SPL Final Standings 2011/12 I can't wait any longer Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Hearts Daft 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostPineapple 9406, on 16 July 2011 - 08:57, said:

We've gone down the sign up promising young player route, rather than signing up the more expensive journeyman player. I wouldn't call any of our new signings journeymen including Tade. A big risk by Terry but if it pays off we could have some team.

Tade is a terrible player. No doubt takes that from his big cousin, Nade.
"That's a real thing with bigots - they always assume that people are interested in the shite they talk." Frankie Boyle

User is offline   SMUGFACE 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
As long as Hibs or St Bribery go down and Rangers FC win the league, I'll be happy. Posted Image
So damn smug.

User is online   utdtillidie 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:utdtillidie
1. Celtic - By a long way
2. Rangers
3. Hearts
4. Dundee United
5. Motherwell
6. Aberdeen
7. St Mirren
8. Hibs
9. Killie
10. Inverness
11. St Johnstone
12. Dunfermline
Walking down the Somerset Road...To see the Ayrshire aces

User is offline   Erin Go Bragh 

• International Regular
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
My thoughts on the season:

Celtic and Rangers will be miles ahead of everyone (look at me, I'm mystic meg). Ally McCoist will be a disaster though, and Celtic will win the league as well as having a decent European run.

Hearts will finish miles behind the OF but miles ahead of everyone else, both in the SPL table and the c**t league.

Fourth is really tricky, everyone else is totally shite and whoever gets fourth will be more ninth least shit as apposed to fourth best. Dundee United look like they'll sell everybody good, and I don't see why people think Motherwell will do well (McCall strikes me as a diddy). It could be Hibs, just as we could finish bottom three. I'll say Dundee United.

St Mirren will have a good season by their standards and might reach the heady heights of ninth, resulting in the players going down in history. Over time their achievements will be exaggerated, to the point where 100 years from now teachers in Paisely schools will tell tales of the god-like superhumans that made up St Mirrens legendary 2011/12 squad.

Killie will go down. Their chairman will knock down three of their stands and bring the seats to Cash Converters.

Irn Bru - The Establishment Drink. ABIB!

User is offline   Johnny Fingers 

• Third Division Regular
  • Group: Platinum Members
Celtic
Rangers
Motherwell
Hearts
Dundee Utd
Aberdeen
Inverness
Hibs
Kilmarnock
Dunfermline
St Mirren
St Johnstone

Glen Sannox to Erin Go Bragh, on 28 December 2011 - 22:23, said:

that is for you Plasticators, which country do you come from this week?

• International Call Up

View PostJohnny Fingers, on 16 July 2011 - 18:00, said:

Celtic
Rangers
Motherwell
Hearts
Dundee Utd
Aberdeen
Inverness
Hibs
Kilmarnock
Dunfermline
St Mirren
St Johnstone

Hearts 4th?
"That's a real thing with bigots - they always assume that people are interested in the shite they talk." Frankie Boyle

User is offline   Casagolda 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Motherwell

View PostHearts Daft, on 16 July 2011 - 18:02, said:

Hearts 4th?

:o

You never know, it could happen.
Posted Image

• International Call Up

View PostCasagolda, on 16 July 2011 - 18:49, said:

:o

You never know, it could happen.

When i think about it, we very rarely finnish third two seasons on the bounce.

User is offline   Casagolda 

• Third Division Sub

View PostHearts Daft, on 16 July 2011 - 18:51, said:

When i think about it, we very rarely finnish third two seasons on the bounce.

You are favourites but lots could happen..

Kyle's injury problems continue
Andy Webster... see above
Lee Wallace Sold
Suton doesn't fit in
Skacel can't agree a new contract
Jeffries leaves
Romanov goes mad

However as I said as things stand you certainly look favourites for third place.

