A Season of Pies II
Pie Hard 2: Pie Harder!
Rate Topic:

8 Votes
Posted 31 July 2011 - 17:51
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Dumbarton
Our steak pies are usually very good, though they tend to hold a terrifying heat for an inordinate amount of time. I usually buy one at kick off so that It's safe to eat by halftime.
We will never forget you, Guido.
Posted 31 July 2011 - 17:54
- My Team:Partick Thistle
- Euro 2012:Italy
WILLIEA, on 31 July 2011 - 17:47, said:
Just as well you didn't drop the pie. Those shoes look aufy clean and white. Good work.
Why did you need to quote the whole thing?
Great again, Gus, although the Dumbarton pies are usually a lot better than what you said. Roasting though.
This post has been edited by Smurph: 31 July 2011 - 17:58
@smurphptfc You should follow me on Twitter.
Posted 31 July 2011 - 17:57
- My Team:Dundee
Posted 31 July 2011 - 18:12
- My Team:Ayr United
- Euro 2012:Germany
The heat of pie's at the football seems to be a common theme, I've very rarely had one that's at the right heat to make me feel secure about my guts in the morning without burning the lining off my throat.
Posted 31 July 2011 - 18:20
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Queen of the South
It seems the hotdog was a leftover from last week.
Look at you. You're a slippery genius!
Posted 31 July 2011 - 21:39
- My Team:Raith Rovers
- Gamertag:PSN pubcarking
I thunk that sauce station should be mandatory at all sporting venues
Posted 01 August 2011 - 13:37
- My Team:St.Johnstone
I too was seduced by the Sauce Station at Dumbarton. Alas, it was a short-lived infatuation. When I went to add the standard dollop of tomato ketchup to the top of my - excellent - scotch pie I massively over-estimated the condiment dispensing pressure at my disposal and ended up coating the Station itself in sauce.
Embarassed by the experience, and disappointed in the Station I had so nearly fallen in love with, I went for a second attempt and was disappointed to find the correct amount of sauce could only be obtained following a good 9 or 10 pumps instead of the standard 2 or 3.
The Sauce Station - shite.
Embarassed by the experience, and disappointed in the Station I had so nearly fallen in love with, I went for a second attempt and was disappointed to find the correct amount of sauce could only be obtained following a good 9 or 10 pumps instead of the standard 2 or 3.
The Sauce Station - shite.
I'm as mad as hell and I'm not going to take this anymore.
Posted 01 August 2011 - 14:54
I've gone full circle on my sauce application preferences of late.
I used to always prefer blootering the vinegar diluted stuff out of a large squeezy reserviour but now prefer the small sachets you get. It's often the superior branded stuff and the individual foil serving pouch means you know it's not been tampered with.
You can dish it out with some degree of ease compared to trying to pump it out of a large vat or squeeze it out of a greasy spoon cafe style bottle.
I used to always prefer blootering the vinegar diluted stuff out of a large squeezy reserviour but now prefer the small sachets you get. It's often the superior branded stuff and the individual foil serving pouch means you know it's not been tampered with.
You can dish it out with some degree of ease compared to trying to pump it out of a large vat or squeeze it out of a greasy spoon cafe style bottle.
Posted 01 August 2011 - 15:40
- Gamertag:PSN pubcarking
the diluted sauce should only be used on chip shop purchases (see the sauce thread )for a pie i find daddies or hp equivelent is what is needed.
Posted 01 August 2011 - 20:35
WendyWho?, on 01 August 2011 - 13:37, said:
Embarassed by the experience... I went for a second attempt and was disappointed to find the correct amount of sauce could only be obtained following a good 9 or 10 pumps instead of the standard 2 or 3.
A common lament?
Posted 02 August 2011 - 12:41
In all seriousness though, the review you gave of the pie was an excellent one. If I ever go to an away game against Arbroath, I will take note of this and avoid eating a pie: opting for something that has more potential.
Posted 03 August 2011 - 06:58
Ah, the Pittodrie Pie beckons.
Candlewax in pastry. Mmmmmmm
Long ball (often colloquially referred to as 'hoofball') is the term used in association football to describe an attempt, often speculative, to distribute the ball a long distance down the field via a cross, without the intention to pass it to the feet of the receiving player.
It is a technique that can be especially effective for a team with either fast or tall strikers. The long ball technique is also a through pass from distance in an effort to get the ball by the defensive line and create a foot race between striker and defender.[1] While often derided as either boring or primitive,[2] it can prove effective where players or weather conditions suit this style; in particular, it is an effective counter-attacking style of play in which some defenders can be caught off-guard. - Wikipedia
Ronnie Coyle - #4
It is a technique that can be especially effective for a team with either fast or tall strikers. The long ball technique is also a through pass from distance in an effort to get the ball by the defensive line and create a foot race between striker and defender.[1] While often derided as either boring or primitive,[2] it can prove effective where players or weather conditions suit this style; in particular, it is an effective counter-attacking style of play in which some defenders can be caught off-guard. - Wikipedia
Ronnie Coyle - #4
Posted 03 August 2011 - 12:15
- Euro 2012:Croatia
Somehow our catering has gotten worse, its a new mob doing it. The two times I got a steak pie the arse fell out of it. We don't do hot dogs or nachos anymore either. Just pies in terms of hot food.
Posted 03 August 2011 - 13:42
- My Team:St.Johnstone
- Gamertag:Twitter - @Neildous
Big Gus, on 01 August 2011 - 14:54, said:
I've gone full circle on my sauce application preferences of late.
Lest we forget the used foil pouch makes a handy sauce spreader to ensure the entire top-crust of the pie gets a light-covering of the acid-stuff!!
Or is it just me that does that??
Posted 03 August 2011 - 13:48
- My Team:Falkirk
It's about time more grounds cut out the fripperies. Sick to death of standing in a queue 3 miles long watching Paw Broon and the bairns get to the counter and be gobsmacked at the choice.
"Oooh, will I have a rollover hotdog or cheese & nachos or a burger? Will I have cheese on the burger? Will I have crisps and what flavour? Will I get irn bru? Do they have diet? Will I have a Mars bar or a Marathon? Whit, they're cried Snickers now? Oh I don't want one then"

