The Pentagon Challenge Football Manager 2012

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Italy
As discussed on the Football Manager 2011 thread, I'm interested in doing The Pentagon Challenge.

The Pentagon Challenge is starting unemployed with a Sunday League reputation, and then try and win all five continental Champions Leagues.

• African Champions League
  • Asian Champions League
  • European Champions League
  • North American Champions League
  • South American Champions League

Click me!
There is a slightly more detailed briefing than the one I posted. I would be happy enough to exclude the "Nationalistic Management" rule.
As for what leagues we choose - it's up to you. I'm unsure on whether we should all use the same leagues, database, etc. - but this can be discussed.

Edit- This post used to have a list of players, their teams, and their achievements, but I can't be bothered editing it for everyone. I'm going to make a list of my own clubs and achievements etc. in my signature, and I suggest you do the same.

This post has been edited by Smurph: 19 November 2011 - 21:40

@smurphptfc You should follow me on Twitter.

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Count me in, I was going to start it tomorrow after reading that link. It's brilliant. However think I will go down the obscure 3rd division teams, so no easy, quick rid for me. I reckon it will take at least 25 seasons in that case, so I expect to be doing at least 1 a week.

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli
Magic! Glad to have you on board.
I was looking to start this tomorrow evening, although I have the urge to start it right now, but I will wait. That gives people more time to sign-up, although there is no time limit and they can join in whenever they want.

League wise I was planning on going with;

Africa; South Africa
Asia; Australia, South Korea
Europe; Belgium, Ukraine (+ one more perhaps)
North America; Mexico, USA
South America; Argentina, Chile

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
  • My Team:Dundee
I'm in. This looks hard and being unemployed I'm doing 2 seasons a day anyway just now so I'll fire through it.

But, I can't screenshot because it just takes pictures of my desktop rather than the game and I don't know how to fix it.

Zeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli

View Postmattydfc, on 28 June 2011 - 00:02, said:

I'm in. This looks hard and being unemployed I'm doing 2 seasons a day anyway just now so I'll fire through it.

But, I can't screenshot because it just takes pictures of my desktop rather than the game and I don't know how to fix it.

Instead of pressing PrntScr, do this.
Documents> Sports Interactive> Football Manager 2011. Create a folder and call it 'screenshots'

Then, when you're playing, hold 'Alt' and press 'F9'. A screenshot will be sent to that folder.

This post has been edited by Smurph: 28 June 2011 - 00:35

User is offline   NotThePars 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:Steam: Celestica74
I might have a try with different leagues but this sounds interesting nonetheless, it's probably better I don't apply to join though as I'll end up playing it sporadically rather than constantly. I'm going to watch and see how everyone does!

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli
You can join in if you want. There's no specific time-frame to do it in, and there's no real sign up, I just wanted to see how many people would be interested in it and whether it merits a thread of its own (which I'd assume it now does).

I'll probably be taking it pretty slowly. Definitely not at a two seasons per day level. I'll probably aim for a season a week.

• Third Division Regular

View PostSmurph, on 28 June 2011 - 00:38, said:

You can join in if you want. There's no specific time-frame to do it in, and there's no real sign up, I just wanted to see how many people would be interested in it and whether it merits a thread of its own (which I'd assume it now does).

I'll probably be taking it pretty slowly. Definitely not at a two seasons per day level. I'll probably aim for a season a week.

In that case, count me in! Like you, I'd take about a week a season. I'll probably stick with the same leagues outwith Europe and maybe do Scotland and England for there. Cheers for posting this up though, it looks the best challenge for FM that I've ever seen.

That's me loaded it with Argentina, Chile, Germany, India, South Korea, Mexico USA, Portugal (inspired by the Tom Cruise thread), South Africa and Scotland. The only challenge I think I'll stick is the APLA, I'm not good enough to do the sustainable or nationalistic one at all.

This post has been edited by NotThePars: 28 June 2011 - 00:59

• Pelecan

View PostSmurph, on 28 June 2011 - 00:35, said:

Instead of pressing PrntScr, do this.
Documents> Sports Interactive> Football Manager 2011. Create a folder and call it 'screenshots'

Then, when you're playing, hold 'Alt' and press 'F9'. A screenshot will be sent to that folder.

I will do that after I've read the link The Troll put on the big thread.

Cheers.

User is offline   a_n_d_o 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Brechin City
i'd be tempted to have a go, doubt this computer would like loading so many leagues though. will have a wee experiment to see what kind of starting configuration the computer can handle and get back to you
The Pentagon Challenge FM2011 - Currently managing Brechin City (2045)
History - Afr Champs Lge (17-FCAK), N.A.C.L (20-Irapuato), Asian Champs Lge (22-Seongnam), Copa Lib. (23,25,26,27-Racing Club), Euro Champs Cup (36,45-Brechin), SA 1st Div (13-FCAK), SA KO Cup (16-FCAK), Super 8 Cup (16-FCAK), SA Prem Lge (16,17-FCAK), SA Char Cup (17-FCAK), MEX Prom Lge Cl (18-Irap.), MEX 1st Div Cl (19-Irap.), MEX 1st Div Champs Tro (19-Irap.), K-Lge Cup (21,22-Seong.), K-FA Cup (21,22-Seong.), K-Lge (21-Seong.), Pan Pac Champ (2022-Seong.), ARG Prem Cl (23,24,25,26,27,28-Rac Club), ARG Prem Op(23,24,25,26,27-Rac Club), Copa Sud. (23,24,27-Rac Club), Recopa (24,25,26-Rac Club), C.W.C. (25,26-Rac Club,36-Bre), Chall Cup (29-Bre), Scot 1st Div (31-Bre), Scot Lge Cup (33,34,35,36,37,38,39,40,41,42,43,44,45- Bre), Scot Prem Lge (34,35,36,37,38,39,40,41,42,43,44,45-Bre) , Scot Cup (36,37,40,41,42,43,44,45-Bre), Euro Super Cup (36,45-Bre)

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Right the career of Sam Waterson is set up, I will play it later, since I'm going out and playing 7's later.