This post has been edited by Casagolda: 16 July 2011 - 19:05

Posted Image

User is offline   Radford 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Whilst I don't agree that we appear as doomed as a lot on here are predicting, neither am I holding out for a particularly impressive season, unless we can add a bit more quality up top. Surprised therefore to see Scotland on Sunday predicting us to finish sixth. The fact they reckon a dreadful Hibs side will finish fifth though, just further reduces the credibility though and there doesn't seem to be pieces on Aberdeen, United or Motherwell up yet. Their full prediction (minus United, Motherwell and Dons) is as follows:

1. Celtic
2. Rangers
3. Hearts
4. ???
5. Hibs
6. St Johnstone
7. ???
8. ???
9. St Mirren
10. Kilmarnock
11. Dunfermline
12. Inverness
Fascists against Beatson.

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Just for the record that's how I'd have the table looking. :lol: what does that say about my credibility.

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostRadford, on 17 July 2011 - 08:27, said:

Whilst I don't agree that we appear as doomed as a lot on here are predicting, neither am I holding out for a particularly impressive season, unless we can add a bit more quality up top. Surprised therefore to see Scotland on Sunday predicting us to finish sixth. The fact they reckon a dreadful Hibs side will finish fifth though, just further reduces the credibility though and there doesn't seem to be pieces on Aberdeen, United or Motherwell up yet. Their full prediction (minus United, Motherwell and Dons) is as follows:

1. Celtic
2. Rangers
3. Hearts
4. ???
5. Hibs
6. St Johnstone
7. ???
8. ???
9. St Mirren
10. Kilmarnock
11. Dunfermline
12. Inverness

If the newspaper hacks put any more thought into it than the rest of us on here I'd be shocked. None of them have a fucking clue either.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   GorgieRoad 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
Thought I may as well bump this since the other thread seems a bit pointless in alphabetical order. With the January transfer window closed and 13/14/15 games to play, how does your original prediction stand, and how would you change it?

View PostGorgieRoad, on 12 July 2011 - 14:13, said:

1. Celtic
2. Rangers
3. Hearts
4. Motherwell
5. Hibs
6. Dundee United

7. Aberdeen
8. St . Mirren
9. Kilmarnock
10. St Johnstone
11. Dunfermline
12. Inverness.

That's probably going to be well off the mark!

I said differently in the other thread but swap Hibs (what an awful prediction that was!) with St. Johnstone and that'll be close to what the top 6 and bottom 6 will be I reckon. I don't think St. Johnstone had got Sheridan and Sandaza when this thread was posted so that could probably be why most people have put St. J so low.

View PostCasagolda, on 16 July 2011 - 19:04, said:

You are favourites but lots could happen..

Kyle's injury problems continue
Andy Webster... see above
Lee Wallace Sold
Suton doesn't fit in
Skacel can't agree a new contract
Jeffries leaves
Romanov goes mad

However as I said as things stand you certainly look favourites for third place.

Posted Image Outstanding!
19/05/1 2
"Hearts are Rampant!"

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2

View PostGrant228, on 12 July 2011 - 15:30, said:

So your pinnning your hopes on players that arn't even there yet? Finnigan and Higgins are first division standard at best, neither of whom really got goals at that level either.
Higgins won't score 10 because he simply isn't tat good, Parkin might but then I might also win the lottery, and it's probably more likely.
Your midfield could, but have you brought in anyone to do that?

Celtic
Rangers
Hearts
Dundee United
Motherwell
Aberdeen
Kilmarnock
Hibs
Dunfermline*
Inverness*
St Mirren*
St Johnstone*

Bottom four could pretty much interchange at will, Inverness I think will struggle a bit more without Rooney, St Johstone havn't so far solved their goal scoring problems and losing Dubery would've weakened the defence, St Mirren have one diddy manager and their signings are not as good as there fans would think and until Bell comes back our centre midfield looks very poor and it remains to be seen how we'll cope with the step up.

In fairness I made my prediction when St Johnstone never had Sandazza etc.

Aye, Good luck in life.

User is offline   Parscelona 

• Don't Diss The Stripes
  • My Team:Dunfermline

View PostParscelona, on 12 July 2011 - 11:47, said:

1. Celtic
2. Rangers
3. Hearts
4. Motherwell
5. Aberdeen
6. Hibernian
7. St Mirren
8. Dundee Utd
9. St Johnstone
10. Dunfermline
11. Inverness
12. Kilmarnock

Well at least i didn't predict us to finish top six.

