A Season of Pies II Pie Hard 2: Pie Harder! Rate Topic: ***** 8 Votes

User is offline   Big Gus 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Dundee

POPULAR

The first competitive game of the season doesn't half come round fast.

Best check they pies out again then, eh?

Mince Pie. £1.70. Served at Gayfield, Arbroath. Arbroath FC 1 - 2 (AET) Dundee FC. Ramsdens Cup 1st Round. 23/07/2011

A wee trip to Gayfield in Arbroath was on the cards today. Being very camply named and situated right next to the Pleasureland I'm pretty sure there has been some unfortunate male orientated dogging incidents down to a misguided google searches over recent years. We were here to play in the Ramsdens Cup. It has had a few names over the years, Dundee first held it aloft when it was known as the B&Q Cup, in recent times we've waved it around under the moniker of The BBC Alba Cup. Ramsdens are a pawnbroking firm seemingly. This is their first season as sponsers. Perhaps the shonky trophy could be fenced by the winners when the final is played in November to fund a move for a player in the January transfer window.

Arbroath is just 15 miles along the road from Dundee, it's a pleasant little seaside town popular with tourists. And why not, when the jewel in the crown is the Red Lion Caravan park there are not many better locations for a very cheap holiday. The town is situated near the mouth of the Tay estuary and it doesn't seem to matter what time of year you choose to visit there is a high wind scenario much like a Tayside version of the film Twister. While conditions may have been breezy but pleasant in Dundee the short jaunt along the road saw the winds pick up considerably.

Facilities:

Gayfield is situated right next to the Tay and it was fortunate the tide was out while the game was played as many a wild, wind-assisted clearance ended up down on the shale beach behind the South stand. Arbroath are a handy team and play in the SFL second division, a league below us. The ground has a couple of covered sections but it is mainly open terrace. This allows the Easterly wind to pummel any foolhardy spectator into near submission quite quickly. Today it was thankfully warm enough to stop it being too unpleasant.

Well over 1,000 Dundee fans travelled through, way more than an outfit of Arbroaths size is used to having visit. I resolved to get my pie in early. The stall was a small hatch staffed by a couple of juveniles. Just before kick-off there was already a hefty queue so I got in there as an early sell out was definitely on the cards here.

Posted Image

Pricing:

Posted Image

Fair pricing really. Like most places the pies were overpriced but nothing bordering on a full on wallet rape. Last season I tried to review only mince pies to bring some sort of fairness to every different ground I visited in the league and cup calender. I sat shaking like a shitting dog over my pan on many a Sunday morning for 10 months in the name of internet comedy already so this year I'm going to sample different pies, steak and perhaps the speciality numbers at different grounds. I'm sure the 3 young girls had more than one crude joke made towards them about "Funbags - 10p" today. The pricing for drinks was reasonable, the cold drinks came straight from 2 litre bottles into small plastic cups. They also sold Space Raiders. Never a bad thing, surely? Considering the huge volume of punters the girls served as quick as they could. Like most smaller grounds they keep it simple on the hot food front with just 2 pie options. Forget about a hot dog or a burger. This is probably sensible as a strong gust of North Sea wind could easilly send a flimsy bun all the way over to the nearby and popular Kerrs mini railway causing some sort of small scale derailment. I was told the mince pie was my only option as the last steaker had rather annoyingly been sold to the patron in front of me. More on that later. The warning signs were there when the lassie plucked my product not from an oven or even a makeshift pie warmer, but a cardboard box. Ooft.

A look at the Gayfield Pie:

Presentation: The pie came on a serviette and the first thing to note, the pie was a bizarre mix of being both cold but still sweating like Gary Glitter in a backstreet bar in Bangkok. All sorts of animal trans-fats were leaking out of it before I'd even taken a chomp. The crust seemed golden and properly fired at some point, maybe at the end of last season. Unless a small 2 bar electric fire was stationed in the cardboard box it emerged from I guess a cold pie was to be expected. The lid of my pie had an avante garde crimped lid section sticking out of one side. An unusal feature. 3/10.

Crust: This actually had some potential, probably the strongest point about the pie. The one I was handed had clearly been near fully cooked elsewhere but sadly it had been left to go tepid before serving. In this state there was no real bite to the crust of this pie but fully warmed through this could have been really good. There was a few layers to it when you tucked in. First came a slippery but chewy outside that gave way to a layer of softer membrane like pastry that was probably keeping the whole thing together. Heated to any sort of level and we'd have been onto something decent with this one. 5/10.

