Dalbeattie Pre Season 1973 Question

User is offline   stuthejag 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Hearts XI v Partick Thistle XI, 1973 in Dalbeattie

Wonder if anybody knows much about a game played between Hearts and Partick Thistle in Dalbeattie in the pre-season of 1973-74.

I found a reference to the game in the Evening Times 15th August 1973 saying that Thistle youngster Donnie McDowall scored both as the Jags lost 3-2 to Hearts in Dalbeattie.

Was this a tournment with Hearts and Thistle invited along or a one off challenge game?

Any info Please?

Stu

User is offline   Sermani 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
Don't know about 1973, but certainly know that a Hearts X1 played a Partick Thistle X1 at Dalbeattie in i'm sure it was 1970. A local football historian gave me some info on that game, think Jim Jeffries played for Hearts.

As part of the Dalbeattie Civic Week celebrations two senior teams were invited down to Islecroft Staduim to play a sort of friendly/exhibtion match. At the time Dalbeattie Star didn't exist.

I know that in 1968 Carlisle Utd played Clydebank because there was a programme for that match.

I'll ask about Dalbeattie to see if anybody can remember a 1973 match.
www.dalbeattiestar.co.uk www.dalbeattiehardrockchallenge.org

View PostSermani, on 31 July 2011 - 20:37, said:

Don't know about 1973, but certainly know that a Hearts X1 played a Partick Thistle X1 at Dalbeattie in i'm sure it was 1970. A local football historian gave me some info on that game, think Jim Jeffries played for Hearts.

As part of the Dalbeattie Civic Week celebrations two senior teams were invited down to Islecroft Staduim to play a sort of friendly/exhibtion match. At the time Dalbeattie Star didn't exist.

I know that in 1968 Carlisle Utd played Clydebank because there was a programme for that match.

I'll ask about Dalbeattie to see if anybody can remember a 1973 match.

Good stuff thanks. Oh and any info from the 1970 game would be appreciated.

Stu

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Poststuthejag, on 01 August 2011 - 20:27, said:

Good stuff thanks. Oh and any info from the 1970 game would be appreciated.

Stu

The info for the 1970 game i have got is filed somewhere in the house, ie not sure where it is- if i've still got it.

If know one else comes up with anything i'll have a good look in the next week or so, busy just know,or maybe go to the local library for a look on the microfiches.

User is offline   P.A.F.C 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostSermani, on 02 August 2011 - 15:25, said:

The info for the 1970 game i have got is filed somewhere in the house, ie not sure where it is- if i've still got it.

If know one else comes up with anything i'll have a good look in the next week or so, busy just know,or maybe go to the local library for a look on the microfiches.

1970- August 1st at Islecroft / St Cuthbert Wanderers 2 Hearts 4

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Found the bit of paper with some info, allegedly I was at this game, it was my 1st birthday that weekend!

Saturday 31st July 1971, Islecroft Stadium, Dalbeattie.

Partick Thistle Select 2 Hearts Reserves 1. H-T 0-0, Attendance 600*

Teams. P-T. 1.Shennan", 2.Reid, 3.Gray, 4.Ralston, 5.Clark, 6.Campbell, 7.Gibson, 8.Logan, 9.R Johnstone, 10.W Johnstone, 11. J Rae. Subs Docherty, Anderson, Mullen and McDowell.

Hearts; 1.Graham, 2.Livingstone, 3.Jefferies, 4Cant, 5.McAlpine, 6.Gallagher, 7.Murray, 8.Renton, 9.Heggarty, 10.Winchester, 11.Morgan. Subs Brown and McCormack.

The brief report says that Hearts took the lead midway through the 2nd half, Brown penalty, but McDowall the Partick sub equalised shortly afterwards, Docherty then netted the Partick winner with the last kick of the game.

* Attendance was only 600 due the the fact that The Hearts first team were playing The mighty QOS in a friendly at Palmerston on the same afternoon.
" Gerald Shennan was a local keeper who played for Partick at the last minute after Partick did not have a goalkeeper for whatever reason? seemingly he had a briliant game.

Stuthejag: i'll nip into the local library to see if there was a 1973 game.

Brilliant stuff mate, thanks.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostP.A.F.C, on 02 August 2011 - 18:49, said:

1970- August 1st at Islecroft / St Cuthbert Wanderers 2 Hearts 4

Anybody got any details of this match at all? Scorers, teams, crowd?

The boy that does all the local football history had a look through all his books and says the game was originally to be on Thursday 31st July 1970 but was postponed. This was due to the SFA not allowing friendlies before the 1st of August. But has no record of the game actually being played.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostSermani, on 23 August 2011 - 17:26, said:

Anybody got any details of this match at all? Scorers, teams, crowd?

The boy that does all the local football history had a look through all his books and says the game was originally to be on Thursday 31st July 1970 but was postponed. This was due to the SFA not allowing friendlies before the 1st of August. But has no record of the game actually being played.

If the lad who is interested in local football history wants i can get him scorers etc all i can say off top of my head is that at that game, David Graham, the Hearts keepers parents lived in Newton Stewart at the time and Saints had stepped in as a replacement.

User is offline   Truthhurts 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
  • Gamertag:Always nae ambition!!

View PostSermani, on 31 July 2011 - 20:37, said:

Does anyone have any info on the above game as I have the programme. Couldn't find out anything on the Carlisle MAD site either. Thanks.
I didnae ken makin cheese made ye a big cheese!

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostTruthhurts, on 24 August 2011 - 14:39, said:

Does anyone have any info on the above game as I have the programme. Couldn't find out anything on the Carlisle MAD site either. Thanks.

Carlisle won 2-0, seems the people involved in Dalbeattie Civic Committee were very good in there orginisation in the late sixties , early seventies getting all these pro teams to take part in there gala.

User is offline   info 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostP.A.F.C, on 24 August 2011 - 17:43, said:

Carlisle won 2-0, seems the people involved in Dalbeattie Civic Committee were very good in there orginisation in the late sixties , early seventies getting all these pro teams to take part in there gala.

Dalbeattie Civic Committee certainly attracted the big clubs back then.Those were the days before big clubs grew too big for their boots.Now if you manage to get a game they send down a team of unknowns.Football certainly has changed since the 70's.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostP.A.F.C, on 24 August 2011 - 17:43, said:

The details of this match i've got was, Carlisle Utd 0 Clydebank 2. Scorer; Moore 2. H-T 0-2. Both goals scored in quick sucession midway through the first half.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostP.A.F.C, on 23 August 2011 - 19:12, said:

If the lad who is interested in local football history wants i can get him scorers etc all i can say off top of my head is that at that game, David Graham, the Hearts keepers parents lived in Newton Stewart at the time and Saints had stepped in as a replacement.

Any details of the match would be great. Scorers, team line ups or attendance. Many thanks.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostSermani, on 26 August 2011 - 10:43, said:

The details of this match i've got was, Carlisle Utd 0 Clydebank 2. Scorer; Moore 2. H-T 0-2. Both goals scored in quick sucession midway through the first half.

Sorry mate, i got the score off Clydepark programmes website and as it was a neutral ground couldnt figure out which team had won as it just gave a 2-0 scoreline so i took a 50-50 chance on carlisle and lost.

Page 1 of 1