound, on 05 August 2011 - 12:52, said:

I hope Spurs pump them

Hear, hear.

User is offline   SOL 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
Come on Spurs!

This post has been edited by SOL: 05 August 2011 - 13:03

Petrie and Calderwood the two men killing Hibernian football club.

User is online   xbl 

• Forward, together.
  • My Team:Arbroath
Thats a cracker of a draw, mon the Hearts! :D

User is offline   SOL 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
This has got potential for Trouble
Petrie and Calderwood the two men killing Hibernian football club.

• (20 Pages) +
  • Last »