Filling: Again, hot or even a little lukewarm and this pie would have been getting well above average marks. It was moist and more than a little greasy, you had to keep working your serviette around as that soaked up both the exterior meat sweats as well as the grease overun from the filling. The pie was filled to the brim though and the mince filling seemed of decent quality. I'm sure this would have been very tasty if fully warmed through. 5/10.

Consistency: Game over man. It was a technical lift-test pass I suppose, most pies on a serviette served up to punters standing on terracing manage 10 seconds in hand. 2 bites in the soft pastry wall construction led to an inward folding and a small stream of cold grease running to my palm. The pie did the meat-Titanic and folded in on itself. After a third bite confirming it was cold right through to the centre I launched it to the terracing before I subjected my jeans and shoes to an embarrasing mince and grease shower. It was interesting for me to note that even after 120 minutes of football the bold Arbroath seagulls has still left it alone. 1/10.

Posted Image

Overall: 3/10 Piping hot this could have been an early frontrunner in the seasons pie contenders. The potential was there with a nice crust and generous filling but sadly the lack of pretty much any heat and the sweaty and wobbly state of the crust means the plucky seasiders only just scrape beyond the bottom of the pie-barrell.

Fifespud vs The Last Steak Pie:

I missed the steak pie by the skin of my teeth. Turned out the guy who made the purchase was 1 man in front of me and aware of the pie reviewing thing and introduced himself. Me taking a picture of the price list probably gave the game away. This is what the last steak pie looked like. It looked nasty. Best of luck to your hoop today, Fifespud. A pleasure to meet you.

Posted Image

Gayfield Park, Arbroath.

Posted Image

"Yeah, come to Pleasureland! There is only a slim statistical chance of your child being impaled on the fencing close to our bungie/trampoline combo things!"

Posted Image

Next Saturday I'm braving Dumbarton in the League Cup, 1st round. Wish me luck.

This post has been edited by Big Gus: 21 August 2011 - 17:30

User is offline   Lambies_Apprentice 

• My Team:Partick Thistle
Is Tutties Neuk still there?

I remember seeing Alan Archibald, David McCallum and Denis Connaghan on the dodgems in pleasureland about 10 years ago, what a great place.
FUK UP ... DONT PANIC WAT R U TALKIN ABOUT ... WE JUST LOST TO A SHITE 3RD DIVISON TEAM

Yeah it's still there. Not what I would call great in any way though. Paltry 25ml spirit measures and the lassie not selling us a carry out for the bus home was a poor show.

User is online   Bert Raccoon 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Bravo.:lol:
Beer You Are My Enemy,
Beer You Are my Friend,
My Mind Was Yours To Cloud,
And So My Heart Is Yours To Mend.

User is offline   Hawk89 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany
I hope you get Brechin in one of the cups. I know its Pies that are the name of the game but you have to take a crack at their soup as well. Its tremendous.
@MarkoT1989

User is offline   German Jag 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Who needs box-office, when you have this!!!

User is offline   spiggle 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Livingston
Have they still got the outdoor loos at Gayfield.

Nothing like a slash being blown in the wind and trying to avoid soaking the bloke next to you :)
If at first you can't succeed.......CHEAT!!!!!

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL
A welcome return Gus. I love reading these. Keep up the good work :)

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   welshbairn 

• My Team:Falkirk
Another minature masterpiece by the Egon Ronay of trans fats. Strangely, the intro reminded me of this. Takes a bit of time to get going, but worth sticking with it..

User is offline   Just a bairn 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Our new pies are shit. <_<
Bairns Trust - GTF

User is online   arfc5yearplanner 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Albion Rovers

View PostJust a bairn, on 24 July 2011 - 08:24, said:

Our new pies are shit. <_<

Wait till you try the pies at cliftonhill next week. Bring your wellies for the grease running out them !
Ireland 2012 Euro Champions.