User is offline   Swello 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
A lot of these predictions aren't too bad - with only St Johnstone being constantly under-estimated (but even their own fans were worried at the time of the thread) and Hibs being over-estimated by most...
"How much did you spend in the Club Shop last Christmas?" - Craig Brown.

User is offline   Steve McQueen 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Have we solved our scoring problems yet?

User is online   Just a bairn 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View PostThe_Bomber_Brown, on 12 July 2011 - 17:26, said:

Glasgow Rangers
Celtic
3-12 = Pish

YAAAASSS!!!!!!!

This was the best prediction of all.

This post has been edited by Just a bairn: 01 February 2012 - 19:18

Bairns Trust - GTF

User is offline   CityDave 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle

View PostCityDave, on 13 July 2011 - 21:31, said:

1/ Celtic
2/ Rangers
3/ Hearts
4/ Motherwell
5/ Inverness CT
6/ Aberdeen
7/ Dundee Utd
8/ St. Johnstone
9/ Kilmarnock
10/ St. Mirren
11/ Hibernian
12/ Dunfermline Ath

Swap Hearts and Motherwell around, swap St. Johnstone for Inverness and drop Inverness to 10th and move Kilmarnock and St. Mirren both up one place and you have the current positions in the table, so not far off. But will probably be quite different end of season though.
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 1st Division Champions 2010/11
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 1st Division Runners up 2009/10
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 2nd Division Champions 2008/09
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - Elginshire Cup winners 2008/09

User is offline   Estragon 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

View PostEstragon, on 12 July 2011 - 10:37, said:

Celtic (currently 1st)
----------------------
Rangers (2nd)
Hearts (4th)
Hibernian (11th)
Dundee United (7th)
Motherwell (3rd)
------------------------
Kilmarnock (8th)
St Mirren (9th)
ICT (10th)
Dunfermline (12th)
Aberdeen (6th)
------------------------
St Johnstone (5th)

It would seem I didn't expect St Johnstone to be so good, and Hibs to be so bad.

But my main point is - how the f**k are Aberdeen currently 6th in the SPL? How has this happened? I expected them to be absolutely rank before the start of the season, and nothing I've seen since has changed my opinion. This situation has really crept up on me over the course of the last 6-8 weeks, but suddenly I feel enraged.

View Postbullywee, on 04 October 2011 - 23:46, said:

a friend of mine's wee brother had a hamster called dennis

User is offline   La_Leyenda 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View PostEstragon, on 02 February 2012 - 11:34, said:

It would seem I didn't expect St Johnstone to be so good, and Hibs to be so bad.

But my main point is - how the f**k are Aberdeen currently 6th in the SPL? How has this happened? I expected them to be absolutely rank before the start of the season, and nothing I've seen since has changed my opinion. This situation has really crept up on me over the course of the last 6-8 weeks, but suddenly I feel enraged.

Probably because while Scottish football fans fall over themselves to claim Aberdeen are shite, they forget that their own team is generally pish aswell.
www.theawayend.net - Outsinging the opposition, every week

http://theawayend.libsyn.com - Scottish football podcast

User is offline   AberDon 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View PostEstragon, on 02 February 2012 - 11:34, said:

This guy >> Posted Image

User is offline   Ric 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View PostGorgieRoad, on 01 February 2012 - 14:09, said:

Thought I may as well bump this since the other thread seems a bit pointless in alphabetical order.

:blink: :lol:

You didn't need to put the teams in alphabetical order... * facepalm * ..although I appreciate with the Hearts connection placing 6 teams in alphabetical order was just too much for you.. :rolleyes:

This post has been edited by Ric: 05 February 2012 - 20:11

‎"Member clubs are mindful of a sporting integrity aspect but the commercial benefits outweigh that." - Michael Johnston (Kilmarnock FC Chairman).
"Personally I think we need to keep Rangers in the SPL. I don't care that fans will be upset with that." - Peter Houston (Dundee United Manager).

• (6 Pages) +
  • « First