FFS GET A PIE AND A BOVRIL AND FACK OFF!
Seriously, that's all that's needed. Scotch or steak disnae matter. Whatever's to hand. Consider it an adventure. A pie & a Bovril and that way everybody gets served and back to the game.
"Oooh, will I have a rollover hotdog or cheese & nachos or a burger? Will I have cheese on the burger? Will I have crisps and what flavour? Will I get irn bru? Do they have diet? Will I have a Mars bar or a Marathon? Whit, they're cried Snickers now? Oh I don't want one then"
Seriously, that's all that's needed. Scotch or steak disnae matter. Whatever's to hand. Consider it an adventure. A pie & a Bovril and that way everybody gets served and back to the game.
Posted 03 August 2011 - 14:02
- My Team:Dunfermline
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)
Super_J, on 03 August 2011 - 13:42, said:
Lest we forget the used foil pouch makes a handy sauce spreader to ensure the entire top-crust of the pie gets a light-covering of the acid-stuff!!
I prefer using the plastic stirrers things meant for coffee and tea to do that
Posted 03 August 2011 - 18:59
NewBornBairn, on 03 August 2011 - 13:48, said:
It's about time more grounds cut out the fripperies. Sick to death of standing in a queue 3 miles long watching Paw Broon and the bairns get to the counter and be gobsmacked at the choice.

Great post, had me fair chuckling. I agree with you, observe the beauty of the Brechin price list last season (review 3). Just "Pie - £1.40". As I said at the time, that's you, fucking sorted.
Posted 03 August 2011 - 20:07
Big Gus, on 03 August 2011 - 18:59, said:
Just "Pie - £1.40". As I said at the time, that's you, fucking sorted.
'Just pie' get's my vote.
Posted 04 August 2011 - 06:43
I HATE being asked what kind of pie I want.
Idiots.
Idiots.
Long ball (often colloquially referred to as 'hoofball') is the term used in association football to describe an attempt, often speculative, to distribute the ball a long distance down the field via a cross, without the intention to pass it to the feet of the receiving player.
Ronnie Coyle - #4
Posted 04 August 2011 - 22:16
Prepare to give Firhill a 1/10 for everything.
shawfield shed boy, on 27 January 2010 - 20:19, said:
Seems partick are doing their best to relegate us again or were just doing it for them
man on a mission, on 12 March 2012 - 11:09, said:
Clyde fans care about nothing but Clyde, except maybe enjoying hearing of a severe pumping for the "mankies" up Maryhill way.I despise everything about them, including the fact that they "pretend" that they don't care, Although I must admit that I do miss playing against them. I only wish that they'd change their colours, as, Although I do like Frosties, I refuse to eat them as a matter of principle.
Posted 05 August 2011 - 08:24
- Euro 2012:Ukraine
Had a steak and a scotch pie this season, both were decent. Only one pint before each game by the way.
Posted 05 August 2011 - 08:42
- My Team:Falkirk
Brilliant stuff Gus. First time I've read this but something I'll definitely by keeping on top of. Some good descriptive language even if it is a bit close to the bone.
Posted 05 August 2011 - 09:27
Posted 05 August 2011 - 13:15
- My Team:Greenock Morton
lanky_ffc, on 05 August 2011 - 08:42, said:
Brilliant stuff Gus. First time I've read this but something I'll definitely by keeping on top of. Some good descriptive language even if it is a bit close to the bone.
Those pies get high marks.
As Jagfox says, catch up on last seasons thread, it's genius!
THE MOORE THE MERRIER
Posted 05 August 2011 - 13:38
http://www.pieandbov..._1#entry4627520
Not sure if that will work if not search under big Gus and pies. Avoid the baldy/hairy thread.
This post has been edited by jagfox: 05 August 2011 - 13:38
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 25 2012 22:02
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board