User is offline   Fifespud 

• International Regular
'Twas a pleasure to meet you too Gus. I did feel like the proverbial startled rabbit in the presence of such greatness.
FWIW the steak pie was fairly good, excellent filling, but overall spoiled by the aforementioned cardboard box delivery method. The pie even survived one of the biggest 'schoolboy' errors I have comitted in the last couple of weeks. Desperate to get back to the already started game I quickly grabbed the brown sauce, disappointed that it was the cash and carry 'chip' sauce but needs must. I was just finishing my healthy squeeze when I noticed the real McCoy at the other end of the counter, one of the best things to come out if the Netherlands since Johan Cruyff, the untoppable Houses of Parliament brown stuff.
Anyhow what surprised me most yesterday was that I had always thought your avatar was a Simon Weston photo.

This post has been edited by Fifespud: 24 July 2011 - 08:52

Dundee FC - We've Survived Another Year - Let's Celebrate.

View PostFifespud, on 24 July 2011 - 08:49, said:

Anyhow what surprised me most yesterday was that I had always thought your avatar was a Simon Weston photo.

Trollol!

I'm no oil painting. How did your pie go down? It was maybe the free beers back in Dundee but mine came back on me repeatedly much like the pastry and mince version of a packet of scampi fries. Not pleasant.

This post has been edited by Big Gus: 24 July 2011 - 09:06

User is offline   Flemski 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • Gamertag:flemski
fantastic write up.

i must confess to having the contents of the pie all over my jeans as i braved to finish it as i was starving.. a dissapointing start to the season for sure.

User is offline   StuartTaylor 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Ross County
County Pie crew were all wearing "Big Gus Pie Champions" T-shirts.
I was too sober to take a photo, and feared being arrested for taking pics of teenage girls. We are also now selling 'Muffins' a new sign states :ph34r:.

Might try and get a pic next week.
Are we safe yet? Championees!!!!

Posted Image

User is offline   Lambie's Pigeon Feed 

• International Captain
Word on the street is our pies are utter shite this season with new caterers, I've yet to buy one though. Not the best when our starting point is already "well below par".

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
I had a steak pie with plenty of pepper on top of it yesterday. Twas the tits.

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   staggy4life 

• Highland League Reserve
A had a steak pie as well which was lovely. Also had a new muffin. What next, latte?
Hello down there!

User is offline   Fifespud 

• International Regular

View PostBig Gus, on 24 July 2011 - 09:06, said:

Trollol!

I'm no oil painting. How did your pie go down? It was maybe the free beers back in Dundee but mine came back on me repeatedly much like the pastry and mince version of a packet of scampi fries. Not pleasant.

Only kidding Gus - you ate of course a very handsome man.
Dundee FC - We've Survived Another Year - Let's Celebrate.

User is offline   Dunfermline1885 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dunfermline

View PostFifespud, on 24 July 2011 - 13:02, said:

He done what?!?

User is offline   welshbairn 

So that's where the innards of the pie comes from.Posted Image

User is offline   eindhovendee 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Spain
Excellent review Gus.

Put me right in the mood o' a peh. Posted Image
Eh telt him eh wiznae entirely comfortable committing them tae a life o' believing they're facin' eternal damnation in some fantasy land that clearly disnae exist and worshipping some mad bullshitter o' a burd wha claimed she wiz up the duff wi'oot even gettin' shagged.
The Pope says, "eh'm makin' a fuckin' fortune aff fowk wha believe a' that shite, Jock. Shut yir pus and drink yir free pint ya fanny".

User is online   Zen Archer 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

Attached File  moz.jpg (22.7K)
Number of downloads: 46
"Budgies repaired, Wednesdays"

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli
  • Euro 2012:Italy
Cracking write up again, Gus!

View PostLambie, on 24 July 2011 - 12:02, said:

Word on the street is our pies are utter shite this season with new caterers, I've yet to buy one though. Not the best when our starting point is already "well below par".

The mince pie I had last Saturday was decent. There wasn't a lot wrong with it. It was cooked well, not too crunchy or too soft and was generally all right. The one I had yesterday was awful. The complete opposite to what I had the week before. Still ate it even though it almost broke my teeth.

My main gripe on both was the lack of filling.

Our pies used to be great when McGhees supplied them a few years ago but they had declined in quality last season too.
@smurphptfc You should follow me on Twitter.

User is offline   jagfox 

• International Regular
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine

View PostZen Archer, on 24 July 2011 - 13:39, said:

Nice pick of dundeebarry. That could explain matters.

• (15 Pages) +
  • Last »