African - South Africa
Asia - South Korea, Australia
Europe - Germany, Portugal
North America - USA, Mexico
South America - Brazil

I hate South American football, so I thought I would take the easy route with the Brazilians, also in Europe, Portugal and Germany all have at least 3 teirs of football and other than England and Scotland are the ones I play, which I suppose always helps. Plus their leagues are usually shorter.

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
Posted Image

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

User is offline   Busta Nut 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:Busta1886 on xbox, JamesyMcBusta psn
I'll give it a go and start it later

any restrictions?
Posted Image

User is offline   Smurph 

• Forza Pro Vercelli
Nope, no restrictions.
There is financial management and nationalistic management - but those don't need to be followed. Same as choosing England as a nation, but I don't think anyone's doing that, which is good to see.

• Third Division Regular
What teams have people went? I've went some third tier Portuguese side called Canical. I'm apparently 200-1 to win promotion, I can do this. Posted Image

• International Call Up
what about numnber of nations?

I was thinking of doing smurph's Asian, Namerican, S american and african, but maybe 3 different euros

Edit: the reason i'm asking the link doesn't work for me

This post has been edited by Busta Nut: 28 June 2011 - 12:03

Posted Image

User is offline   GingerSaint 

• Fcuk Tebow
I have started this today. My laptop is pish and I have only loaded Scotland, South Africa, Uruguay, Australia, USA.

Applied for Sydney, Melbourne Heart, Orlando Pirates, FS Stars all with no success (Jimmy Calderwood got the Sydney job!). Waiting to hear from East Stirlingshire and Cerro.

EDIT: Cerro unsuccessful but applied for Ayr job and very hopeful of that one.

EDIT: Somerset here we come! :D

This post has been edited by GingerSaint: 28 June 2011 - 12:16

• International Call Up
I've loaded up

South Afirca
Mexico, USA
Argentina, Uruguay
Holland, Russia, Ukraine
Australia and South Korea
Posted Image

• International Call Up
Ok so i Started with sunday league rep and seen what jobs were up for offer.

I really wanted Vanuatu, Paupa New Guinea or the Cook islands, so i applied for all three then thought I'd holiday and apply for any available. can back a minute later with an offer from FCAK in hte south afircan first division Inland

Posted Image

stupid amount of money so I took it

here is the league

Posted Image

see what happens
Posted Image

• Pelecan
I started with, South Africa, USA, Brazil, France, Portugal, Australia, China.

Already Canical in the Portugese second division north have offered me a job.

I called the save game the pyramid instead of the pentagon, I'm a tard. Posted Image

• International Call Up
I saved mine over an old porto game i started, spelled it wrong at the time though it says potro
Posted Image

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC
I'm in. 8)

Think the most countries I'll get going at once is about 6/7, so I'll need to pick carefully. Will get started later on.
Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Casagolda 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Looks good will give this a bash.

Went for

African - South Africa
Asia - Australia
Europe - Germany, France
North America - USA, Mexico
South America - Brazil, Argentina

Hope my computer can stand up to that many leagues.
Posted Image

User is online   Mr. Brightside 

• S.I.G.
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
Count me in, for when FM2011 arrives that is. ;)
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC
Right, started my game there.

Arfican - South Africa
Asia - South Korea
Europe - Germany & Russia
North America - Mexico
South America - Brazil

Plenty of jobs available at the start, 18 in fact, I applied for them all :lol: :

Attached File  Jobs_Applied.JPG (117.67K)
Number of downloads: 61

And I've been offered 7 of them:

Attached File  Jobs_offered.JPG (31.6K)
Number of downloads: 52

F.C.A.K have the best transfer budget at about £275k, with Saturn having the best wage budget at £36k per week. Saturn is appealing to me, but there squad is made up entirely of 14 & 15 year olds. :unsure: I'm no Craig Thomson, so I think I may avoid that one, even more so considering I'd need to bring in about 18 players on free transfers, which would prove incredibly hard.

Actually, I just checked the league table there, they're in the Premier Division in Russia, have played 11 games, lost 11, scored none, and conceded 43. WTF?! :lol: I'm kind of tempted now, as it would most likely be a case of getting relegated, then trying to build a squad for promotion the following season. It's a 30 game season, so it's almost half way through already, the only problem would be being able to keep my job until the seasons end, as there's probably f**k all chance I'm going to win a game.

Ah, f**k it. Saturn it is. This is going to be interesting. Will edit the post with budget, team list, league table in a bit.

This post has been edited by Pressley - GTF!: 28 June 2011 - 15:15

Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

• (38 Pages) +
  • Last »